BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 26/05/2011

Urban Paving Inc

(613) 288-9198View Additional Phone Numbers-, OrleansON K1C 7E1

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 26/05/2011

BBB has determined that Urban Paving Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Urban Paving Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Urban Paving Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Puddle in driveway after asphalt installation
Please find enclosed the reasons for my complaint.

On Oct. 13, 2015, Urban Paving Inc. agreed to asphalt our driveway and our neighbour's driveway. We are two units on a shared lot. Problems with water accumulation were shared with the company before they initiated the work and desire to have this resolved by re-asphalting our driveway was our priority.

On Oct. 20, Urban Paving Inc.'s crew began the work. They installed new asphalt, recommending not to install a new base. Once the work was completed on Oct.21, I noticed a patch of asphalt that looked less smooth and inquired about it. I was not given an explanation but told that I would be happy with the work.

The following day, after it rained, I noticed that a puddle of water had accumulated in the driveway, on the site of the patch I had noticed the day before. I contacted Urban Paving Inc. and Gisele G**** and a crew member came to assess the situation. They recommended that I cut a tree branch to allow the sun to dry up the excess water, level my front door steps and/or have someone (them?) install interlock stones to replace part of the asphalt to remedy the problem. They brought to my attention that our land had little inclination making it difficult to ensure proper drainage. They also noted that our garage was not leveled and this was a contributing factor to the end result of the work done.

The following day, I sent an e-mail to Gisèle G**** requesting that Urban Paving Inc. return to fix the problem or compensate us. Please see below. No response has been received.

It is to my understanding that the company is at fault for misrepresentation. At the time of the visit to discuss the work to be done, they should have informed us of the probability of more water accumulation prior to starting the work and offered a different solution. And so, it is conclusive on our part that the company completed the work knowing that they could not address our specific need and request.

As a result, we are now faced with a new problem: a water drainage problem that will persist, in a new location, with additional cost to fix it.

Additionally, the machinery used on the first day of the work was dripping diesel. As a result, the street in front of our house is stained extensively. Urban paving did put some absorbing products after we notified them of the problem but the stains are still quite visible. As this is a private street, the community may complain and ask that we clean the mess.

Manon S*****






Desired Settlement
Fix the problem or provide compensation.

Business Response


********************. Here is our response.

We were requested to quote on replacing a driveway not asked to provide a consultation on fixing a water issue. We sent a representative to provide a paving quote. We have never represented ourselves as the solution for water problems further more we didn't even quote on fixing other contributing issues such as the step which is a service we can provide. The driveway seemed to have many issues including settlement along garage and aged asphalt from our observations which was not a factor in the client decision to have it replacedgisel. A contract to replace the driveway surface was agreed too without any specification for fixing water issues or warranty against water issues. The client has opted not to have us redo the base as detailed in the contract. We have attach a copy.

The contract was to replace the driveway surface. The driveway surface as a standard must meet the garage floor slab and curb at the roadway by standard. The driveway from the garage floor to the curb has a sub standard slop and dictates the grading of the asphalt surface. Asphalt is in hot state is uncompressed and loose while being installed. Once it is spread out to the desired heights and thicknesses it must be compacted using hand tamps, vibration packers, and rollers to achieve proper compaction which directly results in the durability of the surface. Due to this process the surface is not perfectly straight and minor deviations are normal and cannot be prevented. At this location we did everything we could within reason to try to minimize these deviations due to the slop of the surface being sub standard. We feel we went above and beyond what can reasonably be expected from a paving contractor. There is no water build up against the foundation.

Before paving the driveway I did speak with Manon S***** and expressed my concern with the slop and told her all we can do is try our best. She also acknowledged that many in her neighbourhood have the same issue. We are attaching pictures of neighbours with the same issue.

After paving the driveway it was brought to our attention that there was some puddling on the surface. Two representatives from our company met with Manon S***** to see what the issue is and if we could do anything to address it. At this meeting they were able to see what her concern was and agree there is a small puddle. After inspecting the area with a level they both concluded that the deviation in the slop of the surface is very minor and could of not been prevented but due to the sub standard slop of the surface it causes puddling. Because we cannot change the slop of the surface as explained earlier, they suggested a few solutions so she can achieve her desired results in hopes of helping to satisfy her. One of which was for her to get her garage floor slab fixed because the height is low and slops towards one corner and then given the new slop we can address the issue by either replacing that section of asphalt or doing an interlock pad in front of her step. They also suggested that if that wasn't worth doing to fix the issue she can do a couple things to help minimize the water going to the problem area including fixing her step that is slanting towards her foundation and directing water to the problem area. Our position is that while we understand her disappointment, we completed our contract and provided a good quality product as contracted. We have suggested real solutions and provided after sell service as an attempt to satisfy her. Compensation in any form is not warranted and does not resolve the issue in anyway. Regardless of our work with the driveway her issue always has and does required more work (services we do not provide) to resolve. They are not faced with a new problem as they indicated, it already existed as they detailed.

As for the marks on the road we do apologize for the accident. the dampness of the road did not let us spot the leak until it was too late. As we had discussed and agreed on, we did use absorb all to clean the entire surface in our work area. Seeing that it was only small drips it did not do much but it is the only option and standard procedure anytime there is a leak on a roadway. The marks will fade. if for any reason the board wishes additional work to be done to fix the drip marks we are fully insured and will provide our insurance information to them.

Lucas M*******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We disagree. We contracted Urban Paving to repave an eleven years old damaged driveway in which wheel marks were creating puddles of water. We now have a new repaved driveway, still with a puddle of water in the middle. Professionals who care about their work would have (1) told us in advance if they could not fix the problem (2) clearly expressed concerns and possible poor outcome or (3) fixed the problem instead of suggesting after-the-fact "real solutions" (like cutting tree branches to accelerate evaporation) to a problem that they were originally hired to fix. We request compensation due to what we believe is misleading and deceptive representation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paving Contractors, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/2010Business started: 08/05/2009
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2006, ON

Business Management

The owner of this company also owns Tree Care and Landscaping, established in April 1985, and BBB accredited since December 2007.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gisele Gosse (Vice President / Administration Manager)Mr. Lucas MacSween (President)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Paving Contractors, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers

Alternate Business Names
770521 Canada Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Urban Paving Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (613) 371-4879
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Paving Contractors

Hiring a Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.