BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2002

Al Parsons Electronics Ltd.

Phone: (613) 798-4444Fax: (613) 798-2187860 Boyd Avenue, OttawaON K2A 2E1

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2002

BBB has determined that Al Parsons Electronics Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Al Parsons Electronics Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for an estimate that as per their website is FREE. Got the work done, and was also charges for an hour labour more then I should have been.
On December 8, 2015 I called **** to come and give me an estimate for my garage door that I had damaged. I called them because they had done work on my door a few weeks prior through my condo corporation. They came that afternoon to look at the door. My mom had gone over to my house to let the man in. He took a brief look and called me to let me know I needed a new bottom panel installed. He said they would contact me ASAP with an estimate. After 2 days not hearing back, and anxiously awaiting the estimate so I could have the work done, I called them to ask about the estimate. They said they had just received the paperwork and would call me shortly with one. They did call back and let me know the garage door panel would cost $180, and that labour was $85 an hour. The front page of their website clearly states FREE ESTIMATES. I agreed and was told the man could come do the work the afternoon of December 12TH, 2014. I told them I work in the day, and they said he would call me half an hour before he would get there so I could let him in. At 3:12pm I received a call from the guy saying he was at my house, with no warning phone call. When I arrived at 3:32pm he began working and finished at 4:50pm. I asked for a copy of the work order and he told me he was not giving me one and that they would send one.
On February 11/15 I was going through some paperwork and realized I had not received an invoice yet, so I called **** to inquire. The lady there then sent me one via email. I took a look at it and noticed they charged me $85.00 for the estimate, 2.5hrs labour for the day they did their work. I told the lady there must have been an error and that I was charged for the estimate and overcharged for labour. She proceeded to tell me that estimates are not free, and that only estimates for new garages are free. I told her that her website did not specify that, nor did anyone tell me that when they booked my estimate. She also aid that they charge to drive to my house, in which case I was being charged for when the man was waiting for me to come, even though they didn't give me my half hour notice, so he had to wait for me. ***************************************************************** ************************* She told me that I had called wanting to get my door fixed. I told her that was true, and the man who originally booked it said it would require them looking at it to give me an estimate. ****************************************************** They look at the work to be done and give you a price estimate. I asked her if I could speak to someone else and she told me I would have to speak to the owner. She told me she put my paperwork on his desk and he would call me soon. I hadn't heard back the next day, so I called back and told them I wanted to get it dealt with so I could pay my bill. She again told me he would call me back soon. It has now been 8 days and I have not heard from them. ***************************************************************** *

Desired Settlement
I just ask that they adjust my bill accordingly to the amount of work done and the free estimate that is advertised all over their website. Once done I will be happy to pay it.
Also, if they do not do free estimates, they need to change their website for future customers.

Business Response
Customer called on Dec. 8, 2014 at approximately 9:45 am and spoke with our service department (dispatcher) stating that her garage door had been hit and the bottom panel was damaged and the rollers were out of the track and needed to be fixed. Our dispatcher proceeded to send a technician out that afternoon. We cannot determine over the phone to what extent the damage is and what would be needed in order to repair it ***************************************************************** *************************************************************** We weren't provided with a make or model number of the door nor did the customer tell us that she wanted the panel replaced - she asked for the door to be fixed. We consider this a Service call to which we charge $85.00/hour with a one hour minimum ************************ At no time did the customer mention "free estimate" as she would have been told that we do not provide free estimates on service calls. For our company to send someone out to "estimate" a 1 or 2 hour service call wouldn't stand to reason. Where we provide "Free Estimates" is on new garage door purchases as the customer has different options as far as door style, colour etc. and a Sales Representative would have to attend site to discuss the options and measure the opening etc.
Our Technician went to the customers home and the technician could not fix the door at that time because the bottom panel was too badly damaged and would need to be replaced and he spoke with the customer and advised her of the situation and told her that our sales department would call her with a price to replace the bottom panel. Customer also requested to have weather strip, which she already had in her possession, installed when we returned to replace the panel.
Customer called back on Dec. 11/14 to find out about the cost of the replacement panel ***************************************************************** ***************************************************************** ********* we called the customer back and gave her a price of $185.00 for the panel at a rate of $85.00/hour to replace the panel AND remove the old weather strip and install the customer supplied weather strip. With agreement from the customer, we arranged to have this work performed on Dec. 12/14 with the understanding that our technician would call 1/2 hour before he arrived as the customer had explained that she worked and would need the 1/2 hour notice in order to arrive at her residence to let the technician in to finish the service call.
We have a *** tracking system on our service vehicles, on Dec. 12/14 our technician left his previous job at 2:27 p.m. and arrived at the customer residence at 3:04 p.m. and did not call the customer until 3:10 p.m. We can only take the customers word for the fact that she arrived at site at 3:32 p.m. as the technician did not remember. Our technician then replaced the bottom panel and removed the old weather strip and installed the customer supplied weather strip and left the job at 4:54 p.m. We bill in 15 minute increments, so the customer was charged from 2:30 to 5:00 p.m. (2.5 hours) at $85.00 per hour. We are willing to credit the customer 1/2 hour labour $42.50 for the technician not calling ahead of time as requested.
As the customer stated, on Feb. 11/15 she called the office and spoke to one of our office staff inquiring about an invoice as she had not received one in the mail. She was immediately emailed a copy of the bill and did question the staff member about the charges. It was explained to her at that time that the "Free Estimates" were for new door sales not for service calls and that we charge travel time for the technician to get to site. The customer was transferred to another staff member to discuss the matter further. ***************************************************************** **************************************************************** ***************************************************************** *************************** The customer then asked to talk to someone else and was told that the person to talk to would be the owner who was not available at that time and was told that the paperwork would be put on his desk in order to call her when he had the time to go through it.
The customer called back the following day to talk to the owner and he was not in the office. She was told that when the owner had a chance to go through the paperwork he would call back.

In summation, we firmly believe that the first call is chargeable as it was a service call to fix the door - had we been able to fix it without replacing the panel then we would have done so on the first call. We do however, agree that the technician on the second call did not phone 1/2 hour in advance as requested by the customer, therefore, we are willing to credit the customer 1/2 hour labour ($42.50 + hst).

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Doors & Openers, Loading Dock Equipment, Gates, Awnings & Canopies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1976Business started: 01/01/1948
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Garry Parson (President)Ms. Bernice Robichaud (Manager)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers, Loading Dock Equipment, Gates, Awnings & Canopies

Alternate Business Names
Parsons Electronics Ltd

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Al Parsons Electronics Ltd.

860 Boyd Avenue

Ottawa, ON K2A 2E1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 860 Boyd Avenue 

    Ottawa, ON K2A 2E1(613) 798-4444

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Al Parsons Electronics Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Garage Doors & Openers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.