BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and brake service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brake Masters of Phoenix, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brake Masters of Phoenix, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 38 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

38 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 35
Total Closed Complaints 38

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Brake Masters of Phoenix, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 28, 1997 Business started: 11/18/1996 in AZ Business started locally: 11/18/1996 Business incorporated: 12/28/2001 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Timothy Harphant, General Manager Ms. Terri Leboeuf, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Timothy Harphant, General Manager
Business Category

Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brake Masters of Phoenix, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10620 N Scottsdale Rd

    Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (480) 607-5222

  • 111 N Dobson Rd

    Chandler, AZ 85224 (480) 857-7500

  • 13758 W Bell Rd

    Surprise, AZ 85374 (623) 975-6300

  • 15550 N Hayden Rd

    Scottsdale, AZ 85260 (480) 922-0202

  • 1649 E Florence Blvd

    Casa Grande, AZ 85122 (520) 876-4900

  • 21560 S Ellsworth Rd

    Queen Creek, AZ 85142

  • 2344 E Baseline Rd

    Mesa, AZ 85204 (480) 813-3800

  • 2370 Highway 95

    Bullhead City, AZ 86442

  • 2600 E Germann Rd

    Chandler, AZ 85286 (480) 786-6900

  • 3233 S Mill Ave

    Tempe, AZ 85282 (480) 966-4444

  • 3400 Stockton Hill Rd

    Kingman, AZ 86409

  • 370 El Camino Way

    Lk Havasu Cty, AZ 86403

  • 3812 E Thomas Rd

    Phoenix, AZ 85018 (602) 957-6500

  • 42415 N Vision Way

    Phoenix, AZ 85086 (623) 925-9500

  • 4603 E Carefree Hwy

    Cave Creek, AZ 85331 (480) 575-8777

  • 5110 E Ray Rd

    Phoenix, AZ 85044 (480) 940-9100

  • 5180 W Peoria Ave

    Glendale, AZ 85302 (623) 486-2222

  • 5578 W Bell Rd

    Glendale, AZ 85308 (602) 789-1800

  • 600 N Dysart Rd

    Goodyear, AZ 85338 (623) 882-8300

  • 6055 E Southern Ave Ste 105

    Mesa, AZ 85206 (480) 981-7200

  • 9240 W Peoria Ave

    Peoria, AZ 85345 (623) 412-9100

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (602) 957-6500(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband took our 2006 ***** ******* to this location to have a regular oil change, and have all the fluids topped off. He went in at 2 and was done by 430, too long in my opinion. After the car was serviced my husband picked me up, we went home i dropped him off, and My son and I went to go get dinner. I was traveling on the 202 when my car started overheating. I thought to myself " What in the world, i just had my car checked by the "professionals" Boy was i wrong. My car ended up overheating on the 202 right in the middle of rush hour. I tried doing as much as i could to get back on the road with letting it cool down and checking the water ( all the while my 7 month old son was in the back seat) finally I got a hold of my mother who has *** and they towed me home. By this time breakmasters was already closed. I got up early the next morning and called right away. I spoke with a "manager" name James. I told him the situation in which he laughed at me! Thats right LAUGHED! He told me " I highly doubt it was our fault!' I said " My car was perfectly fine before you "maintained" it." I was so upset i told him i would be contacting the BBB. To this day my car is not mobile it has just been sitting at my house. Not once did i get a "I'm Sorry" I would not recommend this place to anyone! Me and my husband are new parents with only one income, i would not have taken my perfectly good car to these people if i knew the repercussions. The brakemasters crew looked at my air filter and forgot to hook up a hose from my radiator to the engine in which blew my head-gasket, I didnt know I should check if they did work correctly on my car after paying them for service.

Desired Settlement: I would like Brakemasters to fix what they ruined on my car, which i paid a mechanic to tell me, its the head-gasket. I have spend over 200$ just to find out that my head-gasket was blown.

Business Response:  
Date:  11/5/2014

CUSTOMER NAME: ***** *******

BBB CASE #:  ********

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ***** *******.  *** *******
is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this
complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that *** ******* has and we do not feel that
Brake Masters has any liability in this matter.

 9-19-2014, 2007 ***** ******* was brought into
our location for an oil change. On 10-23-2014, *** ******* sends via our
website a concern about her service. Our Area Manager immediately made contact
with the customer and requested for him to inspect the vehicle. The Area Manager
went to the residence where he found a loose radiator cap. At that point the
vehicle had been driven 882 miles and over 30 days since we completed the
service.

According to
****** the vehicle was just sold on 9-18-2014. The Area Manager was able to
take pictures of the vehicle and can provide if needed. The ******* were
advised to have the vehicle towed to one of our location and we would inspect
the damage to the vehicle. They have failed to contact Brake Masters. Our
records also indicate that the vehicle has not been taken to another shop for
inspection, but if the ******* could provide those invoices it would be helpful
to see what the other shop determined.  

At this time
Brake Masters is denying *** ******* claim. 
Copies of the pictures and ****** reports are available upon request.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* ** ********
Customer
Service Manager

 

Business Response:  
Date:  11/5/2014

CUSTOMER NAME: ***** *******

BBB CASE #:  ********

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ***** *******.  *** *******
is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this
complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that *** ******* has and we do not feel that
Brake Masters has any liability in this matter.

 9-19-2014, 2007 ***** ******* was brought into
our location for an oil change. On 10-23-2014, *** ******* sends via our
website a concern about her service. Our Area Manager immediately made contact
with the customer and requested for him to inspect the vehicle. The Area Manager
went to the residence where he found a loose radiator cap. At that point the
vehicle had been driven 882 miles and over 30 days since we completed the
service.

According to
****** the vehicle was just sold on 9-18-2014. The Area Manager was able to
take pictures of the vehicle and can provide if needed. The ******* were
advised to have the vehicle towed to one of our location and we would inspect
the damage to the vehicle. They have failed to contact Brake Masters. Our
records also indicate that the vehicle has not been taken to another shop for
inspection, but if the ******* could provide those invoices it would be helpful
to see what the other shop determined.  

At this time
Brake Masters is denying *** ******* claim. 
Copies of the pictures and ****** reports are available upon request.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* ** ********
Customer
Service Manager

 

Business Response:  
Date:  11/5/2014

CUSTOMER NAME: ***** *******

BBB CASE #:  ********

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ***** *******.  *** *******
is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this
complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that *** ******* has and we do not feel that
Brake Masters has any liability in this matter.

 9-19-2014, 2007 ***** ******* was brought into
our location for an oil change. On 10-23-2014, *** ******* sends via our
website a concern about her service. Our Area Manager immediately made contact
with the customer and requested for him to inspect the vehicle. The Area Manager
went to the residence where he found a loose radiator cap. At that point the
vehicle had been driven 882 miles and over 30 days since we completed the
service.

According to
****** the vehicle was just sold on 9-18-2014. The Area Manager was able to
take pictures of the vehicle and can provide if needed. The ******* were
advised to have the vehicle towed to one of our location and we would inspect
the damage to the vehicle. They have failed to contact Brake Masters. Our
records also indicate that the vehicle has not been taken to another shop for
inspection, but if the ******* could provide those invoices it would be helpful
to see what the other shop determined.  

At this time
Brake Masters is denying *** ******* claim. 
Copies of the pictures and ****** reports are available upon request.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* ** ********
Customer
Service Manager

 

Business Response:  
Date:  11/5/2014

CUSTOMER NAME: ***** *******

BBB CASE #:  ********

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ***** *******.  *** *******
is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this
complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that *** ******* has and we do not feel that
Brake Masters has any liability in this matter.

 9-19-2014, 2007 ***** ******* was brought into
our location for an oil change. On 10-23-2014, *** ******* sends via our
website a concern about her service. Our Area Manager immediately made contact
with the customer and requested for him to inspect the vehicle. The Area Manager
went to the residence where he found a loose radiator cap. At that point the
vehicle had been driven 882 miles and over 30 days since we completed the
service.

According to
****** the vehicle was just sold on 9-18-2014. The Area Manager was able to
take pictures of the vehicle and can provide if needed. The ******* were
advised to have the vehicle towed to one of our location and we would inspect
the damage to the vehicle. They have failed to contact Brake Masters. Our
records also indicate that the vehicle has not been taken to another shop for
inspection, but if the ******* could provide those invoices it would be helpful
to see what the other shop determined.  

At this time
Brake Masters is denying *** ******* claim. 
Copies of the pictures and ****** reports are available upon request.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* ** ********
Customer
Service Manager

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
 

First of all, I did not recieve any contact from anyone at Brakemasters, I told the employee who came to look at my car that my husband did not have a phone at the time. Manager ***** did not even get my contact information from me when i contacted him the next morning, sorry our phone were not working but that is not an excuse. I HIGHLY doubt that our problem stem from a loose radiator cap! Brakemasters was to top off all of my fluids on the charger and i also thought they would make a general inspection. ALSO, I DID NOT DRIVE THAT CAR 800 miles in one month are you crazy? I was not satisfied with the employee that came to check on my car. Not ONCE, have I heard and im sorry or let me give you your money back for the "service" we performed. ALSO, why was my car perfectly fine right before i took it in to your shop, and now my car is overheated to the point where i had to get new headgaskets. Just because your little machine told you my radiator cap was bad, its my fault? I do not think so! I would AT LEAST like my money back for my oil change that ruined my car. $2000 later my car is fixed because i had to pay for it. 

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
 

First of all, I did not recieve any contact from anyone at Brakemasters, I told the employee who came to look at my car that my husband did not have a phone at the time. Manager ***** did not even get my contact information from me when i contacted him the next morning, sorry our phone were not working but that is not an excuse. I HIGHLY doubt that our problem stem from a loose radiator cap! Brakemasters was to top off all of my fluids on the charger and i also thought they would make a general inspection. ALSO, I DID NOT DRIVE THAT CAR 800 miles in one month are you crazy? I was not satisfied with the employee that came to check on my car. Not ONCE, have I heard and im sorry or let me give you your money back for the "service" we performed. ALSO, why was my car perfectly fine right before i took it in to your shop, and now my car is overheated to the point where i had to get new headgaskets. Just because your little machine told you my radiator cap was bad, its my fault? I do not think so! I would AT LEAST like my money back for my oil change that ruined my car. $2000 later my car is fixed because i had to pay for it. 

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
 

First of all, I did not recieve any contact from anyone at Brakemasters, I told the employee who came to look at my car that my husband did not have a phone at the time. Manager ***** did not even get my contact information from me when i contacted him the next morning, sorry our phone were not working but that is not an excuse. I HIGHLY doubt that our problem stem from a loose radiator cap! Brakemasters was to top off all of my fluids on the charger and i also thought they would make a general inspection. ALSO, I DID NOT DRIVE THAT CAR 800 miles in one month are you crazy? I was not satisfied with the employee that came to check on my car. Not ONCE, have I heard and im sorry or let me give you your money back for the "service" we performed. ALSO, why was my car perfectly fine right before i took it in to your shop, and now my car is overheated to the point where i had to get new headgaskets. Just because your little machine told you my radiator cap was bad, its my fault? I do not think so! I would AT LEAST like my money back for my oil change that ruined my car. $2000 later my car is fixed because i had to pay for it. 

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
 

First of all, I did not recieve any contact from anyone at Brakemasters, I told the employee who came to look at my car that my husband did not have a phone at the time. Manager ***** did not even get my contact information from me when i contacted him the next morning, sorry our phone were not working but that is not an excuse. I HIGHLY doubt that our problem stem from a loose radiator cap! Brakemasters was to top off all of my fluids on the charger and i also thought they would make a general inspection. ALSO, I DID NOT DRIVE THAT CAR 800 miles in one month are you crazy? I was not satisfied with the employee that came to check on my car. Not ONCE, have I heard and im sorry or let me give you your money back for the "service" we performed. ALSO, why was my car perfectly fine right before i took it in to your shop, and now my car is overheated to the point where i had to get new headgaskets. Just because your little machine told you my radiator cap was bad, its my fault? I do not think so! I would AT LEAST like my money back for my oil change that ruined my car. $2000 later my car is fixed because i had to pay for it. 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: ******,
 
The Area Manger was the employee who can to the customers home to inspect the vehicle. *** ******* was not present. We would like to see any repair invoices *** ******* has.
 
*******  

Business Response: ******,
 
The Area Manger was the employee who can to the customers home to inspect the vehicle. *** ******* was not present. We would like to see any repair invoices *** ******* has.
 
*******  

Business Response: ******,
 
The Area Manger was the employee who can to the customers home to inspect the vehicle. *** ******* was not present. We would like to see any repair invoices *** ******* has.
 
*******  

Business Response: ******,
 
The Area Manger was the employee who can to the customers home to inspect the vehicle. *** ******* was not present. We would like to see any repair invoices *** ******* has.
 
*******  

11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into Brake Masters to have my A/C system inspected and recharged for $224.50. Later they called me and said that while they were in the process of recharging the A/C they noticed additional problems with the condenser and were not able to fix the system. Despite not being able to fix the A/C and finding out about the condenser problem AFTER inspection they still proceeded to charge me $224.50.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded in full as they misdiagnosed the problem and still charged me for it.

Business Response: A full refund was sent to the customer.


*******

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2004 **** pickup into Brake Masters in ******** **. I was told it needed new struts in the front and then would need a front end alligment. It would cost $625.00 I took it to another shop in town, and they looked at the truck and reported it did not need the struts and they were not even leaking. So, Brake Masters was going to charge me $625.00 for a repair that did not need to be done.

Desired Settlement: Stop doing this to people!

Business Response:  

 

Date: 7/2/2014

CUSTOMER NAME: ****** *. ********

BBB C*** #: ********

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ****** ********.  Ms. ********
is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this
complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints. At this time Brake Masters would like to invite Ms.
******** to meet with our Area Manager ***** ****. Mr. **** has over 30 years
of experience in automotive field with *** certification in suspension. Please
feel free to contact Mr. **** to set up an appointment so he can inspect the
vehicle in question. You can reach Mr. **** at ************.

Sincerely,
******* ** ********

Customer
Service Manager

 

7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Brakemaster do service work on 2 of my vehicles. Several months later I went to get in my car and noticed a bolt or pin sticking out from my back brake. I walked around to the other side of the car and noticed the bolt or pin was sticking out on that side as well. I took the car to another repair shop to have them look at it, the repair cost was $100.00. I was also told if the pin had come completely out it could have cause an accident. I am having the same shop look at my other vehicle as well.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund for service on both my cars, in the amount of $600, the company is willing to fix the problem, but I am not confident with their service.My main concern is anyone else who may have had brakes worked on at Brakemaster.....mainly the "soccer mom" driving around with a car full of children. I was fortunate enough to discover the problem before any damage was done, but there could be other people out there who have had work done and not know there is a problem.

Business Response:  

 

Date: 6/24/2014                     

CUSTOMER NAME:  ***** ********

BBB CASE #:  ********

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ***** ********.  Ms.
******** is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond
to this complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that Ms. ******** has and we do not feel
that any more of a refund should be given.

On 4-4-2014, Mr.
******** brought in vehicle for rear brakes. In June, Brake Masters was
contacted by Mr. ******** advising that there was a possible concern about the
rear brakes on the Lexus. Mr. ******** failed to return to Brake Masters as our
warranty states to inspect the vehicle prior to another shop doing any type of
service that we had performed. Our warranty states that if another shop works
on the service that we had completed it voids our warranty. As gesture of good
will a refund was sent to Mr. ******** for $101.56 to cover the charges of the
other shop. Check number was ****** issues on 6-16-2014.

Brake Masters will
not issue a refund just because the customer requests it through the BBB.  

 

Sincerely,

******* ** ********

Customer
Service Manager

 

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/18/2013 I had my starter to my car replaced at Brake Masters. I was told it was a referbished part, but that it was just as good as a new part and would last me several years. I expressed concern regarding using a referbished part and asked for a brand new one. I was told that a brand new starter wasn't available but that the referbished part would last just as long as a new one. I said ok and had the work done. Today, 3/7/2014, I am stranded at work, due to the starter going out, which I was told would last several years but it hasn't even lasted a full year. I called Brake Masters to ask for a refund. I was told by Steve he would not give me a refund but I could take my car back for repair. My car is not starting (need a working starter to start my car). I now will have to pay to have my car towed and repaired! I think its rediculous that I expressed concern and was basically ignored, and now the part that I was told would last several years, didn't even last a year. I am upset and can't believe that I can't get a refund, expecially now that I will need to pay for a towe and a repair less than a year later!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want a refund! I should have to settle for Brake Masters keeping almost $300 for a repair that didn't last as long as they said it would. I also never want to use Brake Masters again!!!!!!!!

Business Response: Ms. ********* returned to our store where she was not charge for the service. The labor on the previous work was 90 days and the store manager replaced the starter and no cost to Ms. *********. Brake MAsters will honor all warranties as stated on the customer invoice and at this time will not issue a refund.

3/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off my ford f150 for rear brake service on 8/24/2013 . a few hours later I picked up my truck, paid the $ 400.00 bill ,had a friendly conversation with the manager about just finishing the body work and paint on the whole front of the truck and being excited to get it back on the road again and that the brakes was the last thing I needed to do . ***** handed me the keys and ***** said thanks for coming in ,go easy on the brakes until they get broken in . I walked around the back of my truck opened the door put on my sunglasses looked behind me and backed the truck up and left the driveway .This shop is on the corner of the 101 freeway and Peoria so when you pull out of the driveway you can only go west or get on the freeway . I got in the right turn lane and proceeded to enter the on ramp to the freeway when I notice my hood had been damaged on the upper drivers side near the windshield . I immediately pulled on to the shoulder of the freeway and got out of my truck to see the hood was not shut all the way and it had a dent and a point on the hood where the paint had cracked . I called ***** and asked him if they had opened my hood for anything and he said yes, yes we did . I proceeded to tell him what I see and he told me to come right back to the shop . Once I got to the shop ***** inspected the damaged hood told me he was so sorry and if he was me he would be very upset too . He made a phone call to the area manager **** and took pictures. ***** said **** would be calling me to start the process of getting this resolved. On 8/30/13 ,After a few failed attempts to meet **** the area manager for him to look at the hood I called my auto insurance company to report the incident of my damaged hood. The claims specialist informed me of my options and said she was going to call Brakemaster to see where they stand and to get their insurance information . Her and **** had a conversation where he declined my claim and accused my autobody shop of bad hood installation causing damage when his shop attendant attempted to close the hood . At no point has anyone from Brakemaster informed me of any incident in their shop that led to the damage , so now does this mean Brakemaster knew all along that damage was done on 8/24/2013 and never bothered to call me or tell me when I was paying the bill that something had happened. **** proceeded to argue with my insurance specialist and refused to give her the information she needed and ended up hanging up on her . She called me and explained the conversation and his unprofessional behavior and was going to proceed with a complaint to Brakemaster. I am not a cheat , or a liar and I know the condition of my vehicle the day I dropped my truck off to Brakemaster . This will not go away until the right resolution has been carried out . Disgusted I ever selected Brakemaster to work on my vehicle . Dishonesty thru and thru , shame on you and your employees Brakemaster. **** w Peoria , 85345 Brakemasters location

Desired Settlement: The expected outcome will be for Brake masters to show some integrity and take responsibility for the damage done while my vehicle was in their care , replace and repair my vehicles damaged hood back to the original newly completed condition . Apologize for the dishonest behavior of all the employees involved .

Business Response: This customer has turned over her claim to her insurance provider as well is going to meet with our Area Manager on 9-7-2013.

*******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******

 My insurance company has attempted  on numerous occasions to collect  Brakemasters insurance company information . **** and ******* have denied them of this information and even attempted to file a complaint against the insurance claims specialist for doing her job to collect the information needed . Why should I have to pay my deductible for the damage brakemasters are responsible for . I met with **** for the inspection on 9/7/13 and have reported the hostile and unprofessional behavior I was subjected to during that meeting . This vehicle has been inspected by the shop manager and the area manager and both times pictures were taken as well . The payment to repair my truck will be furnished by Brakemasters not by my insurance company . **** the area manager said himself on 9/7/13 during the inspection he was going to fix my hood but because of my attitude he changed his mind . I am going to continue to file the necessary complaints against all parties involved due to the childish ,unprofessional , hostile ,dishonest and illegal business practice Brakemasters are involved in . They damaged my vehicle , they have made untrue claims and do not deserve to have a business license . I have complied with all the requirements demanded by Brakemasters in order to resolve this huge error on their part . Brakemasters....Pay the price to repair my truck ,I will not be paying my deductible and having my insurance company pay for this mistake YOUR company made . My insurance company are backing me up and assisting with this damage claim 'since your behavior is so disgusting and lacking integrity.

 

Business Response:  

 

Date:  September 12, 2013

CUSTOMER NAME: ***** ******                                

BBB CASE #: *******

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ***** ******.  Ms. ******   is a valued customer and we appreciate
the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that Ms. ****** has and we do not feel that
this complaint is releated to the service that we has previously provided.

In response to
Ms. ******’s comments regarding the events that took place on 9-7-2013. The
Area Manager did meet briefly with the ******s. Mr. ****** became very
aggressive and confronted our Area Manager trying to provoke an altercation.
Ms. ****** slammed the hood of her vehicle and returned to her vehicle as this
proceeded. Brake Masters believes that the vehicle has recently had a new hood
installed and that it was installed incorrectly. Ms. ****** turned the case
over to her insurance company, but from her own comments it appears that they
have denied the claim as well. Ms. ****** has provided no estimates to her
insurance nor to us on the cost to repair the said damage. We believe that the
damage was due to the improper installation on the hood with the locking screws
being too long. Brake Masters would offer for Ms. ****** to have an estimate
done by a local shop that we use for an estimate and inspection only at this
time. We would like to determine the cause of the damage.  

 

 

 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* ** ********

Customer
Service Manager

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******


 If my complaint was properly read you would have seen that at no time did I comment about my insurance denying my claim .My insurance company has only worked on my behalf and I have been offered to get the hood fixed thru my insurance but I have chosen to pursue the guilty party which is Brakemasters . Like I expected the truth would not be told about the inspection day Sept 7th and also as I expected  the lack of integrity again has been shown . At no time have you or your company asked to see my three estimates that I have had since  8/30/2013 . How would this have been suggested due to the fact your company will not co-operate with my insurance company . Also for the record **** reported to you as expected incorrect information about me slamming my hood actually my husband was the one to SHUT the hood so get the facts straight if your going to mention them . Again you are trying to get away from the facts of the matter that my hood was damaged at your shop 8/24/2013 , no one ever called me to report this or did they explain this to me when I picked up the vehicle either . What does this say about you and your employees . So are you going to keep playing these childish games or are you going to do the right thing and correct the damage done by your employee/Brakemasters . Provide  your insurance company information to my insurance company and provide the dates you asked for my estimates because this again is another attempt for you to try and make your dishonest company look good . Let your insurance company communicate with my insurance company so that professional business can be handled .As you have shown you and **** are not capable of accomplishing this. If you stand by your team you would not be worried about your insurance company finding out about this incident . I find it suspicious that you do not want your insurance company involved . This is what insurance is for so quit playing GOD and hand it over to your insurance company to decide the outcome . 

 

10/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my van work two to three years the brakes all around cost a pretty penny, On Sept 20 I ask my daughter to take the van in because something was wrong with the driver side front brake I had to take my husband to dialysis, she call me on the phone and inform me that before they could check out the brakes that would have to paid about 80 dollars I talk to the man there when my daughter handed him the phone when he gave it back i told her to leave. I have two other vehicle that brake masters has work on and i have life time warranty on including the brakes on my van. I had hear rumbor that in the past two year if you go to this brake masters and have a handicap plate or a wheel chair carried that you have to paid up front for all inspection and you would have to paid double for parts and labor. Going thur all my warranty i did some checking and the last three times i had one of my vehicle this is what happen to me and i call other brake masters stores to find out so to me this store is taking advantage of the handicap

Desired Settlement: refund and to fix the van and the manger go get training how to treat the disable

Business Response:  

 

Date:  9-/23/2013                              

CUSTOMER NAME: ******** ***                       

BBB CASE #: *******

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ******** ***.  Ms. ***
is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this
complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that Ms. *** had as she returned into the
location on 9-21-2013. Brake Masters as a gesture of good will completed a free
brake service, an oil change and A/C evac and recharge at no cost to the
customer. The original concern was miscommunication involving a 3rd
party as the warranty states that the pads or shoes carry a lifetime warranty. The
customer is responsible for the labor charge; the labor charge would have been
$78.00. Brake Masters believes that we have addressed all of Ms. ***’s concerns
at this time.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* **
********

Customer
Service Manager

 

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 31, 2012 I went to this shop (out of state because I was visiting my parents) to get 4 shocks installed on my car. I paid $900 for this service which included : 203.90 for front struts and 249.20 in labor and 230.48 in rear shocks and 178 in labor, plus state and city tax, total of 900.10. After picking up my car and driving a few blocks, I returned the vehicle to inform them that the front end was making rattle noises. They rechecked the vehicle and informed me that the shocks were new and would need time to loosen up, were stiff etc. Employee # **** is listed on the invoice. On July 27, 2013 I brought car to ***** **** in ********** ***** ** because the front right wheel was making serious creeking noises possibly motor mounts or shock issue. I paid $260 for a broken motor mount and was told that the front shocks were not installed correctly and were clearly missing parts when installed (3/31/12). ***** manager contacted Brakemasters in ******* and they were less than helpful. ***** kept the car for another 2 days and revamped the front shock installation, noting that basically, brake master replaced the spring, used original parts and did not include all necessary parts to complete the install of front shocks, labor and parts charges are in dispute. I paid $457.20 to correct the problem with the shocks missing parts. photos available.

Desired Settlement: Brake masters has been avoidant and skirting responsibility for what they have done here. I clearly paid $900 for the labor and parts for 4 shocks for my vehicle and it cost me $457.20 to identify and reconcile the improper installation, using old parts rather than new ones (that I paid to have), and secondary,all of the motor mounts are broken, due to the vibration of not having the proper suspension that was paid for to be installed. I want compensation for the repairs to make the vehicle operate safety.

Business Response:















 

 

Date:  8/12/2013

CUSTOMER NAME: ***** *****

BBB CASE #: *******

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ***** *****.  **.
***** is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to
this complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints.

On or about
March 31st 2012, Brake Masters installed front and rear struts on
*** ****** 2002 Chrysler Sebring with 97915 miles on it. Brake Masters also
performed an alignment on the vehicle at no charge.

Go over **. *****’s
complaint it looks like she has 2 concerns.


Motor mounts broken or worn out. This is isolated to
the vibration from the engine a passenger’s compartment providing a smooth
ride. Motor mounts wear out after time and have to be replaced.
Strut replacement- **. ***** stated that ***** told her
the front struts were not installed correctly. (Struts are to control and
keep tires in contact with the road and to improve the vehicle’s ride and
help maintain alignment and reduce wear on the tires and other suspension
components. Motor mount are not part of the suspension.


**. ***** does
not state what parts were missing when the struts were replaced original. The
springs and jounce bumper are reused as well as the top bearing plate. These
parts are inspected during installation and only recommended to the customer if
they need to be replaced. The struts do carry a lifetime warranty on parts and
Brake Masters warranty states that the customer must return to Brake Masters.
We do have locations in Southern California.

 

 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

*************** **

Customer
Service Manager

 




8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been scammed. I hired Brake Masters in Kingman, AZ to fix my air conditioning system and was told that they could get it done in 1.5 hours. Additionally, they told me that there were some additional parts that required 2 days special order, but that they were probably unnecessary for the repair. Also, they told me that they'd call me to notify me if, after inspection, they deemed the additional parts to be necessary.Instead, the only call I received was to notify me that the repairs had been completed and that my air conditioner was blowing at 45 degrees. I also gave them more than 2 full days to complete the repairs.Initial testing revealed that the air conditioner seemed to be working, but it was definitely not blowing at 45 degrees. Also, my engine was rattling when I started the car and when I accelerated.Less than 18 hours after picking up my vehicle, I discovered that the air conditioner was still not working. Now, they won't work with me to give me my money back. They are telling me that because I insisted on not paying and waiting for the extra parts, that there is no warranty on the repair as well. I never insisted on anything. They told me the extra parts were optional. Also, I was on a very tight schedule and I told them that if it would take 2 days to special order, I would not have the time to wait and so I would not have hired them for the repairs at all in the first place.They are ignoring all of this information and refusing to work with me on some sort of resolution. My calls, emails, and messages to customer service have resulted in them accusing me of unlawfully harassing them even though all of my correspondences have been civil. I feel like I'm being tricked into just giving them over $1,000.00, since my car's AC still doesn't work, AND now the engine rattles and the check engine light is on.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund if possible. If they want their compressor back, I'd like for them to pay for shipping and handling. They're the ones that didn't do their job correctly and are now trying to make me pay for their mistakes.I am taking my car to a repair shop that I trust to have my car inspected and hopefully repaired, but without this reimbursement, I am not able to afford more repairs, nor am I able to afford to have the compressor that Brake Masters installed removed and shipped back.

Business Response: Date:  7/23/2013

CUSTOMER NAME: ****** ***

BBB CASE #: *******

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ****** ***.  Mr. ***
is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this
complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that Mr. *** has.

On or about July
3rd, 2013 Mr. *** was traveling through Arizona when the air
conditioner quit working. My. *** brought in his 2008 Honda Civic into our
Kingman location where Brake Masters recommended full replace of the a/c system
to include compressor, expansion valve, accumulator and receiver dryer. My. ***
was advised that the only part that was available in Kingman was the
compressor. The additional parts would take 2 business days to arrive. Mr. ***
was advised that in order for us to honor any type of warranty that we would
need to replace the entire system. Mr. *** advised that he was in a time crunch
and had to return to the east by the weekend. Mr. *** was made aware of what
Brake Masters could do by only replacing the compressor and at time he
authorized the repair. Brake Master has a signed estimate explaining what we
could repair and that there would be no warranty.

On, July 8th
2013 Mr. *** contacted Brake Masters and advised that the a/c was not working.
Mr. *** was offered, because he was now in New Jersey as a gesture of good will
that if Mr. *** had the vehicle inspected and the compressor had failed that we
would offer a refund on that part. This exceeded the warranty that we had
advised Mr. ***. Mr. *** demanded a full refund without any inspection or
taking the vehicle to another shop. He advised that he was going to take the
vehicle to the dealer and as of yet has not. 
Mr. *** continued to harass Brake Masters via threatening e-mails and
not fully disclosing to social media sites the offer made by Brake Masters or
the personal attacks on me. After 17 emails we advised Mr. *** if he continued
to bully or harass any Brake Masters employees that we would file criminal
charges against him.

At this time our
offer to refund the compressor still stands if Mr. *** returns the part for
credit.


Sincerely,

******* ** ********

Customer Service
Manager


Date:  7/23/2013

CUSTOMER NAME: ****** ***

BBB CASE #: *******

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ****** ***.  Mr. ***
is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this
complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any
deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its
customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters
appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that Mr. *** has.

On or about July
3rd, 2013 Mr. *** was traveling through Arizona when the air
conditioner quit working. My. *** brought in his 2008 Honda Civic into our
Kingman location where Brake Masters recommended full replace of the a/c system
to include compressor, expansion valve, accumulator and receiver dryer. My. ***
was advised that the only part that was available in Kingman was the
compressor. The additional parts would take 2 business days to arrive. Mr. ***
was advised that in order for us to honor any type of warranty that we would
need to replace the entire system. Mr. *** advised that he was in a time crunch
and had to return to the east by the weekend. Mr. *** was made aware of what
Brake Masters could do by only replacing the compressor and at time he
authorized the repair. Brake Master has a signed estimate explaining what we
could repair and that there would be no warranty.

On, July 8th
2013 Mr. *** contacted Brake Masters and advised that the a/c was not working.
Mr. *** was offered, because he was now in New Jersey as a gesture of good will
that if Mr. *** had the vehicle inspected and the compressor had failed that we
would offer a refund on that part. This exceeded the warranty that we had
advised Mr. ***. Mr. *** demanded a full refund without any inspection or
taking the vehicle to another shop. He advised that he was going to take the
vehicle to the dealer and as of yet has not. 
Mr. *** continued to harass Brake Masters via threatening e-mails and
not fully disclosing to social media sites the offer made by Brake Masters or
the personal attacks on me. After 17 emails we advised Mr. *** if he continued
to bully or harass any Brake Masters employees that we would file criminal
charges against him.

At this time our
offer to refund the compressor still stands if Mr. *** returns the part for
credit.


Sincerely,

******* ** ********

Customer Service
Manager

 




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ***

First, I'd like to thank you for helping out with this ongoing issue. I really regret ever going to Brake Masters, especially since it seems like a number of other people have had similarly bad experiences with them in the past, judging from online reviews and how many BBB complaints have been filed about Brake Masters. Unfortunately, I neither had a choice, nor did I have the opportunity to check online reviews before stopping in to their Kingman, AZ location.

Anyway, I'm not satisfied with this resolution because it would actually result in me paying significantly more money to fulfill Brake Masters' offer / request. Additionally, it makes no logical sense to me to have a brand new, fully functioning compressor removed and shipped back to Brake Masters, when it was their labor that created the problem in the first place. To that end, I'd like to at least purchase the compressor at the quoted price and have the difference refunded.

I wanted to update you by saying that I had my car repaired by *****-certified mechanics at my local ***** dealership. There, they informed me that Brake Masters had done the repairs incorrectly; specifically, they pinched the O-rings that seal the freon in to the system so badly that they needed total replacement (see attached scanned document named "***** Receipt Day 2", or call the agent in charge of my repairs at the ******** ***** dealership in New Jersey. Her name is ******* ******** and she is awesome). And yet, on the phone, ******* ******** told me that my air conditioner was probably fine and that I was lying about the whole thing!

Now, I replace O-rings on sealed systems all the time. It is NOT that difficult to do. You have to be a real idiot to pinch O-rings that badly, or you have to be doing it on purpose. Brake Masters knew I'd be traveling a lot, since I informed them I'd need to be back in Jersey within 3 days, so I personally cannot rule out foul play. Anyway, ***** also needed to recharge the system with freon, since all of it had leaked out and escaped. The total cost of all of this was well over $200 (again, see attached).

My engine is still rattling quite badly, especially upon starting the engine and when accelerating, but ***** was unable to easily determine the cause of this, and required an additional day, plus $105, just to look for the problem. My engine sounded perfectly fine immediately prior to going to Brake Masters. I only noticed the rattling immediately after picking my car up from Brake Masters, but chose to ignore this since I was in such a rush to get home because I had no choice but to get back to work (I got home with only 2 hours to spare before needing to show up for work, since the repairs took so long, despite them telling me it would only take 1.5 hours total).

I originally offered to purchase the compressor from Brake Masters at the quoted price of $599.95 (even though I found numerous brand new, compatible compressors for sale for $150 - $300), and asked them to kindly refund the remaining charges. I figured this was a perfectly logical, acceptable resolution since I am now 2000 miles away and unable to bring my car back for repairs without great expense and effort. They adamantly refused this, saying that the only way I could get any money back is if I shipped them back their compressor -- in which case I'd still have a broken air conditioner, considering I'd be missing a compressor, and I'd have essentially paid them $436.39 ($1036.34 - $599.95) for nothing (not to mention the cost of getting the compressor removed, shipping, handling, and insurance to make sure it arrived in Arizona safely). This seemed wildly unreasonable to me, so I proceeded to argue with them, but was only met with the same illogical replies, repeated over and over. I hope you understand why I got so frustrated and angry with them for this.

So, since Brake Masters' only offer was to refund me the compressor for $599.95 if I shipped it back to them, I asked ***** to quote me for replacing the compressor. ***** will charge me $920 plus tax to swap out the compressor so that I can ship it back to Brake Masters, so I will be paying Brake Masters $1036.34 for the original repair, paying ***** $920, plus tax, for swapping it out, and then I still need to pay shipping and handling, and probably insurance (to make sure it got there safely), to get the compressor shipped back to Brake Masters in Arizona. And yet, Brake Masters refuses to refund me the labor portion of their sale, even though that's the portion that was done wrong!

I have documentation of all of this, attached to this message. You'll find Brake Masters' original receipt, as well as the receipt from my first day at ***** (where mechanics spent half a day trying to diagnose the problems with the A/C unit, and finally a receipt from ***** on day 2, including the description of the repair, as well as a quote for swapping out the compressor to send back to Brake Masters (see page 2 of ***** Receipt 2).

Now, I'd like to address some discrepancies between our reports, since Brake Masters made numerous incorrect statements:
1) I was traveling through Arizona on July 1, not July 3rd.
2) I was SPECIFICALLY told that I most likely did not need the expansion valve, accumulator, or receiver dryer, so that I could just go ahead with the compressor replacement and probably be fine. Employees at Brake Masters explained to me how automobile AC systems work and told me about how robust those systems were, which only further increased my confidence that all I needed to do was get a new compressor. Additionally, Brake Masters informed me that, after inspection, if they deemed it necessary to replace the above mentioned parts, that they would call me. Unfortunately, this is not documented anywhere, and they are now denying that they ever said this to me, even though I have a witness.
3) I was NOT informed that the warranty would be voided if I went this route. Neither was this clause pointed out to me in the paperwork which I signed. I only signed the paperwork after receiving my vehicle on July 3rd, and verifying that the air conditioner was indeed blowing cold air, so I did not think to read any fine print. Also, as I mentioned, I was in a serious rush to get home, since I couldn't miss another day of work, so I just signed the paper without thinking or reading. As far as I was concerned at that point, I was a satisfied customer. I even shook everyone's hand, and wanted to give them hugs. I was very mistaken.
4) I was told that the repair would take about an hour and a half. Again, I gave them my car on July 1st. The repair took over a day, and by that point I was unable to get a ride back to Brake Masters until the afternoon on July 3rd. This put me so far behind schedule that I was forced to drive over 1,000 miles that day, and I ended up spending July 4th alone in a dirty Arby's parking lot in the middle of nowhere, Oklahoma, having not showered, slept, or eaten in 2 days in record-breaking heat. I had to drive all the way back to New Jersey so quickly that I almost broke the world record for most distance driven in 24 hours, twice in less than 3 days. I couldn't sleep or eat because I had no time. All I had was a gallon of water to rehydrate, and I still only made it back home with 2 hours to spare before work -- just enough time to shower, shave, and feel like a normal human being again. Unfortunately, I'm not lying or exaggerating about this. I was miserable.
5) I tried contacting Brake Masters about the faulty repair immediately and repeatedly. No one answered the phone, and there was no voicemail or answering machine after repeated calls and constant ringing. I tried to call them repeatedly after that but was not able to reach them until July 8th. This only made me even more frustrated.
6) Again, I offered to purchase the compressor from Brake Masters at the quoted (and quite frankly overpriced) rate of $599.95, even though I knew I could get an identical one for less than $300, in exchange for a refund on the labor, which had clearly failed. They rejected this and insisted that I have the compressor removed, shipped back to them, and then we would work out a refund on the compressor. In this case, I would have paid them $436.39 for essentially nothing, since I would still have a broken air conditioner, I wouldn't even have my old compressor back, plus the fact that I'd have wasted 4 days for car repairs for nothing (2 at Brake Masters, and 2 additional days at ***** to have another mechanic inspect my car, and then remove the compressor that Brake Masters installed.)
7) I did not insist on a full refund at the time. I advised Brake Masters and ******* ******** that I did not have the money to get it repaired again at the time, and that I would gladly offer to purchase the compressor if they would refund everything else. They firmly declined this, despite my pleading with them. Instead, I was accused of lying about the air conditioner being broken, and told that there was no way I would be able to get my money for the labor refunded.
8) I did not write any threatening emails, nor did I make any personal attacks on Mr. ******** via email. I can forward our entire transaction history if you're interested. I believe Mr. ******** is exaggerating because he does not want to deal with a customer as unsatisfied as I am. I was frustrated with my experience with Brake Masters as a customer, and customer service was not willing to negotiate or be reasoned with. In my frustration, I advised ******* ******** and Brake Masters that if I was unable to reach a resolution that made any sense with them, that I would next seek other options to try to reach a resolution, including filing a report with the BBB, disputing the charge with my credit card company, posting on to their social media accounts (which were all promptly deleted within minutes), and writing negative reviews. It was then that ******* ******** and customer service in general chose to ignore me, despite my pleading with them to respond. I wrote emails to them to try to open up the lines of communication again, but the only thing that seemed to work was when I informed them that a negative review went up on the internet on Google or Yelp, etc. It was only then that Mr. ******** copy-and-pasted some legal jargon about harassment in an email and told me to stop, but he did not clarify that they would be pressing charges. He merely copy-and-pasted a legal definition of harassment, which did not apply to our situation. When I tried to talk reasonably with Mr. ******** again, he just ignored me. My last two emails to him have gone unanswered.

I quickly realized that all of customer service was simply ignoring me, since I neither received responses within 24 hours, like they said they would do, nor have I received ANY replies to my messages to them since Mr. ******** and I last exchanged emails. Again, they've all been civil, and the only things that could be misconstrued as "threatening" was when I advised Brake Masters that I would be writing complaints about them and detailing my frustrating experiences with Mr. ******** to the BBB, to my credit card company, etc. I was left with no choice, so I came to the BBB.

My offer to buy the compressor at the quoted rate of $599.95 in exchange for a refund for $436.39 still stands, since it would be so time-consuming and cost-prohibitive to have the thing replaced, packed, shipped, and insured that it just doesn't make any logical or financial sense. Preferably, I'd like to have a full refund, since this has been a ridiculously frustrating experience for what should have been a routine repair, AND it has cost me a lot of unpaid time off from work, fuel economy, stress, frustration, and money, etc. I just don't understand how they can talk about AC repairs like it's such a simple, routine thing, then mess up the repairs, lie to me to my face, lie to the BBB, and then all of THIS happens. It's silly. I should never have trusted Brake Masters to begin with!

Please help!

Business Response: Brake Masters as a gesture of good-will will refund Mr. *** the cost to repair the vehicle of $218.74 as described by the ******** ***** dealer. There was no indication from the dealer that the part failed other than the o-rings. A refund check for $218.74 will be mailed to the customer. 

******* ********
Customer Service Manager 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ***


The job should have been done correctly in the first place. Then, I wouldn't have had to take an additional 2 days unpaid time off from work just to get my car fixed properly, not to mention drive 2,439 miles in record-breaking heat with no air conditioning. Also, Brake Masters wouldn't have to pay a 3rd party to fix their mistakes. This is not accountability. This is not owning up to your mistakes. This is not good customer service.

I do not see this as a reasonable resolution because I can't get my 2 days back, let alone the fact that I can't get paid for time off for those two days. Also, if you're going to cut a check, at least remember to add the tax that I had to pay. It's 7% here in Jersey, so the total was actually $234.05

Again, I'd like to purchase the compressor at the quoted price of $599.95, plus any applicable taxes. Please refund the difference of ~ $434.41.

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck in for an oil change and tire rotation. I picked up my truck and realized that the tires were not rotated, even though i paid for it. I also noticed that i had a major leak under the truck. I called them and they said bring it back. I brought the truck back and he said that it was leaking already. It in fact was not leaking before. There is a pinhole, or a tiny razor knife cut in the boot. He told me its my problem, he cant do anything about it.

Desired Settlement: Fix the leak they created

Business Response: The Store Manager has made contact with Mr.*****. Mr. ***** has agreed to have further work completed on his vehicle and at this point will return to Brake Masters in the future. 

*,, 
******* ********
Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought all tie rod ends and drag link to have put on. Recently I was underneath looking at the radiator and noticed these things - cotter pin missing from steering damper, 2 missing grease fittings on the joints, left and right end boots completely smashed down, no grease in any of them, and left tie rod grease fitting stripped so when I put grease in it and removed the grease gun the fitting popped off with it. Horrible workmanship. I don't know if this is something to cause other problems so I come back in for more work or just pure laziness and inattention to detail. Either way I WILL NOT return for service of any kind as I can't trust another visit. I was going to do this work myself but I thought with a reasonable price why not have them do it. BIG MISTAKE. Now I have go back and correctly replace the parts that were destroyed. Waste of over $300!!

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would be compensated for the service charge and left and right tie rod ends that I have to replace. Service $312.25. Parts $40.00.

Business Response:  

 

Date:  2/12/2012

CUSTOMER NAME: ***** D *****

BBB CASE #: *******

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ***** *****.  Mr. ***** is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's
vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its customers when they have experienced a problem. 


Brake Masters appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to
resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that Mr. ***** had. Our Phoenix Area Manager
met with Mr. ***** and both reached an agreement to resolve this concern.  

 


Sincerely,
 
******* ** ********
Customer Service Manager

 

11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 4, 2012We took our **** ***** ****** with 60,000 miles on it for routine services which included a transmission flush to your franchise #*** located at; ***** * **** **** ********* ** We were told with the amount of services we wanted performed they would not be able to get to it that day and could we leave the car, which we did because we had another vehicle, they kept it over the weekend. The service personnel we dealt with through the entire ordeal are named; ***, ******, and the District Manager ****.May 7, 2012We received a call to pick the vehicle up and you will note all the services documented on invoice #***** to the tune of $2,752.66. We were never advised that the transmission fluid was bad/burnt or otherwise when they did the transmission flush, which is the main reason for this complaintWe took the vehicle straight home which is approximately seven (7) miles to our house and parked it in the garage. The very next morning we noticed fluids leaking on our garage floor, called the store and they had to send a tow truck to pick the vehicle up as we did not know what was leaking or how much. The tow truck picked up the car May 8, 2012 and once the shop had a chance to look at the car, they called us and advised that an o-ring on the transmission was wrong so they had to order the correct one, and along with that they determined that Dodge transmissions require special tools to perform the work, and Brake Masters (Complete Car Care) shop did not have the necessary tools and had to borrow them from ***** ********.After two months of car/transmission problems, the transmission had to be rebuilt and caused excess financial burden to me as a customer which could have been avoided had the transmission flush been performed properly per Dodge Representative. I as a customer was never informed as to the status of the transmission fluid when flushed, (poor Service).

Desired Settlement: I believe Brake Masters should share in the amount of the transmission rebuild that cost $2,824.80 as I had already paid Brake Masters $2,752.66, and they should have diagnosed there was a problem prior to the rebuild,as Brake Masters should have noticed the transmission fluid was burnt or dirty with possible metal shavings, that is their profession.

Business Response:

 

Date:  9-4-2012

CUSTOMER NAME: ****** *****

BBB CASE #:

 

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, ****** *****.  Ms. ***** is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its customers when they have experienced a problem. 

Brake Masters appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that Ms. ***** has and we do not feel that Brake Masters was at fault or caused the issue that her vehicle experienced.

5-7-2012, Ms. ***** brought in her **** ***** ****** with 60091 in to Brake Masters for service. We performed the following services,  full service oil change, basic tune-up to include spark plugs and a fuel injector service, power steering flush, water housing gasket and plenum gasket, cooling system flush, replace rear main seal, replace lower control arm, alignment, and a transmission flush.  Some of these services are maintenance services that are recommended by the vehicle’s manufacture for mileage intervals’. Those services include the power steering flush, coolant flush, transmission flush and an oil change. I have attached the recommended services for the **** ***** ****** with the mileage of 60,000. The other services that were completed were recommended based on the findings after the vehicle’s inspection and diagnostic was performed.

The customer advised that shortly after picking up the vehicle and driving about 7 miles the vehicle would shudder. We brought the vehicle back in and started going thru to see what the cause was. Brake Masters sent out the vehicle to a drive line company to have the rear differential rebalanced at no charge to the customer. Brake Masters had the tires balanced and rotated with no charge to the customer. Both did not solve the issue. We contact the dealer and they performed a re-flash of the system as per the manufacture recommendations. They also inspected the vehicle and did not find the issue. Please see attached invoice from Moore Auto Group.

The vehicle continued to have the same issue and after further investigating the manufacture has put out many technical service bulletins in regards to the same issue that this vehicle was experiencing. Please see attached copies.

Brake Masters did contact the dealer and were advised that after completing a transmission flush it would not cause this issue with the vehicle. The transmission flush completed by Brake Masters was recommended by the vehicle’s manufacture and was done correctly. 

When completing a transmission flush the pan is not removed, therefore we would be unable to determine if there were any metal shavings in the transmission. The customer wanted to know why we did not diagnose any issues with the transmission. Brake Masters did not have indication that there was any issue prior to flushing the unit and performed the service requested.

 

Sincerely,

 

  ******* ** ********

Customer Service Manager

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The check engine light had gone on on my 2003 Volkswagon Jetta, I spoke with the Manager, Sergio Cardenas. He advised me to bring the car in and they would perform a diagnostic test which would cost me $89.00, half would be applied to the total amount charged. I had gone 200 miles past the oil change time that could result in the check engine light turning on. I agreed to the oil change and returned approximately 2 hours later. As I was checking out, Sergio said I owed $123.69, I asked about the half of the $89.00 that was supposed to be applied to the total and he said that would only apply to a repair. (he was not a pleasant character) As I was looking at the invoice I noticed that they had put 5/30 motor oil in my car. I told Sergio that the car specifically takes 10/30 oil, it also says that on the oil cap under the hood. He rudely said that it doesn't make a difference and that they only carry 5/30 oil. I told him he should have informed me of that prior to adding the wrong type of oil and he adamently said it doesn't make a difference. I said if it doesn't make a difference, why would it specify the oil type in the handbook as well as on the oil cap under the hood. Once again, he said it doesn't matter and that all oil is the same.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back as well as an oil change with the correct oil. I think they should also be required to inform their customers that they only carry 5/30 oil before they put it in the cars.

Business Response:

We have contacted this customer and have invited her to visit our store and meet with the Area Manager.  We had set up an appointment, but the customer had to reschedule.

 

8/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this business and asked how much does it cost to get brakes replaced and they quoted me $69. I figured $70. for 4 brakes would be $280. When they took the wheels off and checked my brakes I was told it would cost me $663. My car only had 48,000 miles on the car and I have been told by others the price is excessive.Had I known the total price beforehand I would not have chosen this business because Ford Motor Company gave me a $400. quote.

Desired Settlement: I felt like I was ripped off and I filed this complaint as a warning for other customers.I felt like I should have been told the $69. did not include labor or parts. I have no idea what the $69. was all about. I felt like I was deceived since I know nothing about brakes.

Business Response: WE have contacted this customer and explained the service. Please close file.

7/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing you regarding a horrible experience that I had at the Brakemasters Chandler, AZ location. I took in my 1998 Honda Civic because it was overheating. I spent about 682 on repairing the car which entailed getting a new radiator, changing the thermostat and they changed the plugs. That weekend I drove my car to California and it overheated. As you can imagine I was bewildered because to my knowledge was fixed. I had the water pump changed in California. On my way back to Arizona to my despair the car over heated again. I took the car back to Brakemasters and explained my problem. I was told that because I drove the car I damaged the head gasket and I had to pay for the repairs. I don't believe this is fair because I drove my car under the assumption that it was fixed. The car was damaged because the work wasn't done correctly. Because of this my car was not drivable and because I spent so much money trying to repair the car I didn't have the money to correct the problem. I lost trust in this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the money that I spent on the repairs on my car.

Business Response: Date 6/14/12

CUSTOMER NAME:

BBB CASE

Thank you for forwarding to us the complaint of our customer, she is a valued customer and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this complaint.It is and always has been Brake Masters® policy to correct any deficiencies that have occurred in repairing and/or servicing a customer's vehicle. Furthermore, Brake Masters® has always tried to satisfy all its customers when they have experienced a problem.  5-21-2012, the consumer brought her 1998 Honda Civic mileage at 160626 for an oil change and the vehicle was overheating. Upon completing several cooling system tests it was determined that the radiator and thermostat and both hoses needed to be replaced. It was also noted at that time due to possible overheating, that there may be internal engine damage, but was not present at this time. We also completed a block test to see if there were any indications of internal damage. At this time that test was negative. Please see attached invoice and comments and customer signature to acknowledge the repairs. 5-30-2012, the consumer returned to our location because the vehicle was overheating. The mileage was 161816. She advised that she had driven to California and had an auto repair shop there replace the water pump as the vehicle was overheating. We have no indication from the customer if the other shop had conducted any type of cooling system check. The customer advised that they replaced the water pumps which in another part of the cooling system. As previous indicated the vehicle may have further damage due to the customer driving the vehicle in the red line. We again conducted an engine block test and determined that now there was internal damage to the engine overheating. We recommended replacing the head gaskets due to the vehicles severe overheating. The customer declined those repairs.  

Brake Masters appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to resolve complaints, and we believe we have addressed the concerns that the consumer has and we do not feel that we are at fault for the condition of the above vehicle. The consumer was made aware of the condition of her vehicle and made a choice to drive it.  

Sincerely,

******* ** ********Customer Loyalty Coordinator

6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Day 1, Left 2007 Equinox at shop at noon to fix start problem. Manager (Greg) phoned at 1PM and said problem was battery. I told him the battery had been tested earlier that day by a shop and they said it was good. However I said he must be right so change it. I arrived at shop to get Equinox and pay at 4:30PM. Battery was replaced but problem not fixed. Greg/Manager had no idea what was wrong but would have it fixed on next day and would call by 10:30 AM. Equinox was left at shop to fix.Day 2. Greg called at 12 noon and told resistor was problem. 30 minutes later Greg calls to say Resistor was not problem. The Resistor problem was on another car... Equinox not fixed. 3:30 PM get call from Greg that Equinox is fixed and can be picked up at 4:30. I arrive at 4:30PM to pick up Equinox but Equinox is not ready. I wait till 5PM and see that nothing has been done on the car, still in pieces and no one is working on it. I tell Greg/manager I am not happy. He says it is not his problem, it is the mechanics fault. He then indicates that I should be more patient. I say call me when Equinox is ready and not before. At 6PM there is a message left on my home phone saying car can be picked up at 6PM. No call to my cell. Day 3. I arrive at Brake Masters at 8AM. I am given Equinox back and told that there is now a Stabilitrak error, and a check engine error. Manager (Adam)says it is not their problem and I should take it to a GM dealer... Parts that were replaced were not returned to me. Battery they claimed was bad had been tested on first day by other shop who said battery was good. I also find that now the Air-conditioning does not work in the Equinox.

Desired Settlement: I would like the car repaired to the condition that I provided it in. Stabilitrak working, engine check light off and the air-conditioning working. I would like the battery, two relays and the two fuses that were changed returned to me. I do not trust brake Masters to do this so have booked an appointment with the GM dealer (as per their recommendation) to get these problems dealt with. I feel that Brake Masters should pay GM dealer.

6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my SUV into the shop because of a service engine light that came on. When Brake Masters scanned the problem, I was told that the catalytic convertor was bad and needed to be replaced. The man at the counter also stated that my radiator hose needed to be replaced. I was going out of town and he told me that it was risky and the last thing I needed was to be worried about overheating and also losing gas efficiency due to the catalytic convertor.I decided to get a second opinion since collectively this issue would cost me $1000. I went to another mechanic who brought me out to my car and showed me where the radiator hose was located and also showed me that there was nothing wrong with the hose.He instructed me to fill my gas tank and reset my odometer, drive the car until empty and call him back with the mileage number that I drove.My car proved to be "A" okay on both ends. It turns out that neither one of the problems Brake Masters said was wrong with my car were accurate.This is very discouraging and disappointing, especially since I have usually selected Brake Masters a reliable place to go.The manager that currently runs the front desk is pushy, very "car salesman like", and does not care to help you out in any way. He made me extremely worried since he knew that I was driving to Las Vegas that weekend, not to mention I am 7 months pregnant. Paying $1000 for a problem that doesn't exist is a very bad way to keep customers.I hope that no one else is hassled by this problem and wonder how many people have fallen for his tactics without knowing.

Desired Settlement: It would be nice to know that Brake Masters continues to follow their goal of providing the A+ BBB service that they advertise on the website. I have trusted them in the past because if there was anything that needed to be fixed on my car, they would let me know if the matter is urgent or not.I got none of this service from them this time around and will not be returning.

6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brake Masters Replacement rotors and brakes. Replacement of left ty rode. I have been at Brake Masters several times regarding issues with the front brakes not working properly. I am not satisfied with the brakes and am worried about my safety on the road. I have been in contact with costumer support and with two different shops with my concerns. They have tried several times to fix the rotors and brakes and it has not resolved the issue. They keep telling me that they have resolved my problems and the case is closed. I am very concerned with the out come of the problems I have with the employees and the product. I am not sure if the individuals are covering each other. I have never been in a situation like this before. I have all paper work and email traffic if you are needing it to support my defense. In addition, I also was advised that my vehicle was shaking do to my ty rode being loose. So in conclusion I had them replace it because Brake Masters diagnosed the issue to the Ty rode. It did not resolve the shaking so I went to the Ford service department and they were concerned I paid for a service on the ty rode I did not need. The Ford dealership told me that it was the motor mounts so I had them replace the motor mounts and it resolved the issue I was having. Brake Masters has provided me faulty diagnosis and bad products. There customer service has proven to me a poor performance rating. I trusted Brake Master because of there brand that they are brake experts.NOTE: I do have the necessary documents and names needed that I can provide.

Desired Settlement: Brake Masters needs to provided me with a full refund on the Ty Rode and alignment on materials and services and provide me with a full refund of the brakes and rotors on service and materials. I can provide the receipts if needed at BBB request.Invoice# 33056 Total Amount $ 346.31Invoice# 34152 Total Amount $ 181.86

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8936515, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Brake Masters is responding on behalf of myself and responding that everything is satisfactory and complete It is not at all true. I am very disappointed that they would try to create a documented time line that shows them completing my issues with my purchase of the Brakes. My brakes have been an issue since the day of purchase and I am really concerned. I would like a refund. I have all recorded voice conversations and emails with my concerns and issues and I will provide if needed. When a company is at fault and has provide pour service and a faulty product then they as a company should provide 100% customer satisfaction. 

I have never been so unsatisfied and disappoint in a company. I would think with all the complaints I have read and researched on Brake Masters that they as a company need to reflect back to there mission statement. I would like to be granted a full refund on both invoices. 

Regards,

Stephen Mancuso


 

 

Business Response:

Brake Masters appreciates the efforts the Better Business Bureau makes in helping us to resolve complaints. We have addressed the issues that Mr. Mancuso has had with his vehicle, According to a CarFax report the vehicle in question was sold to another party on 2-16-2012 indicating that Mr. Mancuso is no longer in possession of the vehicle. Please see attached report. The report to the BBB was filed on March 2, 2012 the report shows that the vehicle was sold prior to that date. We stand behind our previous decision and will not refund Mr. Mancuso for services provided.

R,

Timothy Harphant

Customer Service Director

.

4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service