BBB Accredited Business since

Clearwater Spas

Phone: (503) 370-8236 Fax: (503) 370-8240 3365 Commercial St SE, Salem, OR 97302 http://www.cwssalem.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales of spas, servicing of spas and pools as well as parts and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clearwater Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clearwater Spas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clearwater Spas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Scott Burns, Manager Mr. Paul Younk, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Burns, Manager
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
9:00am - 6:00pm

Saturday
9:00am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
CWS of Oregon LLC

Additional Locations

  • 3365 Commercial St SE

    Salem, OR 97302 (503) 370-8236

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sought out services from clearwater spas to repair my hot tub. They came out and repaired it but came back at lease 6 times because they couldnt get it right. The fuse kept blowing after they installed it. they couldnt fix it or figure it out so they repalced the two new pumps they had just put in. I constantly had issues wtih the repair that cost over 2000.00. I have nothing to show for it but a broken hotub. The second set of pumps went bad as well.It became such an issue that I filed a complaint with the attorney general. They accepted my complaints but turned over to a construction board which then told me they did not violate any code so there is nothing they could do to help me. i talked with the store several times pleading wtih them to either give me my money back or fix my hotub right. They refused. The repairman that fixed it had either gotten fired or they let him go because they refused to let me talk to him or help me in any way. I took out a loan to fix this hotub which im going to be paying on for 3 years. I really am pleading for your help. I am sick about all the money I gave them for nothing and all they could do was be rude in the end and tell me they were done with me, that they were satisfied with the work they have done and that they had done their part and nothing else can be done. I am now seeking out a new repair service so I will have to pay again. Please help. ***** *******

Desired Settlement: $2000.00 for botched repair service.

Business Response: We have all paperwork in order all repairs were completed with full professionalism. When this customer called the store the last two times she was first crying and screaming. The last time she was using extremely unprofessional language and threatened us with the attorney general saying I have used this to get my money back before. We are more then willing to submit all documents to the BBB and have them review it. Most of the 2000 dollars were jets that her fiance or boyfriend purchased to the amount of 800 dollars.I believe his name is **** ******. The rest was pump replacement and we even went back out and warranty replaced the pump for her. The tech has not been fired. He has been servicing hot tubs for 15 years and this is the first time a BBB or Attorney General complaint has been brought which was closed . Clearwater Spas stands behind all of our work and warranties all of our products. But we will not be yelled at with foul language,berated and called idiots nor spoke to in an unprofessional manner. She called and said she thought they wanted a new tub so we helped with that they never called back. The next time they called us was a few weeks later and saying we needed to fix it or else. We tried to get something set up and she started screaming at everyone. Our original service call went unpaid for over 120 days. The reason she paid us after that call was because she needed our services again. We also filed no complaint for her not paying nor did we contact our attorney to get our money. Please contact us for any further discussion.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are a lot of things in Clearwater spas comments that are not true. I didn't pay them right away because the repair was not right and I told them I would not pay until it was right and they agreed. Even came out and replaced the pumps since they could not figure out why it kept blowing fuses. I did not ask for further services. Every call they got from me was following up on the repair and complaints that this repair went bad. Things went smoothly for a few weeks then started with the same grinding noise that we started with. I agree that Clearwater spas did try to help me but they didn't follow through. They also replaced jets that are faulty and they won't spin. They only replaced half of them and left the old ones there that fell out within days of replacing the other ones. These jets were not authorized by me. They put them in without an estimate or even approving it through me the owner and homeowner. I have been very frustrated with this company and I did yell at them but I forked out a lot of money to these folks and have nothing to show for it. When I called the last time they told me that the repairman *** no longer worked there and that they felt they owe me nothing and that they have fulfilled their obligation to me. That's when I got very upset and yelled at them. I'm paying on a loan for 3 years for that repair. They also told me on the phone that they would sell me a new hotub and give me $1000 off the price for my trouble but then refused to do it. I called this company numerous times as well and they would not return my calls.

Business Response: We did and will honor 1000 off a new hot tub at anytime for this customer. *** has never been a repairman. He retired he was a sales manager. The repairman is still active and repairing. The jets replacement was by a legal over 18 adult that was at the residence at the time of repair. All repairs are done by the same tech.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this offer. I love my hotub and I don't want a new one because I can't afford one and the one I have is not garbage. I want MY hotub. I will accept 1000.00 cash but not a offer for a new hotub

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not going to let this go. No I do not agree. I was taken advantage of by this company and ripped off by them. I agree to mediation until this is resolved. This company obviously doesn't care if they resolve this like they promised the BBC they when they signed up.

Business Response: We're not going to do that. We have over $1000.00. worth of time and parts invested in the hot tub. We've offered her discounts on a new tub which we don't usually do.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Clearwater Spas
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)