BBB Accredited Business since

The Portland Roofers

Phone: (503) 639-7663 7811 SE Ellis Street, Portland, OR 97206

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers roofing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Portland Roofers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Portland Roofers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on The Portland Roofers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 23, 2012 Business started: 03/01/1997 Business started locally: 03/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chad Westover, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Westover, Member
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Roofing Service Consultants Skylights Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning Contractors - Gutters Roof Decks Roof Structures

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Portland Roofers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7811 SE Ellis Street

    Portland, OR 97206 (503) 639-7663


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had some warranty work performed on my roof. I have asked for a invoice for the work that was performed and was told by the owner of portland roofers that if I want a invoice I hade to pay for the repairs in the amount of $2500. Before he stated I would not have to pay for the repairs. I am not satisfied with the repairs I have nails coming through the inside of the house and broken plywood and large water sports that where not there before the leak and warranty repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like my an invoice for the warranty work performed. Not get charged for the warranty work. Damage to my home in result of warranty work performed Repair.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The owner of portland roofers has told me in email that he was having the previous owner of the home pay for the repairs. I asked of a copy of that invoice for my records was told that that was between him and the previous owner, if I want a copy of the invoice I had to pay $2500.
I have also been told in emails I will not be charged for the warranty repairs that Thay are covered by the warranty.
I think I am entitled to know what repairs were done to my house and when And have it in writing what license contractor did the repairs and what the repairs consisted of.
As far as the water spots inside of the house I have sent pictures through email to the owner of portland roofers. I can send pictures of the nails and broken wood as well upon request.

Business Response: This is a person who is complaining no matter what I offer. Everyone who owns a business or has a job where they deal with a large sample of the population knows that if you do enough business you will find people who are unhappy no matter what. People who are completely irrational. I tried to explain in email on the phone & sent my project manager to explain. He threatened to sue for no invoice. essentially he threatened me for not sending him an invoice for the work we did to his roof. The roof has a warranty so I can not invoice this customer for repair of the roof. My most recent response to him was if you want to pay for the warranty work done to your roof then ask me for an invoivce again & we will invoice you for $2,500. That is what we would of charged to fix the roof if it were not under warranty. I would like the public to know that the section of roof that leaked was originally worked on by another company, but the warranty I wrote for the roof was for the entire roof. Yes I wish I would of excluded sections we never worked on, but I said the warranty covered the whole roof because I thought my roofers had carefully examined every part of it. My company fixed the roof for free. This is a cedar roof that I originally warrantied to the seller & the person complaining here on the BBB was the buyer & eligible for a warranty transfer. As far as his claims that there are nails through his ceiling or water spots he will not allow us to see them or make an apointment to fix them & says all correspondence must go through his attorney or the CCB. The CCB will not help a consumer who refuses to allow the contractor to fix the problem.

11/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Portland Roofers has a link on the website whereby you can ask for a free estimate. I submitted all my information and later received an extremely rude text back and was subsequently told that they don't owe anyone a free estimate just because they own a business.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology in writing and I would like them to change their business practice so that this doesn't happen again. I'm shocked that with such arrogant business practices they have any business. They need to remove the link from their website that advertises free estimates.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/24) */ The phone at our roofing business rings throughout the day everyday and 99% of the calls go as expected, but then there is that 1% of crossing the path of people who are poor managers of an entire fleet of their negative emotions. Customer filled out our contact us form for a free estimate for a new roof I immediately contacted customer to let potential customer know I would like an appointment to attempt to sell a new roof. I told potential customer I would like all decision makers at the meeting. I told potential customer I will ask for a yes or no decision at the end of the meeting. I have been using this more assertive approach more often this year and have made more sales than any years previously. This was however the 1st & last time I will use this approach via text message. I have been successful in using group texts to coordinate our roofers with customers needing roof leak repair, but trying text in this situation seemed to of contributed to this persons bad day. There is something bad going on in this persons life that has nothing to do with me. I know it wasn't my intent to infuriate. This person became furious and text a variety of profanities at me. I made several attempts again to try to explain or justify my direct approach. This only infuriated this person further. The Rules at BBB do not allow me to share repeat the language used by this person so that does dull the story telling. In summary minus the profanity this persons opinion is Roofers are a dime a dozen & far below the status of this person socially. This person believes to be Royal & More than I. I did text this person some links about new roof warranties & tried to help even-though I had no chance of selling this person a roof. Home owners are busy people with jobs so when someone takes the time to write a bad review I listen, but in this case I don't see how I alone could be the cause of the anger & profanity I received from this person. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response to my complaint completely disregards the fact that they offer, in writing on their website, a FREE ESTIMATE. I'm not a consumer who will only get one estimate for something as expensive as a new $10,000 roof and then be willing to sign on the spot. I want at least two or three to make sure that what is included in all are the same and I am getting a good value for my money. He told me in his text (not very professional to text in this situation) that he doesn't owe anyone a free estimate just because he owns a business. That is the only thing we may agree on. No he doesn't but if he doesn't want to provide free estimates he shouldn't be advertising that he does, period. He was beyond direct in his text approach, he was downright rude. If this is the hard sell approach he uses to "sell", a consumer would be hard pressed to resolve issues that may arise during the process of installing a new roof. I do not think I am Royal, I think I am a conscience consumer that was offered an estimate and then texted an offensive sell job. I'm still unsure why you wouldn't leave a voice mail or ask for an email address to send a professional email outlining your company position vs sending an text message. There weren't offers of help from this business, there was blow-off to go to a woman owned company when he found out I was a woman. Many things contributed to my attitude via text that began with the attitude I received from him first. In closing I think he should have to remove the "FREE ESTIMATE" from his advertising on his website because he clearly is unwilling to honor this promise and that is false advertising.