Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pew Law Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (480) 745-1770 Fax: (480) 452-1142 1811 S. Alma School Road #260, Mesa, AZ 85210 http://www.pewlaw.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This law firm offers legal services for bankruptcy and debt collection services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pew Law Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pew Law Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Pew Law Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2012 Business started: 05/13/2010 in AZ Business incorporated 05/13/2010 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar Of Arizona
4201 N. 24th Street, Ste. 100, Phoenix AZ 85016
http://www.azbar.org
Phone Number: (602) 252-4804
Fax Number: (602- 271-4930

Type of Entity

Professional Limited Liability Company (PLLC)

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence D. Pew Esq., President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence D. Pew Esq., President/CEO
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Attorneys & Lawyers - Business Law/Corporation/Partnership Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy

Alternate Business Names
Pew Law Center, PLLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pew Law Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 14050 N 83rd Ave Ste 290

    Peoria, AZ 85381

  • 1811 S. Alma School Road #260

    Mesa, AZ 85210

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August, my husband and I went to the Pew Law Center to start bankruptcy proceedings. We were on a payment plan and had paid all of the money plus court session money. In October, we were paid in full. However, the last session that we had in October, we met with Mr. ***** ******* and he told us at that time that we really weren't eligible to file because "we made too much". So, when we got home, my husband and I decided that we would just like to try to pay off our debts. I emailed Mr. ******* to inform him that we changed our minds and would like back a reasonable refund because according to the contract that we signed, we could get back a refund lest the amount that was spent on our case. I have emailed Mr. ******* on numerous occasions inquiring about our refund and sometimes he would email back and said that we would need to meet up or when we called, he didn't respond. That has been since October that we have informed him that we wanted a refund back but to no avail.

Desired Settlement: We would like to get back the court fee of $335 since we never even went to court and what they have figured out the monetary value is of their service from August until October and no further is to be subtracted from the 2995.

Business Response: According to our records the last communication with Mr. and Mrs. ******* was by email on the 4th of February. One of our attorney's was reaching out to discuss the various options to move forward with their case, and we have been waiting for a response. If Mr. and Mrs. ******* do not want to move forward with their case we would be happy to refund the court filing fee of $335 and we will work up a billable for the time spent on the case from August through October and refund the remaining amount of their fee. It should also be noted that the agreed upon fees (and the amount paid) were $2490 plus the $335 filing fee.

Consumer Response:  Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

********* *******

 

12/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the firm to prepare my back taxes in Sept 2013. In January 2014, I had gathered all the records I had and delivered them to the office. I brought originals as I have never done this before and the information provided did not state I needed copies. When I dropped the documents off, they advised me I was supposed to have copies, but accepted the originals. I also delivered an urgent time sensitive letter I had received from the *** that I did not understand. My rep assured me he would look at it and tell me what it was and how it needed to be handled. I have 7 days to respond to it. I had to call back several times to get an answer. The tax person never looked at it and told me to call the *** myself. I left many voicemails for the tax person who rarely returned my calls. I sent emails in with case information and questions. I had to keep calling to get answers to my questions. In April, I still had not received any communications. I emailed in again but to their general inbox stating I would be filing a complaint if I did not receive a response. I did receive a response which informed me that the rep I was working with was no longer there. They further stated that it had taken over 4 months to get a report from the *** to prepare my taxes. I received one tax return almost immediately. However, it has now been another 60 days with no communication and no further work has been delivered and emails are again going unanswered. In January, I had to update my account with a new card number. The representative who took my information submitted my **** as a ********** putting a permanent block on them from using my debit card as they are marked as fraudulent. With the billing issues, they claimed they called me and left messages to pay - this became required due to their processing error because I would now be required to call the bank, give a temporary 2 hour release of the block to allow them to process the card. I never received a call, so I assumed all payments had been made. The firm stated that I had a balance due and produced a different person again from who I started dealing with who asked if I had a method to pay. It took 2 additional emails to get a statement on account. After I received that, I reached out to pay twice - taking time from my job to arrange to handle the problem they created with my card, but never received a call back. So I mailed my final payment in to them. And no response from them, again. Aside from not receiving the work contracted for, I have had several questions about how to file back taxes when unable to pay the full amount and what happens when I suddenly have a set large amount due to the *** have gone unanswered. .

Desired Settlement: Refund of the money paid and return of all my original documents (income statements, business bank records, receipts, payroll records, time sheets, property tax records, etc) which were submitted and accepted instead of copies.

Business Response: Mr. ****** ******** has reached out to Ms. ******* by phone to resolve this issue. Most of the work on this case has already been completed. Mr. ******** and Ms. ******* were able to come to an agreement, and Ms. ******* has indicated that she is pleased with the way this dispute has been handled.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Pew Law Firm did finally submit a copy of my tax reports to complete the contract. However, they did not respond to me for over 10 days after the complaint was filed with BBB. Furthermore, it took several week after submission for them to mail the tax forms that they stated were completed before the complaint was filed. The forms that were mailed had the wrong address. They agreed to send new forms with the correct address. The new forms still had an incorrect address. 

PLUS, Pew Law Firm also added a tax liability for me to a state I have never lived in, worked in or done business with at all. I do not know why they decided I had a tax liability in a state that I do not, but they submitted forms for me to be paying a state I do not owe taxes in.

There are so many mistakes that this seems to be drawing on forever. It is now entering the 9th month for them to prepare taxes. 

I am by no means satisfied with the work. 

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

Tereasa,
 
We have reached out to Ms. ******* on several occasions to resolve these issues to her satisfaction. The errors that she has expressed concern about have been resolved. This matter has even brought before the ******* *** and they have noted that we have done as much as we can to help Ms. *******. At this time she is no longer returning our calls or emails. We try to provide the best service possible and hope that Ms. ******* is happy with the resolution of this matter.
 
 
****** *******
Pew Law Center, PLLC
Marketing Implementer
www.pewlaw.com
###-###-####
**** ** **** ****** ***
***** ***
Mesa, AZ 85210

6/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I gave them close to $5000.00 in 2011. They have never returned my calls, they have never finished my taxes, they sent the IRS a letter saying they no longer represented me but did not tell me this, they have not worked with the IRS at all, I had to negotiate with the IRS. Now all I am asking for is my tax information they were suppose to finish from 2010 and they won't return my call. I had to go online pretending I was going bankrupt and needed their assistance to get a call from them. That was over two weeks ago and the gentleman told me ******* no longer works there, he would check into it and call me back - still no answer. I called today 5/23 and sure enough the person I needed to talk to was in a meeting. This is what they tell me every time and I NEVER GET A CALL BACK BUT THEY TOOK MY MONEY WITHOUT A PROBLEM.

Desired Settlement: I would like my information I took to them regarding my 2010 taxes and my money back.

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Pew Law Center about an immediate IRS problem. Pew gave me a short initial consultation. Once I explained my case they told me that in order to move forward they would need a large sum up-front. All appeared to be under control, and in competent hands. Once I paid-up, however, all communications essentially stopped. (I did get one call from an attorney, Richard Pew, after I left repeated messages, initially. He also promised to have tax returns sent to me: they never arrived; and no follow-up explanation was given, nor forthcoming.) As an example, I asked for calls back in the last two months, and have left weekly calls for a return call back with an update and explanation of services, and work done so far on my case, including tax returns completed and sent to me. Two months on now, and repeated calls this morning, and still no call back, nor breakdown of services rendered, etc.. UPDATE: The IRS is now seizing my accounts, making undue demands, all for what appears to me to be a complete and utter lack of representation, or worse, perhaps, incompetency on the part of Pew Law Center. In other words, perhaps Pew, et al, took my money, made a few calls to the IRS months ago, initially wrote a letter as well (not sure they in fact did anything, however), and that was it. For the last two+ months that I haven't heard from Pew Law Center, and now the IRS has apparently decided that I had no legal representation and is now moving in and taking action against me directly. This 'dropping the ball,' as I initially put it to the secretary who answers the law firms calls, has evidently perhaps left me exposed to legal action by the IRS--the exact thing that I hired the law firm in the first place for--for legal representation, and protection. The only firm that they ironically appear to be protected is the IRS itself. I have yet to hear back from a gentleman of the firm--who I left yet another message on yet another voicemail machine on--but when I do I will ask for a full refund, plus damages.

Desired Settlement: REFUND OF ALL MONIES PAID, PLUS TRIPLE DAMAGES

Business Response: Dear Mr ********,

We apologize that we allowed you to feel that you weren't being taken care of, we have been very happy to speak with you over the phone the last few days and correct this situation. We are confident in our services and look forward to working with you and your family on this matter and any further matters that may arise.

Thank you for your patience and for allowing us to show that we mean what we say about striving to provide the best service possible.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

 

******** *** ****