Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers conversion of tubs to whirlpools.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Bathtub Refinishing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Bathtub Refinishing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on A Bathtub Refinishing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1983 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 03/28/2000 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tom Ebert, President Ms. Diane Ebert, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Ebert, President
Business Category

Bathtub Refinishing Tile Restoration Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish

Alternate Business Names
Bathtub Refinishing Phoenix Ebert Companies, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A Bathtub Refinishing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 28231 N 68th St

    Cave Creek, AZ 85331 (480) 515-9898

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife & I had decided to move to Portland,OR from Phoenix,AZ and in the process have put our townhome in Phoenix for sale. After comments from the initial viewers and our realtor mentioning the look of our bathroom we decided to have our bathtub refinished. We researched, price compared, and after being assured by their sales associates that there would be no complications and the finished product would look just as good as the pictures on their website we booked them to refinish our upstairs shower/bathtub and surrounding tiles, as well as removing a shower door frame (which I was assured any holes made from removal would be sealed and painted over so that it would look like it never existed) for $500. I paid a security deposit of $150 on my debit card and the remaining $350 to be paid to ********* ******* via certified check upon completion of the job, scheduled for 10/7/13. Once Francisco arrived, and the frame was already removed he mentioned that it might not come out as perfect as they had mentioned to me and he wished that they would schedule preinspections before sending him out. He assured me that he would do the best he could and painted and sealed the area. After the 24 hour cure the paper and tape that was left to cover windows, etc was removed. There is an obvious crack in a tile that was broken during removal of the door frame that is now not level with the rest of the tile, and the cracks are not sealed. Caulking has sunken in areas and now with the brighter paint it highlights those flaws. The paint had seeped through some of the paper and painted my fan vents, and seeped into the vent. The paint is unevenly coated and quite frankly looks worse than before. I now recieve negative comments from viewrs, my realtor and anyone who has seen the "before" as well. I am now dealing with this from out of state, where my calls are being ignored by the owner *** that I spoke with. Pics of damages have been sent, and multiple phone calls and messages have been left. None have been returned

Desired Settlement: This job is not worthy of the full price of $500 that I paid for it.Upon my initial phone call with ***, the owner, he requested that I send someone over to my townhome to take pictures for him to see and assess the work. I have sent multiple pictures for him to review as of 11/22/13. After getting no response tried calling on 11/25/13 to follow up. I have also called and been ignored on 11/27/13; 12/2/13; and 12/3/13. I feel like they're ignoring this since they've already been paid.

Business Response:

December  17, 2013
 
Better  Business Bureau Complaint ID#: *******
 
Phoenix,  AZ
 
Re:  Customer **** **********
 
I had a 30 minute conversation with **** on Nov. 27th,  when  I explained the following to him:
 
Problem  # l. Loose Grout In the notes  section  of the contract it states, "Customer must repair  loose tile and  grout  before the technician arrives." Ou.r conversations with customers are recorded.  We listened to this sale and  the salesman did specifically  ask  if the tile was OK and  **** said, "Yes".  We are just refinishers, not tile people.  If you paint  over bad tile and  grout,  it will look like painted bad  tile and  grout.
 
 
Problem  #2 Loose TR- When  the tech  removed  the aluminum frame from the shower  doors,  some of the tile was dislodged  because the drywall behind  it was
rotten. The tech did the best  he could  to put  it back,  but  the underlying wall was rotten. To look good, a professional tile man  would have to replace  the drywall and  tile.
 
Problem  #3 Caulk  Une- Recaulking cannot be done  until  the new tub  surface dries,  as it is wet when  the  tech leaves the job.  We offer coming  back another day to redo the caulk for $75,  but  most customers do it themselves or have someone else do it.
 
We believe the customer misunderstands the scope of refinishing work.   He received full value of the work he purchased.
 
Sincerely, *** *****
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Although *** does explain possibilities of issues, rot etc. I was instructed to send photos over, which I did of the damage. Post theses emails every time I called to follow up (dates are included in my initial complaint) *** was conveniently out of the office or in a meeting every time that I called. Never once did I receive any response post sending these pictures to determine, what if any damage was not caused by their workers. The fact that I have been blatantly ignored from any attempt to resolve this issue leads me to believe that they want to put full fault on myself as a customer, and not standing behind their work. In regards to their claim that I stated the tiles were fine, I said they were fine  before anything was removed. Tiles were cracked, painted over and now highlight where they were split. These tiles had no damage whatsoever prior to this door frame removal. I could even hear the assistant calling his boss telling him he was scared to continue the removal because he thought he was going to crack the tile. Lo and behold the tiles was cracked, and I was reassured that they would be painted over to look fine. I never claimed that they would be a tile person, or any job title outside of the service that they advertise to provide. Excuses or not, the end result was not what was advertised, promised to me, or delivered. The fact that they have ignored me on more than four attempts to contact the company, and now claim that they have tape of me stating that everything is fine I find to be hard to believe. Had they taken the time to respond to my emails, calls, or have someone follow up at no charge to me to physically examine the faults that I have pointed out, then I would have been more than happy to have this issue resolved. The fact that they are aware that I have moved out of state, and are giving me the impression that they can ignore this and it will go away I find to be disheartening. I am in no way satisfied with this response.

Regards,

**** **********


 

 

Business Response:

December 23, 2013
 
Better  Business Bureau Complaint ID#: *******
 
Phoenix,  AZ
 
Re:  Customer **** **********
 
1.  The purpose of the photos was to confirm  what  I already knew,  that the wall was rotten. The worker  did not cause the damage.
2.  If the worker  knew  the wall was rotten, he would never have touched it.  You
could  not tell by looking at,  it as the  rotten part  was under the tile.  We have been  taking shower  door tracks off for many  years, but  the tile never breaks or falls off the wall unless the underlying wall itself is rotten. The tech  did not cause the damage to the wall just  by taking off the shower  door track.
3.  I explained thoroughly in our  30 minute conversation with **** that we did
nothing wrong.   He knew our  position  in that conversation. The issue was resolved  in that conversation, as there  was nothing else I could  say.
4.  Of course we stand by our  work, as we have been in business for 32 years.
But we cannot warranty work on a wall that was rotten to begin with.
5.  The tech  did not call me on that  day.   I asked ***** who wrote up the order and  he said  the tech did not call him that  day either, (Refer back  to Note #2) Calling us would do no good, as the refinishing tech  is the expert. We could not help him, as we are the salespeople.
6.  We advertise tub  resurfacing, which  is basically painting, not drywall,  tile
and  grout repair.
7.  I did not ignore  him as it was all discussed in the 30 minute conversation.
8.  The tape  recording has  **** telling ***** at the time of the sale  that the  tile is fine.  ***** asked that specifically.
9.  To ask  us to flx his rotten wall is not right.
 
We do not have the skill, tools or ability  to fu.:: tile, grout and  drywall,  even if someone offereq to pay us.   We are only refinishers.  If a house painter was hired to paint a house and  when  he started, the siding  pushed in because it was rotten, would the  painter be responsible to pay for new siding?  No, he would not.  It is unfortunate that the wall requires repair work, but  it is not our responsibility to pay for it, as we did not cause the damage.
 
Sincerely, *** *****
 

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertises BBB accreditation. Not listed on BBB website. Their promise to their customers: Experience: 30 yearsHonesty: We will not cut corners or sacrifice qualityAttention to detail: Strive for perfectionProfessionalism: Show up on time. Do exactly what we say we will do15 months ago, Bathtub Refinishers Phoenix performed unsatisfactory work on our standard residential bathtub, leaving non-slip chip material in the smooth finish of tub. We requested, in writing and by phone that they remedy the problem. Cutting to the chase, after promising many times to send a technician out, being stood up each time, they still have not corrected the problem. Today, the tub glazing is cracked and peeling. We now have a larger problem than we began with. Bathtub Refinishers of Phoenix' advertising, workmanship, material quality, and customer service have been, in our case, a consumer sham. Buyer beware of this company. They will charge customers $50.00 or about 15% of the cost of the job, to make a service call even for poor workmanship. Company may be a broker for another company using the name Whirlpool Bath.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactorily repair tub without further charge (travel or service) within 15 working days. Restart warranty coverage from date of professional quality re-installation.or...refund full amount + cost of BBB Accredited tub refinishing company's cost to remove Bathtub Refinisher's/Whirlpool Bath's poorly applied glazing material. Will supply quote from selected company. If Bathtub Refinishers of Phoenix is not a BBB A rated member, remove all references to that effect from their webpage.

Business Response: Hello ****



Firstly I would like to apologize again
for how long you have had to wait. I am sure you are aware that our
technicians are scheduled to come out and service your tub this
weekend. I believe you have spoken with Summer within the last few
weeks and she had given you this new date. I realize that after the
past events you do not have much faith in us being able to get your
tub issues resolved but would ask that you give us this chance.




If you are to search for our company
using our main office number you will find that we are listed as
Whirlbathe with the BBB.
http://www.bbb.org/central-northern-western-arizona/business-reviews/bathtub-refinishing/whirlbathe-in-c**********************
You will see too that we have been accredited since 1994. Currently
we have an A- score. We are in the process of changing the name of
our company to Bathtub Refinishing of Phoenix but all accounts and
legal things still show Whirlbathe.



I believe that you inspected the tub
when it was done and the job looked good. The scratchy feeling on
the tub is either caused by dust settling onto the tub in the drying
process, which is not our fault. Or in some cases is residual over
spray from the job. In either case it is not visible while the coat
is curing. A scratchy feeling to the coat when it is brand new is
quite common in the refinishing industry. Some companies build a
return trip into the cost and automatically send a technician out the
following day to buff the tub. Instead of charging people we do the
refinishing, see if it needs any extra buffing then send a technician
out if it does.



When you first purchased the
refinishing with our company you were informed that you would be
charged and extra travel fee because you are roughly 100 miles
outside of our service area. The first time you called and requested
a service repair you were notified that there would be another $90
travel fee to come and do the repair. However we would not be
charging for any labor or materials because it was covered under the
warranty. Which we still stand behind.



You stated that you did not want to pay
any travel fee. So we offered that we could do the repair the next
time we were in the area at no additional cost, but we had no
guarantee of when that would be. You said fine. We then called you
to set an appointment several months later when we knew we had some
work scheduled there. Our technicians ran into some problems on the
other job that they were working on and missed their meeting with
you.




You and I spoke a few days later and I
tried to get a new date for you. But we had no other work on the
calendar at that time so we decided to hold off and for me to call
you the next time we did. I you called several times to check on the
schedule but there was no openings. I then called you some time
later with a booking date however the other work was canceled last
minute and our technicians did not end up going to Prescott at all.
Now we have a date scheduled for Saturday 6/29/13 and we are going to
do everything in our power to make sure that happens.




The last time you and I spoke I told
you that we would get them out there to do the repair but would still
be charging the $50 Travel Service fee stated in the invoice. "All
permits, all parking fees, all legal fees, $50.00 travel service fee,
20% per annum service charge on all past due balances." That
$50 Travel Service fee means, that even here in Phoenix a customer
with a warranty issue might still pay for the cost of getting a
technician to and from the job site. But not the actual work itself.



I realize that you are very frustrated
at this point. You have been waiting for over a year to have an
issue resolved. At first it was a smaller issue of a scratchy coat
and now it has gotten larger. But we are still ready and willing to
repair everything on the tub.
You have been more than patient in
waiting and we greatly appreciate that and if you give us the chance
we will make this tub right for you.



I will discuss with the owners about
having the warranty start on Saturday 6/29/13 and will get back to
you with an answer. I will however go ahead and wave the $50 travel
fee that we were going to charge.




Sincerely,
**** ****t

4/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/15/13, Bathtub Refinishing Phoenix came out to refinish my shower pan and cultured marble surround (internal shower panels). Upon completion I asked the tech if he removed the existing caulking from around the shower in order to get the proper paint seal and edge. The tech said "no, it takes too long to remove the caulking." He further stated "the paint will not stick to the caulking, just get some white caulk and you should be ok."Upon final inspection I discovered that the new paint was already "lifting" from the shower pan and shower surround edges. Further, there were holes (specifically called out) that needed to be filled in the cultured marble and those were just painted over. You can still see the holes.I had spoken to the owners a week prior to this job and they assured me that the tech would remove the old caulk to get the right seal. He did not.

Desired Settlement: I will now have to hire a different company to properly refinish my shower and correct the poor quality work provided by Bathtub Refinishing Phoenix.

Business Response: Hello BBB,

We apologize about the delay in this
response. We had received an email recently warning us that someone
had been portraying themselves as the BBB and to be careful about
clicking on attachments in emails. We had never received a call from
the BBB about this complaint so we figured it was a scam. Today
however I took it upon myself to call the BBB office and that is when
I learned it was a legitimate complaint.

We have been working with the home
owner since the incident happened. I have already been out to his
house once and spent several hours doing some prep work and will have
the entire unit re-sprayed at no cost to the home owner. I believe
he filed this complain prior to speaking with us, and since has had
no issue in communication with us or getting the repairs done.

Thank You,
**** *****
Bathtub Refinishing Of Phoenix

2/7/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable