BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Certain Seal Roofing

(613) 913-2199View Additional Phone Numbers1044 Meadow Park Place, OttawaON K1K 0M5

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This company has been using the Better Business Bureau trademark without authorization and wrongfully claiming to be accredited.

On 31/07/2014 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

The complaint in question is not yet part of the company's customer complaint history.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Certain Seal Roofing's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Certain Seal Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Certain Seal Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not re-install ice heating cables resulting in $12,000. damage to the house interior
In the late summer they reshingled our roof. At that time I requested that the heating cables be put back up to protect from ice dams. Many calls later it was not done. During the thaw of February, 2014 water came in from an ice dam. I called and they came out and removed the ice dam but the damage had been done. The ice removers also punctured the room with their hammers in two places. I filed an insurance claim and the ceiling was gutted, reinsulated and room repainted. Total cost was about $12,000. and I had to pay the $1000. deductible. Mr.**** immediately agreed to pay the $1000. but haven't heard back in months. In addition his website ***************************************************************** ***********

Desired Settlement
I want the $1000. deductible back *********************************************

Business Response
The customer's complaint is completely unfounded. Certain Seal Roofing entered into a contract with the customer in the summer of 2013 to remove and replace his shingle roof. There is no mention in the contract of the removal and replacement of heating cables. As a favour to the customer, CSR removed the heating cables without charge before removing the old roof. CSR was under no contractual obligation to replace the heating cables after the roof replacement was complete. CSR informed the customer that the problem that he had experienced with ice damming was a result of heat accumulating under the surface of the roof as a result of inadequate ventilation. CSR offered to fix this problem by installing proper venting in the roof but the customer decided not to have this done. The customer is solely responsible for any damage to his premises that resulted from the ice damming that was present on his roof in February 2014. The customer could have avoided this problem by having the proper ventilation installed in his roof, as recommended by CSR. The customer could have also avoided this problem by reinstalling the heating cables himself or by arranging for someone else to install them. Reinstalling this cable is not a big job as the roof edge is only 8 or 10 feet off the ground. As noted above, CSR was under no contractual obligation to reinstall these cables and never undertook to do so. It should also be noted that the contract between the customer and CSR specifically provides that CSR is not responsible for any ice damming that might occur on the premises. Nevertheless, CSR attended at the customer's premises at his request in February 2014 to remove the ice dam as a courtesy. The customer was not charged for this service. The customer's allegation that the interior of his premises was somehow damaged by CSR's removal of the ice dam is inaccurate. His statement that CSR agreed to pay his deductible is also incorrect. Please note that the customer's complaint does not allege any dissatisfaction with the service provided by CSR that was actually contracted for, i.e. the removal and replacement of the shingle roof. Regarding use of the photo of the customer's house that is posted on the CSR website, this was done with the explicit consent of the customer. However, as it now appears that this consent has been withdrawn, ********************************************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In a separate e-mail to me Mr. ***** told me that the reason that ************************** *** **************** **************************.

Mr. **** said that the cables were removed from the roof as a courtesy even though the item was not in the contract. *****************************. Now how would it be possible to remove the cables while installing new shingles. *************. He did receive several e-mails from me regarding having them put back up e-mails which I retained. If I was responsible for this item why would I request him to do that?

When I reported the ice daming to him why was he so quick to respond as another courtesy he maintains so quickly with a competent well trained crew who, in the process put two holes in my roof which I had repaired at my expense?

**************************************.

**************************************.

****************.

Business Response
CASE *******
CSR submits the following points for consideration:

1. Just because the customer made a request (or requests) for installation, it doesn't mean that CSR was contractually obligated to perform the installation. It takes an offer and an acceptance of the offer to make a contract. Just because you ask someone to do something doesn't mean they are obligated to do it.

2. Even if there was such an obligation, the property owner has the primary duty to mitigate any potential loss. In a situation of this nature, it is the responsibility of the property owner to take all steps necessary to minimize the damage to his property. In this case, this would mean having the appropriate venting installed, replacing the defrosting cables himself or arranging for someone else to replace them. It is not a viable approach for a property owner to sit back and watch a potentially damaging situation develop, take no action to resolve it and then attempt to pass the responsibility on to someone else when damage occurs.
3. Please note that the CSR website has been shut down. ***************************************************************** *********************************
4. As the customer correctly indicated, ***************************************************************** *****************************************************

07/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**********************************************.
On August 20, 2013, we contracted to have Certain Seal Roofing re-do our 2 roofs. We have both shingles and a flat roof. The estimate was $5,830.50. They removed 5 vents from the shingled roof and replaced them with only one. There were countless delays in getting the job finished. *************************************************
*************************************************. During the first rainfall after the flat roof was supposedly done, water leaked down into the living room and I am now faced with redoing a portion (possibly all of the stucco ceiling, due to the design). Water also stained the wall and that will have to be cut, remove the moldy insulation and then repaint. *********, the president of Certain Seal roofing came to see the damage and promised to make repairs. That's never been done. The final invoice, dated October 1, 2013, was in the amount of $7,955.76, which was paid by cheque and cashed on October 18, 2013. I was just happy to finally get the job finished. But, since I have ended up having so much trouble with this Company, I am now questioning their figures. The original estimate was $5,830.50 before taxes, the "extras" were $720.oo for 8 sqrs osb overlay @ 90/sqr and $350.00 for 0.5 sqr flat roofing @ 700/sqr. These amounts 5,830.50 + 720.00 + $350.00 equals $6,900.50 and NOT $7,040.50 before taxes, as indicated on the final invoice. Then, during the thaw in January 2014, water started pouring down the wall and window from the portion of the roof that had had 2 vents (and now had none). The paint has all bubbled and the plaster board will have to be removed and the insulation replaced to get rid of the mold. Then the wall will have to be repainted. When I called the *********, he said that that could be fixed by removing the ice that had built up on the roof. He went up on the roof and removed some snow but none of the ice. He also indicated that he might have to put a roof vent, which he could do the following day, but that it could probably wait until spring. It should be noted that we have never had to shovel snow off that part of the roof before. Two weeks later, it happened again, during the night, and in the morning the hardwood floor was soaking wet. I called again, leaving a message *****************************. He never called me back, he never came to see the damage, but he did send someone to install a roof vent. No water has leaked in since then, but I am still waiting for the repairs to be made to the ceiling and walls. The last time I called and again left a message (*************************), ***************************************, I received a message back from ********* indicating that he was not sure exactly what was going on. He stated: "I'm pretty sure I sent some guys out to fix your roof for you and" (****************************) "install a vent, at no cost, in the middle of the winter and uh, when I had gone to see you originally there wasn't really any interior damage except some dripping around your window sill and I instructed my guys to repair whatever interior damage for you as well, 'cause it looked like it just needed some paint. Give me a call back at ************ but I'm pretty sure we put a new vent on your roof **************************".

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/04/2011Business started: 26/04/2009
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Ward (President)Mr. Douglas Ward (Vice President)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Ward Custom Construction Inc., 7163444 Canada Inc
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Certain Seal Roofing

1044 Meadow Park Place

Ottawa, ON K1K 0M5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1044 Meadow Park Place 

    Ottawa, ON K1K 0M5

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Certain Seal Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (613) 745-8444
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Hiring a Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

This company has been using the Better Business Bureau trademark without authorization and wrongfully claiming to be accredited.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.