BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Universal Timeshare Sales Associates

Find a Location

Fax: (888) 395-7276View Additional Phone Numbers14525 SW Millikan Way Pmb 17820, BeavertonOR 97005-2343http://www.universaltimesharesa.com ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Universal Timeshare Sales Associates is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

On October 7, 2010, BBB became aware Universal Timeshare Sales Associates was advising consumers to view its "BBB license number" in its outgoing e-mails or sales presentations.

BBB does not issue license numbers. This may imply an endorsement, and BBB serving Alaska, Oregon and Western Washington does not endorse any product, company or service. This may also imply BBB Accreditation, although this company is not a BBB Accredited Business.

On February 9, 2011, BBB received an agreement signed by Travis Whitten that this information will be removed from all its sales presentations. As of March 30, 2011, BBB was notified the company continues to claim it has a "BBB license number."

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Universal Timeshare Sales Associates' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • 246 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 88 complaints filed against business.
  • 70 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • 51 serious complaints filed against business.
  • Government action(s) against business.

On April 25, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding contract, service and customer service issues.

Consumers allege Universal Timeshare Sales Associates contacts them and states there is a buyer interested in purchasing their timeshare. Consumers claim in order to complete the transaction, the company asks for money up front to cover a presentation fee, ranging from $1,100 to $2,200; this initial payment is charged to the consumer's credit card. Consumers claim they are also charged an international fee, which they were not previously made aware of.

Consumers also allege after paying the fee, the company advises them it will take 90 days for the deal to close; however, long after the 90-day period has passed, the company requests the consumers send more money via Western Union. Consumers claim after making the additional payment, the deal still does not close, sometimes even after more than a year has passed.

Consumers further allege the company is unresponsive to requests for assistance.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

246 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 57 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues98
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service138
Total Closed Complaints 246

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Universal Timeshare Sales Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (246)BBB Closure Definitions
05/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
04/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 18
07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: I signed the Contract with the following Company oin April of 2012 for help to sell my property in Riviera Maya, Mexico. later, I was tols that byers are found and I need to pay Closing charge $2200.00. Last month I was told that the final meetinf g with byers will be on April 5th and then I will get my promised check for $28.500. Now for a few days the phone is busy, nobody picks up, and I have a feeling, that this Company just stole money from people and closed their business.

Consumer's Final Response


I would like to bring to your attention that I am trying to reach Timeshare Customer service for a few days, but their phone is disconnected. I am thinking to go to Police Department and ask for a help. I am still hope, that someone from the Timeshare Universal will call me.
Thank you

******** ********

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 14
10/25/2011Problems with Product / Service
09/07/2011Problems with Product / Service
11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: In August 2011 I signed contract to sell my Timeshare and paid $780.00 fee. I was informed, that Universal already has buyer and my timeshare will be sold in 60 days. For first few months I was able to communicate with representatives. They were postponing finalizing the contract. Since beginning of 2013 I'm not able to get in contact with Universal by telephone or e-mail.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: On May 31, 2011, I provided Universal Timeshare Sales Associates (UTSA) with $1,800 in exchange for UTSA's timeshare sales services. In the agreement, UTSA states that UTSA does not accept any property that it does not believe it can sell within 90 days. After a few months, I contacted UTSA to see how the process was going. The asking price for the timeshare was $16,000. After about a year, UTSA informed me that it had a buyer for the property, but that it would not disperse the funds to me until both of the installment payments were received from the buyer. A few months later, I attempted to follow up with UTSA and discovered that the phone lines were disconnected and the e-mail address had been closed. My agent at the company was ******** ********* #XXXXX.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Universal Timeshare was suppose to sell my time share now about two years. Now I can not get in contact with this company.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

09/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Universal timeshare upfront $1100.00 to sale my timeshare. They said they sold the timeshare in April of 2012 dragged me around for 1 year till April 2014. The claimed they were waiting on the buyer then on the closing procedure and in late May2013 the phone numbers stopped working. They seem to take a lot of people's money please help!

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

08/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: On February 21, 2013 I received a phone call from************** of Universal Timeshare SA advising that he had a guaranteed sale of my timeshare located in Las Vegas. I was told that I needed to pay $1,700 for the title search and title insurance. I was also told that I could put this on my American Express card and if I did not receive the sale information from UT that I could cancel the transaction with AMX. I did authorize the card to be charge ONLY after confirming with AMX that I could in fact dispute the charge if services were not received as promised. I clarified this several times with AMX. That was on February 22, 2013 and also the last time I've ever heard from Universal Timeshare. I disputed the charges with AMX and they did do an investigation with receiving a letter from UT stating that they have been in contact with me several times since 2/22/13 which is a complete fabrication of lies. I've tried to call them several times and IF the phone gets answered, I am put on hold and after 6 minutes the line is disconnected. With the verbal contract that************** gave stating that they had a guaranteed sale I expect my timeshare to be sold and as of today - 7/26/13 it is not.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Page 1 of 18

Industry Comparison| Chart

Timeshare Resale and Rental Marketing, Timeshare Companies, Marketing Programs & Services

Additional Information

top

According to BBB files, this company advertises its location as 14525 SW Millikan Way Pmb 17820. BBB has determined that is the address for a business offering PO boxes and mail management services. Based on information available to BBB, this address is not a physical location for Universal Timeshare Sales Associates.

BBB generally reports 100% of all reportable complaints except for those businesses who maintain a large volume of complaints. BBB currently publishes 30% for Universal Timeshare Sales Associates.

BBB file opened: 06/17/2010Business started: 06/18/2009
Licensing

According to Oregon Secretary of State, businesses operating in Oregon need to be registered with the Secretary of State. Universal Timeshare Sales Associates does not have an Oregon registration. To verify the company's current status, please contact the Secretary of State at (503) 986-2200 or www.sos.state.or.us.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Travis Whitten (Owner)
Business Category

Timeshare Resale and Rental Marketing, Timeshare Companies, Marketing Programs & Services

Alternate Business Names
U T S A
Industry Tips
Timeshare Resale & Listing Services
Advertising Online - Before You Start, Get to Know the Ground Rules
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Customer Testimonials: Getting The Word Out About Your Business
How to Evaluate Network or Matrix Marketing Plans
Ordering Specialty Advertising Items Can Be Good for Business
Reselling Your Timeshare
Telemarketing Schemes and Scams
Timeshare Scams Can Bilk the Unsuspecting
Vacation and Travel

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Universal Timeshare Sales Associates

14525 SW Millikan Way Pmb 17820

Beaverton, OR 97005-2343

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 11790 SW Beaverton Hillsdale Hwy 

    Beaverton, OR 97005

  • 14525 SW Millikan Way Pmb 17820 

    Beaverton, OR 97005-2343(866) 590-7029
    (866) 590-7029
    (888) 491-5982
    (503) 914-1313

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Universal Timeshare Sales Associates is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 491-5982
  • (503) 914-1313
  • (866) 590-7029
  • (866) 590-7029
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On October 7, 2010, BBB became aware Universal Timeshare Sales Associates was advising consumers to view its "BBB license number" in its outgoing e-mails or sales presentations.

BBB does not issue license numbers. This may imply an endorsement, and BBB serving Alaska, Oregon and Western Washington does not endorse any product, company or service. This may also imply BBB Accreditation, although this company is not a BBB Accredited Business.

On February 9, 2011, BBB received an agreement signed by Travis Whitten that this information will be removed from all its sales presentations. As of March 30, 2011, BBB was notified the company continues to claim it has a "BBB license number."

There is a government action involving this business.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.