BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2010

Shade Pro

(613) 264-5555View Additional Phone Numbers16693 Highway 7, PerthON K7H 3C9

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2010

BBB has determined that Shade Pro meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Shade Pro's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product is not what I asked for and it is defective. Sent them e-mails trying to resolve issue, I was were ignored.
This issue has been going on since January 2014. Solar blinds - had told them wanted some that I was able to see outside but people could not see inside - works fine day time but once lights are on you can see everything in the house, absolutely NO privacy, this was something I kept on repeating **********************************. In mid-January the woman sent me an e-mail, ********************, everything mentioned in that e-mail was never told to me, but then when she was at my house she kept on speaking to her husband in German so I have no clue what was said, that happened many times. Blinds are suppose to stay up on the Velcro, not so they keep on falling on the floor. For the price of custom-made solar blinds they are not of good quality. ***************************************. Paid lots of money for something that is not worth it.

Business Response
Hello ****

It is with regret that we find ourselves in this position, having to communicate through the Better Business Bureau.

We would like to address your concerns, firstly communication. You were by no means ignored. We have responded to your emails and phone calls to the best of our ability and in a polite, informative manner. As the majority of our business is conducted in the spring, summer & fall months, we are not in the office full time during the winter but we do endeavor to respond as soon as possible.

Secondly, the product that was custom produced for your sidelight windows. We explained fully the uniqueness of your door window project and spent countless hours trying to find a suitable solutions for you. This solution we reached was discussed fully with you and you accepted the product as described. The Velcro application of blinds is very successful for us. We have installed this system in a great number of homes and in particular homes that are subject to extreme heat, with no problems such as you describe. It is hard to conceive the severity of the issues you have expressed but that being said we are taking your complaint seriously. You accepted delivery of the first solar shade system(********* 5% same as supplied for the kitchen, which seems to be of no issue) July 3, 2013, on November 13 your email addressed your concern regarding the blinds, that were indeed the same fabric as the kitchen(all blinds were ordered from the same manufacturer at the same time). To address this concern, we ordered replacement blinds(********* 3%) at no cost to you and shipped them to you, also at no cost. We, once again, explained that solar blinds are never complete blackout, to be able to see out and allow light in, there is always an opaqueness to the fabric. In the evening, when the lights are on in the home, you will be able to see shapes but in no way can you see, for lack of better wording, intimate details. There is no product, that we know of, on the market that will allow you to block 100% of the view from one side but allow view from the other, it is simply not available.

On March 10, 2014 we received your email again addressing your concerns, we responded, that the email had been received and we were looking into your issues-which we have been doing. We have again checked with our manufacturers regarding your request, there is no such solar blind available. One of our suppliers does now offer a sidelight blind, but it is sheer fabric which will provide even less blockage of view, from the exterior and is twice the price, per unit, than the blinds we supplied. For this reason, we feel the only solution is to remove the blinds and repair any issues(small holes or marked paint), caused by the installation of the Velcro, to the frame of the sidelights. We are not willing to offer a refund for blinds, custom manufactured(and re manufactured) & accepted. We have made every effort to satisfy your needs to no avail.

We are a reputable company and have made every effort to address your concerns, find suitable solutions and be forthcoming with information. ****************************************
*******************************************************
***********************************************. We treat our customers with respect and as we did with you, offer our help wherever necessary(mounting & hanging drapes at no cost). We had hoped for the same in return. We strive for customer satisfaction and do hope, that despite where we find ourselves now, we can reach a suitable agreement.

Respectfully
Shade Pro





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Company's response not satisfactory - blinds are defective, too long, lopsided when hanging and do not stay attached to the Velcro.

Communication was not timely on their part, never received a reply to my 20 jan 14 e-mail. After I sent another e-mail on 10 mar 14 I finally received a reply from *** on 11 mar 14 saying my concerns were being reviewed. Having not received any reply by 27 mar 14, considering I had been waiting two months (20 jan 14) for a response, I decided to put in a complaint with BBB.

If company is seasonal with no customer service in winter months it should be noted to that effect on their web-site, how can people expect to have customer service when nobody is in the
office to answer their concerns. ******************************!!!

Blinds received - everything can be seen in the living room and other parts of the house, not only shape but actual objects on tables, furniture etc., which is not acceptable to me, having nothing over the sidelights would have the same effect as blinds received, you can see right through.

From the beginning I had specified I wanted some blinds that you could not see inside either day or night (with light on), blinds to have a total privacy to the inside of the house, cannot see anything when looking from outside. ***********************************************?

Velcro application - not because they had never encountered a problem like I have does not mean it cannot happen, they have relied on that line before. NOTE: last summer I had the same reply about my retractable screen, they had never seen that problem before but there was a problem with screen tension that took many e-mails, phone calls to get it fixed, very time consuming especially when staff does not listen to what the customer is saying about the problem encountered.

Cannot compare kitchen with sidelights, they are two different system and location. At one point I was told the company who made the kitchen blinds were not making the Velcro type thus they had to research for another company who made the Velcro type and it would take longer. Custom made: that is why a customer pays extra to have the company do the research to find the best merchandise to customer specifications and needs.

Replacement blinds - on 11 dec 13 I received a call from ********* to let me know the replacement blinds were in, when I asked about the cost and what to do with the blinds I had I was informed it was no cost to the company and to keep the blinds, she did not want them. I was told they would be sent by ********* the next day (thu 12 dec 13). When I had not received the blinds by tue (17 dec 13) I phoned and e-mailed to inquire about when I could expect delivery, never had a courtesy reply. They paid ********* fees because they did not want to drive to my house to install the blinds. Blinds were received 20 dec 13, nine days after the 11 dec 13 phone call saying the blinds would be sent by ********* the next day! ********* **************************************************...

Blinds density - version from two different person: *********'s e-mail 15 jan 14: "Solar blinds are never considered black out. Initially I explained to you that in the evenings they aren't entirely blocking as solar blinds ALWAYS are translucent up to a certain extend. If you want to have your entry door glasses blocked you need to switch to BLACKOUT material as explained several times". This was the first time someone had mentioned: 'blind are always translucent and I had to switch to blackout if I wanted total privacy/blocked glasses'. Other version from ***'s 3 apr 14 e-mail: "There is no product, that we know of, on the market that will allow you to block 100% of the view from one side but allow view from the other, it is simply not available". One person says I need to switch to blackout the other says it is not available - who am I to believe? This is a contradiction between two people working together at the same company - the words highlighted in red points out the contradiction.

Mounting and hanging of drapes at no cost: it was offered and I accepted it, when a free service is offered anybody in their right mind would accept.

My frustration comes from many issues I had with this company:
- retractable screen not working properly - *** tried to tell me nothing was wrong with it when there was a problem about the screen tension - fixed after many e-mails and phone calls
- large roll-shutter sticking to bottom window sill - corrected on its own
- roll-shutter of small living room window(left side) would not close properly due to extra slats - fixed - NOW another issue about this one came up, the strap is frayed, blinds still do not shut as smoothly as the other small living room window(right side) - *************************************'????
- basement solar blinds - chains needed to be shortened and secured to window frame - fixed
- basement windows - both windows open from left to right instead of one from the left and the other from the right to have proper airflow between the two windows, nothing can be done about that one!! - must live with it since the mistake was on their part and cannot be reversed!
- too many delays just about every time some work had to be done, delays due to personal issue, or other, excluding weather temperature. Work had to be post-pone many times, which I had to make myself available for them.

*******************************************
*********************************************. I paid extra money to have custom made merchandise which is defective and not to my specifications/needs. Blinds have been useless since mid-jan 14 and were removed, will do my own repair to holes etc.

Never made any 'threats' only mentioned I would make a complaint to BBB if I did not receive satisfaction after two months of trying to get some word from them.

**********************************************
**********************************************
*****************************************.

**************************************************
****************************************************
*****************************************************.

Bottom line is I am not satisfied with their reply I want a full refund of $480.25 for blinds that are defective. Blinds will be returned once I get a refund.




Final Business Response
From: ****************************************
Sent: Thursday, May 01, 2014 1:28 PM
To: ****************
Subject: **************************************************************

-- In regards to the response from Ms ***************** Case #*******

We are certainly not willing to refund the full amount of $425 plus tax to Ms *****************. The product ordered was custom manufactured and is not returnable. In fact we reordered a replacement product for Ms *****************, at no cost to her, to try to satisfy her request.

We are willing to refund to her the cost of the custom ordered product only, $350.00 plus tax. The remaining $75 doesn't nearly cover the costs of the numerous trips make to Ms. *****************'s residence and the admicistration costs connected to her project.

Regards
Shade Pro

Roll Shutters, Awnings, Windows, Doors and more. . .
*********************
***********************
***********************
***********************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Awnings & Canopies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 22/11/2010Business started: 01/11/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clemens Mols (Owner)Ms Stephanie Mols (Co-owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Awnings & Canopies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Shade Pro

16693 Highway 7

Perth, ON K7H 3C9

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 16693 Highway 7 

    Perth, ON K7H 3C9(613) 264-5555
    (800) 613-9980

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Shade Pro is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 613-9980
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Awnings & Canopies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.