Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Angel Medflight Worldwide Air Ambulance Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 264-3570 Fax: (888) 883-9506 View Additional Phone Numbers 8014 E Mcclain Dr Ste 220, Scottsdale, AZ 85260 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.angelmedflight.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers worldwide air ambulance and medical transportation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Angel Medflight Worldwide Air Ambulance Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Angel Medflight Worldwide Air Ambulance Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Angel Medflight Worldwide Air Ambulance Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 2008 Business started: 10/01/2006 in AZ Business incorporated 11/07/2011 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Aviation Administration
800 Independence Avenue SW, Washington DC 20591
http://www.faa.gov
Phone Number: (480) 419-0111

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cassandra Graper, Chief Strategy Officer Mr. John Starcher, CEO Ms. Kimberly Halloran, Vice-President of Business Development Rastislav Valko, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cassandra Graper, Chief Strategy Officer
Customer Contact: Ms. Kimberly Halloran, Vice-President of Business Development
Principal: Mr. John Starcher, CEO
Business Category

Air Ambulance Service Aviation Services Aircraft Charter, Rental & Lease Airport Transportation

Alternate Business Names
Aviation West Charters, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 8014 E Mcclain Dr Ste 220

    Scottsdale, AZ 85260 (480) 634-8017 (877) 264-3570

  • 8014 E. McClain Drive #110

    Scottsdale, AZ 85260

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was for my mother dying of bladder cancer in ********* *** Canada when I became dangerously ill and was admitted to ICU on April 19, 2015. My mother died during my stay in the hospital. My health did not significantly improve, I continued to be at a very high medical risk with sepsis, plural effusions, pneumonia, congestive heart failure, and kidney failure. I was in perfect health upon leaving VA for Canada. I was accumulating massive medical bills in a foreign country, my mother died, and my immediate family were without passports. It was a dire emergency that I return home. Angel Medflight was contacted to bring me home on a medical jet. There representative quoted a price of 8,440.00. I provided a credit card which was ry on hold until I was home and could send cash. I paid by check the full bill and my check cleared paying Angel MedFlight 8,440.00. I filled out a huge packet of information for Angel MedFlight in my medical bed under the worst conditions possible. I was alone in a foreign hospital. I had been quoted a sum I could pay. Nothing was mentioned to me about sending my insurance company a bill for 200,000.00 dollars. I have a maximum of 50,000.00 of medical insurance for medical care in a foreign country. Angel Medflght collected my entire health coverage for foreign travel. I have nothing to pay the hospital. None of this information was explained to me. I was given paperwork to fill out under extreme duress during the fight of my life. I came home and was admitted to progressive care and eventually came home on oxygen. I am finally off of oxygen and now have been diagnosed with cancer. I am unable to financially pay 25,000-30,000 in medical bills to ********* Memorial hospital because Angel Medflight misled me during a time of extreme duress with the loss of my mother, being in a foreign country fighting for my life, being away from family fighting for my life.

Desired Settlement: I want Angel Medflight to be contacted for billing adjustment. 200.000.00 was never given to me in a bill or estimate. My bill was 8,440.00. They took advantage of my insurance company and of me during the fight of my life. I want the bill adjusted so that ********* Memorial Hospital will be paid in full for my medical services.

Business Response: We have received ********** concerns regarding her experience with Angel MedFlight. We appreciate being made aware of the situation. It is our practice to explain to the patient and/or family members, before every medical flight, the charges and billing procedures. We provided ******** with a ‘retainer’ amount which is a fraction of the total billed charges outlined in our transport agreement. We also obtained insurance information with the understanding that Angel MedFlight will submit a claim to the insurance company after the medical flight is complete. We did obtain authorization to submit a claim to insurance in this case.

We understand that a medical flight is a first-time event for most patients and their family members; under extremely difficult circumstances. We are especially sensitive to the difficulty of ********** situation. We know that insurance billing and claims handling can be complex and that there is a lot of information to retain. Our goal is to ensure that every member involved in the decision making process understands the billing and claims procedures. We are not only committed to providing excellence in care, but also valuable service overall to everyone involved in the process of coordinating a medical flight. 

As a company, we are sincerely sympathetic to the circumstances of each of our patients and strive to keep the process as simple as possible.  In order to provide excellence in quality and service to each patient, it is necessary that we secure payment for our services.  

We have had the opportunity to speak with ******** to address her concerns and resolve the situation. We appreciate having had the opportunity to safely transport ******** back home to receive the care that she needed, surrounded by her family.