BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1999

Rick Menard Heating & Cooling Ltd.

Phone: (613) 834-1415Fax: (613) 747-89991250 Old Innes Road Unit 516, OttawaON K1B 5L3

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1999

BBB has determined that Rick Menard Heating & Cooling Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rick Menard Heating & Cooling Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rick Menard Heating & Cooling Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
02/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Estimate called for at least 2 hours of work for complexity that turned out to be very simple. Also charged for half hour travel time due to snow.
When the estimate was requested, my knowledge suggested that it would be simple. Contractor suggested that it would be much more complicated and it would take at least two hours. Given this certainty, I agreed to $300 for service in the house. When the work was done, it was as simple as I had expected and from the time of arrival to completion of all paperwork, the work took less than 40 minutes. The tech then stated that the snow made it longer for him to make the house visit so added 1/2 travel time for the work. The estimate was an estimate and when the work turned out to be so simple, ** **************** to charge such a large amount when the customer had to rely on the contractor for the estimate. Also to charge half an hour travel seems to be a means to cover the issue of simple and short work. The fact that it was snowing was not the customer's fault and to charge for time it takes to get to a customer's house has never been encountered by any other contractors visiting houses. Furthermore, the contractor is located less than 5 km from the customer. In short, the contractor over estimated the complexity and duration of work and insisted on charging for cost of over estimate.

Desired Settlement
I do not feel that the contractor delivered a service to account for the cost and to be charged for travel time is unwarranted. I would be willing to settle for $200 fee rather than $300 charged with a $100 refund.

Business Response
We received a call from this customer on January 7, 2015 requesting a price to install a ******* **************** he had purchase on ******* We quoted him a fixed price of $ 300.00 +hst over the phone. He agreed to the price and asked when we could have the control installed.

The quoted price was not based on a hourly rate. having seen the customer's furnace or the control he had purchased, we had no way of knowing how long it would take our service technician to complete the work.

The customer does not have to worry about the half hour charged on the work order for travel as he had a quoted fixed price for the completed job. If the work had taken our technician longer to complete would he be willing to pay more?

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The quote was based on the "expert" opinion of the contractor. The logic of the contractor would suggest that they would always assume the worst scenario. Since their assumption was far off based on phone call at which I felt strongly that it was a simple procedure but was convinced that it was much more compllicated, the contractor was wrong. Also, the fact that additional half hour was added to the "work" done proves that the contractor tried to justify the charge by making it look longer than it was. Since there was no option for a site visit prior to quote, I had no option but to accept the "expert" opinion of the contractor. The only reason the quote was accepted was because of the fact that the contractor was contacted *********************** and thus my assurance that the quote would be reasonable. I am extremely disappointed at their business practice.

To be very clear, the contractor was advised that the furnace, air conditioner and the humidifier was installed at the same time of the same make. However, when the whole HVAC system was changed, the thermostat was not changed. The request made to the contractor was to install the proprietary thermostate that was not initially purchased. I had the thermostat and the necessary connector and all that was required was to be connected. While I knew what needed to be done, I was not fully sure so I was willing to pay for the comfort of it being done right. The contractor was confident that it was not that simple and would require at least two hours. ********************** ******************************************** I deferred to their expertise. A big mistake as previously noted, the whole process took less than 40 minutes from arrival to house and completion of paperwork. The work was rounded to one hour and another half an hour tacked on for "travel" time due to snow. Unacceptable.

Final Business Response
Customer satisfaction is our #1 concern. In order to satisfy this customer, we will credit $100.00 for the install even though he agreed to the price over the phone and signed the work order. A credit will be issued on customer credit card.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were told by HVAC technician that work was done on furnace and it was in good working order, when it was not.
We were told by an HVAC tech from another company that the control board in our furnace needed to be replaced because it was not sending a signal to the circulation fan to turn on when the A/C setting was on, so he re wired the system to by pass the control board directly to the fan so we could have A/C as it was summertime. We discovered that *********** would replace the board for a cheaper price, so we contacted him to do the work in September. Upon inspection by the technician, he concluded that the previous technician was wrong, and that the board did not need to be replaced, and re wired it so the circulation fan would work on the "heat" setting. We paid $214 for this. Recently we went to turn on the A/C, and discovered that the circulation fan will not turn on despite the A/C working properly. The previous tech was correct, the tech from *********** essentially undid the work done by him, and charged us $214 for a false diagnosis.

Desired Settlement
Not available

05/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/20/2012Billing / Collection Issues
08/22/2012Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/04/1991Business started: 01/01/1990
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Menard (President)Mr. Luc Menard Mr. Charles Menard
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Heating Contractors, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

Installation and servicing residential heating and cooling systems. This company provides service on all makes and models. Maintenance service plan available.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Ottawa area - East & West end

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor
Cooling your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rick Menard Heating & Cooling Ltd.

1250 Old Innes Road Unit 516

Ottawa, ON K1B 5L3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1250 Old Innes Road Unit 516 

    Ottawa, ON K1B 5L3(613) 834-1415

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rick Menard Heating & Cooling Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

Hiring a Contractor
Cooling your Home
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.