BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2013

Tony D'Angelo Construction Ltd

Phone: (613) 235-7848Fax: (613) 236-8119184 Rochester, OttawaON K1R 7M6

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2013

BBB has determined that Tony D'Angelo Construction Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tony D'Angelo Construction Ltd's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tony D'Angelo Construction Ltd

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Took $48,000.00 but failed to get building permits, failed to complete construction, abandoned site, destroyed 2 septic systems on property,
Mr. ******** took $48,000.00 from us in certified cheques. He failed to build our home. He destroyed our septic system, he failed to hire professional staff and they were installing material incorrectly.He did not attain the proper building permits. *********************************. He left the site without safety fencing. He abandoned the site. He poured faulty concrete.*******************************. ***************************************. He refused to refund our money.

Desired Settlement
Not available

Business Response
To address the complaint as written:

- The property is located approximately 1/2 block from the ****************, would be impossible to have completed the excavating, foundation, framing including the roof with the building inspectors driving by everyday without obtaining the building permits.

- Failed to complete construction due to the fact that client was unable to secure financing for payment. This firm did receive $48,000.00 from client, which didn't even cover the work which was completed. She had stated that once money was established that she would contact this firm to return to complete contract. This complaint is the first contact she has made.

-To address the "destroyed 2 septic systems", we cleared where client specified that the systems were located with her present. One septic tank was working and was being used for the cottage also located on the property, while the second system was not working, did not have any drainage connected, and was dilapitated. Advised client that she would need to hire a licensed contractor to install a new septic system for the new building before we could continue with the job. There was no destruction to the septic system on the part of this company. Work could not progress until client had a new septic system installed.

- **********************************************
***********************************************. My staff is qualified and able to perform any duties required at their given jobsite.

-At that time there was no safety fencing required, site was left in good standing. No ditches, no holes.

- To address the faulty concrete - at the time of the contract there were no apparent problems present with the concrete. Concrete was provided ready-mixed by a supplier local to ********.


- ********************************************

At this time, there is still a substantial outstanding balance on this job.

Please contact me should further information be required.

Thank you,
**** ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This address was not near ********************.
The site was left in such a dangerous condition that the Township demanded a fence be built around the site for safety reasons.
The contractor installed a cement foundation which was faulty and the subcontractor who poured the cement foundation said he would not fix this ***********************.
The plastic drainage wrap on the foundation was installed upside down and inside out according to the manufacturer who stopped in at the site when he noticed this as he was driving by.
***************************************************.They left with only the framing as far as the sub floor over the basement completed and it was faulty and the township ordered it torn down.
We called hundreds of times and wrote several letters but this company failed to ever respond.
They asked us to have a small insulated guest cabin built for their on site manager to stay in while he over saw the construction.We bought one and it was built on site but the contractors failed to pay us for it as he said he would and never came back to the property. He told us it was "the job site from ****"before abandoning the site.
The septic system was destroyed and so it required he install a complete new system. Had he not damaged the existing septic system it was grandfathered in but he did destroy it so he was responsible to replace it.
He did not clean the septic mess up and a stop work order was issued by the township and health department.I had to pay for the septic waste to be removed and have the earth removed to decontaminate the site at my own expense.
The township ordered the site cleared and when this contractor failed to do this they did it themselves and gave us an $8,000.00 bill which was added to our taxes.
The township required Mr. ******** to obtain the permits and file plans prior to the build. He failed to do either.
He should reimburse us for that as well as the townships costs. ****************************************************.

Final Business Response
2nd Response to Case # ******* ***** ********

- *******************************************************.
- The job site was within a 15 minute driving distance, the inspector would stop at the site as he drove by almost daily.
- At the time my company was on site, there was not anything dangerous on the grounds that would have required any further attention on our part. Unsure what transpired at the site once we had left the job due to client's failure to meet the progress payment schedule
- The foundation passed inspection, allowing us to continue with the framing, *************************************
-I believe the "drainage wrap" client is referring to is the weeping tile, which also needs to be approved by the inspector prior to backfilling the location.
- The framing was done complete, not just to the basement sub-floor. Our firm never received any notifications from the township with any deficiencies.
- The only correspondence received from this client was the complaint issued through the BBB 15 April, 2014. She had stated that she would contact our firm when she had the finances to continue the work and this was the first contact received by this office.
-The "kennel-building/shed" is where the client was situated when we came on the job.
- This company has never had an "on-site manager" who resides on any job we have undertaken in the 56 years we have been operating. There is no possibility that I would have agreed to assume the responsibility for the purchase of a "guest cabin" for this purpose. Our site-supervisor goes home at the end of his day.
- The septic system discrepancy was addressed in the previous response.
- ************************************************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No framing what so ever was done on this home.
The material wrapped around the basement foundation was not weeping tile. This was in addition to weeping tile which Mr. ******** also placed gravel on top of which should never be done according to the building inspectors.
***************************************************). The township office is 30 minutes away from ******** and is located in the town of ******* which is not even in the same town as my home was.
His company asked us to provide a guest cabin for ********** to stay in while he worked as a site foreman. He never showed up even once. The township put two halt work orders in place. No permits were obtained by Mr. ********. The septic tanks that were destroyed were never cleaned up and I had to pay ****************** myself to clean up that mess and satisfy the inspectors after a stop work order was issued due to that health breach. *********************************
****************************************. No fence was put around the construction site and the township found it a safety hazard and gave me 48 hours to have one installed. The township had to tear down the foundation Mr. ******** poured because of severe cracking and the wood sub-floor which had flooded the basement after a very rainy season.
I paid $48,000.00 and not only did not get my home but the little work that was done had to be torn down by the township at a cost of $8,000.00 which was added to my taxes.Mr. ******** refused to come to the site ever again and called it the job from ****. He refused to take my phone calls requesting when he was going to fix the issues. He kept all of my $48,000.00 **********************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/03/1991Business started: 01/01/1988
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony D'Angelo (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category


Alternate Business Names
790463 Ontario Inc
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor
Avoiding Home Improvement Scams

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tony D'Angelo Construction Ltd

184 Rochester

Ottawa, ON K1R 7M6

To | From


1 Locations

  • 184 Rochester 

    Ottawa, ON K1R 7M6(613) 235-7848
    Fax: (613) 236-8119

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tony D'Angelo Construction Ltd is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Contractors-General

Hiring a Contractor
Avoiding Home Improvement Scams

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.