This business is not BBB accredited.

AAMCO Transmissions

Phone: (503) 259-8640 Fax: (503) 259-2955 18950 SW Shaw St, Aloha, OR 97007 http://www.aamcoaloha.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and maintenance specializing in transmission service.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2009 Business started: 02/27/2006 Business started locally: 02/27/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Szekely, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Szekely, Member
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm
Saturday 9am - 1pm
Alternate Business Names
GHJ3 Enterprises LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18950 SW Shaw St

    Aloha, OR 97007 (503) 259-8640

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aamco advertised free "engine light" service check up on T.V. and P.C.when I took my car in I asked ****** ******* (manager) if this will cost me anything and he replied "no". I called for the estimate and was told he needed to do a diagnostic check , that it would take about an hour and he'd have my estimate ready. There was NO mention of money, I never signed anything stating it was okay to to do any chargeable work on my car. He charged me $175.00 for looking my car over, no repairs were done and in fact my car made a load screeching noise when I started it and my steering wheel vibrated. He said to drive it for awhile and it will go away.

Desired Settlement: $175.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/10/03) */ I have had several conversations with ***** ********. We refunded the entire amount that she was charged. I apologized for any inconveniences. There was a mis-communication with the customer and the manager. I reiterated with the manager that along with explaining to the customers what we are doing, he must get a signature as authorization when the customer is present in the store. I also reviewed other items of feedback with the manager that ***** had given me that she did not document in this complaint. I believe she is satisfied now. Thanks, **** *******

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car towed by AAMCO for an free inspection and quotation. I didn't agree with the prices as they asked for an absurd amount of money only to look at the issues. I advised I am unable to afford the service and that I will be bringing my vehicle to another location. The man at the front desk, ***, proceeded to call my boyfriend and I lairs in regards to other quotes we have been provided. We politely asked for him to button up the car and place the vehicle in an area easily accessible so another tow truck can pick it up. My insurance provided a flatbed truck today and was unable to move the vehicle. Before I brought the vehicle to AAMCO, I had no issues

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for the damages they caused to the outside of the vehicle as well as all the damage caused to the electrical system and transmission.

Consumer Response: This is a continuation of my complaint as I was unable to complete it before it was submitted.

Before I brought my vehicle to AAMCO, I had ZERO issues with the electrical system and I was able to move the vehicle in reverse easily. Now, my dashboard blinks, beeps and the needles bounce. The initial reason I brought my car there is because driving was an issue, but it would still propell forward. When we were ready to tow the car, we found they had backed the car into the wall causing damage to the rear bumper. We then tried to hoist the car onto the flatbed and found the transmission was completely seized. We attempted to even put the car in neutral and it wouldnt budge. They have intentionally made my vehicle worse and when my boyfriend called, Dan to obtain their insurance information, he was hung up on! Throughout this whole ordeal, this location has been completely unprofessional!

Business Response: The customer had their car towed in for us to look at the transmission. The car did not move when it arrived to our shop. We used our car pusher to move it from the tow truck into the shop on a vehicle lift. We removed the transmission pan to find it full of metal and burnt clutch material. We showed the customer the transmission pan and advised the customer that the transmission needed to be rebuilt. We further advised her of the price. She did not like the price and said that someone else gave them a much lower estimate. This estimate was absurdly low for the industry. We cautioned the customer that the low estimate was less then just the labor to remove, re-install the transmission on this type of vehicle. We were concerned that she wouldn't be getting what she expected. We were trying to educate the customer so she didn't purchase what she thought was a rebuilt transmission. She chose, as is her right, to have the work done somewhere else. She asked us to put the transmission pan back on, put the vehicle outside and she would come by after normal business hours to tow it out.
The following day she called and said that she could not tow the car out because the rear bumper was too close to the wall and in-fact was damaged by the wall when the tried to tow out the vehicle.
We put the car in neutral and pushed the car further from the wall. We also cleaned off the paint transfer that occurred when the customer's tow provider tried to move the car the night before. There was no residual damage after this cleaning.

We called the customer and told her that we had moved the vehicle further from the wall for her. She had the vehicle towed out that night after hours.

In summary, we did not damage the outside of her vehicle, the tow provider that she chose did the damage and the minute damage that was there (paint transfer) we cleaned for her. The electrical damage inside the transmission was there when it arrived at our shop. We did not even test drive this vehicle. The customer had the vehicle towed into the shop and it did not move off the tow truck, it needed to be pushed into the shop. We only removed the transmission pan.

I understand this customer is upset because her vehicle needed some unplanned repairs, but we were not responsible for these repairs nor were we responsible for the external damage.

Thanks,
Jeff S******


Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This statement is completely sugar coated in an attempt to make the situation sound better than It actually is. We were never once shown the pan and when I advised I would not be proceeding with the services, Dan's demeanor changed and immediatly called us liars after I explained I found another mechanic that would be willing to actually repair the damages vs. charging $950 dollars to "take a look". This company was never once concerned about my well being before their own. Also, when I initally attempted to have the vehicle towed off the property, a flatbed was sent and the vehicle in-fact could not be hoisted onto the bed even in neutral. The tow was then cancelled and a new truck with a dolly system was dispatched. The paint transfer indeed took place due to careless employees of this establishment as the damage was already in place before the truck even arrived; I have the pictures and enough documentation to prove it. In regards to the electrical damage, I never had any until I brought the vehicle in and I have owned this car for 6 years with zero issues. Not only will I never return to any AAMCO location, and this company may not have to pay for my vehicle, but I can assure this will cost much more in the long run for them as a "business." I would suggest taking corrective action with Dan and learning to own up to mistakes instead of trying place blame onto potential customers.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)