BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 25/04/2013

My Car (Kingston branch)

Phone: (613) 766-4900Fax: (613) 766-0668View Additional Phone Numbers1390 Princess Street, KingstonON K7M 3E5

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 25/04/2013

BBB has determined that My Car (Kingston branch) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for My Car (Kingston branch) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on My Car (Kingston branch)

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was attempting to get a car loan approved, put $200 deposit on vehicle, unable to get approved and will not provide refund.
I was attempting to get a car loan approved and was asked to place a $200 deposit to secure the vehicle (even though they state no money down). When the loan application didn't go through I was told I would get a refund. Over a month has gone by with no refund check in the mail. I contacted them by phone a few days ago for an update, and they claim to have no record of my file and said I never made a payment.

After arguing for over an hour on the phone because I have my receipt, the manager claimed that the person assisting me had "quit", shortly after handling my initial car request, resulting in my refund not happening ***************************************************************** **************
After giving him the receipt number as well as the representatives name, the person stated they would be getting my refund to me within the next week.

I still have heard nothing from the company, and an unable to get my calls answered or returned at this point.
Representative that assisted me and took my payment was named **** (paid by debit, ***********************************************
Payment made 12/11/14, $200, detail ********* number at the too right hand side of invoice *********
*************************************************

Desired Settlement
At this point, I would just like the money that I am owed, as holding $200 for over a month ** **********************

Business Response
We are very sorry that you didn't receive your deposit back in a timely manner. We did issue you a cheque on February 9, 2015 and mailed it to your address but it was returned to us on February 18th with an incomplete address.
I will contact you at the phone number on this complaint to confirm your address before we resend a cheque.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive a call regarding the returned check and have confirmed my mailing address, yet again. This is now the third time I have provided my mailing address in order to receive my "refund", and I have still yet to see my money. We are slowly nearing 3 months now. *****************************.
Shouldn't my address be on file? Considering you have photocopies of my information, as well as drivers license and pay stubs (which all include my address).
************************************************************

How do I even know my information is secure with you? ********************************************************

Final Business Response
We once again apologize for issues you have sustained. We did issue a cheque in the amount of $200.00 to you, and it was cashed on February 27th 2015.

We would like to extend our apologies by issuing you a $50.00 gas certificate which will be available for pick up in the ******** location.

We thank you for your business.

04/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Engine light from test drive. Cat conv.changed to pass safety- found out after buying it was not the right one. 1yr later still not resolved.
I don't have the original complaint number but this is the second time I've complained about MyCar. I retracted my last complain by request after they fixed the issues(After a complaint to the BBB and ****).
As mentioned previously I had taken my ********* to ***** to find out why the Engine light came on-at that time they had told me that the Cat Conv. Was the wrong one. Shortly after I requested the documents to check out the the converter (it was purchased from ****). They looked up the part and it was discovered that it was for the MANUAL transmission-mine is AUTOMATIC. I also had my personal mechanic look at it (************************************) who thought it was too small. **** told me to go back to MyCar.
They escalated it to Head Office and I started dealing with *****. When I met with him on Nov.11th, he admitted that the car should not have been listed (too many KM and usually goes to auction). During the meeting he kept over estimating both the time since I bought the vehicle and the mileage. I have a witness to this. I corrected him. He offered to let me out of the lease and get me into a new car. I felt relieved until the next day he said I would get 1000-1500 for a vehicle that I still owed 9000 on.
So I obviously went the route to get the car fixed. He said he would look into it. At one point he said he would gladly change the converter if I signed a document stating it would solve the issue. H e says it ****'s fault for giving them the wrong part....A few phone calls later and 3 months, the problem has STILL not been resolved. It's now One year since I have had the vehicle and the LIGHT is still on ******************************. All I ask is for the car to be fixed and no engine light on. And not come back 2 weeks later.

Desired Settlement
Not available

Business Response
In response to BBB Case# *******, you will see the following documentation that shows we fixed the misfire but also replaced the catalytic converter. The vehicle had no light on and had no issues with it for quite some time. We have a 30 day warranty in which all work orders have been supplied and were well over that period of time. **************************************************
***********************************************. I contacted **** ********** and confirmed that we did use the correct converter. I have yet to receive anything in writing from garage the client is referring to. I am awaiting documentation supporting the client's claims. I have exhausted all avenues for this client.
Please see my Service department's statement that the catalytic converter is not at fault for the misfire that we repaired. I will await the documentation stating that this converter is the problem and the cause of the warranty or a faulty part. This vehicle is used as a courier vehicle and will definitely need routine maintenance and repairs as long as he owns the car. Please also see the attached E-test or drive clean showing the vehicle to be operating above industry standards at the time of purchase.
Thank You
*****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Re: contact in writing. Back in November ***** had said HE was going to contact my mechanic. after a month of No contact, I called ***** and he told me that he hadn't got around to it because he was so busy. He never asked for a report from my mechanic. He DID however say he would replace the converter if I would sign a document stating that if replaced that it would solve the engine light issue.
Re: cat not having anything to do with misfiring. Yep, he's right, It was the coils causing that.
Re: delivery vehicle. Obviously needs regular Maintenance. Has nothing to do with the fact that the wrong cat is on. ****************************** told me it was for the manual transmission and to contact MyCar. I did.


Final Business Response
From: **************************************************
Sent: Monday, April 14, 2014 11:15 AM
To: ****************
Subject: #*******... *****************

I have spoke to ******* and to *************** and will agree to the solution.I will credit ******* the amount of the catalytic converter which is 413.96 tax included . He can then use that money to have his mechanic install another converter . Thanks for your help in resolving this matter..
ps
**** will require ******* to return the core to **** store in ******** .

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is getting us nowhere. I've talked to **** and explained the situation. They are willing to refund the converter once my mechanic installs a new one. All they need is the original work order where MyCar changed the cat. Again, this was done BEFORE I took possession. I've already stated verbally that I was willing to pay the difference to have the ***** part put on. It's now in text. MyCar will have no further costs and we can put this behind us. This will cost them nothing. Just send **** the work order.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Truck Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/07/2011Business started: 01/07/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1993, ON

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Boehme (Manager)Ms. Erin Dalgleish (Assistant Controller)Mr. Brian Sheehan (President)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Truck Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Rideau Valley Motors Inc., 1024336 Ontario Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for My Car (Kingston branch)

1390 Princess Street

Kingston, ON K7M 3E5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1390 Princess Street 

    Kingston, ON K7M 3E5(866) 239-7066

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Ottawa, ONServing Eastern and NorthernOntario and the Outaouais. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*My Car (Kingston branch) is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 239-7066
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.