BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/02/2005

DS Plumbing

Phone: (613) 596-4349Fax: (613) 820-318814 Bexley Place, Unit 102, NepeanON K2H 8W2View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/02/2005

BBB has determined that DS Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on DS Plumbing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/26/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

The plumbing company did work for two hours and the bill came to a total of $600 per hour.
The plumber did not give an exact quote before doing the work and kept adding more parts as he was going along without giving the total before finishing the job. He was here for two hours for a total of $ 1148.08

Desired Settlement
The invoice needs to be reduced *******************.

Business Response
We first became aware of this issue today (Jan 28) when I contacted the customer about the outstanding balance on the invoice for the work completed earlier this month. It was then when I first realized she was unsatisfied with her dealings with us, and had stopped payment on the cheque for the work completed.

Realizing this was the issue, I immediately wanted to rectify the situation. I informed her that I would be in touch with her within the hour, because I wanted to review the bill and speak to the team regarding her concerns.

I certainly appreciate from the client's perspective, that the total of the bill is significant. We do not charge by the hour, we charge per 'job' (example: Flapper replacement- $99). Often, this pricing approach is preferable to clients because they are able to know the exact cost of the work before we start and can be sure a technician wont deliberately stall on a job in order to inflate a bill. In this case. 6 "jobs' were done in a relatively short amount of time (shorter than we would typically account for in our pricing)- and they added up quick. Ultimately the customer did not see the value in the service provided, and We are more than happy to reduce the bill to an amount that the client will feel is fair.

According to the client's complaint, it also appears we may not have followed process in providing the exact cost of the work upfront for approval. Sometimes additional work comes up as we get involved in a job- but additional repairs and prices should be always be brought to the client's attention. In this case it would have (or should) have been Natalie's mother, as she was the one on site for the service call. If this process wasn't followed, I sincerely apologize, and taking this into consideration, we'd be happy to come to an agreement over the bill total.

As mentioned, I first learned of the issue and the complaint to the BBB When I first spoke to Natalie this morning; I informed her I would call her within the hour so that we could reach a solution. When I called I got her voicemail and left a message. Realizing it is mid-work day, and it may not be possible for her to take a call, I followed up with an email. I then contacted the BBB personally to address the issue, as I had not received the initial email that had been sent, and wanted to ensure that you are aware that we take this matter seriously, and are more than willing to cooperate with the client to settle this issue.

I am truly sorry that we could not have settled this issue sooner, and that the client wasn't happy with her experience with us. Given the chance, we would like to make it right.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The one toilet that was unplugged is still plugged now. We also need to come to an amount of money owing that is fair. thank you

Final Consumer Response
I thought that I had until today to reply to this which is February 10th. I am offering the company $500 for the work done which is still a significant amount for what was actually done properly.
Banks do not charge fees to the payee for stopped payments or NSF. Actually my mother incurred the fees for having to cancel her cheque.

Final Business Response
To rectify the situation, We will accept the proposed offer provided by the client. I have sent a revised invoice reflecting the agreed price ($500 tax included).

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/02/2005Business started: 10/05/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ontario Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities
900 Bay Street, Mowat Block, 3rd Floor
Toronto, ON M7A 1L2
(888) 562-4769

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Smythe (Director)Ms. Wendy Smythe (Office Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Plumbers, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair

Hours of Operation
Mon: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmTue: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmWed: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmThu: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmFri: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmSat: 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Alternate Business Names
6232981 Canada Limited
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DS Plumbing

14 Bexley Place, Unit 102

Nepean, ON K2H 8W2

To | From


1 Locations

  • 14 Bexley Place, Unit 102 

    Nepean, ON K2H 8W2(613) 596-4349
    Fax: (613) 820-3188

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DS Plumbing is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Plumbers

Hiring a Contractor

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.