BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Hobaica Services, Inc.

Phone: (602) 995-0387 Fax: (602) 995-0271 10636 N Cave Creek Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85020 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hobaica.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential & Commercial Cooling, Heating, Refrigeration, Wine Cellars, Solar Hot Water , Energy Audits, Home Performance Installation & Service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hobaica Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hobaica Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

171 Customer Reviews on Hobaica Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 169
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 171

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1952 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated: 08/14/1989 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
1700 W. Washington Street #105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: 602.542.1525
Fax Number: 602.542.1599

Type of Entity

S-Corp

Business Management
Mr. Louis Hobaica Sr., President Mr. Paul J. Hobaica, President Mrs. Tina Martinez, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Tina Martinez, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Wholesalers & Distributors Air Conditioning Repair Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Wine Cellars Solar Energy System Design & Installation

Products & Services

Hobaica Services, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Lennox, Lennox, Rheem, Trane, Trane

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard
Visa
Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% satisfaction guaranteed
Industry Tips
AC Maintenance Contract or No Maintenance Contract? Energy Audit Solar Energy

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hobaica Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10636 N Cave Creek Rd

    Phoenix, AZ 85020 (602) 995-0387

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our HVAC was replaced with a new unit on Tuesday, March 5th. I was told by Hobaica Services that I would be contacted to schedule the follow-up appointment in about a week. After approximately three weeks without a response, I contacted their office and scheduled the appointment for Friday, March 29th. The technician arrived on time, and completed, what I believed to be most of the paperwork. On Friday, April 26th, I contacted APS to check the status of my rebate. They had not received it. I contacted ***** ******* (sales coordinator) at Hobaica and was told "I'm waiting on one small piece of information from Jeff (estimator) before I can submit your rebate. APS will reject your rebate if it's not 100% complete." She said that she would get it done that afternoon and submitted to APS. I requested that she contact me when that was complete. On Wednesday, May 1st, I emailed **** ******* (owner / sales manager) of this issue. As of Monday, May 6th, APS has not received my rebate paperwork, and I am still without a response from ***** or ****.

Desired Settlement: Submit required paperwork to APS for rebate.

Business Response:

May 20, 2013

*** ***** ******

Better Business Bureau

<st1:street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">**** ** **** ******

<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">******** ** *****<st1:postalcode w:st="on">

Re ******: ID # *******

To Whom It May Concern:

We are very sorry to hear that Mr. ****** was unhappy or concerned about our service in anyway.  We truly appreciate it when a customer brings this to our attention and gives us the opportunity to review ourselves.  We are always available to our customers and are very saddened to know that Mr. ****** didn’t get the customer service he deserves from us here at Hobaicas.

After reading Mr. ****** complaint I was able to research and speak to all parties involved. We have all gone over what needs to happen in the future to be sure our customer service is better handled. <st1:personname w:st="on">**** ******* one of our owners contacted and spoke to Mr. ****** and a rebate check for $270 was delivered to Mr. ****** on 5/9/2013.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused Mr. ******. I certainly never want for him to feel like he needs to second guess our services, so I hope I have put him at ease. Hobaica Services has been family owned and operated since <st1:personname w:st="on">**** ******* **. started the company in 1952. **** *** ***** and <st1:personname w:st="on">**** ******* have owned and run the company since 1981. I myself have worked here for 7 years. We are still the same awarding company we have always been and we thank you for letting us service your air conditioning needs. If there are any further issues in the future we hope Mr. ****** feels comfortable contacting us to take care of any issues that may arise.

Thank you!

<st1:personname w:st="on">**** ********

Customer Service Manager

Hobaica Services Inc.

Voted #1 in the <st1:place w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">USA</st1:country-region> for Excellence in Residential Contracting by ACCA

<st1:street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">***** ** **** ***** ***

<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">******** ********** ************ *************** ***************

*********************

************

****************

<a title="http://www.hobaica.com/ blocked::http://www.hobaica.com/" href="http://www.hobaica.com/">www.hobaica.com

   

 

 

Business Response:

May 20, 2013

*** ***** ******

Better Business Bureau

<st1:street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">**** ** **** ******

<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">******** ** *****<st1:postalcode w:st="on">

Re ******: ID # *******

To Whom It May Concern:

We are very sorry to hear that Mr. ****** was unhappy or concerned about our service in anyway.  We truly appreciate it when a customer brings this to our attention and gives us the opportunity to review ourselves.  We are always available to our customers and are very saddened to know that Mr. ****** didn’t get the customer service he deserves from us here at Hobaicas.

After reading Mr. ****** complaint I was able to research and speak to all parties involved. We have all gone over what needs to happen in the future to be sure our customer service is better handled. <st1:personname w:st="on">**** ******* one of our owners contacted and spoke to Mr. ****** and a rebate check for $270 was delivered to Mr. ****** on 5/9/2013.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused Mr. ******. I certainly never want for him to feel like he needs to second guess our services, so I hope I have put him at ease. Hobaica Services has been family owned and operated since <st1:personname w:st="on">**** ******* **. started the company in 1952. **** *** ***** and <st1:personname w:st="on">**** ******* have owned and run the company since 1981. I myself have worked here for 7 years. We are still the same awarding company we have always been and we thank you for letting us service your air conditioning needs. If there are any further issues in the future we hope Mr. ****** feels comfortable contacting us to take care of any issues that may arise.

Thank you!

<st1:personname w:st="on">**** ********

Customer Service Manager

Hobaica Services Inc.

Voted #1 in the <st1:place w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">USA</st1:country-region> for Excellence in Residential Contracting by ACCA

<st1:street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">***** ** **** ***** ***

<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">******** ********** ************ *************** ***************

*********************

************

****************

<a title="http://www.hobaica.com/ blocked::http://www.hobaica.com/" href="http://www.hobaica.com/">www.hobaica.com

   

 

 

4/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife, *********, and I heard the advertisement on the radio from our utility company, APS. They were promoting a $99 in-house exam of your home’s insulation. After telephoning APS to request such exam we were directed to a list of preferred vendors from the APS website. We scheduled our house insulation appointment for Thursday, January 31, 2013. The crew arrived hours late and instead of a crew of three people there was only one person, *******! He apologized vehemently for his tardiness and was uncertain why he was on this service call alone. That is, he was to have two additional company employees with him. The exam of the house took longer than scheduled because there was only one person doing the work of three. At the end of the exam he explained some of our houses’ insulation deficiencies. He apologized again as he could not give us a written report because one of the missing employees had the computer and printer to generate said report. **** also promised to have the report mailed to us promptly. Along with the report would be the prices Hobaica would charge to perform these services AND the allowable rebate from APS, our utility company. We paid the $99 service call and waited for our written report. It is now March 19, 2013 and we have never received any written correspondence from Hobaica. APS randomly contacted us last month and requested to perform a follow-up visit to our home. Upon arriving a few days later we complained to them regarding the poor service from Hobaica. After all, it was their referral. However APS said, “You’ll have to contact the company yourself.” Our first time experience with Hobaica unacceptable and has been costly. We believe we were treated unfairly by paying the full price for a house exam without the benefit of a full, competent crew, which left one person performing the work of three. This is unacceptable. Hobaica’s lack of follow though is costly because we were prepared to invest in the insulation of our home to help save money in the long run. Because Hobaica’s dropped our ball our electric bills are still exorbitant while we await our appointment of another APS approved vendor.

Desired Settlement: We would like our money back. That is, we would like a refund of $99 in the form of a check or cashier's check.

Business Response:  March 23, 2013
 Dispute Resolution Consultant
 
RE:*******, ****** *******
 
I was saddened to receive this notice of complaint. I believe the BBB should be used as the last resort, after resolution with a company over poor workmanship, illegal practices or such horrific matters can not be reached between two parties. I think miscommunication of scheduling should be brought to the attention of the Customer Service Supervisor. I would have been happy to speak to Mr. ******* if he felt he was treated badly.
 
There was miscommunication from our office on scheduling this audit and to how many Hobaica Reps should have been present to perform testing. Our Comfort specialist **** Frye attempted three times to reach Mrs. ****** the first time was on 2/12/13 **** called and left a voicemail, 2nd time **** called was 2/13/13 and left a second voice message.
At that point **** emailed and mailed the full audit report to Mrs. ******.
 
**** called on the 18th to follow-up with proposed repairs and was again not able to reach the customer. **** was able to reach ********* the afternoon of 2/28 and verified with her that the email we had on file for her was incorrect but Mrs. ****** should have still received her full audit report by mail.
 
Needless to say, the office staff here at Hobaica Services handled the scheduling process poorly. Home Performance testing is new to Hobaica services and our office staff followed instructions and tried to service Mrs. ****** in the best way possible. Although I do stand behind my office staff, I do take this matter to heart and will provide additional training on this subject.
 
Hobaica Services has provided outstanding customer service to the Valley since 1952.
We do not take that lightly. I believe we handled the unpleasant situation in the best way possible. We are sorry that Mr. ******* feels he was treated badly by us. This was not our intention. In fact, we had the opposite outcome in mind.
 
Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions.
 
Sincerely,
  **** ********
Customer Service/Dispatch Supervisor
 
 

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our new AC unit installed by Hobaica in 2010 and everything went well and we had a very good experience. In July 2012 the AC unit didn't work properly anymore so we called Hobaica again. They send the technician *** who during the whole visit acted very unprofessional. He asked us for a latter since his was "too far back in his van" and asked why we didn't call our neighbor who works for ACE because he saw the truck outside.Also he told us that we shouldn't have the AC run at 72 since that would harm the unit and possibly destroy it. NObody told us this when they put it in or at the checkup a year later. Also he couldn't explain whether the problem (a drainage was blocked) is a common one or not but always insisted on it being the fault of us since we hadn't checked it once a year and since we don't have Hobaica's service plan. (the last checkup was 15 months ago on a brand new 7000$ unit!)He did fix the problem but I filed a complain with Hobaica, the lady was nice on the phone and called us back the next day. However she only said that the technician was sorry for the misunderstanding (?!) and that the unit way freeze due to the high humidity in Arizona at 72. When I asked more detailed she said she would let a manager or the owner know and they would call me back. That hasn't happened yet. We've never heard from them again.

Desired Settlement: I would like others to know that they should not trust Hobaica since their customer service this time was horrible both from the technician and the lady who told me on the phone she was the responsible manager but then promised a call back from the actual manager which didn't happen.

Business Response:

August 14, 2012

 

Dear Mrs. ***,

 

I would like to send my sincere apologies to you.   We here at Hobaica care very much about the service we provide to each and every customer. 

 

Our technicians are highly qualified and are provided with continuous training in addition to a thorough back ground check and random drug testing.  We have been known valley wide since 1952 for our honest and thorough service.  With all this in mind, it saddens us deeply that you feel Hobaica Services may have dropped the ball in anyway.

 

**** our technician who was out to your home on 7/13/12 may have not explained himself very well. First of all, every system on every home is different.

For residential on Phoenix AZ, we size systems for approx. 78 indoor temp at 110 outside temp. The case may be that **** was there on a hot day, and he found the system was working at max capacity.

 

**** likely didn’t let you know that 72 degrees on a hot day is working the unit very hard. If the unit will keep at 72 on a hot day, then no problem, except that the unit may be straining to keep up.

 

We are called upon to make professional assessments of your equipment and give our opinion.  I believe that we have done so in both cases.  I certainly would like to assure you that we have no interest in deceiving our customers. This is not our goal.

 

I hope that I have been able to candidly reply to your thoughts.  I would certainly hate to think of you wondering about our services.  I hope to be able to continue to provide you with professional service in the future.

 

Most sincerely,

 

**** ********

Customer Service and Dispatch Manager

Hobaica Services Inc.

Voted #1 in the USA for Excellence in Residential Contracting by ACCA

***** ** **** ***** ***

******** ** ***** ********************* ************

fax:602-995-0271

www.hobaica.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would have liked to talk to one of the managers just the way the promised me the first time I talked to them. They are still not clear on whether or not we should not have the AC on 72 but stay rather superficial. It's still in question why they sold us the AC and didn't tell us about any issues at 72 when they put it in a couple of years ago.So they either made a mistake back then or now but I still feel like they did not clarify the matter. I will now contact the manufacturer directly since I don't seem to get clear answers but only apologies from the same person I talked to in the first place and who promised to let me talk to the manager

Regards,

**** ***


 

 

Business Response: ***** ******* owner and president of ******* Services spoke with **** *** on 9/28/12, regarding what was a clarification to Mrs ***'s question. Mr ******* explained the operation of Mrs ***'s system operating @ 73 degrees to her satisfaction. Mrs *** agreed to have the complaint removed from our BBB site. Thank You!

**** ********
Customer Service Manager
******* Services
********************* ************

8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Many HOT weeks ago, one of two HVAC units in my home starting blowing hot air and I turned to Haobaica Services. The quote and breakdown from Haobaica looked very high and half of the replacement cost of the HVAC unit. The air conditioning unit remained off as temperatures shot up. The quote from Haobaica Services went from $1100 to 1400 in days of the estimate of service; we paid $75.00 (Ch# 317) for the estimate.Today, we received a second opinion from another BBB accredited business. As I watched the technician he found the previous tech from Haobaica Services did not put the fan back together and had left parts unconnected and bolts on the top of the HVAC unit. Hobaica Services, Inc. was notified today of our dissatisfaction and request for a refund.In short, the Haobaica tech (Phil) was either tired, inept, or a master in sales for services and parts not needed or required. I am far from pleased with Haobaica at this time. The TOTAL BILL to have a working HVAC unit (including the labor of fixing Haobaica Services negligence), was $140.18.

Desired Settlement: The customer contends in part, the original quote was proved erroneous and incorrect by a second BBB vendor.Return of $75.00.

Business Response:

August 10, 2012

 

Dear Mr. *****:

 

We were sorry to hear that you were not happy with our services.  I have mailed you a refund check of $75.00 for the diagnostic performed on 5/7/12. You should expect to receive that check in the mail before the end of next week.

 

We thank you for the opportunity to work with you.  Our goal is to always provide honest and thorough service for our customers and we are disappointed we won’t have the opportunity to work with you in the future.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

 

Tina Martinez

Hobaica Services

Customer Service/Dispatch Supervisor

 

 

 

Tina Martinez

Customer Service Manager

Hobaica Services Inc.

Voted #1 in the USA for Excellence in Residential Contracting by ACCA

10636 N. Cave Creek Rd.

Phoenix, AZ 85020

tmartinez@hobaica.com

602-995-0387

fax:602-995-0271

www.hobaica.com