This business is not BBB accredited.

Surftides Beach Resort

Phone: (800) 452-2159 View Additional Phone Numbers 2945 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Surftides Beach Resort include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Surftides Beach Resort include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Surftides Beach Resort
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1934 Business started locally: 01/01/1934 Business incorporated 07/01/1980 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944

Type of Entity


Business Management
Rebecca O'Neil, Office Manager Mr. Adam Ropp, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Rebecca O'Neil, Office Manager
Business Category

Resorts Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Surftides KI West RSTRNT & LNG

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Surftides Beach Resort has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    2945 NW Jetty Ave

    Lincoln City, OR 97367 (541) 994-2191 (800) 452-2159


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at the Surftides hotel on 2/21 and checked out on 2/22 with a reservation that I made online. When putting in my credit card information online-I was not made aware that they charged...what they call an "incidental fee", of $50.00. I was told then, and only then that this "incidental fee" was explained on the website....which it wasn't-As a matter of fact it clearly says in the 'rooms and rates' section that there are no advanced deposits-and on the next page with the 'check in/check out' information says this " Guest with multiple day stays who depart early from a confirmed reservation, without 24 hours notice, may be charged a $50.00 early departure fee", and 35.00 fee for people who bring dogs, which we didn't. So upon arrival to the hotel-I went to check in and they accidentally checked some one else into the room I had already reserved. So they had to give me another room. As ***** the front desk person who was checking us in was changing my room I expressed concern about my financial or personal information being accidentally given to the person whom they checked into what should have been my room--Because when you check in they give you papers to sign with all of your information on it and you have to sign it. and I was told everything was fine.....But If they didn't even notice they checked someone into my room---that means the person signed a paper with all of my personal and credit card information. I was reassured again after asking about it and was told again everything was fine. When I returned home on 2/22/15, I noticed they had charged the $50.00 fee and ***** told me it would only be pending and would be back into my account in 3-5 days--But shouldn't actually post to my account--because their were NO "INCIDENTS" At the hotel when we stayed- And So I waited and watched my account and it posted on 2/23/15, today is 3/3/15 and I just got an invoice from them claiming they are refunding it today nad guess has my credit card info--with someone elses personal info

Desired Settlement: I want my money for the " incidental fee" returned-Which is rightfully mine and the money they charged for the night I stayed for the inconvenience of having to go through all this trouble because they are scamming people out of money and for being lied to abou tmy personal information and the fact that now I have to worry about my identity/ personal information being out there. The invoice I received today that claims they are refunding the incidental fee back has ANOTHER PERSONS INFO!!!!

Business Response: March 16, 2015

*** ******* ******** *** **** * *** Vancouver, Wa. 98663

Dear *** ******** ***

I just received your complaint to the BBB. I agree that your hotel experience with Surftides Resort is Not acceptable. Therefore I have refunded the amount of $135.22 from your Credit Card. Please Let me know if you have future concerns about your financial or personal information being given out.

I am very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced.


******* ********* General Manager


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  My money was fully refunded and I was assured that my personal information being mishandled was taken seriously.


******* **

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service