This business is not BBB accredited.

Amazing Siding Corporation of Seattle

Phone: (206) 575-8979 Fax: (206) 575-8906 7017 NE Highway 99 Ste 106, Vancouver, WA 98665 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.amazingsiding.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vinyl siding services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amazing Siding Corporation of Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 01/01/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982
BBB confirmed that the license from Washington Department of Labor & Industries expired.

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Business Management
Mr. Ken Olinger, Vice President Mr. Philip Birner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Olinger, Vice President
Business Category

Siding Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Amazing Siding & Windows Olinger Enterprises Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7017 NE Highway 99 Ste 106

    Vancouver, WA 98665 (206) 575-8979

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon getting estimates for replacing T-ll siding, Amazing siding sales represented stated the ***** ****** siding would better. I only had the LP on the east side of the house replaced with the ***** ****** at a cost double what the LP would have cost me. He stated the exhaust vents would be flush to the siding after I asked because of the possibility of moisture. The exhausts vents are not flush to the siding and are caulked. The siding its self it all wavy across the entire side of the house. Decreasing the resale value of the house. The painter stated it would only look worse once it was painted. It's not a little wavy, it is like the siding is scalloped across the side of the house. It looks awful and there's the possibility of moisture. When the person from Amazing siding came to review the problem he stated that sometimes happens depending on the structure of the house. The sales people do not inform customers of that because it would cost them business. I was never informed the siding may be extremely wavy upon sale. Had I been informed I would gone with the T-11 which I had been going to get to start with. No one has contacted me after the representative from Amazing siding came to see the problem the first week of January.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the side of my house to either have the wavy siding replaced with T-11 or be refunded half of the cost I have paid because of the decrease in resale of my home and the awful look of the siding with the waves. The siding cost me $6900.00 and it has substandard results. I would settle for replacement or $3450.00 refunded to the account which was opened at ** by Amazing siding for the job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/31) */ When we completed the installation of the siding and our own inspection we asked the homeowner to inspect the project and make sure she was happy with our work, which she did and then signed a completion certificate stating that all work had been performed to her satisfaction. When she called in the beginning of January we sent someone to the home to do another inspection: Her complaint being the siding is wavy. The siding is not wavy the structure of the wall is wavy. The siding has been installed according to the manufacturers specification and can only contour to the surface it is installed over, as to the exhaust vents being flush to the siding, this makes no sense, any vent, hose bib, light block,or any other such accessory requires a mounting block and are never flush to the siding nor are the existing ones. In conclusion after inspecting the project we find no problem with the siding material or other materials used in conjunction with the siding, nor is there any problem with the installation. The waviness of the wall is due to the framing and substrate of the wall itself.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This past summer (May 2013), I purchased and had installed a replacement garden window from Amazing Siding and Windows (Amazing). The old garden window was installed in the early 1970s, had an aluminum frame and was no longer energy efficient. After the install, I learned of an energy rebate for replacement windows offered by ***** ****** ********** Amazing Siding and Windows is listed as a participating contractor. It took several emails to Amazing and ***** ****** ********* over a couple of months to get Amazing to complete and submit the appropriate documents to ***** ****** ********* in order to receive the rebate. In November, ***** ****** ********* informed me that my window did not qualify as the U Value must be 3.0 or less to be eligible for the rebate. However, I had purchased the upgraded garden window to "premium" to receive the better U Value and to have an energy efficient garden window (otherwise I would have kept the old window). I asked Amazing about the U Value discrepancy, what they provided ***** ****** ********* compared to what I purchased. After repeating the question several times through several emails, I was informed by Amazing that garden windows have no U Value. When asked to explain (1) why a garden window has no U Value, and (2) why I was up-sold to a "premium" window due to the U Value, I have received no response. My unanswered questions: Why does a garden window have no U Value? Why was I up-sold a window based on the U Value, if there is no U Value? Why did it take them so long to admit they sold and installed something under-rated and under-valued from what I purchased? I believe their business practices are unethical and illegal. I expect the energy efficient window, that I purchased.

Desired Settlement: Money refunded so I can have another company install the correct energy efficient window.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/14) */ I have been in communication with the homeowner since she filed this complaint. I believe this is a misunderstanding and am in the process of trying to resolve this with her. I am waiting for her response to my latest email. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Communication from Amazing was "all over the board" and did not respond to my questions. I have responded to *** ******* (the owner) with "my side of the story" and additional questions. I do not see how to attach my ongoing communication with Amazing. Final Business Response /* (1000, 33, 2014/04/10) */ I have answered this complaint several times and have provided all of the necessary information to resolve this matter,the customer refuses to acknowledge anything or except any kind of explanation or documentation. Therefore i am offering to the customer to go out and purchase a garden window that has a .30 U value that would meet the energy requirements and give her everything she thinks she did not get with our window and we will refund her the full amount that she paid us. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not state that I wasn't accepting his response. The question from BBB is "Am I accepting the resolution?". There has not yet been a resolution. We are still communicating and they are now responding to my questions with direct answers. It is not that I don't understand his answers, it's that his previous answers continued to go around the original issue. Too bad that I had to file a complaint to be able to talk with someone. Have been trying to communicate with Amazing (someone other than the office manager) since June 2013. A resolution has not yet been proposed. Hopefully something is forthcoming. Consumer Response /* (3000, 40, 2014/04/25) */ This case should not be closed. I have other priorities in my life currently but will begin reaching out to window installers regarding a replacement garden window, which will entail additional time on my part (to meet with contractors) as well as an additional day off work (for an install) - all caused by untruths and repeated attempts to cover untruths with more of the same. Consequently, I don't believe this case should be closed yet. I accept that errors have been made by "Amazing". What exactly is meant by "refuses to acknowledge anything"? What is it that needs to be acknowledged by me? What is deemed as "necessary information to resolve this matter" appears to consist of: admittance that I did not receive the window that I was lead to believe I had ordered; a copy of the order between "Amazing" and the manufacturer that does contain the specifications of the garden window received; and an invalid warranty from another manufacturer. I accept all this. It still means there were errors and untruths on the side of "Amazing" (which took months of communication and complaints on my side before "coming clean" on "Amazing's" part). It doesn't mean all is right. The documentation that was provided confirmed an additional untruth told to me by "Amazing". My agreement for the garden window was signed on May 21, 2013. I was given a 3-4 week estimated timeframe for arrival. On June 20, 2013, I received a message from Amy that the window had been ordered and would arrive approximately July 17, 2013. I was very annoyed, as based on the original conversation, the window should have arrived mid to late June. After numerous phone calls and emails to "Amazing", I was eventually told the garden window was ordered in May and that it takes 6-8 weeks to be made. The order form that has since been provided to me by "Amazing" confirms the order was not placed with the manufacturer until June 18, 2013. Not only was my check cashed immediately, but the window was not ordered until 4 weeks later and when called on it, I was falsely informed that the window had been ordered in May shortly after signage of the agreement. This entire experience has been full of misinformation from personnel at Amazing. Also, I don't appreciate that "Amazing" included my personal email address in response to the Better Business Bureau inquiries when it is clearly stated, "Please do not include any personally identifiable information in your response."

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Amazing Siding incorrectly installed vinyl siding to our home in 2001 resulting in water seepage over the years, interior and exterior water damage, rotting OSB and beams, electrical issues causing freezer failures and loss of thousands of dollars in food, and unknown extent of damages where siding is yet to be removed. An Amazing Siding representative has reviewed the install and damaged,determined the company is at fault and stated they will repair the damages or pay someone else to repair the damages. That was two months ago and they will not respond to our phone calls or emails. We are being ignored. In the meantime our house has been draped in tarps since February 2013 to stop the water seepage. Our kitchen window area is torn out to remove the damaged sheetrock and to expose the rotted beams - and we sit and wait... The Amazing siding representative removed siding in several areas that are still exposed and draped with tarps. Our lives are on hold until we can get the extent of the damage assessed and repairs made outside and inside our home.

Desired Settlement: To either pay someone else, or for their company to remove siding in areas where we are experiencing interior water seepage to review extent of damages and repair those damages and reinstall the siding properly. To replace damaged OSB and sheeting and any other structural rotting caused by their improper install. Then to have the siding correctly installed and interior damages repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/21) */ The ********'s did business with Amazing Siding Corp. of Seattle in 2000 which operated with the Washington state contrator's license # ************* that Corp. went out of business around 2003. As an owner of Amazing Siding Corp. of Portland operating in both Washington and Oregon we have obtained the rights to the Seattle territory and their old phone numbers. When the ********'s first contacted our office, as a courtesy (because they were a customer of Amazing Siding) I sent someone from our Vancouver location to see what the problem was and if their was anything we could do to help them. I explained to the ********'s that Amazing no longer had an office in the Seattle location and that I would do whatever I could to assist them in repairing their home. After incurring over $1000.00 in expenses I informed the ********'s that i would try to find out for them who was the insurance carrier for that company at the time and help them report a claim. After having exhausted every avenue available to me to find out that information, which includes having my current insurance company call the insurance commissioner I have not been able to obtain that information for the ********'s. I then informed them that they should get in touch with their homeowners insurance company to get the issue on their house addressed in the mean time and that possibly their insurance company might have better luck trying to contact the insurance provider for the corporation they did business with at the time. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 48, 2013/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I apologize ***, but we responded because we were trying to stay within the required response time limits from the BBB. We had not received a response from the insurance company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 46, 2013/12/17) */ The consumer indicated that they did not except the response of the business, but that they are waiting for the outcome of the insurance company? We have done what needs to be done at this time and that is to turn this over to our insurance company to do their own investigation to determine what action is required to resolve and settle this matter. Consumer Response /* (3000, 55, 2014/01/03) */ I do not understand why this is closed. I have not heard back from their insurance company. Amazing Siding did cause damage to our home in January 2013 when they came to 'fix' the problem. I do not consider this resolved. Business Response /* (4000, 57, 2014/01/06) */ I don't understand why the customer is saying they have not heard from the insurance company, I have just spoken to ************** (the adjuster for the insurance compamy) on the phone at 9:30am this morning 1/6/13 and he stated that he has been in contact with them ?? In addition all of the contact information needed if they want to contact the insurance company themselves has been provided. Consumer Response /* (2000, 59, 2014/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Today I received a settlement offer from the insurance company for Amazing Siding. It does not cover all of our out of pocket expenses, but it covers more than half. I am satisfied with the outcome.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the fall of 2011, Amazing Siding & Windows (hence AS&W) replaced the siding on our house and all but 4 of the windows. In the fall of 2012, AS&W returned and replaced the remaining 4 windows. The total amount of work was in the vicinity of $60,000. This summer we hired contractors to replace the deck that runs the length of the back of our house. In the process of removing the old deck, our contractor discovered a considerable amount of rot along the back of our house, in areas covered over by AS&W's installers. We were never aware of the rot issue by AS&W. They simply covered over the problem, assuming it was now hidden and would not be discovered. Once we knew about the problem & AS&W's cover-up, we contacted AS&W, and submitted photos to them of the problem. We were assured that we would hear back from their company - they NEVER returned our calls. We did call them several times, and each time we were assured that the people who handle the repairs would be in contact with us. Again, no calls were ever returned - we have a log of the calls we made. Today when we called we were informed that because our contractor removed the siding and exposed AS&Ws shoddy workmanship and cover-up, we invalidated our warranty and they will not make the small repair of the 200 sq. ft. that had to be uncovered so our contractor could repair the rot before proceeding with the deck re-build. AS&W were rude and insensitive.

Desired Settlement: Originally all we asked for in a settlement was for AS&W to come to out house and re-install the 200 sq. ft. of siding our contractor had to remove to get to and repair the rot that AS&W had hoped to ignore. We paid our contractor for the repair to include the replacement of the rotted casing surrounding one of the windows installed by AS&W. We paid to have all of the plywood sheeting replaced also. The only thing AS&W need to do was put the siding back. Now I fear that there may be many more problems hidden by the siding installed by AS&W back in 2011, and a reasonable settlement would be for them to refund all of the money we paid for the siding and labor. I am OK with the windows, although I do have a concern that they installed the one window in an opening that had a rotted header and sides. If they installed one window that way, are there others?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/18) */ Our office was contacted by phone by **** ******** on or about July 29th 2013,in this phone conversation accusation was made by **** ******** that "we simply covered over the problem". Nothing could be further from the truth. It was explained to **** ******** that covering over rot is not something that we could do or would ever allow on our projects. Each house is thoroughly inspected for rot after we remove the existing siding and vapor barrier, (it should be noted that this type of rot repair if needed is considered additional work in which the company charges additional money and makes additional profit, so there is absolutely no reason why we would be willing to cover any existing conditions that would compromise the integrity of the work that we are or were contracted to do, or avoid the opportunity to contract additional work!). After we have completed our inspection of the existing sheathing and any issues existing have been addressed the Tyvec Drain Wrap gets installed according to manufacturer specs and all openings (doors and windows) and penetrations are taped and sealed with a rubberized tape (Vycor) all flashing required on the project is installed along with the new siding, the siding project was then inspected by the siding manufacturer's inspector. All work performed on **** **** ********* home was done to meet or exceed state building codes. It appears that the ********* had a problem with their existing deck after the siding was completed that was creating other issues unknowingly to them and when addressing the issue of the deck discovered other problems caused by the deck and tried to push the blame or responsibility of these unforeseen and now necessary repairs on us. We have never had a problem servicing our customers or doing everything necessary to always insure customer satisfaction. When our office was contacted after the repairs were done by the ********* to reinstall siding that was removed it was explained to them that we are more than willing to help them however there would be a charge to do that, they apparently did not like that answer and filed this complaint. We are assured here at our company that this was not a preexisting condition ignored and covered by our installation, therefore the cost of the necessary repairs are not our responsibility. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 26, 2013/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The owner of the company did contact me by phone, and offered me nothing in the way of resolution other than his "sincere" (i.e. please read insincere) apology. He admits that our case was handled very poorly and unfairly and that his company had been unsympathetic to our situation at the time we initially contacted them, making them aware of a rot problem they had covered up. His justification for this mis-handling (and consequently "not" taking care of his customer) was due to the fact that he was out of the country at the time on a mission trip of some sort. He again reaffirmed that his company would "never" cover up any rot on a job, even though I have photos showing that in my case they absolutely did. My feeling from our phone conversation was that he considered me a liar, that his perfect company (even though they treated us terribly - for which he admittedd and was "sincerely sorry") would never cover up rot (even though I have photos and evidence to show that they did). So no, this situation is not resolved to my satisfaction. Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2013/11/08) */ *********** is being less then honest! My apology to him was sincere and was the truth. However the apology was for the way he felt he was handled as a customer after spending the amount of money with us that he did. I admitted that if I were here to take the call personally I would have approached it differently. Having said that the outcome would not have been any different. We did not cover up any rot! and I do not believe there is any proof or evidence to the contrary. All of the rot took place below the existing deck that needed to be replaced. As a man of my word, as I stated to *** ******** and in my last response I will continue to look into this. I have turned this matter over to the insurance company for them to investigate and determine how they would like to address these allegations.

9/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vinyl siding came off side of building. Company offers "No Fault Double Lifetime Warranty". Have made 8 calls since beginning of March to have company replace missing panels. Only 2 calls have been returned, each time promising to find original paperwork and call back. Has now been 3 months with no result.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to honor their warranty and fix my siding

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/08/22) */ *** ****** is not and has never been a customer of Amazing Siding Corp. of Portland. He was a customer of Amazing Siding corp. of Seattle which operated under the Washington State contractors license # ************ and was located at 340 Andover Park East, Tukwila Wa. which no longer is in business. In 2006 as part owner of Amazing Siding Corp. of Portland I obtained the rights to do business in the Seattle marketplace. As a courtesy to Previous Amazing customers as *** ****** we have tried to do what we can for them when and if we are working in the Seattle marketplace.

3/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service