Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides retail furniture sales and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1983 Business started: 12/01/1982 in AZ Business incorporated 12/17/1982 in AZ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Breunig III, President Mr. Chris Bates, Director of Advertising Mr. Ronald Hernandez, Vice President Mr. Randy Serbus, VP Operations Mr. Byrne Skaggs, Director Consumer Services
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Breunig III, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Serbus, VP Operations
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Ebco, Inc. La-Z-Boy Furniture

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1430 S Power Rd

    Mesa, AZ 85206

  • 15320 W Mcdowell Rd

    Goodyear, AZ 85395

  • 15836 N Scottsdale Rd

    Scottsdale, AZ 85254

  • 3055 W Chandler Blvd

    Chandler, AZ 85226

  • 4135 E. Cotton Center Blvd.

    Phoenix, AZ 85040 (602) 426-5292

  • 5130 N Us Highway 89

    Flagstaff, AZ 86004

  • 6950 W Bell Rd

    Glendale, AZ 85308

  • 6976 W Bell Rd

    Glendale, AZ 85308

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 11, 2016 my wife and I purchase furniture product in the amount of $3,423.29. Thirty days later the order was delivered but additional fabric to make cushions was delivered in the wrong color. We immediately notified the company and they agreed to re-order the fabric which was estimated to arrive in about 30 days. On about July 8, 2016 we called the company to inquire about the delivery status. The company has been responsive in returning calls but they have no idea of delivery date of the paid for fabric and they have been continually vague as to when we will receive what should have been received in mid June, 2016.

Desired Settlement: Expedited delivery of product which has been paid for and a specific date of delivery.

Business Response:

The fabric will be in our warehouse on Friday 07-29-16, we can deliver Tuesday 08-02-16 if that is convenient. They will need to contact our Service Department at ************

select option # 2 for an agent. We are sorry for the delay.

 

***** ******

Consumer Response: ** ******* ****** ** ******** **** ***** ********* **** ********** ** *** ********** *********  ** *** ***** *** *** ****** ** ****** ******* ****

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I have been in contact with Stephen at the Customer Service Department and through his assistance all issues have been resolved. Thank you Stephen.

Regards,

***** *******

 

7/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/31/15 I went to LaZBoy and spoke with Steve N**** and explained I was only interested in sofas with a short seat area so I could sit with by back against the back and have my feet touch the floor. He stated there were only two which would fit me. One came with or without a skirt along the bottom which I ordered. On 2/13 my sofa was delivered and the skirt was 1.5-2 inches longer than the sofa and laid on the floor. I immediately notified Steve N****. Today 2/19 a service rep came out and exchanged the legs which were 1.5 inches taller which made my sofa too tall for me to reach the floor and the skirt still does not hang right. There is also a gap and overlap in the skirt on the front. He suggested I go buy coasters to put under the legs which would make it even higher and more impossible to be the correct fit for me. He also stated he could remove the skirt and shorten it but it would be very short, not the standard length he stated would show the bottom of the legs. I immediately notified the store manager who returned my call asking me to come to the store and sit on the model again. He said this could be a "teaching moment" if ordered wrong. I said no since it fit when I bought it or I would not have ordered it..I suggested he come to my home and see the sofa for himself today. He has put this off until tomorrow (if he shows up) . I feel I was very specific when ordering this sofa and have not received what I paid for. The skirt was an upgrade which I paid extra money for and also upgraded the cushions which was an extra charge. The manager said with wear the cushions would flatten out which would help, so why sell upgraded cushions that won't flatten??? I feel the legs on the sofa were correct when delivered and fit me but they are trying "quick fixes" which are making it worse and not what I ordered.

Desired Settlement: I would like the sofa to be returned to the store and a full refund to my credit card. I am also filing a complaint with my bank regarding credit card charges.

Business Response:

I spoke to Mrs. ***** this week after service had been to her home. She complained that the piece was too low and that the skirt was touching the ground. Service discovered that the wrong feet had been installed underneath. They replaced them with the correct feet as shown in the example floor model photo that she selected from when she ordered. She then complained that the sofa was too high after the correct feet were installed. She stated that the sofa in her home sits differently than the one on the floor. I invited her to come back to the store to compare the two pieces. She refused. I offered to come to her home today at a time that was convenient for her. Again she refused my offer to come to her home to talk about the alleged differences between her model and the one she ordered from. She states that she paid extra to add a skirt and to have the cushions upgraded and now it sits differently than the floor model. The floor model has the same skirt and the same upgraded cushions, she did not pay for any additional upgrades. The only difference is the fabric. Mrs. ***** also complained that the skirt does not lay correctly and is not made well. I have included two photos of the floor model that she chose from and how that skirt lays. It is a very relaxed look and is not meant to be perfectly tailored. Ours is not perfectly tailored either.

Mrs. *****’s expectations of what her sofa is supposed to look like and how the sofa is supposed to be made may be different than what we showed her on the floor and what she witnessed here in the store. The sofa is made correctly and is made to our specifications and has passed through several points of our quality control. It is a special order, there is nothing wrong with it and no refunds will be given.

This response comes for the Store Manager.

Consumer Response: I did pay extra for the sofa to have a skirt and there was also a charge for the upgraded cushions as explained to me by the salesman. The same sofa without a skirt was $100 less and the cushions I paid extra for also. I also upgraded the cloth.  The bottom line is I purchased this specific sofa (one of two models) that the store carries where I could sit with my back against the back of the sofa and touch the ground.  I am 5'1" so this was very important to me.  I was able to do so until the serviceman came and raised the sofa with taller legs.  I was very specific when ordering this sofa with the salesman Steve N****.  He spent much time with me and the floor model I ordered did fit those requirements.  I do not feel I should be expected to go back to the store, obviously I would not have ordered that one if it didn't fit. I had first requested the manager come to my home however I was advised not to do so.  The service rep stated he would replace the sofa legs with the original legs but would have to shorted the skirt which would look ridiculous and not be the standard length or what I ordered.  The sofa was delivered with the legs which made the sofa fit me. This is not a quality piece of furniture that I was expecting to get.  It does not fit me, since I spent so much time with the salesman and as the manager told me "Steve said you were very specific" in what I wanted/needed I don't see how that is now not important to LaZBoy.  I have not received what I ordered or paid for.  If I had wanted to have a sofa that didn't fit I would have had a whole store to pick from not just 2 models that I was told would fit me.  

Business Response: We will allow the customer to return the sofa. We will refund her money less the delivery charge. She needs to contact the Store Manager Ray S**** to schedule the pick up of the sofa. The money will be refunded after the pickup.

2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/17/2014 I purchased a total of $3696.66, which included a full reclining love seat, a full recline sofa and a single recliner. The single recliner now has a hole in the material on the footrest portion. According to their policies defective material is only covered for one year. We also purchased the5 yr fabric protection, which covers everything except defective material. It is REDICULOUS that when you pay this kind of money for, what you thought was good quality furniture, that within 17 months , you have a hole and they will not take care of it. I also notified the corporate office and was told the same thing. This ONE YEAR only protection for defective material was never stated when I purchased the furniture. Ours is a household with 2adults, no children.

Desired Settlement: I want the Defective material either replaced or repaired at no charge

Business Response: La-Z-Boy provides a one year warranty on fabric from manufacture defects. Defects are, seam failure, fabric seperation and nap loss. The customer purchased the extended warranty for her fabric. That warranty covers accidental damage for five years. Accidental damage referres to tears, cuts, burns or stains. The process is to contact ***** ******* They must be contacted within 5 days of the accident and the information regarding the acccident must be specific. The phone number is **************  

Consumer Response:
Dear Sirs,

I do not accept the explanation from Lazboy.  The hole was not caused by an accident.  The location of the hole is on the footrest where your heel hits the material. It has worn a hole in the fabric, which is not covered by the Extended Fabric Protection we purchased.  They only cover accidental damage.

Regards,
**** ****
***** * *** *** ******
******* **  *****

Sent from my iPad


Business Response:

We will as a one time couortesy order a new fabric part for the footrest and install it at no charge if the customer brings the base of the chair into our service department. If they want us to do it in the home, there will be a 60.00 charge for that service. 

2/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: January 18,2016 BBB regarding “La Z Boy One La Z Boy Dr. M****** **” Re: Order *********** On11/21/14 I purchased a recliner per the above order...We were advised that the chair could be upgraded to a firmer seat for a $100 fee. My wife also wanted a green color, however, the sales person, Shane Fleishour could not confirm that this color was available, so we settled on a blue...Upon receipt of said chair on 12/30/2015 the chair appeared to be what we ordered. Now only two weeks later, the seat seams to be less than firm. I contacted the La Z Boy store on 1/12/2016 at 11AM and spoke to a “Steve” about this order and he stated that to extra cushion status was not on the order, but the extra paid and our knowledge of this extra item seemed to confirm what we had ordered. He stated that he would have someone contact me within the hour...At 510PM on 1/12/16 I again called the store and the person at that time advised that he would email the appropriate staff and that I would receive a call the first thing this morning.....I also called on the 15th of Jan. And was transferred to the store and advised that Shane would call me when he came to work at 12 noon AND STILL NO CALL BACK!!!!!!!!!!! Needless to say I have yet to receive a call, thus this letter, and now this complaint. As it stands, I paid for an item that I did not receive. No one from La Z Boy has responded. I faxed this complaint to the corporate office in ******* **. on 1/13/16 and no one from that location has responded either. Paul R******* ******************** ************

Desired Settlement: this chair was not made properly, I have no desire to retain the product. It was only 12 days since delivery and we wish a complete refund and to have the item picked up by laz boy

Business Response:

After researching the customer information the customer purchased the chair on 11-21-2015. The chair was not ordered with the memory foam in the seat and the customer was not charged for the memory foam. We apologize for the lack of communication from the store and sales associate for not responding to the call. I have emailed the sales associate and his manager and instructed them to contact the client, which they will, so the issue can be resolved.

 

Randy S*****

V.P. of Operations

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of Arizona

Consumer Response:

the response is absolutley not true.  the sales person offered the memory foam option for $100 extra and we accepted this and was charged for same, and the reciept clearly shows and additional $100 paid .  the sales person did not process the order to include the memory foam...

the store has responded and advised that a chair will be made and processed for delivery with the memory foam, however, that chair is not here yet and until the correct chair is recieved, is the correct chair and memory foam, the complaint exists.  the store did provide and email of the order for the replacement chair and this order also does not specifically state that the memory foam option was included...

 

the store still has the option to resolve this dispute by refunding the purchase price, including delivery at any time.  this was paid by check, cleared the bank and a store check for refund would resolve this issue.

Business Response:

The client has decided to cancel the chair. He is scheduled to have it picked up on 01-29-16. We will then mail his  refund check the following week. I appreciate he not e considering the claim closed until he receives his refund check. We apologize for all the confusion. 

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We in good faith purchased a set of furniture paid for it not knowing we were not supposed to sit on it. It was sold to us as all leather furniture. Within seven months, one of the recliners started having the color come off. It appears this was painted on, not dyed all the way though, which would make it not all leather as told to us. The pretty shinny brown has now turned into a dull ugly light tan in spots. The piping has worn off in the middle of the back. The filling in the arms and back have suck in and looks twenty years old. The foot rest has the paint coming off. All of which the service man did not take pictures of or mention in his report. My wife sold furniture for La Z Boy for years and I work as service and repair manager in New Mexico. We never saw or heard of this problem before. I worked on numerous leather furniture and never observed this. We purchased two La Z Boy leather recliners in 2004 and they still look great. There is no oil damage or wear and we used them much more than these have been used. The service man (****) had predetermined the problem before even seeing the furniture. He said this was a common problem with these chairs and he saw it all the time. He did not investigate and overlooked all the other problems. I feel he treated me like I was stupid because of my age and I did not appreciate it. When we protested to the manager of the Ina Store, ****** ******, where we purchased the furniture she wanted us to do her job and fight with the factory over our problem. We bought the furniture at the Ina Store and feel the problem should be handled there, the factory has not seen the furniture. The furniture is not all leather and is cheaply made and is not acceptable. We want the chair replaced and an extended replacement warranty on the rest of the furniture if this happens to it. Although it appears the warranty is not worth having. Or pick up the furniture and refund our money Very Unhappy ** *** ****** *********

Desired Settlement: The furniture is not all leather and is cheaply made and is not acceptable. We want the chair replaced and an extended replacement warranty on the rest of the furniture if this happens to it. Although it appears the warranty is not worth having. Or pick up the furniture and refund our money

Business Response: Dear BBB,Our records indicate that our client picked up two chairs and a reclining sofa in September 2014.  Our service department was contacted on June 23rd this year and requested to inspect color loss in the head area of one recliner.On July 1st the leather was inspected, the technician reported that the leather color in the head area only had rubbed off as a result of a saturation of head oils.  Leather parts are warranted for one year against manufacturing or material defects, improper cleaning/treatment voids the warranty.   This is the most common area for this type color loss. The technician offered at that time to order a new back upholstered at no charge  as a  courtesy while explaining to the client how to prevent this type of damage going forward.  This offer was refused as the client felt the leather was defective.  We escalated the concern to our cooperate office in Monroe MI Warranty Services.  Case # ****** was assigned to the request and on 07-08-15 they responded that the dye loss was a result of oils and not covered under warranty.  They offered a  40% discount on a replacement part.  This information was provided to the client the same day.We would be willing to offer the original courtesy replacement of the back upholstered with no extended warranty as there is no extended warranty provided to us.  It is recommended that the client increase the frequency of cleaning the leather to prevent this reoccurrence.  If accepted we can direct ship it to the client’s home. Sincerely,***** ******Director of Consumer Services************ *** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We purchased two leather, La-Z-Boy recliners in 2006, that have been in use the whole time, and have never shown any wear of any kinds due to our cleaning.   That’s why we decided to purchase a new set of leather recliners and leather reclining sofa.  

The repair man had made up his mind before ever seeing the recliner as did Mr. ******.  This must be their standard reply to keep from honoring the warranty. He never offered us a new back for the recliner at no charge at any time.  The voice message that was left on our answering machine said we could purchase it for a 40% discount.  The repair man never took pictures of the piping at center of the back that is also worn off or of the lower lumbar area that is caving in.   And what about the footrest that they don’t mention, that they took a picture of?  By increasing the frequency of cleaning the leather will only cause more damage to the chair, as the paint (brown leather) comes right off if you wipe it with a cloth.  

We are reluctant to take any replacement for fear the leather has an ongoing problem after reading about other complaints on the internet.  Against our better judgment we will accept a replacement leather recliner or the back and footrest replaced in hopes that we do not have the same problem. It has always been a worry to us that the other furniture will have the same problem in time.  We would have preferred to have it all replaced.

It’s a shame that La-Z-Boy has given up the quality of their furniture and customer service we once knew.

Regards,

******* *** ****** *********

Business Response:

Keep in mind La-Z-Boy does not make the leather, they buy it from the mills as can any other furniture manufacture.  What La-Z-Boy does above other manufactures is warranty the leather against defects for one full year, that's 9 months longer than the mills warranty to them.  Am I understanding correctly that you would also like us to replace the seat upholstered?  If that's correct, we would be willing to add that to the offer.  I will await a confirmation response.

***** ******                    

10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/5/2015, I purchased a Gold Monaco Sisal 8 X 10 area rug, along with a couch, loveseat, chair, 2 0ttoman, 2 lamps, etc., amounting to approximately $6,000. As I understood, most all of the items needed to be ordered. The delivery was set for September 5. I ordered the rug, ottomans and lamps as a surprise for my daughter and at the time I ordered them the salesperson was aware of this and that when my daughter got the items if she didn't like them she could return or exchange them. When my daughter received the furniture, etc. on September 5 she felt the Gold Monaco Sisal 8 X 10 rug was too dark and requested to exchange it for a lighter rug....she was told it could be exchanged but had to pay a 30% restocking fee. This restocking fee was never mentioned to me or my daughter and it is nowhere to be found on the invoice (front or back) or any of the other paperwork we had. My daughter contacted La-Z-Boy Sept. 6 8, 9, 11 and I contacted them Sept. 13 and 15 to no avail...My salesperson was ***** * who is no longer employed by the Mesa La-Z-Boy. I could understand it if it was something that was covered with a certain fabric like a chair or the ottomans, but not a rug.....

Desired Settlement: Would just like to have the Mc100 Gold Monaco Sisal 8 X 10 rug replaced with like rug but a lighter color of my daughter ********* choice. No restocking fee.

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Power Recline XR+ Rocker Recliner with Power Headrest & Lumbar on 12/18/13. shortly after receiving the recliner it started crack & jerk making quite a bit of noise. Lazy Boy came out under warrantee and said that due to the frame being made out of wood that this is normal. I called a second time because it got worse and they said that nothing could be done. This chair sounds like it should be 20 years old with the cracking, popping and jerking when you use the power control to move the chair position. I do think this is very unsatisfactory and very poor quality. We have purchased numerous items from Lazy Boy and this is the first time we are very dissatisfied and will not buy another Lazy Boy if this cannot be fixed.

Desired Settlement: Remove and repair chair so as not making all these noises and jerking or replace chair or return my money.

Business Response: Client was delivered chair on 12-18-13. They contacted the service department on 11-25-2014 regareding a manual opererated chair which the legrest mechanism was not working properly. When the technician arrived on 11-29-14, they expressed concerns about the power chair making noises when they operated it. The technician and customer at that time could not duplicate the noises that they experienced prior. On 5-01-14 customer called service department reporting the chair was making squeaking noises again. On 05-08-15 technician arrived at home to inspect the noises and they could not duplicate the noises they had experienced previously.

We provide free in home service for one year after the customer receives the merchandise, however, due to the customer having repeated concerns six months prior we provided them with complimentary in home service the second time even though the service agreement had expired five months previously. 

Because the technician could not duplicate the concerns on two visits we will be happy to have our Service Manager evaluate the chair, but they will need to either pay the 60.00 pick up charge to have the delivery service pick it up and bring it back to the Service Ccenter or they can bring it into the Service Center, there will be no charge for the evaluation.

The Service Center is Located at **** ** ****** ****** **** ******** *****. Hours of business are  Tuesday thru Saturday 8:00a.m. to 4:00p.m.

Sincerely,
***** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

the is not a manual operated chair, but an electric operating recliner model 1hr515 rd103768  175 lancer power-xr reclina-rocke costing over $1300.

serviceman was out within a few month after purchase and said because it was made on a wood frame which moves and causes the problem . there records are all mixed up.

Regards,

******* ***********

Business Response: We understand it is a power recliner and not a manual. We believe our records are correct. However, in an act of good faith we will provide an additional service call at no charge and evaluate the chair. If the noises are prevelant at the evaluation, the technician will bring the chair back to the service center shop and we will have our Service Manager inspect it and determine what needs to be done to eliminate the issues.

I will create a new service order and enter the instructions. They just need to contact the Service Center to schedule the evaluation. Phone number ###-###-####.

***** ******
V.P.of Operations   

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2 recliners & a sofa on March 27, 2014. I am retired, single & am out of State 4+ months yearly. One recliner has been sat in approx. 15 times. The other sat in approx. 8 times. Now when sitting in, they make loud creaking noises and also if you move at all while in the chair. The chairs has dirt marks on them when delivered & a sub-contract service company cleaned them. One spot was not removed. La-Z-Boy raved about their warranty at the time of purchase but never mentioned that they sold the warranty to a company not associated with them. I never would have purchased anything if they had been honest about this at the time of sale. I am extremely dissatisfied with La-Z-Boy's quality of furniture and the service company that now holds the warranty. I hope you can help me with this.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return both chairs and receive a refund so I can purchase better quality chairs elsewhere. I will never buy from La-Z-Boy again.

Business Response: Customer was delivered a sofa and two chairs on 03-27-14. At time of delivery customer concerned with fabric on front of seat on one chair. Customer service inspected chair on 04-02-14. It was determined the marks were from straps securing the chair during delivery. Customer requested exchange which was done 04-08-14. No other contact with customer until they called our service department on 01-09-15 with concerns about the chair mechanisms making too much noice. There is a service call scheduled to inspect the chair or chairs(no designation on if it is both or one) on 01-16-15. 

There will be  no charge for the service call because we cover all charges to the customers home for up to one year from the date of delivery. Everything will be under warranty and we will repair or replace the defective parts, if necessary.  


***** ******
V.P. of Operations
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of Arizona.  

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife bought me a rocker- recliner for Christmas 2 years ago. It has several spots of color loss. The head rest has split out showing foam from underneath. We were told that the materials were covered for color loss and durability. The salesman told us that the leather was dyed all the way through the leather. All misinformation to make money. We called the store about 3 months ago again and was told that none of their materials were covered. We also made a call about 5 days out of warranty. Seems that La-z-boy quality has gone way down. When you pay $1300.00 for a recliner you expect it to last longer than 2.5 years. I would like for La-z-boy to replace the head rest section of leather and redye the seat. Another option would be to replace a defective product.

Desired Settlement: A replacement would go a long way toward customer relations. As I have read a tremendous number of complaints concerning La-z boy.

Business Response: We do not have any service records for this customer. Nothing noted they called have called into our service department. I left a message on day time phone number listed in the complaint. My message offered to have the customer bring the recliner into our service department for me to inspect. I included my direct extension and hours of operation.

***** ******
V.P. of Operations

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until the business has performed this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

Lloyd Shull

 

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Aug/Oct we contacted Lazy-boy regarding a defect issue with the a metal rod ripping through the backing of our couch causing a hold in the wall. Lazy boy sent out a technician to replace the backing and rod. He informed us that this couch has been discontinued and has problems with the backing rods due to the design and to contact Lazy boy again if it continued to happen. In December after a couple of months of use, the same issue occurred with a metal rod tearing through the backing making a hole in the fabric causing a hole in my our wall. We contact ***** out of the ******* office and was told that it was our fault that the backing was defective since we should have it much further from the wall and refused to fix it even though it is a known defect. We explained to him that we were told this was a defect by not just one but two people at his sales office when we purchased a new couch and were told this was discontinued. He denied problems with the couch even though his technician and sales reps advised us the couch has problems with the back and were discontinued. He was rude and condescending. He first said he would fix it and then stated he changed his mind. He proceeded to give us a analogy of a rubber tire. When We asked to speak with his manager, he hung up on us and cold transferred in the middle of our complaint. I was also informed that he provided us with misleading information on who he reports to stating ***** the VP of Operations but we were told by Lazyboy service to contact *** ***** or ****** *****.Product_Or_Service: Couch currently discontinuedAccount_Number: can locate under pho

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)Stand by your product, it was not fixed correctly and we should not have to pay for a defective product especially at Lazy boy. We expect more and expect you to honor the workmanship and guidance by you technician. Address the issues of poor and misleading service by ***** at your ******* location.

Business Response: I talked to ******* on 01-02-14 regarding the issue. It was concluded that due to the motion sofa sliding from normal use it had positioned to close to the wall and when reclining the back had hit the wall causing the damage. ******* felt due to that information not being presented to her that we should order another back for her(this is the second replacement) and install it at no charge. I agreed to do this one last time.

The upholstered back was ordered on 01-03-14, we received it on 01-21-14. Contacted the client and scheduled to install it on 01-29-14, arrived at the 10-12 time window which was confirmed and no one was home. They have been rescheduled for 02-11-14 for the installation.


Sincerely,

***** ******

V.P Operations
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of Arizona


1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: La-Z-Boy charged as "new", 2 damaged pieces of furniture shipped from their damaged goods warehouse. Plus credit never received for wrong item shipped BBB complaint # ******* and ******* ******** La-Z-Boy Store **** * **** *** ******** ** ***** Sales Rep: ****** ********; Store Manager: **** ******, ###-###-#### ext ####. Store's accounting = Total of Sales $10,232.38 Minus Credits $ 906.91 Payments made $ 8,687.29 Store is requesting balance due of $ 638.18. Complaint due to two replacement pieces advised by sales rep "as damaged", and damage credit would be applied to balance. But store continues to invoice as new pieces ($280.99 + $500.99). Also, store has never issued credit on wrong ******* light fixture delivered and returned to store, ($440.99), although the $440.99 amount is included in their "Total of Sales" amount listed above. History: 14 piece Purchase/ deposit paid on 5-13-13; $6,000. Delivery charges paid 7-31-13; $1,280.11 Partial Delivery on 8-03-13 Final delivery 9-07-13: back-ordered love seat & 2 replacement pieces from damaged goods whse Final payment made on 9-01-13; $1,399.18. Three pieces were returned to store on 9-07-13 and 9-12-13 due to: wrong light fixture shipped, (Ticket #***********; I cancelled replacement for ******* light fixture)and wrong size/color selection by store decorator. When I asked if I could purchase a seagrass drum table ($280.99 new) and a Andra lamp ($500.99 new),as replacements, I was advised by the sales rep that only damaged pieces were available for these two items, from their damage goods warehouse. He also advised I would receive discounted credit for these two pieces.(Ticket #*********** charged $932.92 as new). These two damaged items were delivered along with the long overdue back ordered love seat on 9-07-13. I was also charged a $79 delivery fee, which I argued should have been comped due to the excessive delay in delivery for the love seat ordered 05-13-13. The damage is quite noticeable on the replacement lamp and table. I communicated my complaints several times with the sales rep, and also left messages with the store manager. The billing department was rude on several occasions, as I tried to explain the problem. Initially, when I requested an itemized bill, they sent me an invoice with only code numbers with no explanation. When I complained that I could not understand the bill, the billing dept mocked me, stating that anyone could understand their bill. I then proceeded to communicate with the sales rep, who was able to send me an itemized statement. It was from this new accounting that I was able to determine the erroneous charges. I then made several attempts to reach the store manager, who I have yet to speak with, about the errors in billing. A side note: initially I was billed for furniture protection charges, which I never had agreed to. I complained and the store issued credit.

Desired Settlement: Settlement requested: Credit for two damaged pieces charged as "new" Credit for light fixture that store claims I was never charged for, yet the cost of the light fixture was included in their overall balance. Total requested: $638.18 credit which should leave a balance of zero owed to the store.

Business Response:

The account has been reconciled and the balance is zero. No money is owed by the customer.

***** ******
V.P of Operations.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** *********

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The leather covering on the Larson chair and couch is defective. La Z Boy has a I-year guarantee on their leather products. This guarantee needs to be honored!! I also purchased the 5-year leather protection plan...which tells you that I planned on having this furniture for many years.While we were purchasing these products...we heard time-after-time...how La Z Boy guarantees their products. Now that La Z Boy is faced with a guarantee they need to honor...it is apparent that La Z Boy's guarantee is fraud.**** ******Store Manager******** ********* * ******** ********* ** ************* * ** ******* ************ ** *****Hello,We did receive the photos and are in the process of reviewing them. Thank you**** ********* ******** ********* ***************** ******* *********** * ****** ****** *********** ** *****Attached pictures, and coming pictures, are the result of normal use.At the same time I purchased the Larson set...I also purchased an Astor Recl La Z Boy leather chair. This (identically used) chair still looks brand new...as expected with 4-months use. Finally, on August 1, 13: A case file and number is assigned:I need from the final decision makers...in writing/by email...the final decision of case #*****...with the names of the La Z Boy members who viewed the pictures of case #*****. Thank-You for talking today!***** * ****** ****August 13, 2013 From: Comfort Care Sent: Wednesday, August 14, 2013 11:01 AMAttached is the letter you requested regarding your furniture.Have a good day.****** ** Dear Ms. ****, We thank you for contacting us concerning the leather on your reclining sofa and chair. Your style ****** style sofa and ****** rocker recliner, delivered to you on or after August 1, 1992, La-Z-Boy offers a limited lifetime warranty on the parts of the frame, mechanism and springs, against manufacturing defects for as long as the original purchaser owns the product and can supply a dated receipt as proof of purchase. Fabric, leather and standard foam padding have a one year warranty against manufacturing defects from the date of delivery of the furniture to the customers home. Labor to repair or replace any defective parts is also covered for one year from the date ofdelivery of the furniture. In-home inspection fees, in-home service fees and trip charges to and from the dealer to the customers home are not covered under our warranty. The photos you submitted were reviewed by our leather specialist. It was determined the photos show in home damage due to scratches in the leather. Scratches are not a manufacturing defect with the leather, but a result of something in the home. We recommend you contact a local leather repair company such as Uniters North America. Uniters can be reached by phone at ***** ********. They have technicians and/or products available to assist you with repairing the scratches on the leather. Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.We value your business and look forward to continued opportunities to serveyou. Kindest Regards, La-Z-Boy Incorporated ****** ** Comfort Care Escalation Specialist CM#*****This report does not include the entirety of emailsdue to space.Conclusion: There was never any intent to honor their La Z Boy guarantee. We have been passed-off many times, time delayed and La Z Boy has had us running in circles...while requesting pictures after pictures from us.All La Z Boy has to doto get out of honoring their guaranteeis say that any defect was caused by in-home damage. Who determines the cause of damage to your leather or fabric furnitureself-serving La Z Boy does. With the many emails sent, there have also been many phone calls, and so much time spent.La Z Boy recommends us to contactand pay fora local leather repair companyto repair our defective 4-month-old La Z Boy guaranteed couch and chair.Do not buy La Z Boy from La Z Boy Furniture Galleries in Flagstaff!!!Do not buy La Z Boy!!!We are still awaiting an answeras to the name/s of the La Z Boy leather specialist/s, who determined the cause of damage to our defective weak leather.

Desired Settlement: We want the defective leather Larson couch and chair replaced with a leather couch and chair...not Larson. Our Astor chair's leather is good. Replace the Larson couch and chair with an Astor couch and chair...or the quality of Astor. The 5-year leather protection plan we purchased for both Larson couch and chair would need to be transferred to the replacement couch and chair. The replacement couch and chair would need to be delivered...as were the Larson items. Thank You, ***** and ****** ****

Business Response: We received photos from the ***** on 07-24-13 for review of their concerns.  I have worked for the local La-Z-Boy dealer for over 16 years and personally reviewed the photos.  I replied 07-25-13 that it was my opinion that the leather was being scratched by something in the home.  La-Z-Boy’s warranty does not cover wear and tear so I made a recommendation to clean and condition the leather to reduce the glaring appearance of the scratches.

         On 08-14-13 I received notification from the LZB Customer Care department in Monroe MI case # *****, that they too had reviewed the photos the client had submitted and came to the same conclusion.  They referred the client to a local leather repair specialist for assistance. 

         A warranty card explaining the coverage is attached to each unit LZB distributes and can be obtained at ***********************.  There is no refund or exchange that can be offered to the ***** for the claim that they presented.  Attached is the trail of emails between the ***** and my department and some of the photos they provided.  I can be reached at ************ ext **** if you have any further questions.

 

                                               ***** ******

                                               Director of Consumer Services

           




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

***** ****


 This is a leather defect...a very weak leather...
***** *** ****** ****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

LZB's warranty states they guarantee their leather for one year. The leather on the Larson couch and chair is defective. We have explained to several different people that this leather is weak and defective. This leather was not processed right. We live in our home...sit on the Larson couch, chair and Astor chair...and absolutely did not use the Larson couch and chair in any way to cause damage. The leather on the Astor chair...purchased at the same time...used the exact same way...is fine.
 
***** ****** and LZB's Customer Care department (****** *.)...were not present during the processing of the Larson leather. Their "OPINION" cause of damage due to "wear and tear", determined by pictures we sent, is completely self serving of LZB, and is in LZB's best interest.
 
LZB claims to warranty their leather for one year. All LZB has to do, to get out of their stated warranty...is determine that defective leather damage was caused by in-home
damage...LZB's OPINION...determined by LZB. LZB's one year leather warranty...exists to benefit LZB...not their customer. 
 
As this mediation appears to be failing...we will now be forced to pursue our other options for resolution, including sending all correspondence to ** ******* ***, President & CEO.

Regards,

***** ****


 

 

Business Response:

We stand firm on our assessment of the circumstances concerning the scratches. However, we are willing to make a good faith offer. We will dispatch a leather company to the home and dye the damaged areas. We do this with the understanding that any other scratches, nicks, scrapes, snags or soiling that may occur in the future, which is not covered under the Ultra Shield warranty, will be their responsibility. 



***** ******
V.P. Operations
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of Arizona  


   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

***** ****


 This proposed action from LZB would not resolve the problem in any way. It would, however, release LZB from the last 6-months of their own contract. This proposed action would greatly benefit LZB...as they would be released from any further obligation to honor their leather contract. The leather on the Larson couch and chair is a very weak defective leather. To dye the spots on this leather will not fix the weak leather. After 4-months from the leather dye...the leather would, again be covered with spots.
A question for LZB (please answer):     If this leather is...as you say...not defective, and is nice strong leather...why do you refuse to take the Larson couch and chair back. A replacement would result in...LZB would have back what they claim is a LZB strong leather quality couch and chair...and we would be happy with our picked replacement. LZB does highly advertise their supposed concern for customer satisfaction.
We will proceed with all other options.
Thank You, ***** *** ****** ****


9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Second new couch from this store. 1st couch returned made incorrectly, torn on delivery. Second couch has serious frame, electric, spring issues. Service came out to look at it notated all the problems. We have not heard from the service department, nor the store where it was purchased on how this issue was going to be resolved. This couch purchased new cost us over $2,000.00. We "assumed" Lazy Boy furniture was well made furniture especially at the price we paid.

Desired Settlement: We want this couch sent back to Lazy Boy and our money refunded so we may go out and purchase another couch.

Business Response: We have contacted the client and arranged for the sofa to be picked up 09-17-13 for a refund. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart