Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bulwark Home Security, LLC

Phone: (480) 835-6001 PO Box 164, Queen Creek, AZ 85142 http://www.bulwarkalarm.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bulwark Security provides customized security solutions to meet the needs of your family or business.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bulwark Home Security, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bulwark Home Security, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

15 Customer Reviews on Bulwark Home Security, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 15
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 15

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1999 in AZ Business incorporated 01/15/2004 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Monson, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Monson, Member
Related Businesses
Bulwark Exterminating
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Products & Services

Bulwark Home Security, LLC sells the following brand(s): Honeywell

Bulwark Home Security, LLC offers the following product(s): Security Alarm Systems - Commercial, Security Alarm Systems - Residential


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bulwark Home Security, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 164

    Queen Creek, AZ 85142

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When my wife and I moved to Arizona we chose Bulwark Home Security for our alarm company. The owner called us during the process and we were generally satisfied. We then remained customers until the present time. In 2014 following two alarm activations, we learned that we had not obtained a proper license from the **** ** ********** for and were fined $100. When we contested the fine we were then charged an additional $20 making the total fine, $120. During our conversation with the owner of Bulwark or salespersons we never received any information about Arizona cities requiring alarm permits, something which is not a nationwide norm. We spoke with the company and explained the situation and were informed that an email was sent instructing us on the proper application for a license. While we do not want to get into a "he said she said" argument about whether or not the company performed due diligence in sending us that email; we both contest that an email was sent. It certainly was not received. At no point did the alarm service person who installed the system mention a permit, and paperwork we received did not mention that we need a permit. We trusted the company to use their judgment in communicating with us what was most important about our home security system, how could you leave out the requirement of a license ? Considering the amount of time that we spent researching and negotiating the instillation of the alarm system, the instillation process itself, and the fact that we renew our contract loyally each year, had we known about a $10 permit from Scottsdale we would have gladly paid such a fee.

Desired Settlement: We would like the fine amount of $120 applied to our account. We have already gone through the appeals process with the **** ** ********** and have been informed that no consideration will be given. Aside from this incident we have had good service through Bulwark for the past 2 years and had no qualms whatsoever recommending the service to our neighbors as well as renewing our contract.

Business Response: We received your complaint about a fine you received from the **** ** ********** for not having an alarm permit.  When we set up your account back in November of 2012 we would have sent you an email with instructions that you needed an alarm permit.  Please check your emails from 11/25/2012 to 12/15/2012 to see if that is the case.  If you find that you did not receive the email we will issue you a discount of $70 on your next annual monitoring charge ($50 for the fine for not having a permit and $20 for the late payment penalty).  In order to issue this credit we request that you please remove your complaint from the BBB.  Once the complaint is removed please send me an email and I will issue the discount.  Also, please feel free to contact me with any questions, etc.  

Thanks,
****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10637661, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My wife and I have carefully read, digested, and considered the response from Jeff at Bulwark Alarm. The response leaves us with a feeling of sadness that Jeff could not feel our frustration at having placed our trust in a company based on consumer reviews and disappointed.  My wife and I never received an email detailing the requirement of having an alarm permit prior to starting service with a company.  If we had we would have never balked at a $10 application fee. After two years of business, our alarm went off twice in a two week period and the lack of a permit cost us a $50 fine with each activation totaling $100. We are happy to accept responsibility for the late payment fee which deals more with the City of Scottsdale's unfair policy during appeal, however we contend that the $100 fine would have been unnecessary had Jeff's company informed us of the license requirement. An offer to reimburse us for half of the fine that was imposed does not satisfy and in our opinion far from a frivolous complaint. 

An email conveying critical information, sent to a customer following conclusion of: personal calls from the owner, written contract, contact with the service provider lasting 45 minutes or more, and other communication, is not the best means of conveying that information. When we contract with other trades, the issue of licenses is always one of the first items discussed. Despite our research into various services, the provider of that service is always seen as the subject matter expert in all areas. It is impossible to know each facet of the industry from the outside as a consumer.  Had the service provider discussed the alarm paperwork with us during the instillation, or provided us with a written application to the City of Scottsdale, or even a piece of paper detailing the need for a permit, our attention would have quickly been garnered. 

Jeff and his company evidently value customer opinion and word of mouth referrals. We sincerely hope that we can come to an agreement and continue to participate in Jeff's business. 

Regards,

Evan Tsurumi

Business Response: Thanks for the reply. If you checked your emails and did not find the email letting you know about the alarm permit then we will reduce your next year of monitoring by $100 if you will agree to remove your BBB complaint.

Thanks,
****

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Bulwark in May of 2012. I spoke with the owner, ****, and I asked him if I could use the system in the house I purchased. It was assessed and with a one year contract, he would provide the piece to the system to make it cellular. I proposed to him that I would like to make an agreement with him. The agreement included/; I will pay my whole one year lease up front to pay off my year of service. He agreed and gave a 10% discount for paying the whole contract off. He never once explained to me that after my one year his office billing department would decide to keep billing me monthly charges without my prior knowledge or authorization to continue using Bulwark's services. I never renewed anything with Bulwark after I discussed their upgrades, which was not what I had in mind. Therefore, I did not upgrade or sign any new contracts with Bulwark. My service with Bulwark was disconnected by ***** Communication Home Security on My 25, 2013. My contract with Bulwark ended on May 23, 2013. They are now sending me a bill for the month of April because they claim to need a month notice. A contract is signed and fulfilled for the duration specified. Once the contract is fulfilled then the consumer has the right to switch service providers. The work ethics of this company is ridiculous because they obviously fail to explain the full contracts so they can squeeze every dollar they can from a consumer.

Desired Settlement: The bill needs to be taken off my name as I owe you no financial obligation. I tried to resolve this issue by explaining to the receptionist that I owed Bulwark no financial obligations because my service was cut off with them on May 25th of 2013. Bulwark can be ethical about this situation and remove the bill from my account where I have a $0 balance and a good business relationship to remain for in good standings.

Business Response: I contacted the customer this morning and we have reached an agreement and she would like to withdraw the complaint.