BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/2012

Allied Heating & Cooling Inc.

(613) 838-2700110 Didsbury Road, Unit 94, KanataON K2T 0C2

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/2012

BBB has determined that Allied Heating & Cooling Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Allied Heating & Cooling Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Allied Heating & Cooling Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not complete the work but charge us for it.
On February 5, 2014, we have contacted Allied Heating and requested a urgent repair of our malfunctioned heating system. A contractor from Allied Heating, who has arrived later that day, has informed us the repair will be completed during his next visit, in a few days. Before departing, the contractor has also requested our credit card information, for processing a payment for the repair. In a few days, when the contractor has failed to show up to a mutually agreed upon appointment time at our house, in order to perform the promised repair of our heating system, we proceeded to leave a message on the contractor's phone, inquiring about the missed appointment. Within a few minutes we received an email from the contractor stating Allied Heating will be unable to perform the repair. We have subsequently proceeded to contact a different contractor who was able to repair our heating system issue during their initial visit, without requiring any replacement parts.
A few weeks later, much to our surprise, we found a charge on our credit card statement from Allied Heating, for over $96. When we contacted Allied Heating to inquire about this charge, we received their email response stating the charge was legitimate because it was not for the repair they have failed to perform but rather, it was for finding out what was wrong with our heating system. We have neither requested this information from Allied Heating, nor did we, nor would anyone else in our situation, receive any benefit whatsoever from this knowledge. Therefore, we consider this to be a ********** charge by Allied Heating, for service that was promised but never rendered.

Desired Settlement
Not available

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************** Vice Pres
Contact Phone:*************
Contact Email: *********************
On February 4th, 2014, I (************** - Vice President) and ************ (President) attended the residence of ******* and ****** ***** located at ************************************ at the request of Mr. *****.
On the phone, Mr. ***** requested an owner of Allied Heating & Cooling come to his house as his humidification system was not performing as he thought it should. Mr. ***** was ********** opposed to any technicians coming to his house - he wanted to deal only with the owners. I explained to Mr. ***** that we charge an $85 +HST Diagnostic fee for all service calls. This covers travel costs and time to determine the cause of the problem.
At the house, I determined that there was a problem with the transformer and possibly a solenoid. I explained to Mr. ***** that as only the technicians have service trucks, I did not have any parts with me and would have to return the following day. I also quoted a price of $95 +HST for the transformer repair. Before leaving, I collected credit card information for the Diagnostic charge and had Mr. ***** sign the work order which showed the charge and the quote. Mr. ***** was told he would not be charged anything further until repairs were complete.
I returned to the ***** residence February 6th and installed the new transformer. When testing the equipment, I found the solenoid to be malfunctioning and showed this to Mr. and Mrs. *****. I advised them that I would be going to a supplier and would contact them later that day when I had the new part. I again advised Mr. ***** that there would be no charge for this visit as the repair was not yet complete.
After checking several of our suppliers, I was unable to pick up or even order the needed solenoid. I informed Mr. ***** of this by email that evening. Mr. ***** responded by saying he would have to use a different contractor. I decided as a gesture of goodwill, I would not charge Mr. ***** for the transformer that was indeed installed, nor would I ask that the part be returned.
On February 19th, Mr. ***** asked to be refunded the Diagnostic charge thinking it was for a repair. I explained to Mr. ***** what the charge was for and that it would not be refunded. When Mr. ***** advised me that he would be escalating this matter, I decided that it would be pointless to persist in trying to get Mr. ***** to understand my point of view.

I have attached the work order and email communications.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue in this case is simple. *****************************************
*******************************************************
********************************************************
**************************************? We believe a charge should not be made unless the repair was successful. *******************************************
**************************************. An HVAC contractor should not charge for repair they have failed to perform.

Final Business Response
Again, the charge in question was not for a repair, but is instead a diagnostic fee. This fee was explained to the customer over the phone when booking the service call and again at the customer's house when the customer signed the work order which also detailed the fee. This is a standard practice among any service contractor that must visit a customer's home to effect repairs.

*****************************************************.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not resolved, they promise something and did not did it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Sales & Service, Boilers - Sales & Service, Air Duct Systems, Fireplaces, Duct & Duct Fittings, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Ventilating Contractors, Piping Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/09/2012Business started: 01/07/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Technical Standards & Safety Authority
3300 Bloor Street, West 16th Floor, Centre Tower
Toronto, ON M8X 2X4
(416) 734-3300
http://www.tssa.org

Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Remi Thivierge (Vice President / General Manager)Mr. Ben Guenther (President)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Sales & Service, Boilers - Sales & Service, Air Duct Systems, Fireplaces, Duct & Duct Fittings, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Ventilating Contractors, Piping Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Hours of Operation
Mon: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmTue: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmWed: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmThu: 8:00 am to 5:00 pmFri: 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor
Cooling your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Allied Heating & Cooling Inc.

110 Didsbury Road, Unit 94

Kanata, ON K2T 0C2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 110 Didsbury Road, Unit 94 

    Kanata, ON K2T 0C2(613) 838-2700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Allied Heating & Cooling Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

Hiring a Contractor
Cooling your Home
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.