BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1994

Anchor Climate Care

Phone: (613) 837-8381Fax: (613) 837-5421View Additional Phone Numbers6-1439 Youville Drive, OrleansON K1C 4M8



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1994

BBB has determined that Anchor Climate Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Anchor Climate Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Anchor Climate Care

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As an introduction let me give you a brief history:
In June 2012, I changed my forced air furnace and my air conditioning with Anchor Climatecare in Orleans/Ottawa. It was stipulated on the contract that I had 16 years warranty and 2 years of free cleaning. After the 2 years, I find out that to preserve my 14 years left of warranty; I had to buy a plan. So for about 300 $ a year, I will be able to maintain my warranty. With that come an emergency services needed 24 hours a day. So I did accept to buy this extra plan. Finally after 14 years, I will have paid about 5000$ more than what the stipulated price on the initial contract. I have to say that they did a good installation job in 2012 and even though we had few arguments as everything was not well written on the contract, I have been satisfy with the end result. I was also satisfied with the 2 free cleaning sessions as the technicians were very knowledgeable.



The problem is as followed:
My plan covered the furnace and air conditioning unit. Two weeks ago, the air humidifier ********* did not work at all when I tried to start it. I called Anchor, and they told me that the y have to do a home visit at 149$ to assess the situation. Then they offered me to extend my plan for an extra 10$ a month (120$ a year) to cover humidifier. They argued that the unit is worth 500$; when you can find it at 129$ on **** as showed below and the best unit at ********** is about 249 $. I have a basic modal with a manual humidistat which is 25$ on **** or 20$ at ********** from *******. I think the extra coverage for this unit was too expensive.
Last week my electrician was coming to do some work and I ask him to look at this problem. Being able to do a lot of work myself at home I understood the problem well but I do not like to play with electrical component. He quickly identified the problem as being the humistat as being the problem.
I called ********* in the ***, the piece is under warranty for 5 years but they explain to me that have to go through Anchor to get the replacement part. I call Anchor at the end of the week to explain the situation, the totally refused to understand and insisted to send someone home at 149$ to change a piece of 25$. I offered to drive to their location and return to humistat (4 screws to remove) so they can test it and see that I am not lying, and give me the replacement piece; they totally refused.
****************************.Yes I can buy another humistat for 20 $ at ********** but it is not the same company brand or on **** but here it is the principle which is wrong. If the unit belong to me now and they do not want to do work on it, the warranty should also belong to me.
******************************
****
********* 600M Whole house bypass humidifier - NEW
$129.99
The *************** 600M takes humidifier innovation to the next level and performs as good as it looks! The ********* 600M is easier than ever to install because it includes a built-in bypass damper.
****
**NEW** *************** Humidistat
$25.00
Up for sale is this new **************************. The ************************t is designed for low voltage service to control humidification equipment.

Desired Settlement
I want Anchor Climatecare to respect my warranty on the product I bought from them. They can now deliver the piece new piece at home and my electrician can install it.
*************

Business Response
Anchor would be more than happy to honour the warranty. We cannot claim warranty at our end for a part that we have not looked at, we have to have a paper trail and proof of diagnostic. We do always have to advise of a charge in every situation in the instance the issue is non-related. If the electricians diagnostic is correct and the part needs to be changed, this would be done under warranty and there would be no charge for the call or the part. Unfortunately we cannot supply parts and claim a warranty for them.
We can certainly book a service call and have the technician diagnose the problem and change part at your convenience.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Fireplaces, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top

This company also offers climate care group, H.R.A.I., I.S.L.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1987Business started: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Technical Standards & Safety Authority
3300 Bloor Street, West 16th Floor, Centre Tower
Toronto, ON M8X 2X4
(416) 734-3300
http://www.tssa.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1986, ON

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darren Parsons (President)Ms. Rochelle Blair (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Heating Contractors, Fireplaces, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Anchor Heating & Cooling, Anchor Air Conditioning Ltd.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor
Cooling your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Anchor Climate Care

6-1439 Youville Drive

Orleans, ON K1C 4M8

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6-1439 Youville Drive 

    Orleans, ON K1C 4M8(613) 837-8381
    (613) 591-3581
    Fax: (613) 837-5421

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Anchor Climate Care is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (613) 591-3581
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

Hiring a Contractor
Cooling your Home
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.