This business is not BBB accredited.

AAMCO Tigard

Phone: (503) 684-0861 Fax: (503) 620-5811 13701 SW Pacific Hwy, Portland, OR 97223 http://www.aamcotigard.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and maintenance specializing in transmission service.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AAMCO Tigard include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Tigard include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Tigard
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 09, 1999 Business started: 04/01/1997 Business started locally: 04/01/1997 Business incorporated 02/27/2006 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Szekely, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Szekely, Managing Member
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm
Saturday 9am - 1pm
Alternate Business Names
G H J Enterprises LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAMCO Tigard has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13701 SW Pacific Hwy

    Portland, OR 97223 (503) 684-0861

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of this year, I took my vehicle to AAMCO Tigard and had several major services performed including: replacing the timing belt, new O-rings, repair of an oil leak and transmission fluid flush. The estimate I received was for around $1400. Worth noting, they did not provide me with a copy of the estimate. When I finally picked up my car a week later, after being told the work would be completed in a couple of days, the bill I was presented with was over $1600.00. I questioned that amount since it was much higher than the estimate and I was not contacted to authorize any additional work. The manager, Jim, started taking stuff off the bill and manipulating the system to get the bill down to $1400.00. The entire time he was telling me about his recent vacation with his wife in New York and did not seem to be paying much attention to what he was actually doing on the computer. I paid the enormous bill and have a copy of the receipt for the work they claim to have done, but again, since he just randomly started taking stuff off the bill, I have no idea what work was actually done other than what was reflected on the receipt. This month, I received a recall notice from Honda regarding an airbag issue with my Accord. I took it to the Honda Dealership in Beaverton to have the recall work completed. They did a courtesy safety check and advised that the vehicle has an oil leak that needs repaired, a new timing belt because the old one is worn out and a transmission flush because the fluid is filthy. I contacted AAMCO immediately to report the issue and question what work they had actually done based on the results of the inspection by another mechanic. I not heard back from anyone at AAMCO after 3 attempts to contact them. Clearly, they either charged me for work they did not actually perform or their work was so subpar that it's already in need of repair again. This is completely unacceptable and I need to enlist the help of the BBB to get this resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want AAMCO to be held responsible for their actions and extremely poor business practice, lack of response and horrible customer service. They owe me every dime of the $1,400.00 they charged me for work that now needs to be done by a real mechanic who actually knows what they are doing. This is a classic mechanic rip-off situation and a full refund is the only solution that will make this right.

Consumer Response: From: *** ****** [mailto:*******@comcast.net] 
Sent: Monday, August 24, 2015 11:50 AM
To: AAMCO TIGARD <***********@gmail.com>
Cc: complaints <**********@thebbb.org>
Subject: Re: Your 2001 Honda

Jim,
 
This is not an acceptable solution.  I have no confidence that your shop would be straight with me on what needs to be re-done based on my experience of this entire scenario.  I have spoken to the dealership and they have confirmed that yes, often times the recommendation of a timing belt is based on the service records and whether or not it was performed at their shop or not.  However, they clearly found an oil leak (which according the receipt I have from Aamco for the O-ring replacement service performed) with should not be an issue. Aamco clearly did not fix the oil leak or did a subpar job. Either way, I am not comfortable bringing my car back to Aamco for further diagnostics based on the subpar work that was done. Additionally, I can't afford to be without my car for over a week, which is how long you kept it before, so bringing back to your shop is not an option.
 
I have an appointment to have my car serviced at ********* ***** in early September.  I will send you the detailed invoice of what they had to repair when it's complete.  You can then compare the services done at Aamco and issue a refund for the work that had to be re-done at the dealership.
 
 
BBB - this is in regard to case ID# ********

________________________________________
From: "AAMCO TIGARD" <***********@gmail.com>
To: *******@comcast.net
Sent: Thursday, August 13, 2015 6:15:12 AM
Subject: Your 2001 Honda

Hi ********,

I just received this email.  Sorry for the delay.  Please bring the vehicle by the shop and we will look at these items together.  If there is an issue with any of the work we preformed, we will make it right.  It is very typical for a repair shop to make a recommendation of a timing belt by the miles on the vehicle without actually inspecting the belt.  This is what I believe occurred.  As for the leaks. if there are leaks from the areas where we did work, we will make it right.  Please call me so we can schedule a convenient time for you to come to the shop so we can look at these items together.




-- 
Yours in service,
 Jim 
Aamco - Tigard, OR
***** ********
***********@gmail.com
 

Business Response:

Hi,

 

I'd like to respond to this complaint #********.  I'm not sure why this didn't come to my inbox.   Iwas not aware this was a complaint.   I have been trying to work with customer.  She send an email to the manager expressing her concerns.  The manager has called and emailed the customer to bring back the vehicle so we can review the issues together.  It is our desire to resolve this issue.

 

Thanks,

Jeff S******

AAMCO Transmissions

***** ** ******* ***

Tigard, OR 97229

Business Response: Hi ***,



I wish you would have taken me up on my offer to bring the
vehicle back to my shop and let me review each item in question with you.
 I would have been happy to do so and address any issue that you had.
 By not allowing me to do this and having the work done elsewhere, you
have not given me the opportunity to honor my warranty.  I will, however, make
a few comments since you sent the dealership’s invoicing and I can now see
their recommendations:

1.      
Initially you said that we did not do the timing
belt.   I responded that many times the dealership
will make this recommendation based on mileage without inspecting the
belt.  Since this work was not done at
the dealership, I’m assuming that is what occurred.  On my invoice you starred new crankshaft seal
, oil pump seal,  and O-ring, but the
dealership did not do any work in this area. 
I can only assume that the timing belt work was up to standard.

2.      
On my invoice you starred power steering
service, but there was no work done to the power steering system on the
dealerships invoice.  I assume again that
this was starred in error.

3.      
You starred on my invoice the leak we fixed on
the distributor.  The work we did here
was to remove the distributor and replace the O-ring that deteriorates and
causes the leak to occur.  We charged you
$60.00 in labor to do this and $12.00 for the o-ring for a grand total of
$72.00.  The dealership replaced the
entire distributor to address the leaking o-ring.  They charged you $284.81 for the entire distributor
and $199.50 in labor to replace the distributor (which is about the same amount
of labor time required to change the o-ring) 
The grand total for this work at the dealership was $484.31.  It seems to me that the dealership is
charging you more to do the same work that we did.  I did not get to inspect this before you had
the work done.  I have my doubts, if this
was even leaking.  However if it was, I would
have been glad repaired this under warranty.

4.      
You starred the valve cover on my invoice.  We charged you $167.49 parts and labor to do
this job, the dealership charged you $189.95 to do this job.  The pricing for this job is closer to what it
should be.  I have the same comment as
above.    I have my doubts, if this was leaking.  However if it was leaking, I would have gladly
repaired this under warranty.

5.      
Lastly you highlighted a fuel injection service
that was done at the dealership.  We did
not perform this service.  I’m not sure
why you highlighted it?

In summary, I would have been happy to review all my work with
you and make sure it was up to standard. 
I would have been happy to repair anything under warranty that was not
up to standard.  I offered this to you
and you declined and opted to take the vehicle elsewhere.  Under this situation I do not feel obligated
to these expenses.

Thanks,

Jeff

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because it is abundantly clear that AAMCO Tigard has no interest in actually resolving this issue.  I rejected the response I receive from "Jim" stating that he would make it "right" if I brought my car back.  Why would I give them another chance to mess up my car even more?  Also, who is "Jeff"?  You have not been in contact with me until this note, the person I have been dealing with during this nightmare calls himself "Jim".  Does anyone at AAMCO Tigard know what they are doing?  You can't even get the facts straight in communicating who has contacted me.  Regarding the response filled with only excuses from "Jeff," the vehicle CLEARLY had an oil leak and all "Jeff' has to say in his response is that he has his "doubts."  That is a giant copout.  This has been the single most frustrating experience I've ever encountered in dealing with horrible service.  I am shocked and appalled by the unwillingness of AAMCO Tigard to resolve this issue.  I will NEVER recommend AAMCO to anyone and will be sure to spread the word in my social media outlets about how awful the business is. Here's a thought "Jeff" or "Jim" whoever is actually the manager at AAMCO - try living up to your word, taking accountability for your actions and actually working to resolve the problems you create. 

Completely dissatisfied,

******** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Tigard
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart