BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/07/2007

Bytown Paving

Phone: (613) 235-8767Fax: (613) 567-01462723 Fenton Road, GloucesterON K1T 3T8

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/07/2007

BBB has determined that Bytown Paving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bytown Paving's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bytown Paving

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

From: *****************************************************
Sent: Friday, November 14, 2014 11:23 AM
To: ****************
Subject: RE: Complaint - Bytown Paving

Good morning,
I would like to file a complaint against Bytown Paving 2723 Fenton Rd, Gloucester, ON K1T 3T8. My 85 year old mother had her laneway re-done in November 2013 by Bytown Paving. Her address is **** ********************************. She speaks very little English. She paid over $3,000 for the job. By the following spring, the laneway was starting to crumble. I called Bytown in June to ask them to fix the problem. They said they would look into it. I didn't hear back so I called back in early July and told them that I would give them until end the of July to fix it or I would be filing a complaint. Two workmen came on July 31. They agreed that there was a problem with the laneway and that they would repair it when they had some hot asphalt. No one ever came to do anything. I sent an e-mail on October 27th and again asked for resolution by October 31. The owner (***) came by and said that there was nothing wrong with the laneway and his workers didn't know what they were talking about. I had also had my laneway re-done and wasn't happy with the results but it was not as bad as my mother's laneway. I sent the owner an e-mail telling them that my mother had paid more than me for her laneway, she did it on my recommendation as some of our neighbours had done theirs and they were done well. ************************ and I asked him what he was going to do to repair her laneway. He did not respond to my e-mail.
We have not been happy with either the customer service or the quality of work and hope you can assist us .
I can be reached by e-mail or on my cell phone ************.
Thank you.

Manager - *****************
T: ************ M : ************

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************** President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
I am sorry that ********** is disappointed with the driveway(s) we paved for them in 2013. As she states, I did go over a few weeks ago to see the driveways. What she describes as crumbling is normal aggregate at the surface of the driveway. Asphalt mixes have changed and now have less sand and more aggregate making them stronger. This is even more prevalent when asphalt has to be worked by hand as is the case with carport posts. She also has a few tire marks which are caused by tires moving when the vehicle is stationary.
The rear of the contract states "avoid turning or grinding your automobile's wheels on the asphalt while the automobile is stationary" We have been in business since 1989 ************************** *******. I am more than happy to extend the warranty of both driveways til the end of May 2015 in the hopes that a resolution can be found. It is my belief the problems with the driveways is cosmetic and can be easily remedied. I hope this is satisfactory and look forward to hearing from ********** in spring of 2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just to clarify my driveway was completed in May 2014 and the problems showed up in June 2014. I find it hard to understand why both my neighbours on either side of me did not have the same problems that my mother and I encountered.
If you can repair both driveways in the spring, but especially my mother's I would really appreciate it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paving Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/12/1989Business started: 01/12/1989
Type of Entity


Incorporated: December 1989, CND

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Giuseppe Maniaci (Contact)Mr. Tomasso Mendicino (Secretary)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Paving Contractors

Alternate Business Names
176272 Canada Ltd.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bytown Paving

2723 Fenton Road

Gloucester, ON K1T 3T8

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2723 Fenton Road 

    Gloucester, ON K1T 3T8(613) 235-8767
    Fax: (613) 567-0146

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bytown Paving is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Paving Contractors

Hiring a Contractor

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.