BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 25/11/2013

Eagleson Flooring Inc.

Phone: (613) 599-3288Fax: (613) 599-8654500 Eagleson Road, KanataON K2M 1H4

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 25/11/2013

BBB has determined that Eagleson Flooring Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Eagleson Flooring Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Eagleson Flooring Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Eagleson Flooring installed tile for us. Within 6 months the grout started cracking. Despite repeats calls, no progress in fixing this after 2 years.
As part of an insurance claim, Eagleson Flooring was the subcontractor to ****** in charge of replacing our kitchen floor area, which extended to include the solarium and laundry room areas. Rather than just replacing the linoleum, we paid Eagleson Flooring an additional $3,450 to upgrade to tile (in addition to the amount that was paid by insurance) and to include a main-floor bathroom area.

Eagleson Flooring did this work in April 2009. By September 2009 we were noticing that the grout between the tiles was breaking and coming out in some places. We first reported this in late fall of 2009, and continued calling during 2010 and 2011, and were promised call-backs which never occurred.

The number of places with the grout problem and the amount of grout breaking free began increasing, so we increased our attempts to get some attention to the problem in late 2011 and throughout 2012.

By the end of 2012, presumably due to the grout problem, some tiles had started breaking, and we finally got an onsite visit by *************, who handles post-insurance repair problems. While at our house, ***** actually pulled up some tiles, to inspect how they had been installed and told us that the problem was NOT caused by water damage. He said he would have the owner, ***************, come out to see the problem and determine what would be done.

That visit occurred late in 2012, and included *****, *******, and a third person whose name I didn't get. They inspected the various areas that had the problem and said they would get back to us with a plan for repair.

Despite numerous calls throughout 2013 and 2014, there has been no further action on this. Most recently, in calls where I spoke personally to *************** in January, February and March of this year, each time I was promised that something would happen by the end of the month and each time I have not heard back from him.

The current status of our floor is that there are lots of areas where grout is missing, some tiles are broken due to grout bits getting under the tiles, and some tiles are totally loose or cracked because they were pulled up during the inspection.

Here is the log of all the events concerning this issue.

Eagleson Flooring Tile Issue Log
Date Action
Apr-09 Tile flooring installed
Sep-09 Grout begins coming loose
Fall 2009 First call to Eagleson Flooring
2010-2011 Multiple calls to Eagleson Flooring
Feb-12 Called Eagleson Flooring again
Jul-12 Called Eagleson Flooring again
Jul-12 Called and left message
Aug-12 Called multiple times and left messages
Aug-12 ***** comes to see floor
Fall 2012 Multiple calls to get them to come see the floors
Late Fall 2012 Owner comes to see floor
Feb-13 Called *****
Feb-13 Called *******
10-May-13 Called *******
21-May-13 Called *******
Oct-13 Called Eagleson Flooring
14-Jan-14 Called Eagleson Flooring
14-Jan-14 Called *****
14-Jan-14 Called ***************
13-Feb-14 Called ***************
14-Feb-14 Called ***************
07-Mar-14 Called ***************
26-May-14 Called ***************
30-May-14 Submit BBB complaint

I don't have our customer number, but Eagleson Flooring has complete details about us because they look up our record each time I call.

We upgraded to tile because we thought it would be more durable than linoleum and paid for that accordingly. But we've been having problems since about 6 months after the tiles were installed.

We would just like to have our floor fixed properly.

Business Response
Flooring was installed In October 2008, We had been contacted in July 2012 about grout cracking a couple of years after our installation warrantee had passed. We visited the site in august 2012 and made the offer to do some regrouting as well as replace a couple of the tiles if they had any extras. as two or three were broken. we were informed that were no extra tiles and the tiles were discontinued so we were unable do any tile replacements.
Even Though the warrantee period had passed we were still willing to try and do repairs. unfortunately there are no tiles available.

Sincerely

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I mentioned in my original description of the problem, our first attempts to contact Eagleson Flooring began during 2009 roughly 9 months after the tile flooring was installed and continued throughout 2010 and 2011. Not only was grout cracking and lifting out, but some tiles were coming loose (beginning to rock) and the tile rocking led to tiles breaking.

During the first visit, ************l (their insurance claims manager) pulled up a tile with a crowbar, to see how serious the problem was, but specifically said he could not offer any solutions as that would be up to the owner to decide. During the second visit, which included the owner, Mr. *******, the only thing that was said to us was that they would get back to us with a solution.

We waited patiently for them to get back to us, calling regularly only to be told they would call us back. Most recently, three months in a row at the beginning of 2014, I actually got through to Mr. *******, and each time he said he would review the case and get back to me by the end of the month, but he never called back.

As I said in my initial description of this problem, the key point is to understand why this problem occurred, and then to decide the correct method to fix the problem.

Because the problem is worse in high-traffic areas, it seems the problem may be related to floor flexing. This leads me to believe that the root issue is that there is a problem with the sub-flooring under the tile, thereby allowing high traffic areas to flex, which causes the grout to break, lift up, get under tiles, and cause tiles to start rocking.

If the problem is actually related to the subflooring, then re-grouting will not solve the problem and the new grout will start cracking again within a short time, putting us right back where we are now.

We are quite willing to meet Eagleson Flooring partway to solve this problem, once the problem is understood. If it is just that something was wrong with the initial grout, which only became apparent at high traffic areas, then re-grouting properly would be a fine solution.

But if improper underlayment installation is allowing floor flexing, then is it possible to safely remove the current high traffic area tiles and flooring and reinstall the flooring properly? If the underlayment is the problem but existing tiles cannot be safely uninstalled, then one possible example of us meeting them partway would be that we could buy new tiles, but Eagleson Flooring would agree to redo the sub-flooring and installation work at their cost. This is just one example of meeting partway. The final solution depends on understanding the problem.

By the way, we have found 8 leftover tiles.



Final Business Response
Hello,

Thanks for your reply message.

I did some digging up work here on your file and it seams I was not given the proper information concerning all the details pertaining to this job. I'm embarrassed that this issue as been going on for so long. This is totally not the way we deal with issues normally. I just booked an appointment with the customer for July/15 at 1:00pm. After seeing the job I will be able to make a good educated decision.

Again very sorry about all the inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have only responded No in order to keep this case open, because there has not yet been a proposed resolution, although I am very happy with this first step.

The visit to our place did occur as planned on July 15. ******* and **** looked at all the spots where the grout is cracking and tiles coming loose. **** said that floors flex so this is to be expected, but a) part of the tile installation cost was upgraded sub-flooring specifically to avoid this problem, b) no matter what, it is unreasonable for this to be beginning in the first year if that flooring and grout were applied properly, and c) it was mentioned that maybe the grout was not mixed properly and/or the fact that a rigid sand grout was used instead of a polymer or other flexible grout that would accommodate normal flexing may have contributed to the problem.

At this point, two possible resolutions have been discussed, but we are waiting for actual proposals with costs. One possibility is taking up all the current grout, replacing the broken and loose tiles (from the 11 we have) and regrouting with a higher quality, flexible grout. The other possibility is replacing the tile floor with linoleum, with the division of cost to be determined. The reason that replacing with linoleum is being considered is because Eagleson can't give assurances this problem won't occur again in a few years. We had attempted to upgrade our house by adding tile, but now all we want is a floor that will look nice for a reasonable period of time.

Consumer Response
From: ******************
Sent: July-23-14 3:51 PM
To: *****************
Cc: **************************************
Subject: Re: Case# ****************************

Hi ********,

Thanks very much for the clarification. Given that the case can be reopened if necessary, I am totally happy with considering the case closed for now from BBB's point of view. Eagleson Flooring/Orleans Carpet is dealing with my issue and I am happy with the progress so far. I will be very happy to provide a final resolution summary to the case when it is done, if that would be useful.

Thanks again,
****

05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The carpet installation was substandard . They failed to repair 3 years ago and again fail to response to my request of repair since April.
We purchased the best quality carpet and installation for 5 bedrooms from the Eagleson flooring at the Kanata location, on Aug 21, 2008. Contract number is ****. Two years later, it was repaired due to bubbles in the carpets in 2010. More bubbles appear in three more areas this year included the one their repaired. I called the store and requested the repair on early April. A repairman, named ******, came to my house on April 14 and did not repair the carpet. He said that he will be back with another helper. After two weeks, ****** still did not show up, I talked to the manager, named **** and left him my mobile phone number as well. I was told that he will look into the repair and give me a quote. I have not heard anything from the manager since. No quotes. No repair.

Desired Settlement
Not available

Business Response
Hello BBB,
The job was fixed to the customers satisfaction on May/14/2014.
Thank you

05/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is that I have visible seems in my carpet and my vinyl flooring is lifting. I've been told in an email the will not reply again to me.
The flooring problems have been going on since May 23 of 2013. The sales rep for the job was ***********, but I'm been dealing with ************* and **************. The cost of the job was 9,926.07. On march 4th ************** contracted my email and said that I want you to stop contacting us. Also he will no longer reply to my emails was stated in the email.

The specific details are there are visible seems in the carpet and the vinyl flooring in lifting. I'm been told that carpet seems arn't invisible by **************.

Desired Settlement
Not available

Business Response
From: **********************************************
Sent: Wednesday, April 23, 2014 9:22 AM
To: ****************
Cc: ******************************
Subject: Re: Case # *********************

*************************************
****************************************

Vinyl was installed on May 17 2013, and the carpet was installed on May 22, 2013 both sold to and scheduled by ****************** as this was an insurance claim.

*********** is the son of the home owners that had the insurance claim. the vinyl was installed and a return visit was scheduled to repair as an exterior door had leaked and soaked plywood near the door after this repair a trim was required at the door which was the responsibility of the restoration company and was scheduled with **** but he cancelled this appointment as noted in the email below from ******
Hello ****
I received a copy of an email that you sent to ******* at ******* Carpet. ****************** is responsible for removing that quarter round and caulking that area. I had that scheduled with you for Dec. 27/13 first thing in the morning, but you cancelled the appointment as I believe you ended up having to go to work.
I can have someone there to fix that any morning (Monday to Friday), just let me know what day is good.

As for the carpet, the seams were visible as are many carpet seams as per all manufacturers and managing bodies of installation and production standards(e.g.. *** ) however after our visit we did determine that the seams could have been placed in other areas that would have been less noticeable due to lighting and traffic patterns. We reordered the carpet to do these affected areas to put seams in better places even though insurance companies do not always take this into consideration. The carpet was replaced on Dec 10, 2013, The home owner Mr. ****** father was very happy at that time he even gave our service man a $50 tip.

We did say to **** ***** that we would only be speaking with either the restoration company or the Homeowner/ claim holder being his parents

***********
Operations Manager

****************** Eagleson Flooring
Serving you since 1987
Ottawa's only Stainmaster Flooring Centres(r)

***********
***************
*****************
*****************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In the kitchen the sub flooring and vinyl flooring was installed by Eagleson flooring, so the warranty would be covered. The vinyl flooring was lifting at both exterior doors and at one door 1/4 round was installed as a quick fix. The appointment was cancelled because I work full-time Monday to Friday and wasn't willing to take a day off work *******************************************.

Now ******* says the 1/4 round shouldn't of been installed and I'm correct. Also the vinyl flooring is lifting on one step, also on the seam in the kitchen, and at the exterior door without the 1/4 round.

You inspected the carpet and then your repair man said it wasn't repairable because the grains on the carpet run the wrong way. Also some closets didn't receive carpet originally. The seam originally was installed in the highest traffic area in the house which was centre of the hallway. The carpet was measured and ordered by your company and clearly off on the estimate, since there wasn't enough carpet left to complete the closets. The lightening is pot lights through out the house. Also, my parents paid for the upgrade on the flooring.


Final Business Response
From: ***************************************************
Sent: May-13-14 4:02 PM
To: *****************
Subject: Case# ************************* ****

Hello Mrs. ********,

I called the customer four times.
The first time they answered on May/05 and they said they would call me back to schedule an appointment. They never called me back and I left voice mails on May/07,12 and 13 since then.

Thank you,


***************
General Manager
******* Carpet / Flooring & Decor

Since 1987 / Depuis 1987

****************
*********************



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I've been in charge do the job since mid December when my parents left on vacation. From that point I've tried contacting you several times to have the flooring issues rectified. I have not received a phone call or email since March 4, 2014. In that email you clearly stated you will no longer be replying to my emails.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Floor Materials - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 14/12/2001Business started: 21/11/2000
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2000, ON

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond Brazeau (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Marc Prieur Mr. Sylvain Brazeau (General Manager)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Floor Materials - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Orleans Carpet Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Eagleson Flooring Inc.

500 Eagleson Road

Kanata, ON K2M 1H4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 500 Eagleson Road 

    Kanata, ON K2M 1H4(613) 599-3288

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Eagleson Flooring Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Floor Materials - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.