This business is not BBB accredited.

Brillare Hairdressing Academy

Additional Locations

Fax: (480) 994-8319 View Additional Phone Numbers 301 E Bethany Home Rd Ste C275, Phoenix, AZ 85012 http://www.brillare.com ! There is an alert on Brillare Hairdressing Academy !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a cosmetology school for hair cutting and coloring.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brillare Hairdressing Academy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 13, 2004 Business started: 06/08/1995 in DE Business incorporated 06/22/2011 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Board of Cosmetology
1721 E. Broadway Road, Tempe AZ 85282
http://www.azboc.gov
Phone Number: (480) 784-4539
Fax Number: (480) 784-4962

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Christa Jones, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christa Jones, Manager
Business Category

Beauty Schools Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Beauty Salons

Alternate Business Names
Anaphora Anaphora, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15147 N Scottsdale Rd Ste H-300

    Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (480) 994-4222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15210 S 50th St Ste 150

    Phoenix, AZ 85044 (480) 940-5300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 E Bethany Home Rd Ste C275

    Phoenix, AZ 85012

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started Brillare Hairdressing Academy on April 04,2014 as a transfer student. I was welcomed in with open arms, no starter kit to practice and no direction in testing placement. I was thrown in a class with no books or no kit. When I asked the director about my tools that I would need to preform services she gave me used dirty brushes and other pass students old tools. I ended up having to go out and buy basic tools that I needed such as rubber bands, hair pins, bobby pins, hair spray, combs, blow dryer, clips and more. I protested I needed a kit to do the services that are needed and were promised. June 25th I sat down with the director of the school and expressed the trying times I had been going through and had been thinking about taking a Leave. She explained that taking a leave isnt the answer and I should just go part time. I started part time June 26th and walked into a school that had no teachers. I waited around and waited. I asked the front desk man where was everyone and he said they should be in soon. I ended up clocking out and going home after 2 hours with no one in site. On June 27th I called the director to express my concerns with part time night classes but the phones were consistent with a busy tone. After no answer on the phone I went down to the school to see if the director was there to talk and she wasnt anywhere in the building. The front deskman again said she should be coming in but she never came in. I came home immediately and sent an email to her requesting that she call me. Then on June 29, 2014 I woke up got dress and drove to school to find it had be cleared out and closed. I was locked out. All of the equipment that I had personally purchased had been locked in and removed, stolen. I came hold to check my email to see a mail demon from the email I had sent. My financial aid had been used up and closed out. The school had given me a total of 216 hours and had taken over $5,000 in financial aid money. 216 hours is equivalent to nearly $2,160 at most. With noI started Brillare Hairdressing Academy on April 04,2014 as a transfer student. I was welcomed in with open arms, no starter kit to practice and no direction in testing placement. I was thrown in a class with no books or no kit. When I asked the director about my tools that I would need to preform services she gave me used dirty brushes and other pass students old tools. I ended up having to go out and buy basic tools that I needed such as rubber bands, hair pins, bobby pins, hair spray, combs, clips and more. I protested I needed a kit to do the services that are needed and were promised. June 25th I sat down with the director of the school and expressed the trying times I had been going through and had been thinking about taking a Leave. She explained that taking a leave isnt the answer and I should just go part time. I started part time June 26th and walked into a school that had no teachers. I waited around and waited. I asked the front desk man where was everyone and he said they should be in soon. I ended up clocking out and going home after 2 hours with no one in site. On June 27th I called the director to express my concerns with part time night classes but the phones were consistent with a busy tone. After no answer on the phone I went down to the school to see if the director was there to talk and she wasnt anywhere in the building. The front deskman again said she should be coming in but she never came in. I came home immediately and sent an email to her requesting that she call me. Then on June 29, 2014 I woke up got dress and drove to school to find it had be cleared out and closed. I was locked out. All of the equipment that I had personally purchased had been locked in and removed, stolen. I came hold to check my email to see a mail demon from the email I had sent. My financial aid had been used up and closed out. The school had given me a total of 216 hours and had taken $5,510 in financial aid money. 216 hours is equivalent to nearly $2,160 at most. With no tools no structured learning environment I dont see how its fair or ethical to rob or steal from students wanting to further their education.

Desired Settlement: From this point I would like the difference from my financial aid and the hours that I had actually accumulated there at Brillare Hairdressing Academy, which is $3,359; plus the cost of the products that were purchased due to the school not having the basics to teach $80. A total of $3439, which will be used to finish my education.

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incomplete kit Fed Loan Lack of supplies Professionalism Poor structure Student’s goals not validated by staff nor the director Student is paying school for an education Student is not a cog in this foolproof salon business Student requests an education To whom it may concern, I am writing this letter in an effort to redress the situation at hand, as I have followed grievance policy and absolutely nothing has been done to amend this situation. I started at Brillare Hair academy May 29th of 2013 promised a complete kit from said provider, (shown in Brillare Hairdressing Academy Catalog #******). Page 6 of the catalog, under Student information; cosmetology kits, states verbatim: “Cosmetology kits are required for the cosmetology program and all students must have their kit with them on the first day of school.” Catalog goes on to state that “a kit-list is provided in the admissions office.” I received a kit-list upon signing up with the school. I recently pulled a kit-list from my file and it differs from the list received upon signing up, I want what was stated on the original list that was promised to me upon signing of contract. I currently have an incomplete kit and am still enrolled in the school it is 1/7/14, I am forced to perform services on clientele with an incomplete kit, example: I have to “borrow” a blow-dryer each time I perform a service. Fed Loan shows it dispersed funds to said school in May 21st 2013. This institution has collected my money; I expect my education, and whatever else promised upon signing of contract. Another promise was made of a check being awarded to me upon completing 450 hours at said institution. Fed Loans show that this check has been dispersed December 4th 2013, it is now Jan 7th 2014 and I have still not received said check, when inquiring about my funds the director ****** Mason and financial aid Genna Freeborn juggle in between “the internet is down” & “go ask the ****** or vice versa…” This check is imperative as I attend school full time and it is my only form of income to pay for housing expenses, this is affecting my families livelihood as I am a domestic violence survivor full time student mother of three, all staff has been made aware of this and has the protection order against my husband on file. I have expressed this importance to Genna Freeborn multiple times within the last few weeks following dispersal date. Attending this school I have observed a lack of supplies including Paper Towels, Soap to wash implements, Shampoo & Conditioner, Styling Products, Towels, color, lightener, developer ETC. This lack of supplies has been documented on BBB website by several other peers. When Director is confronted with this issue his reply to everything and anything is that “it’s on back order” when asked for an estimate on date and time that supplies for the school or my kit will arrive, he cannot provide any information other than everything is on back order. Upon touring the school it seemed clean, professional, and structured. First day attending from then on has divulged a sense of uncertainty & unprofessionalism. For example: Director and staff could not decide where to place new students within a classroom or which of the staff would instruct the new students, every day from then on staff had to make room for new students in any room that was available at the time. No books were provided on the first day of school and many weeks following, only printouts, and copies of material deemed mandatory for that day. Cheap replacements were awarded to the students to use in place of their more expensive kit tools, on the bottom of the kit-list provided upon contract signing it states that “If it becomes necessary to provide substitution items, the substitution items will be of comparable value” (students were required to check off what they received on the kit checklist, even without it being the same grade and quality as the actual kit tools) Student has observed new students using dollar store shears in place of expensive shears included in kit (when asked what was the reasoning of this they were told that these cheap shears were their practice shears.) I have expressed weak points and concern for studying and completing my curriculum before allotted time is used up at the school with instructor & Director alike only to have the request/concern shrugged off and not validated. School rushes students through initial phases to hurry them out onto the salon floor unprepared in order to run their "Fool Proof Salon", Example: Client signs a waiver, unprepared/uneducated student perform service (even after expressing uncertainty), destroys clients hair, Client signed a paper and can do nothing about this. Money is collected. The instructors walk around making their rounds, never staying with students for long, despite what student might prefer, initial consultation is completed but if there is a question or concern the client must be left unattended and the instructor tracked down to move forward with service. I understand the "real life" salon atmosphere helps students in achieving a better feel for the actual salon workplace, but the school does not feel like an educational institution. If you cannot do clientele you are bullied into it by the threat of being sent home and are told that you are unable to work on educational material if you so choose. I have done a recent search and discovered that the school is on probation with ******. It feels as if the school is unraveling at the seams and is extremely unprofessional. I am a transfer student, transferring a little under 700 hrs. I have over 300 hrs floor experience accumulated in previous school, (300 hrs on salon floor is required by state board in order appease AZ state guidelines) The school accepted my transfer hours not specifying what type of hours they accepted, I would speculate that it is safe to assume those 300 hours of salon floor experience needed are completed considering I have a little over 400 hrs till graduation. I intend on using that 400+ hours on my curriculum in order to complete what state board required in order to graduate. I am paying this school to educate me, I am asking for an education and the kit promised to me upon signing of contract. I do not wish to graduate without the education that I am paying for or without the remainder of my kit that was promised. There are a lot of students scared to come forward about these many problems because of retaliation, I was contemplating on not divulging my personal information in this letter but I would rather request that there is no retaliation for my constructive criticism, based on my own personal experience, of the schools performance or lack thereof the remainder of my time at the school onward. If school cannot comply with my request for an education and the remainder of the ORIGINAL kit I was promised. I request to be dropped from this school and be refunded for the hours accrued, especially the hours that are not transferrable to other institutions. It is imperative that the federal money is returned upon leaving the school. I feel that my valuable time has been wasted. I hope that we can rectify this situation in a timely manner. Thank you for listening to my complaint, **** *****- ****** If you have any questions concerning this matter such as documentation or to follow up on this complaint please contact me at j****************

Desired Settlement: If school cannot comply with my request for an education and the remainder of the ORIGINAL kit I was promised. I request to be dropped from this school and be refunded for the hours accrued, especially the hours that are not transferrable to other institutions. It is imperative that the federal money is returned upon leaving the school. I feel that my valuable time has been wasted. I hope that we can rectify this situation.

Business Response:

I am writing to respond to the above referenced complaint from Ms. **** ****** *****-******. Thank you for making us aware of her concerns, and giving us this opportunity to respond.

I have investigated ****** concerns, and in doing so, have spoken with the Director of Education, the ******** ** ********* ***, and Ms. *****-******'s (******) instructors, among others. I have come to the same conclusion as ****—albeit for vastly different reasons: Brillare

Academy is not for ****, and **** is not for Brillare Academy. Brillare Academy will refund all monies paid for ****** schooling at Brillare. As you know, the **** ********** ** ********* Title IV (federal Financial Aid) program is highly regulated and dictates precisely how financial-aid money is to be returned. We are processing the documentation for an official withdrawal from school for ****, as well. We wish **** well in her future endeavors.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.   If you have any additional questions, feel free to call.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am writing in response to the response for my complaint. Of course this is not what I asked for and I reject the very notion of being "removed/withdrawn" from the program as I am 2 months away from graduation and have three children that solely depend upon me. I ask only to receive what I paid for. I have spoken with the director and requested a written explanation concerning my removal from the program as well as my transcripts, 1098T tax form (I am aware the federal deadline is 1-31-14) I have also expressed my concern of my personal information being sent through the mail and have requested to retrieve via the school location. I have not seen the funds that were dispersed on Dec 4th, 2013 from ******* *** and it is currently 1-29-14. 1-18-14 is the last day that I had attended Brillare as you had stated that you were in the process of Removing/Withdrawing me. Is there any way you could reconsider this action and let me finish my schooling unphased. I have also asked the director about my GPA as I have observed looking back at prior timesheets that in Oct I had a GPA of 90.94 and not even 2 months later in the month of December it dropped to a 40.46 GPA, ****** responded to my drastic drop in grade stating that it had something to do with the state board sheets not being completed, as far as I was concerned I had spoken with an instructor and was informed that even if the sheet had not been completed it would be a partial grade until I brought in the doctors note for my hand, he stated that even with a doctors note if the sheet was not completed it was an automatic zero even If I was not physically able to perform due to the injury. I had only been on the floor since the end of November and I still do not see how my GPA was able to drop that drastically in such a short period of time. I have taken a total of 3 theory tests since I started at brillare May 29th 2013 ******* was a passing grade, Nail diseases and disorders twice as I have failed that twice which I find peculiar as my transcripts from my other school all show passing grades on all previous tests. **** graded the ******* test but informed me that if it was lower than reported grade on transcripts that the higher of  the 2 would be recorded. ****** is my theory teacher that graded the 2 nail diseases and disorders tests and failed me both times, me and ****** do not see eye to eye and I have expressed this to the director that I would feel more comfortable if another instructor was grading my tests, he offered to do it himself but I declined as I had already filed with the better business bureau and felt that it may still be a conflict of interest, Forgive me if I am wrong. I have also expressed to instructor and director alike that I wished to be placed in senior theory class as I had reached 1200 hrs and needed to prepare for the state board curing conflict between ****** and I and preparing me for state board I was denied this request on several occasions as I had not passed the Nail disorders and diseases test and needed to in order to move on to senior theory. 

Regards,
**** *****-******

Business Response:

Per ****** original request (in complaint to BBB) and based on our understanding, we were processing for a full refund of monies, which includes the processing of R2T4 (Return of Title IV funds). Now, however, the disbursement has been made to ****.

1-18-14 is the last day that I had attended Brillare .. were in process of Removing/Withdrawing me. Is there any way that you could reconsider this action and let me finish my schooling unphased. 

RESPONSE: Yes. **** was readmitted. **** needs 357 clock hours to complete the program, which equates to approximately 52 full-time days (approximately 10 weeks of school).

I have also asked the director about my GPA, as I have observed looking back at prior timesheets that in Oct I had a GPA of 90.94 and not even 2 months later in. .December, it dropped to a 40.46 GPA. Steven fDirector of Education/school] responded to my drastic drop in grade stating that it had something to do with state board sheets not being completed, as far as I was concerned I had spoken with an instructor and was informed that even if the sheet had not been completed it would be a partial grade until I brought in a doctors note if the sheet was not completed it was an automatic zero if I was not physically able to perform due to the injury. I had only been on the Clinic [Floor since the end of November and I st'M do not see how my GPA was able to drop that drastically in such a short period of time.

RESPONSE:
We have addressed this with ****, and are working towards a resolution.

I have taken a total of 3 theory tests since started at Brillare May 29th, 2013; ******* was a passing grade: Nail diseases and disorders twice as I have failed that twice which I find peculiar as my transcripts from my other show passing grades all show passing grades on all previous tests. **** graded ******* test and informed me that if it was lower than reported grade on transcripts that higher of 2 would be recorded. ****** is my theory teacher that graded the 2 nail tests and failed me both times. ****** and I don't see eye to eye and I have expressed this to the director that I would feel more comfortable if another instructor was grading my tests, he offered to do it himself but I declined [since! I had filed with \BBB], and felt that it may still be a conflict of interest. Forgive me if 1am wrong. 

RESPONSE:
We have addressed this with ****, and are working towards a resolution.

Expressed to instructor and director. .wished to be placed in senior theory . .had reached 1200 hrs and needed to prepare for state board; conflict [with] ****** and preparing me [****l for state board. Was denied this request on several occasions as I had not passed the Nail disorders/diseases tests & needed to in order to move onto senior theory. 

RESPONSE:
We have addressed this with ****, and are working towards a resolution.

To summarize, the staff and instructors at Brillare Academy will do everything within our power to help **** successfully complete her training. We are counting on **** to do her part as well. Truly, we want **** to succeed.

12/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started school on 9/10/2013. My school funds were disbursed on 8/25/2013. I am scheduled to go on the clinic floor, but I don't have my full kit to perform services such as a Vidsl Sassoon color book and my entire sheer kit (approximately$1600 in value). It has bern months and several conversations of different excuses. I'm expected to perform client services with " lenders". My kit was paid for in full on 8/25/2013.

Desired Settlement: I want the rest of my kit at a discounted price. I want an honest explanation as well.

Business Response:

brillare

hairdressing academy

NOV 2 2 2013

November 22, 2013

Mr. **** ****

Business Relations

Better Business Bureau of Greater Phoenix

**** ** **** ******

******** ** *****

Re:       Brillare Hairdressing Academy: Response to Complaint from Ms. ***** ***
Better Business Bureau Complaint Management 1D# 9806054

Dear Mr. Doss,

I am writing in response to the Bureau's November 17, 2013 communication regarding the about
referenced complaint from Ms. ***** ***, a student enrolled at our Scottsdale campus.

We are adjusting Ms. ***'s account, per her request for resolution: She will receive the entire kit at no
cost.

Regarding the shears, Ms. *** should have her sheers by the time she reads this response, or within a day
or two thereafter. We have been assured of that by the supplier.

Regarding Ms. ***'s scheduled move to the Clinic Floor and the need for her to have the Sassoon Colour
book, we are working to make that happen too. To be honest, we do not have a definitive date on the
latter, and would ask that Ms. *** bear with us on this issue. She should know, however, that she will
get her book. In the meantime, please know that the absence of the Sassoon book does not in any way
affect her work on the Clinic Floor. She will have access to the instructor, demonstrations, invited
artist/stylists, tools and supplies, and supervised on-hands experience with clients, none of which is
dependent on having the book.

I believe that we have addressed all of Ms. ***'s concerns, and honestly responded to each, as she asked.
Thank you for bringing them to our attention, and for your assistance in resolving this matter.

Sincerely,

******* ******
CEO

Cc:       **** **** ****, VP Compliance & Regulatory Affairs, and Brillare Academy contact with BBB

Anaphora, LLC dba Brillare Hairdressing Academy
*** **** ******* **** ***** ***** ***** * ******** ** ****** p.###-###-#### | f.###-###-####

****************

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brillare Hairdressing Academy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)