Check your privacy settings. Scammers are tapping into the personal data available through Facebook, Google+ and LinkedIn to pose as your friends in fraudulent emails. Watch out for these personalized scam messages and take steps to prevent them.
How the Scam Works:
You receive an email that appears to be sent by a friend or family member. The message addresses you by name, but the content is strange. Usually, it's just a link to a website. If you click on it, you could end up downloading malware to your computer.
What's going on here? The scammers are exploiting the fact that you're more likely to click on a link if it was sent by a friend.
Scammers find your information through Facebook or other social media accounts. Some set up fake accounts and send out friend requests. When you accept the request, they can view your friends and personal and contact information. Other scammers rely on social media users not locking down their privacy settings, so basic information, such as your name, email address and friends' names, is publicly available.
How to Protect Your Facebook Account from Spammers?
What to do if You Receive a Suspicious Email:
For More Information
Visit Facebook's privacy section for more information about protecting your account.
To find out more about scams, check out the new BBB Scam Stopper.