BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/09/2010

Total Home Centre Inc

Phone: (705) 560-5222Fax: (705) 560-1598View Additional Phone Numbers754 B Lasalle Boulevard, SudburyON P3A 4V4

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/09/2010

BBB has determined that Total Home Centre Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Total Home Centre Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Total Home Centre Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In Feb-Mar 2009 Total home renovated both upstairs main bathroom and ensuite. Both exhaust fans have been found to be not vented and non-functional.
In FEB-MAR 2009 Total home renovated both upstairs bathrooms. In the spring of 2015 the fan in the ensuite quit. When I went to replace the motor I was shocked to find it completely clogged with drywall dust as both the fan and exhaust port had been left buried under the insulation bats without ventilation. Total home was contacted the first week of July and did respond indicating that never in the attic and were only responsible for using the existing connections etc. They did send a person to assess the situation the next week who simply looked at the fans from the floor with covers on. When questioned how to fix the problem he said he would to bring a different person to go into the attic. After not hearing anything for 2 weeks I sent a letter indicating this should addressed ad repaired in 30 days. They did send a carpenter Aug. 26 who did take fan covers off and agreed that the fans had never been vented. Total home then called Sept.2 again citing they were not responsible because a 1 year warranty, but did indicate they MAY be willing to meet halfway on the cost of installing the fans properly. They also requested a mold report that I had done. This was faxed the next day and we have not heard from them since. In summary, both bathroom fans were left in a way they never function properly, generating a mold health hazard (4 types identified, 2 of which potential serious health risks), as well as a real fire hazard.

Desired Settlement
Given the proven mold growth, both ceilings as well as the insulation will have to removed and replaced, both fan motors need replacement and both fans need to vented properly.

Business Response
The customer contacted us about the exhaust fans in their two bathrooms not being vented outside. The original contract was to replace the fans, and not inspect the venting or to vent the fans outside. The builder had not vented these fans outside and they have exhausted into the attic for 27 years before we changed the fans.

This is an "unforsen" and not included in the contract. Had this issue been brought to our attention at the time the contract was being completed this would have been an extra charge to complete. This is not a warrant issue, and Total Home Centre offers a 1 year warrant on workmanship. This contract was complete over 7 years ago. We gave the customer a price of %500 to install venting and offered to go half and half on cost since they were a previous customer.

The mould report we received, and pictures we took were sent to an environmental engineer to overlook. The environmental engineer stated "Based on the information provided pertaining to mould impacted building materials and indoor air quality, there is insufficient supporting documentation that can be used to quantify and qualify any such impacts related to health effects as a result of exhausting air into the attic over a 7 year period." They further stated that it could not be determined when any mould appeared or what the cause of the mould was from. The pictures our installer took in the attic did not conclusively show any visual mould.

We sent the customer a letter from our lawyer stating that the warranty was over and did not cover this issue.

We are still offering a service of installing the venting at a half and half shared cost.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contract clearly states "to supply and install new bathroom fan" not replace. This could not be construed as a replacement as the fans are totally different, different sixe, different mounting hardware, and the new fans had overhead lights and night-lights requiring extensive rewiring, switching etc. I have also reviewed photos taken before, during, and after the renovations and discovered that the main bathroom DID NOT have a fan installed prior to the renovation. I guess this was allowed as that bathroom had a window that could be opened at the time (we have not been able to open the window since the renovation).

In regards to the "unforeseen" ("unforsen" in Total Homes' responce) this is clearly addressed in #12 of 'terms and conditions' of the contract and we were never advised that additional work was required.

Final Business Response
The contract does not state to supply and install new venting to fans. This would have been an extra cost if the carpenter would have made myself or the customer aware. Due to the fact that seven years have gone by, this is not covered by workmanship warranty. The cost of adding venting to the two fans is %500.00 parts and labour. We are willing to cover half of that cost.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Venting is an integral part of a fan installation and is necessary to allow for the fan to work properly and safely.
If not vented, why install a fan at all?

Facts taken from the Manufacturer's website:

1: Ducted fans must always be vented to the outdoors.
2: Broan do not sell duct-free bath fans.
3: Never exhaust air into spaces within walls, ceilings,
attics, crawl spaces or garages, as the humidity may
damage the structure and insulation.

Installation definition (ref. **********************) "Fixed or semi-fixed location of a complete system or a self-contained unit, with it's accompanying assemblies, accessories and parts. Installation generally also includes provision of a connection to services (such as power and water supply) required to make the installed equipment ready for operation."

The 'carpenter' mentioned in the Total Homes' response is/was an employee of Total Home and therefore they must assume responsibility for his workmanship or, in this case, lack thereof.

I do not feel that I should be asked to pay any amount to correct their improper installation.

I'm not sure where their response of "7" years has come from as they the completed the renovation in late April 2009 and the fan burned out in May 2015 and they were notified of the problem on July 1, 2015.

01/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Total Home/Bath Depot mislead me in a contract for renovations of my home of which they abandonned due to my dissatisfaction of the product provided.
On September 9th of 2014, I presented myself to ********** where I was searching for guidance on the layout of my proposed bathroom, and more specifically I was seeking options to fit a narrow bathtub. I was given books to review and an appointment was scheduled for an onsite visit the next morning. When the Bathroom salesman ******* visited my home, he recognized that work was also being planned for the kitchen,dining and bedroom areas, of which would require structural work. ***** notified me that ********** also has Total Home Renovations, who could do all of this work and encouraged me to consider another visit with the owner *******. I shared with ***** what my ideas were, that I had contacted cabinet makers, and that I had contacted some architechts however none had returned my calls yet. He told that Total Home will arrange for an architecht too, and those drawings would make it easier for permits. He assured that a downpayment would pay for the architecht and would be applied to the cost of the overall project, should they receive the job. Our discussion included that ***************************************************************** *** **************************************** once the pricing was complete, that we could remove elements of work as discused. I received a phone call the next day that ***** had forgotten his tablet, and I agreed to drop it off. When I arrived at the store, ***** and ***** were present. After a short introduction and discussion, I confirmed that they would engage an architecht, and I agreed that I would provide the required deposit of $2500.00. An appointment was set for September 16th, 2014. On Sept 16th, ***** and ***** attended my home. I explained the layout again to both of them, and provided the required deposit of $2500.00 by cheque ****. The contract reads, "Fee of 2500 for plans to be able to price job as per new layout." The cheque was cashed September 19th.
************, a plumber, ************ and assistant attended my residence. ***** engaged in conversation with the architecht mostly, however on a few occasions I interupted to correct and clarify the detail i was seeking.
On October 6th, I received a call that the plans and quote were ready and scheduled a meeting for Oct 10th. I went to ********** to meet with ***** and ***** to discuss the plans and pricing. I was quite disappointed at the Quote that I was provided, since it was scribbled in pencil on one sheet of paper, undated, and listed as follows;
Sink, Faucet, Bud $600
Kitchen Cabinets Bud $1800
Counter Top Bud # 500
Bathroom Complete $16544
Drywall, walls ceiling
flooring dining room Kitchen
bedroom door
Beams Labour $15530
Permit $300
$35094
HST 4562
$39656.22
This quote did not take into account the features of the design that I was clear about wanting, did not include such things as electrical work, and appeared quite inaccurate in pricing and planning for the kitchen cabinets.
I was also disappointed to see that the plans were in error in more than three places where structural work would be involved, and that a layout plan for the bathroom/bathtub was not included. I raised my disappointment when asked if I was satisfied. I received high defence from both ***** and *****, until ************ provided me with the permit application and the "Draftman's" ******************************** stamped copies of the drawings.
I contacted the draftsman to seek correction to plan and asked him of the protocol for this engagement with Total Home. He told that he would contact Total Home, since they hired him, and he would get back to me. **** returned a call to me on the same day, and told that Total Home said that he would need to deal with me directly, since they did not expect to receive the contract for work.***** returned to my home to determine the corrections necessary and charged me for an additional four hours of work. I received the revised plans from***** and paid an additional $339 on October 24th

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of $2500 less the monies paid from Total Home to *************************** in September of 2014.
I am seeking further refund of the $339 that I paid to ************ to correct the plans of Total Home.

Business Response
Sept 10, 2014 our salesman ***** arrived at the customers house for an estimate. After looking at the size of the project and work involved, ***** informed the customer that there would be a $2500.00 fee for to bring a carpenter and architect on site. The customer agreed and she made an appointment for a second visit with ***** and ******
On Sept 16, 2014 ***** and ***** went to the house an went over the customers ideas and looked at the work that the customer had began on their own. A contract was written for "Fee of 2500.00 for plans to be able to price job as per new layout". It was signed and paid for by the customer.
On Sept 19, 2014 ******************* (Total Home Centre Carpenter),*** ( a Licensed Plumber)and **** the architect arrived at the customers house. Measurements were taken and ***** went up in the attic to inspect the framing. The ideas for the renovation were presented to the architect in order for him to do the drawings.
On Oct 10, 2014 the customer meet with ***** and ***** in the store to go over the estimate. The estimate was in pencil with budget items. We carry many different brands of fixtures and give the customers budgets based on average prices. At this point the customer can choose to go ahead with the whole project, part of the project, on not go ahead at all. When the customer chooses to go ahead with part or all of the project the budget items are choose and signed off on by the customer and a proper contract is drawn up. This can not be done ahead of time as there are too many variables in a project this size. At that time the customer also goes over the layout of the project and makes any adjustments until the cost and look is what they want. The drawings and budget items are approved and signed by the customer before any work begins.
The customer decided not to go ahead and the drawings were released to her. Any changes made after that date are between the customer and the architect. The architect' standard price is $2150.00 plus HST for a total of $2429.50 for drawings.
The carpenter rate is $80/hour, ***** was over 2hrs with travel, no charge for plumber, ***** or *****. These prices exceed $2500.00 and that is why we charge a flat fee of $2500.00 for this service, which was written on a contract that the customer agreed to.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not consider the company response to be satisfactory. The ********** salesman attended my home on Sept 10th to view and consider options for fitting a bathtub in the narrow bathroom, an estimate was not the purpose of his visit. Discussion ensued about other renovations being planned for my home, of which would include structural work. The salesman offered that THC (Total Home Centre) could do all of this work, and would engage an architect should I be willing to provide a down payment of $2500. He told that the $2500 would be reduced from the price should they get the project contract. This was not presented as a fee, however the salesman did say they would arrange for the architect, and plumber with that down payment.
I do not dispute the business' comments of Sept 16, however will add that THC commented that I compromised the structure wall of where the closet was by cutting out the header.
On Sept 19, 2014 THC, brought over a Carpenter, a Plumber and ****, who is a **********, not an architect. The ideas for the renovation were presented to the drafts man by the salesman.
On Oct 10, 2014 when I went to the store, I met with the salesman over a displayed bathroom sink to review the plans and pricing. I was provided a Quote and not an estimate as stated by THC. I expected a more professional and complete quote that would detail the work tasks, so that I would have an opportunity to choose tasks to be completed by THC or otherwise. What I received did not provide me a fair opportunity to choose tasks since there was not a comprehensive break down of the work to be done.
I fully understood that the pricing for fixtures was based on middle pricing and may increase depending on my selection of fixtures. When I asked what size bathtub was being considered, the salesman showed me a standard 32 inch tub, which was too wide for the narrow bathroom. I raised concern about the kitchen Island since there was not mention of it in the quote, I reminded again that there was to be a quartz counter top and asked why pricing was provided for a laminate one. I noticed that the pricing for Kitchen cabinets was $9000 less than two estimates I had previously obtained from other companies. There was no line item listed for electrical, or plumbing work. I found this quote to be irresponsible, inaccurate, and unreasonable. ***** joined us. I pointed out that the drawings did not reflect my ideas that were shared with THC. ***** offered the draft mans business card to me and said that these plans can be adjusted, and that I could speak with **** to clarify. I was satisfied that these plan items could be corrected. The compromised closet was not included in the drawing, the engineered beam did not extend to the south wall to include the porch, and a pantry and bedroom closet were eliminated.
After some discussion, THC asked if I was pleased. I responded that I was disappointed that there was no bathroom layout to show the bathtub, and that the planning and pricing (excluding fixtures) provided appeared so inaccurate.
The salesman returned to the customer service counter, obviously angered. He was within ear shot while I spoke with ***** further to explain my dissatisfaction. After about two minutes, the salesman, in an abrupt manner, returned to me and handed me the stamped copies of the plans, with the permit application, and said I could have those, he briskly and immediately returned to the counter. *******************************************************
It was not I that decided not to go ahead, it was the salesman who abandoned this contract when he supplied me with the documents, and further THC told the drafts man to deal with me directly when he attempted to go through them to adjust the plans, since THC hired him.
Item 5 on the Terms of the Sept 16th Contract reads, "Seller agrees that all work done by the seller will be performed in a workmanlike manner." THC did not perform in this manner.
***************************************************************** ****** THC hired the drafts man to make the plans, to be able to price the job. THC, did not completely deliver what I paid for in terms of plans or pricing, and THC Abandoned this contract.

Final Business Response
The customer claims to have been misled into a contract for renovations and then abandoned, this is not the fact.

************* was told for a fee/deposit of $2500 we would bring in a architect/draftsmen and get blue prints/drawing made for the renovations, which are needed for a building permit and pricing purposes. We wrote a contract for this amount and the customer agreed to pay for it.

We delivered the drawings to the customer with a rough estimate/quote (estimate defined as "roughly calculate, or judge the value, number quantity or extent of" or quote "a quotation-giving the estimated cost for a particular job or service") for discussion or approval. It is quite apparent that the customer was disappointed with the quote. The customer did not want to discuss the quote at this time and when I asked her opinions she kept claiming she wanted to call ****** to design her bathroom and kitchen. At this time we gave her the drawings ********************************* ****************************************************. She asked if she could contact **** (draftsman )about some corrections, when she contacted **** (as per conversation with **** )she wanted to make some additional amendments to the drawings. The corrections could've been made without a site visit but **** had to do a site visit for the amendments for extra beam therefore there was an additional cost which the customer agreed to pay. The drawings the customer now has are different than the ones we discussed and priced, and the drawings have been used to obtain a building permit. Her and her father are doing the work (as per the architect).

The contract of $2500 that the customer is disputing was for these drawings. I understand the customer is upset and expected a more complex quote with details of work tasks. That was a first quote where we discuss budgets and tasks. We can only invest so many hours into pricing large jobs until we know for sure that we have the contract. As per the comment of line items listed for electrical and plumbing budget there is a budget of $2500 for the plumber in a bathroom break down and we were told that she was going to supply and electrician****************. As per last comment, "it was not I that decided not to go ahead it was the salesman who abandon this contract"..... I disagree I personally ***** offered to do another site visit and help her design the bathroom and kitchen she no longer wanted anything to do with THC and never contacted us about changing the drawings.

THC did completely deliver what she paid for with the plans and the pricing as we said. The fact that she didn't like our pricing and did not want to go ahead with us, was her decision which is, and always will remain the customers decision to decide to go ahead with a contract. We have been serving Sudbury for over 15 years ***************************************************************** ***************************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not consider the company response to be satisfactory. I was told that for a deposit of $2500, THC would bring in an Architect to draw plans for my proposed renovation so that THC could more accurately price the work projects to be be completed. Further, that work projects would be divided to permit me opportunity to select work projects to be completed by THC and that the Architect's plans would simplify permit requirements.
Terms and conditions of the contract, #2, provides that unless in writing, the permit is my responsibility.
I was provided a plan and a quote that substantially and essentially defeated the objectives of the agreement. The quote I was provided appeared significantly inaccurate, and when questioning the detail of it was faced with resistance and disrespect by the salesman. I did express my disappointment and expectation of a more accurate and detailed quote. I highlighted the multiple plan inaccuracies, and was told to contact the drafts man to make corrections. I was provided all copies of the drawings by the salesman as he appeared to give up, and relinquish any further responsibility to me, or the contract.
I told that I had drawn up about 10 estimates of this simplicity, and expected more from THC, and further that I expected at least a layout for the bathroom. On only one occasion did I suggest I would go to ****** for designing advice, and this was on my way out of the store and after the salesman acted so irrational and irresponsible.
Many corrections were requested from the draftsman, and certainly these were not additional amendments. An additional site visit was required, because of the multiple inaccuracies in the plans I paid THC to have designed for me. I had a discussion with the draftsman to determine the protocol since THC hired him. He reported that after a conversation with THC, he would deal with me directly. When **** reviewed the plans with me he commented that he was curious about why I would delete the closets from the bedroom, as it seemed an odd choice. This was never my intent, and that can be substantiated by multiple conversations I have had with others since last year when designing my layout.
The drawings I have now are significantly different from what THC provided and priced.
***************************************************************** ***************************************************************** ********************************************** My Father and I did do the work and have since completed it. I never said that I would hire a relative for electrical work, in fact I myself have done the electrical work.
I am upset and expected a more complex and accurate quote with work task details, as well as an accurate plan of my proposed layout since that is what I paid for. A second contract was to be considered based on that presentation, however the presented quote was so simple it did not provide me an opportunity to consider any separate elements of work and the drawing presented was too inaccurate to proceed. I was told to contact **** to make the corrections, was provided ****'s business card, and then through **** was told that THC wanted no part of it, thereby refusing to satisfy their obligation to deliver the plans or to accurately price. At no time did THC offer further performance, or another visit to satisfy this contract. At no time did I say that I wanted nothing to do with THC. I maintain that THC did not deliver the service I paid for and I believe their conduct and responses provide false, misleading and deceptive representations, ************ ***************************************************************** ******************************** There has not been a valid reason provided that explains why THC did not take responsibility to have the corrections made with with the draftsman or for THC to incur the additional costs. ***************************************************************** ***********************************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 31/05/2003Business started: 01/05/2001
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Denis Payment (President)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Contractors - General, Construction & Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
Bath Depot Inc, 1498325 Ont Inc
Industry Tips
Avoiding Home Improvement Scams
Hiring a Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Total Home Centre Inc

754 B Lasalle Boulevard

Sudbury, ON P3A 4V4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 754 B Lasalle Boulevard 

    Sudbury, ON P3A 4V4(705) 560-5222
    (866) 837-1117
    Fax: (705) 560-1598

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Total Home Centre Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 837-1117
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Avoiding Home Improvement Scams
Hiring a Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.