BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/09/1996

Appleseed Organic Lawn Care

Phone: (613) 224-7336Fax: (613) 224-382823 B Tristan Court, OttawaON K2E 8B9

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/09/1996

BBB has determined that Appleseed Organic Lawn Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Appleseed Organic Lawn Care's rating include:

  • 17 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Appleseed Organic Lawn Care's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service17
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No Service on Dec 10, 2014 after 15 cm snowfall.
Called 6 times. Forced to clear driveway myself except for city plow now. Finally showed up 10/11.
Dec 10/14, got 15 cm of snow.
Company did not clear my driveway, but cleared all others in my street around 7 AM. Green markers clearly visible, driveway empty.
Called 6 times from 8 AM - 6 PM on 12/10, still no service.
Was forced to clear driveway myself evening of 12/10, except for city plow snow.
Called another 4 times from 6 AM - 10 AM on 12/11. City plow snow finally removed by company around 10 AM.
Asked on 12/10 to speak to manager, was told he would call on 12/11. This never happened.

Desired Settlement
Asking for $40 refund for having to clear snow myself and the inconvenience.

Business Response
From: ***********************************
Sent: Tuesday, December 16, 2014 8:22 AM
To: ****************************************************
Subject: (SPAM) Re: ********************************************************
Importance: Low

***************************************************************** ***************************************************************** *

Final Business Response
It appears that the email that I sent regarding this way back when didn't get out of my outbox. ***************************************************************** ****************************** **************************************************************

Quite simply, we apologize for any inconvenience and will cheerfully refund the $40. We have extra help in our office during the first snowfall and although they were trained, a couple of them got overly flustered and did not do the simple action of click a box where a manager is to call the customer. Most other companies do not even have the capacity to actually answer their phone during the first event. At such times the phones are jammed with new people trying to sign up (who we simply take a message from and we call them the next day) and new clients that have questions about when exactly we are coming (which can never say exactly because in peak time we are usually following city plows after we have made an initial visit and have no control over that). Unfortunately that impacts our ability to separate legitimate service problems such as ********** experienced from people who claim that they were missed simply because there were cars in the way. Our driver made an honest mistake and it certainly impacted the client's day in a very negative way. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In four major storms service was not provided until complaint made sometimes days alter. Yesterday not at all and today service still not provided th
I have contacted the contractor repeatedly. They serve a number of neighbours on ******* but consistently miss my drive because they never bothered to put up the signposts. I have had successive assurances that the service would be delivered on time and each time this commitment has been breached.

Desired Settlement
I expect half of my payment Ian advance returned and the service to be provided on time for the balance of the winter

Business Response
We will refund half the season and apologize for missing her driveway.

01/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
04/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Appleseed did not honour their contract and hung up on me when I called to find out why.
The snow stopped falling around 1pm.

When I went out at 1:15pm, I saw that my neighbours on Harding were already plowed and that they had a little build up of snow that collected. This means that Appleseed was in our area earlier in the morning, but didn't do our street.

I called at 4:45pm to ask why we hadn't been plowed. ******* (a phone operator) said they were in our area, so I accepted that and asked her get a manager to call me back.

Around 6:20pm, I called back asking why we still hadn't been plowed once. ******* said she had passed the message along to manager, then told me that someone was coming directly to our house. I wanted to speak to a manager, but she said that all she could do was pass the message along. ****************** ******************************************************.

I called back and she put me on hold without any explanation. I hung up and called again, then **** answered. I didn't know who **** was, but he started being ********** with me without listening to anything that I had to say. He told me he was a manager. I asked him two times to let me speak. At no time, did **** try to diffuse the situation. He was ********** on the phone and said that it is "normal" to take 1.5 hours to plow an area. ********************************************. ******* should have put **** on the phone the very first time I asked to speak to a manager.

***********************************************************. *************************************************************
Appleseed's website advertises that they are the "nicest on the block", that during "big storms, Appleseed snowblowing tractors make extra visits to keep you moving in and out of your driveway", that you "limit the number of neighbourhoods visited so you deliver service we can rely on". This is ***** advertising.

For basic service, their contract states:

Daytime service: A lane way clearing visit will be made during the course of the day during heavy snowfalls.

Today you were in direct violation of your contract.

We finally got plowed for the first time at 6:40pm, after **** hung up on me.

***************************************************************** ************.

Desired Settlement
I'd like a refund or at least a significant partial refund so that I have money to hire another snow removal agency for the rest of this season. I do not want to deal with rude people, nor want to be ostracized for asking questions. I do not want to speak with Mike nor Natalie again, unless I get a formal apology.

I also would like this complaint to go to the owner of this Franchise as I do not believe Mike would take this complaint into consideration.

Business Response
From: **********************************************
Sent: March-21-14 3:42 PM
To: c*****************************************
Cc: *****************
Subject:*************


*********************************************************. In the case of *********, that would be customers as we heard from both of you. Your constant calls to my staff, still while we were well within the time frame for delivery of service promised to you, amounts to **********.

In fact, you made it clear to them that you were going to keep calling them and being ******your word) until we showed up to clear your laneway, even though it has just finished snowing and we had 6 hours to get there. Your justification for the complaint was that we had done other streets close to yours and should have come over to do yours at the same time. There are many factors that we take into consideration when planning a route, including how the city plows the streets, and I'm not going to go into that with you. My staff have other notes with your comments.

When you emailed us that we were not to visit your property again, any lawyer would tell us that we should not continue the service. That is the final word. If we showed up again to clear, that would be considered trespassing. We are certainly not calling you back to try to 'work anything out' ************************************************. We would have removed the stakes but they were frozen in.

Our cancellation policy is that anybody can cancel service at any time for any reason and they will receive a prorated refund within 4 to 6 weeks and this was mailed out to you. There is no negotiation. It is based on percentage of the contract in terms of time or amount of snow whichever is greater.

Since you approached the BBB with your complaint, it should be noted that I am very willing to cooperate with their complaint system when there is a legitimate complaint due to anything along the lines of us not fulfulling the contract as promised. ***************************************************
**********************************************
*******************************************************. ********************************************************
******************************************.

************************************************************ It was your choice to terminate and we have no quarrel with that as per our policy so there is nothing for the BBB to work out.

I'll leave it at that and wish you luck with your next snow clearing company. I trust that you have received the cheque for the partial refund. If that is not the case, please let me know.

Sincerely,
***************
President


website: *********************
email: **********************
phone: ************
fax: *****************************
*********
*******



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I am disappointed with the response from ****.

************************************************** *********. ***********************************************************
*******************************************************.

Yes we did call the staff more than once because we asked to speak to a manager and we were told that the manager was not available, or that the manager was "not there". Only after my third call, did the manager speak to me. ***************************************************. The manager did not answer the phone calmly, instead, he was ********** from the start.

Appleseed was not well within their time limit. I have already clearly stated how they breached their contract, and has committed ***** advertising. I have taken quotes directly from their website and the contract they sent to us. Your contract does NOT state that you only have 6 hours after the end of a snowfall to plow our driveway. That was referring to the FINAL CLEARING. The contract states that they would do a pass in the morning, and then complete the final clearing again within 6 hours after the final snowfall. We would never hire a company that will only plow once all the snow has fallen, as it would be pointless as we would have to shovel to get out of our driveway, and then to get back in after work. **** should read his contract again, and focus on the DAYTIME SERVICE. The 2nd day we complained was when we didn't have any plowing at all. The snow had stopped around 1pm, and they only came after 6pm after we had called 3 times.
***************************************************************** *********.
It is ironic because this whole issue arose because **** the manager would not speak to us in the first place. If **** the manager had just gotten on the phone when we asked to speak with him, and had explained why they were breaching contract, we would not have had to call back.
***********************************************. ***********************************************************.
**************************************
*************************************************.

*********************************************************************. *********************************************************. I am taking the time as I do not want anyone else to go through this ********* ********** experience that Appleseed has put me through. ***********************************************.

03/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/30/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Snow Removal Service, Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1989Business started: 01/01/1988
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1988, ON

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark MacKenzie Ms. Kathy MacKenzie (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Snow Removal Service, Lawn Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Appleseed Snow Blowing, Cangro Enterprises Inc., 1618279 Ontario Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Snow Removal Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Appleseed Organic Lawn Care

23 B Tristan Court

Ottawa, ON K2E 8B9

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 23 B Tristan Court 

    Ottawa, ON K2E 8B9(613) 224-7336

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Appleseed Organic Lawn Care is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Snow Removal Service

Hiring a Snow Removal Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.