Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Miracle Method of Tempe and Scottsdale

Phone: (480) 775-3707 Fax: (480) 968-6854 2111 S. Industrial Park Avenue #101, Tempe, AZ 85282 http://www.miraclemethod.com/tempe View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bathtub, shower, countertop refinishing, installs shower doors and enclosures, converts tubs to showers, and installs safety features such as grab bars and slip resistant surfaces. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Miracle Method of Tempe and Scottsdale meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Miracle Method of Tempe and Scottsdale include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Miracle Method of Tempe and Scottsdale include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Miracle Method of Tempe and Scottsdale
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 28, 2006 Business started: 03/15/2006 in AZ Business started locally: 03/15/2006 Business incorporated 03/16/2006 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Shawn Jessup, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shawn Jessup, Owner
Business Category

Bathtub Refinishing Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Countertops Shower Doors & Enclosures


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Miracle Method of Tempe and Scottsdale has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2111 S. Industrial Park Avenue #101

    Tempe, AZ 85282

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was hired as a sub contractor to fix a crack and refinish a resin built in bathtub. They cancelled the original appointment the day before and had to reschedule for the following week. They refused to try and get an earlier appointment. When they did show up they prepared the crack for finishing and patched it. They then sprayed the tub with a white color. I was told they would return the following day to sand and polish any imperfections in the tub. They did show up and proceeded to sand and polish the surface of the tub where required. When the tech called me in to check out their work, I was dismayed to see multiple areas that had been sanded but not polished, orange peel finish in some locations, pits where apparently a poor job of cleaning caused the paint to pinhole the surface and an overall job of totally unsatisfactory. The tech, who had told me he "was the best the company had" absolutely refused to fix the problems that I showed him and walked out of my house. I contacted the contractor and he said that they would come back and finish the job. That was in October and I have yet to hear from them. After being treated like trash by their tech, I do not feel it necessary for me to call them but that, due to the improper way they conducted business should call me.

Desired Settlement: They should not advertise "We give you a high-end look without the high-end cost. We refinish your countertops, tubs, showers and tile in place making them look and feel like new" or "Refinishing performed with the right materials and using the right procedures produces incredibly beautiful results! But not all refinishing is the same. No other refinisher delivers the quality work or level of service consistently offered by Miracle Method. Miracle Method was founded in 1979 and we have proven our track record of superior performance and customer service with over 1 million satisfied customers. The combination of diligent preparation, our proprietary MM-4 bonding agent, advanced coatings and final detailing sets Miracle Method apart from all other refinishers." These "promises" are worthless based on the results I have seen and could be considered false advertising. They should not be considered to be a member of the BBB for their business practices. I just want my tub to look the way they promised it would.

Business Response: ID #********
We were hired by an independent contractor to do a repair on a cultured marble garden tub that the homeowner, Mr. ******* said that the contractor damaged.  I went and looked at it.  The tub had a crack on the top back left corner. 
I explained what we do and the process of fixing the crack and gave my proposal to the contractor.  The contractor and the homeowner decided, together, to have us refinish the entire tub as well as repair the crack. 
We called the homeowner and set up a schedule for us to refinish and repair his tub.  The schedule did need to be changed, as our company is small and I had technicians who called out.  This is an unavoidable issue in a small company.  With 4-5 fully booked technicians in place, if one calls out, jobs need to be rescheduled.
Apparently, the contractor has been having some issues with his work on this job, so he and the homeowner were in negotiations over a few different issues.  When we completed our work, we were told, by the contractor, that the homeowner was not happy with the work.  He said we damaged his tub spout, which was removed during our process.  He also stated that he did not like how the surface looked in a couple of spots.  We were informed of this by the contractor, and immediately offered to go look at it and, if needed, to set up a time to go back and fix our issues.
The contractor passed our offer on to the homeowner, but let us know that the homeowner does not want anyone from his company or ours back.  We were surprised and disappointed to read that he was “expecting” a call from us when he had instructed us not to contact him.  We always stand behind our work, we always attempt to resolve any issues that a customer might have.  We want to do that in this case as well.
I said that I would call him and try to work out an arrangement to resolve our portion of the work.  The contractor asked me not to, and said that he would talk to the customer again and let us know.  That is where we are at this point.  We are waiting to hear back from the contractor.
I am more than willing to go back and finish and/or resolve the job as it pertains to our refinishing.  From what I have been told, the area of discontent is an easy fix.  If the problem is through a result of my company, I would not have any issues with redoing the work.  Again, we always stand behind our work, we always attempt to resolve any issues that a customer might have.  We want to do that in this case as well.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.  I did not tell the contractor that I did not want the tub repaired as it should have been when the company came out to do the refinishing in the first place.  Why did this company representative stand and look me in the eyes and absolutely refuse to fix it while HE WAS THERE TO FINISH THE JOB BUT WOULD NOT??  I do NOT WANT THE SAME SMART ALEC PUNK KID HERE AGAIN, but someone who is experienced enough to realize that sanded areas need to be polished to look correct and that cracks should not be easily seen with "lumps" but smooth to the touch and visually not noticeable.  I did not tell the contractor to not have this company come back to finish the job.  That is another issue.  Meanwhile, I want the tub finished correctly and no, and I repeat, no more mistakes including orange peel finish, pits in the finish due to not clearning the tub correctly and not polishing the tub correctly and finishing the job etc. 

Regards,

**** *******

 

4/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I over paid the bill and the owner agreed to a 45.00 refund however he never sends the check. I have called several times and the same results.

Desired Settlement: Get my money back.

Business Response: We will honor coupon, It will go out this week I will e-mail you when it goes.
If you need more of the story please let me know.
 
***** ******, Owner
Miracle Method of Tempe
*************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

You sent E Mail saying Miracle Method of Tempe said they were going to honer my coupon and a check would go out week of4/1/15. They have told me that same story sence Jan,15.  Please get this done as it is effecting my health worrying about it. Thanks ***** *********,Retired WW2 Veteran


Regards,

***** *********

Business Response: Check was put in a mail box today Saturday 4-18-15. 

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After postpoming work for tub. since 2/23/2015, sent worker out. He said did not have right tools or equiptment. Further work was told to do was not right. Couldn't do , and left. With stating owner would call back and contact me to figure out what to do. No call back since then. Need call and / or deposit back. Hope you can help

Desired Settlement: Would like to see work properly done and finished

Business Response: The customer claims their was a delay.  There was a delay, due to technician absences (ten total days) related to illness (including two hospital visits) and to family deaths.  Though we cannot control these types of scenarios, we stayed in touch with this customer very diligently, to keep him informed.When we did arrive, our technician started to clean Mr *********** shower; after getting to the tub surface, we found that there were two dozen chips in the tub.  Mr. ********* then started showing us other chips and cracks in the shower walls that were not in the options he chose from the estimate provided. I gave Mr. ********* two (2) options when I looked at his job in February: (1) repair just the tub, but not the walls, as he said they were acceptable as they were, (2) clean off soap scum and build up, and repair three (3) chips (these three were the only ones we could see at this time), then buff the tub only, and not walls.  Mr. ********* chose the second option, based on the lower price.I did answer Mr. *********** calls, and left messages.  When I could connect with him, I went back out to review his tub/shower unit.  We went over the job and I explained that the unit needed repairs.  I left the price the same, except for the additional repairs he showed the technician (ones not originally noted, but now visible). The difference in the price was $175.00, and Mr. ********* declined because of the price.  We have refunded Mr. *********** deposit to him.

Consumer Response:  Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *********

 

2/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company failed to complete installation of sink as paid for in the original invoice. The sink installed was damaged. Had to replace damaged sing and hire a plumber to complete installation twice causing a total of $400 over invoice.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $400 charged that was not completed

Business Response: ******:

On December 15, 2014, we were contracted to do a kitchen
counter remodel, by refinishing the counter tops in the home of Mr.
******.  The job included removing and
reinstalling the kitchen sink.  I,
personally, also built a new bottom for the sink cabinet; it was rotten from
water damage.  As part of our agreement,
they were going to purchase a new sink -- when we arrived to start, they
informed us that the new one was not in yet. 
I called and set it up for them to go buy one at my price through my
plumbing supplier, along with a new faucet.

We refinished the counter tops – everything went well and they
loved them.  We also rebuilt their sink
cabinet and they loved that.  We
installed the new sink, which included the two (2) new drains, garbage
disposal, and installed the new faucets that they bought.

The new faucet had supply lines built into it and they had
3/8” connections going to the valve. 
They also had a reverse osmosis (R.O.) system, but this system had ½”
connections.  The faucets that we had
installed could not be hooked up to the reverse osmosis, which meant we could
not hook the water up.    My technician
called to let me know what was happening on December 17, 2014 at 4:30PM.  I asked him to bring an R.O. part back, so
that I could obtain the correct adapter to hook the R.O. up. 

The next morning (12/18/14), I contacted the plumbing
company and they were going to find the adapters that I needed to hook up the
faucet’s 3/8” connection to the R.O. ½” connection.  I spoke with Mr. ****** late in the afternoon
and said that I could obtain the adapters, but that it would be the next day,
which would have necessitated a change in my schedule to pick up the parts and
go get everything hooked up.  About 30
minutes later, Mrs. ****** called to tell me that she had to have it hooked up that
day, and that they could not wait until the next day.  She informed me that she would have it
completed by a friend who was a plumber. 
Our cost to purchase the adapters and hook this up for the ******s would
have been only for the small cost of the adapters.  In their rush, the opted to use a friend who
was a plumber. 

Since they were planning to use another plumber, I suggested
that it would be wise to have him also replace the valves under the sink,
because of the type that they are.  She
called me back when the plumber was there and said that they were going to
charge her $350 to hook up the R.O. 
There were four connections that had to be hooked up and two of them
were for the faucet.  I spoke to the
plumber and asked why he was charging so much, and spoke to him about the
details of his work.  I talked to Mr.
****** on December 20, 2014 to find out if all was going okay and he said that
the plumber charged $350 just to pick up the adapters and hook it up.

Mr. ****** also claims, in his BBB complaint, that the sink
was damaged.  The sink was not damaged
when our technician did his final inspection.

Mr. ****** had paid in full for the job we were contracted
to do.  Our price to remove and reinstall
a kitchen sink without a reverse osmosis system is $325.00.  Our price to remove and reinstall a kitchen
sink with a reverse osmosis is $400.00; the difference in his price would
normally be $75.00.  We refunded Mr.
****** more than the $75.00 difference as a customer concession.  We sent him a check for $150, dated
12/31/2014.  That check has cleared our
bank account.