Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

SRP

Phone: (602) 236-8888 PO Box 52025, Phoenix, AZ 85072 http://www.srpnet.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a public power utility company, providing electricity and water to Central Arizona residents.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from SRP


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SRP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SRP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 33

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on SRP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1958 Business started: 01/01/1903 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1903
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Attn: Consumer Ombudsman Office, Consumer Ombudsman Ms. Carrie Young, Sr. Director, Corporate Operations Services
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Attn: Consumer Ombudsman Office, Consumer Ombudsman
Business Category

Electric Companies

Alternate Business Names
S.R.P. Agricultural Improvement & Power Dist. Salt River Project Salt River Valley Water Users' Association

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

SRP has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 52025

    Phoenix, AZ 85072

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from a collection agency who states they contact Salt River project to confirm an amount that I owe for an address that I never lived at. I believe IF they did an investigation and states I lived at the address **** **** ****** ****** ** is not honest. The information on my credit report is not fair or accurate and hey refuse to remove that negative remark.

Desired Settlement: To have this item removed from my credit report. This item has affected my life as far as where I have been able to live so I want to see if there are some sort of regulations to ensure this does not happen to anyone else.

Business Response:

After reviewing this complaint, I was able to locate a customer with the same name at the Indian School address and then spoke with SRP Collections.  According to SRP records, it appears that the outside collections agency SRP uses, Online Collections, somehow linked the wrong ******** ******'s together.  SRP has contacted Online Collections and requested they make the necessary corrections and remove the adverse credit activity notation from Ms. ******'s credit report.  I have also called Ms. ****** at ************ to inform her of this and advise that the process, unfortunately, can take between 60-90 days.  I have documented Ms. ******'s SRP account on this and have created a case file for documentation purposes in the event that Ms. ****** needs assistance from me in the future on this matter, I can be reached at ************. 

Sincerely,

Lori L*********

Sr. Ombudsman

SRP Consumer Affairs

8/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
6/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently I did received a statement from SRP, requesting the payments for back delinquencies, I have notice that those statements are from another addresses witch are not related to me in any way, since I have not leave in those addresses< one statement name **** ** ******* ***** **, and **** ** **** ***** **** both in Queen creek, AZ, ( San Tan Valley), I only will be responsible for any deficiencies if any, related to My Home ***** * ***** *** San Tan Valley, AZ. Is the responsibility of the SRP to find and obtain the payments of a total accord to their statements the amount of $1,138.42, from the party or parties involve, which I do not myself have any obligation to pay for services that I did not order my self. SRP is threatening to collect this amount of money from My Own service Account that I have with them, which: is #************ Srp Claims that they have transfer the unpaid electric bill totaling $1,138.42. from account #*********** I will not accept this unknown charges. SRP customer Credit Services, ************ *************

Desired Settlement: no to be charge to my account, and find some peace in my soul

Business Response: This matter has been resolved.  SRP records show that on June 27, 2016, Mr. ***** contacted SRP's Customer Credit Services Department regarding this matter.  The SRP Credit Specialist reviewed and explained the charges on Mr. *****'s SRP account and Mr. ***** indicated he then understood why SRP performed the balance transfer.  The SRP Credit Specialist offered Mr. G**** a payment arrangement; however Mr. ***** decided to pay the $1,338.42 in full to bring closure to this matter. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

 

6/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up in August for irrigation, and was required to pay for the entire current year, but was told I would get the first 8 months refunded/credited on the next year's bill. Well that is not true. I only got about $14 refunded/credited which equates to about 1 1/2 months. I fought this and was basically told "too bad". I would have waited for a new year aka new billing cycle to start if I hadn't been lied to when I originally signed up.

Desired Settlement: Refund credit me 8/12 (8 months) of the about $91 I paid.

Business Response: SRP contacted ******* ****** and matter was resolved on 5/6/2016.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******

 

5/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of SRP for approx. 20 years. On Tuesday, April 19th our electricity was turned off for a few hours. As a result we had to throw away some items that spoiled in the heat. We made a call to SRP to inquire about the inconvenience. An SRP representative informed us that someone had called to notify them that the home was being sold and no longer would require the account service (how can anyone just call randomly and SRP not verify the account information through the caller before making a drastic decision like turning off service). When I inquired as to who called, they stated they could not provide that information. My wife called later and she was informed that SRP made a mistake and they turned off our service based on the wrong address number. SRP apologized and informed us that we would get a new account. Our old account # was *** *** ***; now SRP has given us a new account # *** *** ***. They said because the previous account was cut, that we could not get it back. We do not understand how due to a mistake on their part we had to incur all the inconvenience. We just ask that we are not charged for reconnection of service, nor for any related charges that arise from a new account. We also expect SRP to not do this again in the future. Thank you for your time and attention, *******

Desired Settlement: We just ask that we are not charged for reconnection of service, not for any related charges that arise from a new account. We also expect SRP to not do this again in the future.

Business Response: SRP Consumer Affairs contacted Mr. *****, via his provided email address, and apologized for the error as well as provided compensation.

5/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had the SRP M-Power box for over 6 years. I had it at ***** * ******* ***** ******** ***** and then moved to *** * ***** ** ******** ***** and transferred my services. In the beginning of April I put money on my card and noticed it took my funds and showed that I owed a balance on my account?. I called SRP, the rep said I had services at another location as well and I had not paid!! I told her my previous address and explained that I haven't lived anywhere else so someone must have used my information. She put me on hold for over 7 minutes, I finally hung up. Now here we are end of April and my money is still being taken. No call back from SRP, nothing! They had no worry about possible fraud and haven't bother to do their job but are continuing to take my money for something that IS NOT MINE!

Desired Settlement: I want all those funds credited to me as well as an apology. If I had the option to leave and take my business to APS I absolutely would 100%. This is the worst service and experience. Also it isn't the first time SRP has messed up and not corrected the issue.

Business Response:

SRP Consumer Affairs has left a voice message and sent an email to this customer asking her to call our office to discuss the matter further.  Consumer Affairs has questions for this customer and her input is needed to resolve her complaint  This office will provide a follow up email once the matter is resolved.

Thank you

2/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent a bill for 32.16 for a residence I no longer live at and haven't lived there for about 2 years . After I divorced , my ex husband stayed at the residence and took care of all the bills . There was a court order stating this as well .There is no reason why I should be getting this bill now .

Desired Settlement: I would like the charge to be dropped and to remain in good standing with my credit . IF there are any reports of me now paying that affects my credit score I would like this to be dropped

Business Response: There is no $32.18 debt with SRP. All charges were paid in March 2015. 

1/24/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We began work to put in a pool in the backyard 6 weeks ago. this neighborhood has aerial power lines so SRP sent their construction team out to inspect the property and equipment and determine how to bury the power lines so the pool can be built. Based on their recommendation, the construction crew dug the trench and buried the conduit. The SRP construction team them cam back out and said the power can't be connected in the ground the way it was set up (which was SRP's recommendation) and that it will now require that I install a completely new electric (which I already have a brand new electric panel installed). The cost to me to make that change is $2500!! Over the past month we have negotiating with SRP on this issue with no resolution. Their Construction manager, Bruce C****** said to my contractor, "Yes, we gave you bad information but that is now your problem." SRP failed to due to proper due diligence when inspecting the property and equipment and gave improper recommendations and therefore did not provide us with a solution. Now to fix their mistake they are expecting me to pay an additional $2500 for a new electric panel. I did everything by the book and by their recommendation therefore their error should not be costing me out of my pocket. This issue has also delayed the construction project by over 3 weeks!

Desired Settlement: I would like SRP to come out and honor their recommendation, pay the additional cost to make their recommendation work, and do it ASAP so my project can move forward.

Business Response: SRP is in communications with the customer to resolve this matter, however, ongoing at this time. SRP will provide an update upon resolution of the matter.

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SRP replaced my meter on 9/10/2015. They did not inform me of this exchange and there was equipment damaged due to this exchange resulting in over $2500 worth of damage. SRP initially denied that an exchange had ever taken place and also denied there was ever a loss of power at my home on that day. After I questioned them further about the exchange they sent me a letter stating that meter exchanges did indeed cause power surges that could damage equipment. I was also sent litigation paperwork showing what was recommended surge protectors. all my protectors meet SRP's recommendations. SRP's litigation department has offered me a $200 credit toward my bill... the damage to my computer alone is over $2500. Although I have talked with a litigation agent on several occasions, they have refused to replace my equipment.

Business Response:

SRP Cons Affrs received and is in the process of thoroughly reviewing Ms. ****** complaint.  An SRP Ombudsman has reached out to Ms. ****** and has opened an investigation.  In the meantime more information/documentation has been requested from Ms. ******.  This customer and the BBB will be notified once a decision has been made on this matter.   Thank you- SRP Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response:

SRP did contact me and asked to review the information that was initially sent to them. They did not ask me for more information but rather copies of the same information I had previously sent.

 

Upon the Umbudsmans review of the information she determined that although my personal equipment was damaged, there was no negligence on their part when the meter was switched. She did however explain that SRP was negligent in how the situation was communicated to me. 

 

No notice was given as to a switch taking place.

SRP denied any power outage at the home the day of the exchange, SRP further denied the meter had been switched at all, then recanted and admitted that yes, the meter had been switched and proceeded in stating that even though damage can occur to household electronics during any type of outage, that the problem was in my surge protectors that have been working fine until this incident.

 

SRP offered to pay me 750 for a 2000 computer. Then in order to get a check from them they sent me a w9 form. 

I was not a contracted worker for them yet this form will ensure I pay taxes as if I was contracted to work for them and they paid me $750 toward my yearly income.

 

I hope you are astonished at the lengths a wealthy company will go to in order to not take responsibility for damages, write a check for reimbursements then make the party whose goods were damaged pay taxes on that reimbursement. I certainly am.

Business Response:

SRP Consumer Ombudsman conducted a thorough investigation on this matter.  Engineers confirm no surges occur as a result of changing out meters. The power goes off for a brief period and it goes back on again. There are no additional or unique surges associated with the upgrade to more advanced meters. Depending on the home wiring system and loads contained within the dwelling, internal fluctuations of voltage may occur.

It is the customers responsibility to take preventive measures as a first line of defense, which would include investing in surge protection for valuable computer equipment.  The age of this customer's surge protector (12yrs +) likely contributed to the problem here, and this was discussed with the customer.

There was some poor communication by SRP's Customer Services Group when the customer first reported the inciden, and although none of this had a direct impact on the damage, SRP Ombudsman took this into account and settled with this customer for $750.

It is an *** requirement for SRP to have a W-9 form on file for every entity they pay.  In this case SRP will not withhold and this customer will not receive a 1099 because it is a reimbursement for property. 

The check has been mailed and serves as full and final payment on this matter.  Consumer Affairs Ombudsman has closed this case.

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon initial activation of residential electrical services, I was informed that a deposit is required. Unfortunately, at that time I was unable to deposit funds. I was informed that I could be billed in two separate bills for the deposit. At no time during this transaction was there mention of *******. I did not know of ******* until the day an SRP employee showed up to install a box for *******. I was informed that it was basically a prepaid plan. On 28 August, after a storm in my area, my power was out. I called SRP to inquire if there was any power outages. I was then informed that my prepaid credit had possibly run out. I asked how I could get off of ******* and onto a regular billing cycle. I was told that I needed a deposit of $185 or a minimum of $135 and the rest would be billed. I called this SRP afternoon, 1 Sep 2015, to make the deposit and have my billing changed. My first call I was put on hold and then disconnected. My second attempt I was informed that I had to put nearly $400 down for a deposit. As it was explained to me, my balance for ******* had to be zeroed out and another deposit of $270 had to be placed. Why do I have to put two deposits for electrical service to one residence?

Desired Settlement: I would like to be placed on a regular billing cycle with the initial split deposit of $135 and the remaining balance on my first regular bill. Also, to train their employees with the proper knowledge and procedures so they can give correct information and avoid embarrassing situations.

9/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SRP has just started billing people approximately $100 a month for costumers that have solar. Why is the costumer getting billed for his or her right to choose a service other than SRP? Doesn't that violate some sort of free market economy law? Or, is this just a misguided judgement call of a immoral. money-hungry company?

Desired Settlement: Stop billing people for their right to choose.

Business Response:

SRP's response to *** ******** concerns are attached - Thank you.

9/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have had SRP ******* rip off power) going on 3 years now. they scam people into this prepaid box which costs roughly double what post pay billing costs. it is completely bogus. so i went to switch back to post pay and this company decides that i have to pay almost $300 to have a bill sent to me in the mail. so today 8/17 i called to get some information. Norma answered the phone to take my call she was rude and pompous from the beginning of the phone call i was admittedly upset but she failed to deliver any level of customer service and then asked me to hand the phone to my wife. to which i replied NO i want a supervisor. she stated that she was a supervisor (that was a lie) and then waited 20 mins on hold.. had to call back to get a real supervisor and was told the same thing. SRP is a scam because of my credit they require me to have a pre-paid box and then charge me more for having it. not to mention that when i recently moved i paid almost $300 in moving fees & deposits and the previous address i had an m-power box and paid nearly $300 for that one as well. now they want an additional 115.59 because i want to switch the box over to a bill before 1 year as well as 275.00 deposit after in the last 24 months i have paid them over $600 in deposits. this is sickening as all i want is a bill in the mail so i can pay one bill a month and not have to worry that my m-power box may shut off at anytime because i didn't make it to the kiosk to add money to the box. I feel this is a utility company taking advantage of low income simply because they can. now i have heard of deposits for utilities and have paid them in the past but never this much and definitely not for electricity.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be a normal customer paying a normal deposit (which i have paid twice) and receive a bill in the mail for my electricity.

Business Response: SRP has attempted to contact ******* by phone and email with no response. SRP mailed a response to ******* on 9/2/15, via ****, with enclosed Itemized Statements showing transactions on the current account in ******* ******** name (spouse) and also the two prior accounts in ******* ******** name. These accounts reflect a deposit of $87.50, only, for M-Power service. ******* expressed an interest in Basic service which requires a $275.00 deposit, or an additional $187.50, but SRP will waive the additional deposit requirement as a courtesy. SRP does require that any pending balance on M-Power be paid in full prior to conversion to Basic service. ******* or ******* are welcome to contact SRP's Residential Contact Center or SRP Consumer Affairs for additional assistance with their SRP electric service account.

Consumer Response: I received email didn't realize I needed to waste my time replying have already had my wife contact srp and as soon as I pay the remainder of arrears I will switch to post pay bill with no deposit as stated in the email
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

 

1/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out from the ********* *********** ***** ** *** **** ******** *** ****** on 10/27/2014. I called from my work desk phone so I don't have the exact date I called to set up my service cancellation but it had to be shortly after my notice was given with the Arboretum which was 60 days prior to 10/25. My actual departure date was to be 10/25, which was on a Friday, but I needed the weekend to finish moving out and to clean, so I made sure to leave the power on through 10/27. The last bill from SRP I received and that I was or currently am able to access online was read on 9/30, and dated 10/1. It includes a reference to my $275 deposit, $140.31 shown on the bill as refunded, to which I did receive, and a NEW ACCOUNT BALANCE of $0.00. I assumed that they used a portion of my deposit to cover any remaining debt I would have owed from then til 10/27 when I moved out. I received no communication via phone, email, or regular mail. Yesterday, Friday, 12/26/2014, I received a letter in the mail from SRP from their collections department stating that maybe I possible misplaced or forgot to pay my final bill and I currently owed them an oustanding debt for services rendered through 11/19/2014. I called immediately and the male operator advised me they had no record of me ever calling in to cancel service. I called again this morning, Saturday 12/27, and *****, the operator I spoke with, confirmed the amount of $100.35 as still being owed for time period 10/1-11/19. He stated my billing had been closed on 10/1 and a new account opened up. I have no idea why they would do this but I have had no communication regarding this. Additionally, on my "final" bill summary date 10/1, it literally states, "final bill." Also, it states, "It was our pleasure to have served you. Than you for your business." My best guess of what happened is the person who I spoke with who set up the service cancellation set it up for the wrong date and when they caught their error, they had to start a new service billing cycle or something, and never set the correct service cancellation date for 10/27. The male rep I spoke with on 12/26 they received a call setting up service for 11/19 and that is the reason they knew to cancel my service. This is so frustrating. I just went through this same situation 2 1/2 years ago with ************ ************** in ***** **** ***** ******. It took four months, several phone calls, faxes, and emails, showing my phone call history and sending them proof that my other utilities were also shut off on the same date. They too, said they had no record of me ever calling to request service cancellation even though I can phone records of the two phone calls I made to them. Thanks to the BBB, they finally cleared my bill and problem solved. This is the same situation. I called to make sure my service was cancelled. I even paid for a couple extra days to the Arboretum for stayin to 10/27 instead of 10/25, just to do my cleaning. My problem here now is that I called to set up the service cancellation from my work desk phone which keeps a record of about 20 previous phone calls and I have no record of the phone call. I can get proof from the Arboretum of my move out date. The scary part in all of this, is that all the utility companies need to do is say, nope, we never got that call, and then they can bill you for anything, and it's up to the consumer to fight back. I have been working diligently to repair my credit over the last few years and have gone from a low 500 to most recently a 622 and climbing. I feel this is horrible and unethical business practice. This was their mistake and I don't feel after almost three months form my final bill they should be allowed to come back at me in an attempt to blackmail me into paying them money as a result of their own mistakes, hanging over my head that if I don't pay, they can sue me and damage my credit.

Desired Settlement: I want my debt removed and make sure this does affect my credit.

Business Response:

Consumer Affairs has been in contact with the customer and SRP will write off the disputed amount.  Consumer Affairs' investigation of issue shows error in billing on SRP's part, so customer not responsible.  Also, customer credit not in jeopardy, as SRP had not yet sent this to any outside credit agency. 
Thank you
SRP Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.



Regards,

*** ******

 

12/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a deposit which I was supposed to get back after 18 months of good payments. They use an outside source for phone payments which do not show up paid automatically. Srp sent out a disconnect notice after bill was paid. Now I have to wait another 18 months before I receive my deposit back after I was told by an srp employee that it would not effect my deposit standing

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit back now and an apology for not training their employees correctly and hearing two different reasons for my deposit

Business Response: Consumer Affairs has been in contact with the customer and verified the payment in question was made on time through ***, a third party payment vendor. Therefore Consumer Affairs issued refund of $209.81. Thank you!

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

 

11/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary:

1) SRP used to deliver sufficient water to me, now they don't.

2) The user water delivery system is in good repair and improved over the condition that it was in when SRP turned its maintenance over to the users about 60 years ago.

3) Complaints to SRP often result in repair orders.  System maintenance is continuous, so SRP is always able to find something to write a repair order about.  Executing the repair orders has rarely made any improvement to water delivery and some repair orders include items that may be shown to reduce the efficiency of the user system and damage property.

4) My attempt examine a recent flawed repair order elicited extremely bad behavior by SRP officials.  I was treated rudely and verbally abused in public. SRP blocked me from presenting any of my information. My rude treatment by SRP was the trigger for this complaint.

Detail:

About 60 years ago SRP abandoned the maintenance of local urban irrigation distribution systems to the subdivision users.  Since then neighbors worked together to repair and improve our local system and it is now in better condition than it ever was.

I have been irrigating my property for more than 40 years.  During For the first 30+ years SRP delivered enough water to our subdivision to compensate for local system losses so that the furthest properties from the delivery point received their **** ***** ****** ***** ****** *********** ***** authorized allotment of water.

In the last few years SRP paradoxically cut back the water delivery to distant parts of the neighborhood while usually continuing to boost the amount of water delivered during the earlier portion of our irrigation cycle.  Specifically, SRP initially delivers 70-75 AZ miner's inches of water to the subdivision and then cuts the delivery rate to 50-60 inches for the distant properties.  50-60 inches inches of water equates to the amount of water that the **** ***** ****** ***** ****** *********** ***** allocated for each water user and so is sufficient for the first few users.  However, every user beyond the first few suffers the system losses and cannot possibly receive the board authorized allotment at that delivery rate.  I am the 2nd from
last user in the system.

SRP refuses to discuss historic water delivery nor the anomalies in the current water delivery to the subdivision usually saying something like "I don't know about that." They repeat that they are delivering more than they are required to deliver and will not acknowledge that unavoidable system losses will prevent our users from ever receiving their allotment of water at current diminished water delivery levels.

SRP often responds to complaints with repair orders that do not make any improvement in the user system and sometimes have the potential to cause damage.  These directed changes do not increase the amount of water delivered to our properties since digging ditches does not create water.

The stonewalling and misinformation from SRP has stymied my attempts at resolving this matter so that we may once again receive our water allotments. More specifically, and the tipping point for filing this complaint, was SRP's interaction relating to a recent repair order which included scientifically incorrect information.  I created a referenced response to the repair order and SRP asked me for a public meeting for me to present it. A time and place was negotiated and six SRP representatives attended. However, when I attempted to present my findings, the SRP team refused to allow me to proceed with the information by interrupting and shouting over me every time I tried to speak.  This was the most unprofessional behavior I have ever witnessed during a technical presentation and went far beyond rude.

I made a follow-up call to the SRP Omsbudsman, who was present at the meeting, to verify the names and titles of the other SRP representatives who attended.  She informed me that SRP would not cooperate nor provide any of the solicited information. Essentially SRP requested the meeting, subsequently derailed the meeting without hearing any of my presentation, and now won't even admit which employees attended.

Attachments:
nowater.pdf: A copy of my SRP blocked presentation of the analysis of the effects of damaging ditch modifications requested in the SRP repair order.  This document also contains additional supporting information for this complaint. repair.jpg: A copy of the SRP work order. srplist.pdf: An unverified list of SRP employees who behaved badly at the August 1 meeting.

Desired Settlement: While I am filing this personal complaint as a result of being specifically wronged, it is not possible to clearly distinguish my complaint from a neighborhood complaint. So, I have stated the item below as an outcome for the neighborhood. Compliance will also satisfy me and my complaint.

Outcome: Restoration of the water delivery to my neighborhood to the historical level that provides the water allocation to our properties as defined by the SRP ***** ****** *********** ***** without requiring improvements in the neighborhood distribution system beyond the condition that it was in when its maintenance was turned over to the neighborhood by SRP.

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau,

SRP has tried to work with Mr. ******, but he did not agree with comments and /or suggestions made by SRP employees to assist him with resolving his irrigation concerns.   Therefore after consulting with SRP *********, the following email was sent to Mr. ****** on August 14, 2014 at 4:15pm:

Dear Mr. ******:

SRP has reviewed all of your correspondence to date, including your prepared analysis, and listened to your remarks in person.  In addition, we have met internally to discuss this situation.

First and foremost, SRP emphatically supports and applauds the performance of all its employees throughout this matter and even more emphatically rejects your characterizations of them.

Second, we simply do not share your version of either the facts, or the process used to establish such facts, regarding the appropriate means to deliver water in your neighborhood private system.

Moreover, as we have repeatedly advised you, SRP’s obligation is to deliver water to a point established by SRP governing documents in sufficient quantity to meet shareholder entitlements. That SRP has performed this obligation does not appear to subject to challenge. All additional efforts SRP has made in this matter have been as a courtesy happily extended to its shareholders, but in this case to no avail unfortunately due to your and others’ attacks on the “messengers,” in lieu of any cooperative effort. Consequently, our efforts, beyond meeting SRP’s above referenced obligation, will cease.

Sincerely,
**** **********
Sr. *********
SRP Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

SRP did not propose any action to resolve my complaint.

It appears that they did not even read my complaint since they made the statement:

"SRP’s obligation is to deliver water to a point established by SRP governing documents in sufficient quantity to meet shareholder entitlements. That SRP has performed this obligation does not appear to subject to challenge."

Yet, SRP's reduced water delivery of water to my neighborhood to well below shareholder's entitlements is exactly what I have challenged.

Please help me to get SRP to abandon their personal attacks and to actually address their reduced water delivery and the other issues that I have already presented both in my BBB complaint and my "WE USED TO GET WATER; NOW WE DON’T" (nowater.pdf) document.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau,

According to shareholder entitlements, SRP is delivering the correct amount of irrigation to Mr. ******** subdivision at the delivery point established by SRP governing documents. 

In this case, the problems arise from the private system and must be rectified by the owners of that private system.  Unfortunately, Mr. ****** previously refused SRP’s offer to walk the private system so that SRP employees could point out areas that are in need of maintenance and repair.  If proper maintenance and repairs were made, then Mr. ****** and his neighbors would receive their irrigation allocation without any issues.  Proper maintenance includes weeds and debris removal, ditch reshaping to deliver the amount of irrigation allocated within the gravity fed private system. Repairs need to be made to grates, slides and valves, it is SRP’s experience that as long as shareholders manage their irrigation (adhering to scheduled times) and the private system is maintained in good repair (functioning properly), then irrigation water deliveries can be made without any issues regarding the quantity of water.  Again, the water amount delivered is based on water rights entitlements.  These entitlement amounts have been in place and have been legally recognized as appropriate for decades. 

SRP recognizes that Mr. ****** is a shareholder and has extended assistance to him, but without his acknowledgement that work must be done within the private system, which is up to shareholders to operate and maintain, there is nothing further that SRP can do to resolve this situation.  As expressed in my previous response to the Better Business Bureau, “All additional efforts SRP has made in this matter have been as a courtesy happily extended to its shareholders, but in this case to no avail.”

Sincerely,
**** **********
Sr. *********
SRP Consumer Affairs
###-###-####

10/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/22/2014, I received an alert from ****** ***** stating their was an update on my Credit Report. When I reviewed the information it was from **** ****** **** in *********** **, representing **** ***** *******, stating that I owe this company 141.00 from 2011. I called SRP, on 9/22/2014 and spoke with several people, ******, *****, ******, **** and *****. SRP advised me that I had a remaining balance on a bill when I lived at *** ** ***** ******* ** ****** **, absolutely not true, for a few reason, the first one, the numbers do not add up correctly, after speaking with ******, she advised me of all my bills, as follows: ******, ******, ******, *****, *****, *****, *****, *****, ******, *****, *****, ****** and ******. Now, after the bill of 148.59, SRP advised me they received a call from some customer, stating they was connecting service in my apartment, mind you , I have not moved out as of yet, so SRP, removes the bill out of my name and start my disconnection. Then when they realizes the mistake they made, they advised me of 2 more bills, one for 53.84 and the final one of 214.36, funny how these 2 amounts almost equals the same amount of a deposit that I made. My guess is when they realized their mistake and put my service back on in my name, they either charge me an activation fee or a deposit again, hoping I would not realize this. I called them and asked for all the bills, they will not supply them to me. But for argument sake, let's say I own that money, the grand total of those bills would come to 1617.23, my payments equal 1579.01, if I did owe any money it would be 38.31, but I do not owe any monies at all. I sincerely believe SRP owes me money back. My payments, 305.26, 99.97, 156.54, 111.17, 94.80, 90.00, 70.00, 90.00, 80.00, 60.58, 119.00, 99.31, 85.36, 117.00, was my final payment

Desired Settlement: I want this alleged 141.00 off my credit report. I want SRP to review the bills, plus payments and fix this issue

Business Response: September 24, 2014
Dear ****** ******** ******,
On 6/16/2011, *** ******* emailed SRP a turn-off request effective 7/27/2011 for *** * ***** ******* *****, but the order was entered as 6/27/2011, in error.  As a result of this, *** *******’s SRP Bill Account (B/A) #*********** was turned off on 6/27/2011.  *** *******’s SRP B/A #*********** was finalized on 6/27/2011 and the following transactions took place:
06-27-2011
275.56-
126.97-
53.84
0.00
73.13-
06-20-2011
117.00-
0.15-
148.74
0.00
148.59
 As of 6/20/2011, *** *******’s SRP bill for usage was $148.74, less the .15 credit so $148.59 was due on 7/12/2011.  Due to the 6/27/2011 turn-off order, according to SRP policy, a final meter read was taken and resulted in a $53.84 usage charge and *** *******’s $275 deposit was applied to her SRP account along with $.56 in interest which resulted in a $73.13 credit:
$  148.59
$    53.84
($275.00)
($      .56)
($  73.13)
 
On 7/19/2011, *** ******* informed SRP of the turn-off error and therefore a new SRP B/A #*********** was established by SRP which was backdated to 6/27/2011.  As a result of this, the following transactions took place:
 
Initially another $275 deposit was billed, but was immediately cancelled because of the “off in error” and the fact that SRP had applied *** *******’s $275 deposit from SRP B/A #*********** to her final bill there.  Please note due to the “off in error” situation, SRP did not charge a service establishment fee for SRP B/A #***********.  Also, the billed meter charges from 6/27/2011 to 7/21/2011, with applicable taxes, came to a total of $177.39 and was due on 8/12/2011.  On 7/19/2011 *** ******* informed SRP that she was turning off service effective 7/25/2011 and therefore a final bill issued on 7/26/2011 included the following transactions:
 
$177.39 (previous account balance due on 8/12/2011
$  36.97 billed usage
$214.36 due on 8/9*
 
This bill was mailed to:       ****** *******
                                         **** **** ****** *** ****
                                         ************* **  **********
 
*After this final bill was mailed, an additional transaction took place whereby SRP applied the $73.13 credit from SRP B/A #*********** towards the $214.36 account balance on SRP B/A #***********, leaving a balance due SRP in the amount of $141.13 ($214.36 - $73.13 = $141.23). 
 
Please know that SRP Consumer Affairs upholds the $141.21 as accurate and due SRP, however due to the turn-off error and for other business reasons, SRP Consumer Affairs and SRP Credit agrees to do the following:
 
1)     SRP Credit will recall *** *******’s $141.21 debt from the ********** ****** and write it off – this typically takes about 2 days.
 
2)     SRP Credit will request the ********** ****** remove the item from *** *******’s credit report – this typically takes 30-60 days.  Please know that SRP has no control over the timing on this.
 
If *** ******* should have any questions concerning this matter, please have her respond to SRP Consumer Affairs.
Sincerely,
**** **********
*** *********
SRP Consumer Affairs

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (1) I am a Social Security recipient and have been paying for the electric bill most of the time on a monthly basis yet find the charges to be excessive with respect to my income plus is not working with respect to their SRP Basic Price Plan and/or any other arrangement they claim to have in place for persons struggling with thier current low incomes. (2) Since I am making the majority of the payments I need to have my name instead of my brother's on the account in order to receive payment credit for the electric services given, though he looked into this and found that we need to cancell and re-open an account in order to substitute my name for his? I hope that these issues will be solved ASAP and appreciate your servcies in all their help as an ongoing problem matter, thank you.

Desired Settlement: (1) To lower the charges/billings with respect to my Social Security income and/or their working low-income payment plans and grant a refund/credit to the account for any excessive chasrges that have hurt my Social Security based income. (2) Change his name to my name on the account for proper billing payment credit.

Business Response: SRP Consumer Affairs has contacted ******* regarding her complaint and offered options relative to changing the account to her name and the deposit requirment. SRP Consumer Affairs also provided additional information about the Economy Price Plan Discount and the Basic Price Plan. 

Business Response: SRP has offered options to *** ********* in an effort to accomodate her request to have electric service in her name. Also, SRP has attempted to contact *** ********* again, via phone and email, to further discuss this matter, but no response has been received.

6/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please reinstate the $131.62 for my five blocks of solar power immediately if not sooner. From: *********@***.*** [******:*********@***.***] Sent: Thursday, May 15, 2014 8:53 PM To: SRP Residential Customer Services Subject: Thank you for contacting SRP Message sent via ******** web form. ***************Message follows********************* Customer Name: ******* Croyer Service Address: **** * ******** **** ***** ****** ***: ***** Account Num: *********** Phone Num: ********** Email Address: *********@***.*** Inquiry Type: SRP program & service options Message: I updated my SRP Community SOLAR because I was told it was reduced pricing at a locked-in low price of 9.9 cents per kilowatt-hour for five years—giving you the opportunity to save on your annual energy bills over time. I was only paying $131.62 per month for Community Solar but now I am paying $149.13. I am not understanding how I am saving money by paying $17.51 more per month now. Does this make any sense for me to do????? I am very confused about how I am I am paying you more and you tell me I am at reduced pricing. *********@***.***

Desired Settlement: ***** *****, Allow me to be more clear. Your ad explained that I would save more money so I called to do that. I am not accepting of paying $17.51 more per month for the same five blocks of your Community Solar. Please reinstate the $131.62 for my five blocks of solar power immediately if not sooner. That is the price that I have been paying for the last year for this. If I do not get this price reinstated, then I will be filing a ****** ******** ****** complaint for false advertising against SRP. I would like to work this out before doing this, please. Thank you and I look forward to your kind reply. *********@***.*** “Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.” ? ******** ******** "If we do the best we can, we never know what miracle is wrought in our life, or in the life of another." ? ***** ***** ******

Business Response: Consumer Affairs has contacted Mr. ***** and provided information to help address his complaint. 

Thank you,

Consumer Affairs

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our neighbor at 4239 N 45th St. Irrigated their lawn in the early morning hours of 5/13/14. The SRP managed irrigation system flowed too high and flooded my home casuing thousands of dollars in damage. I have an estimat from ******* **** and ***** with their expertise pointing to the irrigation plus pictures plus confirmation of the neighbor saying they irrigated their lawn. Our neigbor rents their home and my wife and I own our home. It is a new home that my wife and I worked and continue to work very hard for and SRP failed to monitor the situation. Further, I called them in the morning to let them address the situation. They told me they would look into it. That VERY SAME night the irrigation system malfunction and my home was flooded AGAIN. This is clearly negligence on SRPs end and they should pay for all repairs and fix the neighbors system plus reimburse me for the two days of work I had to miss. I called SRP 7 times on the night of 5/14/14 to tell them of my emergency and the water kept flowing for 2 hours. I was out all night digging a trentch to save my home while SRP did nothing but say they were aware of the problem. I went over to speak with the neigbor and they stated it was a malfunction as it was not their time for irrigation. Our brand new wood floors are ruined and a very nice rug in my office was also destroyed. Fortunately their was no drywall damage but I want them to replace my wood floors and buy me a new rug (it really tied my room together).

Desired Settlement: Replace my wood floors and repair neigbors irrigation so this does not happen again. Oh ya I want a new rug. and an apology.

Business Response: Hello,

This complaint has already been addressed by SRP Consumer Affairs, as ***** ******** contacted us directly on 5/15 about the matter. ***** is new to Arizona and not aware of irrigation or how it works.  Consumer Affairs explained to ***** that this was not an SRP flooding, but a private flooding matter as the neighborhood was running irrigation during the times of his reported flooding.  Consumer Affairs gave ***** a brief overview of how/what irrigation is and what the customer is responsible for vs. what SRP is responsible for.  Also explained that SRP just delivers water to a gate and from there it is considered private system, with the water belonging to the customer.  ***** indicated that he already spoke to the property owner of the home he beleives did not pick up water and caused flooding to him.  Consumer Affairs also suggested he have a new customer overview with a Water Delivery Specialist so that he can protect himself in the future by knowing how to set the private system gates/valves.  ***** was also advised that since he has irrigation rights, he can activate his account at any time.  SRP Water Specialist has an appointment set with ***** on 6/8 @ 1030.

Thank you
Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*********** ********

 

5/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In january this year we double paid our electricity bill. We called to have the second payment cancelled and returned to our bank account. SRP told us that the extra payment would be credited towards future billing they couldn't return it. We desputed this with chase bank. Here it is 3 months later, *** financial SRP's Third party that takes payments finally after 90 days pulled the funds from SRP to return to my account. The funds never ended up back in my bank account so I have 282.00 gone. SRP doesn't have it as credit towards my electricity bill and my bank isn't showing any pending transactions for this. on top of this SRP is telling me I owe them money. If I would of made my regular payment this last month of 142.00 SRP would of turned off my electricity because the 282.00 they had credited for the extra payment in January is all the sudden missing. Since I paid extra on my bill this month so we will have a cheaper payment through summer months my account has equaled out somewhat but SPR is telling me I need to pay an additional 75.00 because Im past due now. I have been on the phone with SRP for over 2 hours and still on the phone... I'm still on the phone... This is rediculous because I have to have electricity and SRP is the only company that services my area so i believe intrapment would be a good term to use. SO this goes back to January 16th and today is april 14th... SRP says there hands are tied and they have nothing to do with it? No one will help. my bank tells me if they refunded it to my account it should be in my account or showing pending to be in my account... where is my money and why or how is SRP allowed to do this?

Desired Settlement: I want my money back and want people to know you should not use *** Financial to pay your bill with SRP they do bad business...

Business Response: In January, the bill was paid twice, one payment via a debit/credit card through an outside vendor, ***.  However, it was not until 4/9 that the bank returned the payment stating "CC (credit card) auth revoke.”   *** stated the $282.66 was sent back to the bank on 4/9, and the customer should follow up with his bank to check on their processes of them depositing the credit to his account.  Consumer Affairs provided this information to the customer, along with the contact information of the individual who is in charge of ***'s refunds.  Also, all normal associated fees for returned payments were already waived for the customer.

Consumer Affairs has followed up & left a voicemail, but has not heard if the $282.66 credit has since been received. 

Please let me know if further investigating is needed. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

SRP and *** financial were made aware of the double payment right away.  When we called SRP they of course referred us to *** financial basically saying there hands are washed of the double payment because they have nothing to do with *** financial we had to call them.  We called *** financial to cancel the transaction and they basically said our payment would just go towards a future bill.  it would take up to 60 days for them to return the charge.  So we told them we would despute the charge with the bank.  They didn't care.  So we desputed the charge...  Ofcourse SRP and *** want to blame everyone else and not take responsibility for there lack of customer service.  If they would of taken care of the situation in January we wouldn't be on the BBB going through the complaint process.  Blaming me as the customer and my bank and not taking responsibility for the poor service that was provided in the situation is a cop out.  Bottom line SRP and *** financial could of handled and solved this issue months ago.  Their lack of customer service and attention to a customer that accidently made a double payment on our account was horrible, there were no options brought to my attention to take care of the double payment in a timely fashion.  Basically a sorry your Burnt deal with it, your the one that made the double payment not our issue now we got your money thanks.  So I don't find SRP's response as resolving a the complaint maybe more of adding fuel to the fire.  thanks for your time


Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: In January, when the double payment was first reported to SRP by Mrs. ******, SRP’s Customer Service offered to issue a refund check but explained refunds can take up to 21 business days to be issued. This offer was declined.

Unfortunately, since the matter was taken to the customer’s bank, SRP cannot control the timeframes for the payment to be recalled and then refunded. *** stated these funds were sent back to the bank on 4/9, same day the payment authorization was revoked.

Consumer Affairs has emailed and left a voicemail for the customer, but still has not heard if the refund was received. Consumer Affairs can be contacted directly at ####-###-#### if further assistance is needed. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed app

*** was told to refund transaction on Jan. 14th.  They did not process it.  This is why the bank went to get payment back.

Regards,

******* ******

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company lies and says they have been trying for two days to complete an order and they barely tried for one day and they keep trying to sneak into my backyard without me being there they can use the front door since we do not have a door to our gate to our backyard never had a problem before

Desired Settlement: To stop lieing about the situation

Business Response: SRP records indicate 2 attempts to exchange meter on 4/17 were turned down by SRP due to the access gate being boarded up and debris piled behind it.  On 4/18, ***** called SRP and reported that debris removed and gate unlocked.  On 4/21, SRP field technician returned to exchange meter, but no answer at door and no access through side gate.  SRP Ombudsman office spoke with ***** twice on 4/22 & agreed to send field out one last time to attempt meter exchange at *****'s request.  Meter exchanged on 4/23 at 12:00PM.   

3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I started my service with SRP I was told there was no deposit. Later my service was disconnected because I didn't pay a deposit. I called and they insisted I was told about the deposit but reconnected service and split the deposit over the next two bills. I was not charged a reconnect fee for SRP's error. I received my first bill and paid it through a representative using a check by phone. On January 8th, I believe). My service was disconnected again and I was told it was because I didn't pay the full balance due. I did, and explained I paid the amount on the bill I received. The incredibly rude "manager" said I now owed the additional $100 from the next bill for the deposit and said it wasn't split up. After he argued for several minutes, he put the $100 back on the next bill. He wouldn't explain why my service was disconnected even though I paid (every single time - 10+ times - this "business" has had no record of previous calls) and then reconnected the service. 2 weeks later I called and asked why my check still hadn't been processed and the lady said sometimes it takes a while. I explained it had been nearly a month and she said she saw it processed, keep waiting. I did, then got a call another week or two later saying the check was returned and my service was disconnected. I immediately paid the same amount online by debit from the same account (the way I would have preferred to pay each time but they refuse to accept debit by phone and instead mess up check payments). When I received my next bill I saw that I was charged a returned check fee, an additional deposit, and a reconnect fee for SRP's error. I immediately called and spoke to another rude supervisor (I've left numerous complaints on the recording but have never been called back) who said there was nothing he could do because he had no record of me ever calling before. He said he would have a supervisor call me Monday. Naturally, I was never contacted. I called again today and spoke to a woman who said her manager, ****** ****, acknowledged the returned check fee and deposit were an error because the original agent put the wrong check information in (which he did). She said ****** wouldn't let her credit the reconnect fee, though because it was valid (what???). I asked to speak to Fabian, who was also as rude as the other terrible managers. He just kept repeating he wouldn't help me without a reference number. I have no idea what reference number he was looking for and just kept repeating the same thing and refused me his supervisor. He said he would have someone call me...again. I have called many times. I have finally been properly credited the returned check fee and the additional deposit, but the invalid reconnect fee is still on my account. I don't understand how it's legal for a company to operate with such poor customer service and randomly disconnect customers' service with no warning and despite erroneous business practices. If I could choose another company I would, but I'm forced to use SRP due to no other options and this poor company is allowed to constantly bill me extra charges and disconnect my service.

Desired Settlement: The additional deposit and returned check fees have (supposedly) been credited. The reconnect fee billed for the second erroneous disconnect has not been. I request this be corrected.

Business Response:

A $275 deposit was required to begin this account.  SRP agreed to set up a payment arrangement on the deposit of $75 upfront (paid 10/30) and then $100 + current bill for two months.  The first bill of $208.35 (including $100 of the deposit) was issued on 12/2 & due 12/26. No payment was received, so the payment arrangement was canceled making the total account balance of $308.35 due.  A reminder notice was sent on 12/27 showing $308.25 was due immediately with a disconnection date of 1/3 if payment was not received.  Then, the account was disconnected on 1/8 for non-payment and charged a $59.96 fee.

******* called SRP on 1/8 and SRP agreed to accept $208.35 for the service reconnection, rather than the full balance due, but declined waiving the disconnection fee since no bill payment was made prior to the disconnection. Then the payment that was made on 1/8 was later returned to SRP by the bank for reason of "account closed."  SRP waived the returned check fee of $19.58 and canceled an additional deposit of $45 as a customer service gesture due to these events.

However, the $59.96 disconnection fee is applicable.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The data provided includes incorrect inferences made based on the calls listened to and implies that SRP made several exceptions for me. This is not the case, I did not decline the disconnect fee waiver, and these "exceptions" were to correct SRP's errors with their payment processing and website.  This is a poor explanation justifying terrible customer service received from numerous employees and mistakes made from an awful company seeking to collect funds that aren't owed.  The explanation is invalid.

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response: The events leading up to the disconnection remain the same. The disconnection occurred as a result of non-payment. However, the payment made on 1/8 (after disconnection) was processed incorrectly by a SRP representative. SRP already reversed the associated fee, but I have added a $30 credit to the account as a customer service gesture for this error.

If you have further concerns, please call ####-###-#### and a hearing can be scheduled with SRP's Hearing Officer. Thank you.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2013 my home was flooded my SRP irrigation 3x causing a lot of damage to my home. Each time it flooded SRP was notified and they would send their field reps out to verify the repairs had been made and then release water. Each time the repairs were never made and flooded my home again. So my house, furniture, personal belongings, etc have been soaked in irrigation/sewage water and destroyed 3x. I had an inspector come out and test for mold which he found was present inside the walls. I have a pending claim with SRP and I have been communicating and trying to resolve this issue for almost a year.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be made whole again. I want my home fully repaired and free of mold, I want all damaged items replaced, and I want a guarantee that this will not happen again.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,
 
On September 18, 2013, Mr. ****** contacted SRP Consumer Affairs regarding this matter.  After Mr. ****** and I exchanged telephone and email communications, on October 18, 2013, I instructed Mr. ****** to file a claim through SRP Litigation and Claims, which he did.  Claim forms were sent to Mr. ******, which were completed and returned, he was also contacted by a Senior SRP Claims Agent.  I remained involved in the matter, until January 8, 2013, when Mr. ****** notified me that he would no longer be able to discuss his claim with me since he turned the matter over to his attorneys.  Based on this, SRP Consumer Affairs is no longer able to communicate further on this matter.
 
If you would kindly note your records with this information to close the Better Business Bureau inquiry, it would truly be appreciated.  Likewise, if you have any questions, please contact me via phone or email.
 
Sincerely,
**** **********
Sr. Ombudsman
SRP Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response:


Nothing was resolved and SRP continually failed to do its job after it was notified. This continued negligence lead to further property damage.

2/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FIrst of all, I must say that I had no idea I owed anything to SRP Power. Second, I also must state that I have no problem in paying a $129.00 bill ( I can’t recall the exact value though). However, This past Friday Jan, 31-2014, was the first time I knew or heard I owed anything to SRP. I was never contacted via email or Phone. I am not living in the address where the bill occurred. The charged occurred in Sep 2013. Again, I have no problem in paying as I owe the property in question. However, the issue is that I contacted SRP long ago to let them know about my address and nobody informed about this matter via mail, phone or even email. Instead, it was easier to report me to the Credit Bureaus and pass the matter to a collection company as I if I did not want to pay a bill that I was not even aware existed. The account in question is linked to property at **** ** ****** ***** ******** *** *****. However, it appears my new address was never updated in the system and nobody bothered to call me to let me know ( or even Email as I use to pay my bill online as well). It was easier to give it to a third party company and report me to Business Bureaus to damage my credit. Again, last Friday Jan/31a a rep (**** ***** or **** *****) from a company named Receivables Performance Management informing about this debt. Case number #******** ( around $129).

Desired Settlement: This is very frustrating. My desired outcome is not the money or anything else. I will pay what I owe. What I want is someone to talk to and remove these charges from my credit report - THAT”S ALL I WANT! - My credit report is what it matters to me. I only need SRP or Receivables Performance Management to communicate this issue with the Business Bureaus and remove this from my credit report (upon payment is fine with me as stated previously). My phone number has never changed for the past 2 years. If I owed something and denied payment, it would be more than fair to damage my credit. However, if nobody reached out to me since Sep 2013, how do I suppose to know I had this debt? My cell is on 24x7 and my email address never changed too. Please assist.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
 
I have contacted customer ******* ****** regarding this issue.  We have recalled his balance from the collection agency and also requested that it be cleared from his credit report.  ******* has expressed his satisfaction with this resolution and has also paid-off the debt.
 
Thank you,
***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action, including the removal of this collection item off  my credit report in main business bureaus. Therefore,  if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have noticed a disturbing trend with our power consumption and the way its reported throught the SRP Smart meter. I requested that SRP perform a maintenance of their own equipment a smart meter just to check to ensure that it is functioning propertly. Although I'm disabled and on a very fixed income there insist on leveying a fee to $55 to inspect their own equipment. I cannot afford to pay extra on top of what I already pay to them so they do not want to do anything to help rectify the issue.

Desired Settlement: Complimentary service to inspect and rule out non-performance of thier Smart Meter.

Business Response: The electric meter at **** ** ****** **. was replaced on January 14, 2014. The previous meter was not displaying accurately, however, usage was recorded and Mr. ********' account has been accurately billed. The new upgraded meter displays accurately and allows for more detailed record keeping such as hourly usage which can be viewed by Mr. ******** on SRP's website. There is no fee associated with an exchange or upgrade of an SRP meter.

An audit of Mr. ******** energy consumption was conducted on January 17, 2014, per request. Normally there is a cost of $55, plus tax, for this one hour appointment analyzing electric usage in the home, however, the $55 fee was waived as a courtesy. The audit did not reveal any abnormalities or malfunctioning equipment, but it was noted that there is rust on an approximatley 10 year old water heater.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

While this is partially true not fully.  MY SRP installed Smart meter was failing, they refused to come inspect the meter without charging a $55 fee.  If the meter was truly broken they would waive the fee.  SRP did eventually come out and end up replacing the meeter - consequently no fee was levied.  It was not out of the goodness of SRP's heart.  The SRP manager then contacted me and wanted to send out a home audit specialist because of all of the issue we have had at not cost.  The audit specialst did come out and check all of our equipment.  The rust  on the water heater was never anything pertinent to the Smart Meeter failure so I'm not sure how it fits into this equation.  So once again they continue to fabricate the situation making themselves look like they saved the day.  The fact remains that SRP continually tries to pass on the cost to a disabled customer when in fact they should absorb the cost until the actual issue is determined - they did not.

Regards,
***** ********

Business Response: SRP regrets any miscoummication and/or invconvenience caused Mr. ********* concerng the ultimate replacement of the electric meter at his home. No fees were charged to Mr. ******** electric service account and a complimentary energy audit (normally a cost of $55) was performed.

1/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I use the M Power Box and I did a check to SRP for 15.00 dollars but I never got the credit on my power box for the 15.00 dollars and they are now wanting to charge me 15.00 for the power plus another 19.00 for the NSF on this check. I called SRP and I told them that I have never once received the 15.00 credit on my account but they said it posted. I never received the power and now they are trying to push the check through and they have done it twice now and there are over draft fees of 70.00 on my account for something I never even got. I did the check then it fell out of their system so I thought it was gone. When I went to the box to add money nothing happened.

Desired Settlement: I want my 70.00 dollars back from the overdraft fees. They put the check through on 12/5 & again on 12/11 and both times I have a 35.00 dollar overdraft fees. I never got the 15.00 on my power so quit charging me for something I did not get.

Business Response: Hello,
 
Your complaint was forwarded to us from the BBB.  I’m sorry to hear about your M-Power payment issues.  It took me a bit to decipher everything that went on, but let me see if I can explain.  First, I found that SRP does have a policy where if a check is returned for insufficient funds and it’s under $500 they will put the check through a 2nd time.  That being said, I do think your situation could have been handled better. 
 
When you called the phone center on 12/5 to ask SRP hold your $15 give first because the check would be returned, the echex had already been processed, so that is why the $19 returned check fee was assessed by SRP.  Then as you know SRP submitted the payment again.  I do understand that you never actually received the $15 on your card, but had you not said anything, you still would have had to pay the $15 back for the power.
 
I do think SRP could have found a way to keep the check from going through again, since you had notified them of the problem already.  For that, I would be happy to credit your account one of your bank’s $35 fees.  
 
Please confirm that you are fine with the $35 credit and I will have it processed asap.
 
Thank you
***** ********
SRP Ombudsman Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this vide 

Regards,

Kristina Cook


 

I do appreciate the 35 dollars but why should I pay 15.00 for powere I nevere received. I never got the 15.00 dollar credit so why pay for what I never got

Business Response: Hello,
 
I will have the $35 credit issued to your account.  As for the question about the $15, it was applied as a ‘pay first’, not a ‘give first’, meaning it went towards pay down on your account and not towards power.  The reason for this is because you also had a returned check on 11/21 for $40 + the $19.49 returned check fee.  So basically the $15 went towards the fees first, meaning there would not have been anything there for the power anyways.   
 
Please let me know if you have any further questions.  Or feel free to call me with any questions.
 
Thank you
***** ********
SRP Ombudsman Consumer Affairs
************

12/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company engages in fraud during their collection practices. They found debts of people they think are related from other addresses and throw them on the bills of addresses that are not authorized users or even listed on the account just because they think they are married or related in some way. This is complete fraud in their billing and collection practices as they do not have any absolute proof that these people are related before they take such actions and combining bills with people who are not required to pay other peoples debt is complete fraud just because they know they have a monopoly on power at a location.

Desired Settlement: Fix the issue.

Business Response: Consumer Affairs has been in contact with *********** ******* and has negotiated payment arrangements on an outstanding bill.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******* 1828 E Beautiful Lne ******** ** ***** Phone: ###-###-#### E-Mail: ****************t To whom it may concern This letter is to further describe the incident which resulted in the damage of a computer and statement of loss. On September 20 2013 SRP disconnected the power at address **** ** ********* **** ******* ** to upgrade and change the meter. This shut down or power turn off was not communicated to me, the current owner and resident of the property. On my return from work later that day I noticed that there had been a power interruption due to all electrical appliances required resetting and rebooting. Later that evening when attempts were made to turn on the computer the computer would not power up. This is a laptop which had been plugged into an electrical outlet during the power shut down. There had been no previous problems with this computer. The computer shows that power is being received by the computer but the computer does not initiate boot-up or the mother board is not responding. The computer was taken to **** **** to the computer service department, where I have a contract for maintenance and repair, and it was determined that the computer is unable to boot up due to mother board malfunction. The service department was able to save data on the hard drive and transfer this data to an external hard drive. Had I been given notice that the power was to be shut down for maintenance I would have made sure all sensitive electronics would be disconnected from a power source especially the computer. The suspicion is that due to the power off and subsequent power up there was a power surge which damaged the computer. The entertainment system is connected to a power surge protector and did not incur damage. I have included the required paperwork including the receipts and expenditure thus far as well as an estimate of the replacement cost of the computer. Current cost: Diagnostic of the computer: no cost as this falls under a contract of service Cost of data retrieval from hard drive: $77.14 Cost of external hard drive to transfer data to: $57.85 Tax: $4.80 Estimated cost of replacement of the lap top computer not the original cost: Approximately $600.00 Total of claim: $739.79 I have since spoke with a gentleman concerning the claim which was filed. He explained that there was no negligence on SRP for the above incident. He stated that power was shut off and that it was most likely the cause of the computer damage but that SRP is not liable since they did not have to inform me that they were in fact shutting off the power to perform the repair to the meter. He did offer to give me a credit of $200.00 for the “inconvenience and customer service. This barely covers the cost of the data recovery and does nothing to assist in replacing the computer. I would like to know if this is indeed an accurate statement of SRPs policy and if there is further recourse to attempt to recover the loss of the computer. Sincerely Ron Hankins

Desired Settlement: To provide reimbursement to replace the damaged computer. I feel that the computer would not have been damaged had I been notified of the power shut down.

Business Response: ******** ********* ******
**** *** *****
******** ** **********
###-###-####
*****************
 
 
 
October 10, 2013
 
*** * ******s
**** * ********* **
******** ** *****
 
RE: Better Business Bureau Complaint ID#: *******
 
Dear Mr. *******,
Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your question about SRP’s handling of your claim.  The Better Business Bureau has asked that the ******** ******* ********* ****** respond to you. 
 
First of all, let me say that on behalf of SRP, I am very sorry for all the time lost and frustration that have occurred due to the loss of your computer.  I have gone through similar frustrations myself with more than one of my home computers.  It is a hassle. 
 
In my research of your question whether you have further recourse to attempt recovery of losses, I found a link documenting SRP’s Rules and Regulations (attached) which states:
 
6.9.7 Service to Customer is expressly conditioned upon, and, in consideration for the services being rendered to Customer by SRP, the Customer hereby releases and agrees to release SRP from any direct, indirect or consequential loss, damage, claim, charge, cost or expense of any kind or nature that has resulted or may result, in connection with variations, curtailment and/or interruption to electric service to the Customer.
 
6.9.8 A variety of protective devices and alternate power supplies that may prevent or limit damage that may arise as a result of the events described in this Section 6.9 are available for purchase by the Customer from third parties. In addition, insurance coverage for such damage may be available
for purchase by the Customer. Unless Customer has entered into a written contract with SRP for temporary back-up generation, SRP has no obligation to provide back-up generation in the event of a scheduled or unscheduled outage, or otherwise. Customer assumes full responsibility for obtaining the necessary protective devices, alternate power supplies, and insurance, and SRP shall in no event be liable for any loss, damage, claim, charge, cost or expense of any kind or nature that Customer could
have prevented or insured against through procurement of protective devices, alternate power supplies, and insurance.
 
 
6.9.9 Customer shall use reasonable efforts to avoid or mitigate its damages or
losses suffered as a result of SRP’s conduct under Section 6.9.    
  
Although they offered $200, it appears that SRP is not obligated to issue a credit for the interruption and subsequent damage to your computer.  As the rules and regulations statement suggests, customers are responsible for protecting electronic equipment.  I am sorry to hear that only part of your electronic equipment was protected.
 
I will see to it that SRP Claims department issues the $200 right away and would suggest that you protect all electronics in your home with necessary protective equipment as SRP cannot guarantee uninterrupted service. 
 
Please feel free to contact me at the ********* office ###-###-#### if you would like to discuss further.
 
Sincerely,
*****
 
 
***** *******
Senior *********
Consumer Affairs
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have decided to accept the offer of resolution with reluctance. I feel that SRP is responsible and could have prevented the damage to the computer had they informed me of the planned power disruption. Unfortunately I now have to replace a computer as well as the cost of data recovery from the damaged computer and will receive only a fraction of this cost from SRP.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

10/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/30, I submitted a request electric service to my new apartment. After completing a credit check, SRP notified me that they were unable to waive the deposit of $275.00. When I asked SRP why I was being charged the deposit, I was told by ***** ***** that they use a credit check through ******** and to contact them with any concerns. So spoke with ******** at ******** who said they don't make determinations as to whether or not the deposits are waived, they just send SRP my credit history, contradicting what ***** told me, saying they get a "pass" or "fail" score. Prior to that, I pulled my ******** report and was rated as low risk and have no derogatories on my report, which doesn't support the depsit requirement. I contacted ***** again and told him what I had found and felt I was being charged unfairly and with no explanation and told him even the apartment complex I'm moving to waived my depsosit based on my credit report. At that time, I asked ***** how I could escalate this issue to dispute. He reponded with a form email and did not provide me with a means of escalating the issue within SRP. I have the full string of emails that were sent back an forth.

Desired Settlement: I want deposit waived. If it can't be waived, I want a detailed explanation why.

Business Response: The criteria is a complex system developed by the Utility Industry and unfortunately, SRP representatives do not have a breakdown of the matrix used.  However, Mr. **** can contact me to discuss this further, if he desires.  I can be reached at ************.  The deposit has been waived as a courtesy and exception to SRP policy. Sincerely, **** **********, *** *********, SRP Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****


 

 

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been an Srp customer 10+ yrs..I call weekly to check on my account. Called in Friday 9/27/13 and paid as agreed..Tues 10/1/13 my power was shut off, first I spoke w******** she said bill was due 9/30/13 but it was an error on Srp, my power should not have been disconnected, I explain I am at work, had to take an early break, went over allotted 10 minutes due to this phone call and my babysitter & children are in my home with no power. I asked for a credit she offered $10 and explain power would be on within 4hours. I then ask for a supervisor, spoke w/****** because that was not acceptable, not my error, risking losing my job dealing with this matter and ****** said the exact same thing and "it's daylight outside they won't be in the dark"! I didn't get any where with her other than saying up to 4 hours and the disconnect was put thru Monday 9/30 evening..account was not even 1 day past due... I want an inconvenience credit, an apology and a billing adjustment. I don't think they could do there job in a building with no power for four hours. I am very dissatisfied with SRP at this time.

Business Response: October 2, 2013
 
****** ******
1216 E 7th Ave
Mesa, AZ 85204
 
RE: Better Business Bureau Complaint ID#: *******
 
 
Dear Ms. ******,
Thank you for your comments to the Better Business Bureau regarding your experience with SRP.  We sincerely apologize for the lack of communication on the part of SRP and for the subsequent disconnection of power that inconvenienced you and your family and required you to take time off work to deal with the matter yesterday.  The Consumer Affairs Ombudsman office at SRP has been asked by the Better Business Bureau to respond to your complaint.    
 
It appears that when you called SRP on 9/16, you were given an extension to 9/27 to pay your remaining August bill amount of $160.10.
 
On 9/27, you made a payment of $180, fulfilling your part of the agreement.  However, your September balance of $197.52 and late payment fee of $7.78 (total of $205.30) was due three days later, on 9/30.  Although you paid $19.90 extra toward the $160.10 on 9/27, it did not cover the remaining $185.40 balance due on 9/30, which was the cause for the disconnection on 10/1.  During your call to SRP on 9/19, you referenced a notice you received, but SRP assumed you were only calling about the extension on the August past due amount of $160.10, not the September balance of $205.30 due 9/30.  Because there was no conversation about the $205.30 during the 9/19 call, no further arrangement was entered and it caused the system to generate a disconnect order.
 
Consumer Affairs feels that SRP could have communicated much better with you prior to 10/1 and could have avoided this situation altogether.  As a customer service gesture, we have ordered an additional $50 credit to your account and will be sending a case summary of your experience to upper management at SRP.  We would encourage you to link your current account to your SRP username online at https://myaccount.srpnet.com so that you can login to your account and sign up for E-Notifications, which will send you an email or txt message if your account is past due or in danger of disconnection. 
 
Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments about this matter.   
 
Kind regards,
*****
 
 
***** *******
Senior Ombudsman
Consumer Affairs
Ofc: ###-###-#### 
 
 
 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.



**** My power was restored right after I hung up, however I had already put the complaint in. I apologize on my behalf as well for not being understanding in the fact that we all make mistakes, the reply is exactly correct, I did make partial payment, I did call in regarding a letter that was crossed in the mail, and I assumed after I made a payment my account was clear. Please accept my apology for not giving SRP the benefit of the doubt, I've been with them many years, prior to buying my home when I was a renter I would always check who the utilities were with before looking any further..that was due to SRP's excellent customer service.  Hope we can all move forward and that SRP continues to keep there excellent rating..

Kind regards

Regards,

****** ******


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on SRP
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart