Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers veterinarian and pet dental services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Norterra Animal Hospital & Grooming meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Norterra Animal Hospital & Grooming include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Norterra Animal Hospital & Grooming
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2012 Business started: 07/15/2011 in AZ Business incorporated 07/15/2011 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona State Veterinary Examining Board
9535 E. Doubletree Ranch Road, Ste. 100, Scottsdale AZ 85258
Phone Number: (602) 364-1738
Fax Number: (602) 364-1039

Type of Entity

Professional Limited Liability Company (PLLC)

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Anderson, Member Ms. Cheryl Akers, Group Coordinator Ms. Brea Scott, Practice Manager Mr. Christopher Snodgrass, Member
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cheryl Akers, Group Coordinator
Principal: Mr. Wayne Anderson, Member
Customer Contact: Ms. Brea Scott, Practice Manager
Related Businesses
Arrow Animal Hospital
Business Category

Animal Hospitals Pet Grooming Veterinarians Acupuncturists Dentists Veterinary Emergency

Alternate Business Names
Norterra Animal Hospital, PLC

Additional Locations

  • 2005 W. Happy Valley Road #180

    Phoenix, AZ 85085 (602) 845-5930


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took ***** my teacup puppy to Norterra on Sunday, June 30, 2013 thereabouts, she broke her leg. I saw *** *******, and she should me x-rays and told me puppy needs surgery to fix broken leg, I told her I can not do surgery, A) because I do not believe in it and B) I can not afford it and I was crying extremely a lot. I told Dr. I have never been in this position before. and that I have never experienced a puppy broken leg and due her puppys size of only 2 pounds, this is very fragile for me because she is extremely tiny and captured my heart. And *** ******* said, if it was me, I would be getting surgery, and made me feel so bad about it. She put cast on puppy leg, down, after 7 days I returned with puppy to Vet because bandage came down off leg. I saw another vet who was extremely nice and took time with me, and bandage puppy leg up and didn't tell me, when I got home, I didn't know puppy would be on 3 legs, it scared me, because no one told me. But the main point is *** ******* only wants to talk about surgery and not talk about helping fix puppy in any other manner,,,and if I don't do surgery, I thought I had to give puppy away, as a last resort, because they made it seems like this is very bad, and only surgery and surgery the only way. Come to find out through friends and internet, that puppy will heal, and be fine, she is not a show dog, so limping is fine with me, because I love my puppy. I believe they took advantage of me, because I was crying very hard, because I was so upset for little puppy who sleeps with me and is my friend. I was naive to all of this and now feel I was taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: Refund of money I paid, which was 400.00 minus the medication for puppy that was fine.

Business Response: We received notice of a complaint filed to the BBB by ****** ******* on July 20th, 2014. This letter is written in response to the complaint submitted by *** ******* in regards to her dog "*****" and the care she received at Norterra Animal Hospital and Grooming. We recognize that an unexpected injury with a pet can be an emotional time for our clients and we do empathize with them during this stressful time.
*** ******* first visited us on July 6th, 2014 with her dog "*****" (3 month old Chihuahua puppy). *** ********* presenting complaint was that "*****" had recently fallen from *** *******'s lap and appears to be in pain. Upon examination by *** ******** *******, it appeared "*****" had suffered an acute injury to her right hind leg, was non-weight bearing on the limb, and painful upon palpation near the femoral bone.

Due to the history of trauma, along with the physical presentation, *** ******* recommended ta king radiographs to evaluate the condition of the bone. This would determine if the leg was fractured.  It is our standard protocol to present owners with treatment plans outlining the recommended services and costs of those services. A technician explained each item that was listed on the treatment plan and why they were recommended. It is our policy to ensure the owner understands all aspects of the treatment plan and the charges that will ensue.  It is our policy to only proceed with what the owner feels comfortable with and can deny any or all recommended services .We require a written signature on all treatment plans outlining what treatments the owner would like to proceed with.

*** ******* was understandably very worried about "*****," as were our staff and doctors, and wanted to provide the best care she could.  *** ******* knowingly consented to all of our recommendations and signed the treatment plan accepting responsibility for all charges. The staff and doctor proceeded with taking radiographs of "*****'s" leg.

It was determined by radiographic evidence that "*****" had obtained an angular midfemoral fracture with cranial and proximal displacement.  With fractures of this nature, surgical repair is considered the ideal treatment that offers the best prognosis for recovery.  Surgical repair is costly and *** ******* indicated she would not be able to afford surgery.  At that time, *** ******* explained other options, as well as the risks and prognosis of each option. We understand our clients may have financial constraints that limit them from being able to afford the care they would like to provide for their pets. We provided *** ******* with education on how we felt we could help "*****" with alternative methods.

The owner elected to splint the patient's leg. *** ******* applied a splint to the affected leg and provided *** ******* a handout on how to properly care for the splint. *** ******* also gave the patient adequate medications to help control pain. A recheck of the limb was advised in two weeks.

*** ******* and the staff and doctors continued to have conversations via phone messages, emails and facebook messages, checking in on the status of ***** and answering any questions *** ******* had regarding the care of her pet.

*** ******* returned with "*****" on July 13th, 2014 for a progress exam. *** ****** ******** evaluated "*****" and found that her splint was moist and appeared to have slipped from its original location. The bandage was removed and upon palpation, the femur remained unstable. *** ******** communicated her concern to ********** about the risks and prognosis for healing. We wanted to make sure ********** understood the severity of her pet's injury and the poor prognosis for healing. *** ******** sympathized with *** *******, as we knew this is a difficult time for her.

After further discussion, **********, who was understandably overwhelmed, elected to provide no further care for "***** ." She had discussed the possibility of surrendering her to a shelter that could provide funds for the surgical repair and re-home "*****." *** ******* requested a temporary bandage. Understanding *** *******'s financial limitations and emotional state, *** ******** performed the exam and bandage application at no charge. The bandage applied by *** ******** was a modified sling bandage that positioned "*****'s" leg close to her body. This would provide the best temporary immobilization of the leg until further care could be arranged. Upon discharge, *** ******* was informed that the leg was bandaged to "*****'s" body and that it is not visible as it is underneath the bandage. "*****'' would rely on her other three legs for mobility.

Further communications occurred with *** ******* via facebook and phone messages. *** ******* feels as if the radiographs taken were not of her pet but another pet. We have a computer software system that automatically identifies patient images to ensure their accuracy and transfers them to their medical record. Furthermore, a second radiograph was taken after the initial splint placement.  This is additional confirmation of the femoral fracture and attempted reduction. *** ******* also feels as if we provided no alternatives to surgery and that if she could not afford surgery she must re-home her pet. You will find by the attached information, many alternatives were discussed.  Again, we understand that this was a very emotional time for *** ******* and sympathize with her as we do all our clients. Our main priority is "*****'s" comfort and well-being.

We feel that we gave "*****" and *** ******* the same standard of care we give all of our patients and clients. We value our services and stand by their price point. We strive to educate owners and allow them to make informed decisions about their pet's medical care. ********** provided written consent to perform all services and was informed of the charges associated with those services. 

Enclosed is a copy of the signed treatment plan providing consent for the treatment s performed on "*****" and the acceptance of financial responsibility, along with examination notes from her two visits. We have also included a handout provided to the owner on the proper care of "*****'s" bandage as well as documentations of conversations with *** *******. Please feel free to contact us if you should require any further information or documentation regarding this complaint. We wish "*****" the best of luck with her recovery and would be happy to provide any future services to "*****" and *** *******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


July 31, 2014


In response to the Norterra Animal Hospital, my position is that on July 13, 2014 when I took ***** back to the vet’s office, they indicated that her leg was not healing properly and she still needed surgery.  This is upsetting because puppy was walking around good.  When I heard this, I was overwhelmed and did not know what to do, then the puppy was bandaged and we went home.  On July 18, 2014, Friday, 5 days later, I have a video of puppy who is walking completely fine.  Video can be seen on ********, ******** ******** ****** at  *********************************************  , as evidence.

To this date the puppy is entirely healed and walking, running, sitting, playing on all fours.  The other options are mentioned in their letter but I do not recall them being said to me.  The option I choose was a split for puppy and the Dr. told me “I don’t even have a splint small enough” for a 1.9 pound puppy, this added to my confusion, this added to my dismay.  If a vet doesn’t have a Popsicle stick, was I supposed to supply them with one.   Then I cried more.  The additional tears is because my puppy is my life, my only love and restores me from outsiders when I am being oppressed. 

But this was not portrayed, yet I was still being persecuted into surgery, which I cannot consider.  I paid $418.18 cash, total paid in full, as the invoice enclosed is not correct.  Thus, I question the charge of “Bandage Medium” $59.00, when it should be “small” for 1.9 pound puppy.  And Sedation for $76.00, as puppy was not put under or sleepy when I took her home that same day.  Request of $135.00 refunded.

The kennel was used for puppy and I was in training class from 8 to 1, home for 1 hour, then work from 3 to 8, that is the reason and she was puppy, but who didn’t control her potty, but now does, that is why pillow in kennel was soiled, and now I only work 5 hours a day.   My clear demeanor was one of dismay of surgery and I told her, no thank you to surgery, but I always and continuously was told puppy had to have it, and lo-and-behold, the puppy is walking fine without surgery. 

That is the customer service I received and that is why I am making this complaint.  I wanted to find a good vet, but now I feel I have to search for a new one, as this visit did not go well for us.  Therefore, my chief complaint is that I was being pushed into a surgery that the puppy didn't want and told without it, puppy won’t heal.  I almost made a mistake of my life, if I would have listened to these salespeople.   I was distraught and made more distressed by being told surgery is the only way puppy will be better.  This is a case of a “rip off scam” which I found reference at ***************************************************************************************************

Naturally, this experience made me second guess my abilities as a pet parent.  They added to my fears, made me uncomfortable and financially overextended.  Only my intuition made me seek out my friends who assisted me with knowledge of caring for puppys leg.  And today were happy family, and always will love her. 

It is like bait and switch, therefore, refund is requested.  I was pressured by sales people to do the higher priced item, instead of the lower cost item. 

Thank you and have a nice day.


****** *******