BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 28/09/2011

Marlboro Window and Door Manufacturer Ltd.

Phone: (613) 736-1441Fax: (613) 736-1220View Additional Phone Numbers2370 Stevenage Drive, OttawaON K1G 3W3

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 28/09/2011

BBB has determined that Marlboro Window and Door Manufacturer Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Marlboro Window and Door Manufacturer Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Customer Service at Marlboro Window and Door very poor and quality of windows is worse
Not Happy, I purchased 21 guillotine windows: Top comes down and bottom goes up: for my building most will not stay up, the others fall down, parts break off and they deny responsibility. They sent over an installer sub contractor who broke other windows trying to adjust and crank the springs and never comes back to fix them. I spoke with customer service and they say that it is my fault that it was misuse and i will have to pay for any repairs. What do you call it when the expert installer breaks your windows in front of your face. ************************ I want compensation for this treatment and will not be swept aside till Marlboro Window and door fixes or replaces their ***** windows.
Marlboro knew they were for my building and they would be used by ordinary everyday people.
The windows did not close properly at the top and it was much colder in the units. Not too good for ******************* the heating bill.

Desired Settlement
Come back and replace the defective parts or replace the windows

Business Response
In 2006 ******* renovations purchased the windows in question from Marlboro Windows. In March 2015, 8 years later, ********* came into Marlboro to express issues he is having with the windows he purchased - this was the first time a compliant had been brought to the attention of the service department at Marlboro by *********. We sent our experienced technician (not a sub contractor) on site to assess the problem of the sashes not staying up and it was determine that the majority of the windows had been poorly installed - they were not shimmed properly nor were they spray foamed adequately, and some windows were also installed off square resulting in the malfunctioning of the windows. Installation instructions are attached to each window *******************. Many of the double hung shoes are broken caused by windows not being tilted in (for cleaning purposes) properly. After the initial assessment was made, it was communicated to ********* that the issues he is having with the windows are not warranty issues and to rectify these issues he would be billed for the labour and parts.
Marlboro has been manufacturing Vinyl Double Hung windows for over thirty years and we never have issues with them. We have many dealers who purchase and install them on a regular basis and we do not hear any negative feedback on the operation of the windows.

05/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

damage to exterior door do to imporper hardware installed
An exterior door was installed around November of 2009. The sleeve around the dead bolt kept sliding out eventually causing damage to the door slab. According to Marlboro windows this was not covered under any warranty. The technician who replaced the door slab asked me who originally installed the door. I told him it was an authorized dealer for Marlboro. I ask him why he wanted to know. He told me that the sleeve around the dead bolt was not the correct one and this should have never happened. When I spoke to Marlboro after hearing this their reply was that it was difficult to establish what actually caused damage to the door slab.

Desired Settlement
Not available

Business Response
On April 3, 2014 **************** called in to report an issue of a cracked slab on door that he purchased in 2009 through an authorized dealer of Marlboro (meaning that the dealer has the authority to sell Marlboro products). Mr. ********** sent in pictures of the cracked slab which we sent to our door slab manufacturer to assess - they responded that cracks in door slabs are not covered under warranty. I passed this information along to Mr. ********** on April 8th along with a quote for the replacement slab and asked how he wished to proceed - Mr. ********** accepted the quote and the replacement slab was ordered. The appointment to replace the slab was booked for May 12, 2014. When Marlboro's service technician was installing the replacement slab, he commented that the hardware had not been installed correctly to Mr. **********.

The original door that was supplied to our dealer did not come with hardware - this would have been supplied by either the customer or the dealer. Mr. ********** stated in an email of May 15th, after the slab was replaced, that "The sleeve would often come out of position striking the plate that the dead bolt goes in when locked. After time this caused the damage.The dead bolt has never been in the locked position when closing the door". This issue had never been reported to Marlboro in the 5 years since the door was installed, and we are not aware if this was ever reported to the dealer that sold/installed the door for Mr. **********. Marlboro only supplied the door indirectly to Mr. ********** through one of our dealers. Marlboro did not have anything to do with the original installation of the door and it's hardware and therefore cannot be held responsible for any issues with installation that may have led to the cracked slab.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows - Vinyl, Windows, Doors - Patio, Doors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/08/1979Business started: 01/01/1973
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Dubrofsky (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Cathy Delmage (Executive Assistant)Mr. Frank Manitta (Owner)Mr. Tony Santostefano
Number of Employees


Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows - Vinyl, Windows, Doors - Patio, Doors

Products & Services

Marlboro Window and Door Manufacturer Ltd. a manufacture of vinyl, aluminum, Hybrid windows and vinyl, aluminum & Hybrid patio doors and steel doors.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PMTue: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PMWed: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PMThu: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PMFri: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Marlboro Window and Door Manufacturer Ltd.

2370 Stevenage Drive

Ottawa, ON K1G 3W3

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2370 Stevenage Drive 

    Ottawa, ON K1G 3W3(888) 736-1441
    (613) 736-1441

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Marlboro Window and Door Manufacturer Ltd. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 736-1441

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.