BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest RV Sales

Phone: (503) 393-3663 Fax: (503) 393-2160 View Additional Phone Numbers 6492 Portland Rd NE, Salem, OR 97305 http://www.northwestrvsales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used recreational vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest RV Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest RV Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Northwest RV Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2006 Business started: 09/01/2005 in OR Business started locally: 09/01/2005 Business incorporated 07/03/2007 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Russel Johnson, President Mr. Russell Johnson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russel Johnson, President
Principal: Mr. Russell Johnson, President
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Motor Homes

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Cashiers Checks & Personal Checks

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northwest RV Sales has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6492 Portland Rd NE

    Salem, OR 97305 (503) 393-3663 (866) 463-4925

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 1999 Winnebago Chieftain Diesel pusher from NW RV Sales. We were told that when they put coaches on consignment that NW RV goes completely through them to make sure that everything is in good working condition. I can't believe that that was done. From the time that we wrote out check on October 1, it has been one fiasco after another. First of all when we did our test drive we noticed the ABS light was on. Apparently in the inspection the mechanics "missed" that. As well as other things they also missed, such as the toilet was leaking and unable to hold water, the radio in the back bedroom wasn't working, the outside radio was also not working, the passenger fan was not working. With all of these easy to see things that were broken and or not working, one would come to the obvious conclusion that the coach really wasn't inspected as we were told. If it had, maybe they would have noticed the engine issue. On Dec 31st the engine blew and is at Cummins in Portland for repair. Secondly, in November we got a letter in the mail that said that they were sorry it was taking so long to get the title to us, but that there had been a hold up with the bank, and thanked us for our patience and we would get it as soon as possible. I hadn't given it a lot of thought because frankly I forgot I hadn't gotten it yet. Then the day after we got home after our RV was towed to Cummins with a ruined motor, I decided to call and see where the title was. I was sick that we had barely used it, didn't even have the title, and it was in the shop with major motor problems! I learned that the company cashed my check, didn't pay off the bank who held the title, and filed it as though it was done. So here it it February 3,2016 and still no title, and our RV is in the shop having to have a new motor put in it for the grand price of almost $27,000.00. I have contacted them numerous times and still no resolve

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the title to the RV we purchased over 4 months ago. I would like them to help pay for the cost of the engine repair, as they clearly did not do the inspection they said they had done.

Business Response:

Northwest RV Sales sold a 1999 Winnebago Chieftan Diesel Pusher to ***** **** on October 8th, 2016. The mileage at purchase was 25,284.

This coach arrived on our lot August 18th, 2015. On August 21st, 2015 this coach went through a thorough inspection. Minor repairs were made and the unit was detailed and prepared for sale.

***** came in to finalize paperwork on October 8th, 2015; ***** then signed off on an AS/IS buyers guide. She had also declined an extended service plan at that time.

A walk through and demonstration was completed with the customer on October 13th, 2015. A RV Delivery sheet starting that all systems perform satisfactorily and the customers are aware of how to operate their coach correctly was signed by *****. During the demonstration the ABS light had started to malfunction. Northwest RV Sales had an ABS diagnoses done (conducted by an outsourced company.) The ABS computer was replaced and all sensors set to specifications. A few other small issues came up during this demonstration and Northwest RV Sales took care of all of them at the dealerships expense totaling a cost of over $2,000.00. At this point the dealership and the customer felt as all issues with the coach had been addressed satisfactorily, and they took delivery of the coach on October 15th, 2015.

***** contacted our Business Manager in January regarding the Engine and titling issues. After speaking directly with Cummins, Northwest RV Sales was informed that the engine failed due to being driven while overheating. This had occurred 8,170 miles after the purchaser picked up the vehicle. Northwest RV Sales cannot be responsible for how a coach is driven. The ISB series Cummins engines are known for their reliability and durability. For one of these engines to fail due to overheating is extremely rare. Not only would it have to get very hot, but it would have to get very hot for a very long period of time. This is nothing that Northwest RV Sales could have foreseen or prevented. Northwest RV Sales is declining the desired settlement involving costs for the engine.

As for correction of the titling issues; these have been resolved, and the department of motor vehicles has received title and processed all required documentation. All copies have been mailed to ***** **** as of February 16th, 2016 along with a reimbursement of any and all DMV fees paid by ***** **** for the inconvenience ($152.00.)

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The information that was provided by Northwest RV Sales is incorrect.  

First of all, the milage on the Motorhome was incorrect on the DMV paperwork that we signed, and unfortunately we did not catch that until afterwards.  I have also filed a complaint with the DMV because of improper processing of DMV paperwork, where Northwest RV actually lied to me when they sent a letter to me on November 9, 2016 stating that there was a hold up at the bank with the title, when in fact, the title work had not even been done, and the bank had not been paid off.  They are currently under investigation and from my understanding they have been found guilty of my allegations, and are being penalized and sanctioned.  The investigator was notified that the milage was incorrect on the original paperwork.  They had put the milage as 25,284, when in fact the milage according to their own paperwork was actually 32,361.  The DMV is correcting this on the new title that is currently being processed.  The milage on the motorhome the day it was towed to Cummins with a blown motor, was 33,454.  Some of those miles were actually miles put on the coach when Northwest RV had to drive it to a repair shop to have the ABS fixed, as well as miles put on it to test drive it.  

Secondly, As to the inspection that they said occurred on August 21,2015 that was "thorough", it clearly wasn't.  They missed several obvious things that were not working or broken during their "thorough inspection".  The ABS light was on, passenger auxiliary fan was not working, bedroom radio did not work, outside stereo did not work, the toilet was broken. If they missed these obvious issues, then it makes one believe that it is quite possible they missed bigger issues, like the engine.  We were told on Oct 1, 2015 when we made a down payment on the coach, that these issues would be fixed when we picked it up on the 8th.  I also asked at that time for them to clean the radiator, because my brother had just bought a 1999 Bounder the week before, and his was plugged and I wanted to make sure that wasn't going to be an issue for us.  We were told they would do this.  On October 8, 2015  (not Oct 13, 2015) we were to pick up our coach, but they hadn't even figured out what was wrong with the ABS.  So we did our walk through even though several items hadn't been done.  They wanted to show us how to operate everything.  Before we left I asked if they had cleaned the radiator, and I was told that they had.  I took them at their word that they had.  According to Cummins NW, the radiator had not been cleaned.  It was almost completely plugged, which according to Cummins could have been what caused the motor issue.  I spoke with Jamie at Cummins NW, who is the Service Supervisor at Cummins NW and who was in charge of the repair process of our RV.  She said that they did not do a Failure Analysis on our engine, so they DO NOT KNOW what caused the engine to fail.  On the day that the engine failed, as soon as the low coolant light came on, we pulled off the highway and put more fluid in it.  The engine did start to get overheated, but we pulled off the highway right away. It was NOT driven while it was overheated.  They did say that it could have been caused from the radiator being plugged.  Which if it had been cleaned, maybe this wouldn't of happened. 

As for us putting 8,170 miles on it that is not true.  We put 1093 miles on it, which some of those miles were put on by the NW RV when they drove it to the repair shop for the ABS to be repaired.  We did nothing to cause this to happen to our RV.  

Sincerely,

***** ****

Business Response:

Regarding the mileage, this issue was handled and corrected by Northwest RV Sales. DMV has processed title work which resolves the request for title. We apologize for the error and have refunded titling fees to the customer.

On August 21st, 2015 our inspection noted several problems including replacing the passenger side auxiliary fan that failed again during the walk through. (Defective part.) The toilet valve initially held water and after repeated use failed. Sometimes when rubber pieces sit unused for a while, they initially work fine. The ABS issue was intermittent and took much longer to resolve than anticipated which made the final delivery a bit of a rush. Making sure all the critical functions operated properly caused us to overlook the stereos. Our concerns are more for propane systems, electrical systems, safety systems etc. We took care of the stereos and replaced them which units better than the ones originally installed. We agreed to wash the outer fins of the radiator and did so. In our driving of this vehicle we never saw the temperature rise and never saw any loss of coolant. With the mileage on this motorhome and its condition we are completely baffled as to why the engine would fail. In fact, we have never experienced an engine failure in our many years of doing business. On February 16th, 2016 when we spoke with Ed at Cummins Northwest, he stated the engine had overheated. We strive for excellent customer service, and did the best we could to make sure this vehicle was prepared properly. But we cannot be responsible for failures that occur once the vehicle is out of our control. We had offered, as we do on every motorized vehicle due to their complexity, an extended service plan, which was denied by the customer.

Unfortunately I do not see us coming to a resolution regarding payment for the engine. We have however solved all titling issues for the customer.

10/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First, their advertising is false. It listed a fireplace and power seats in the RV. They do not exist. We took a grey *********** dish in and they installed a black one that is not ours. There are safety issues. The side view cameras do not work when the headlights are on. The fridge does not work and our food went bad. I was threatened twice by katelyn K****** when I brought our concerns to her. The first time she wanted to know if I could spell slander. I wanted to ask if she could spell FRAUD. I just called her again about a letter we received that they do not have the title. She told me to stop,calling and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund or to be reimbursed for bringing the RV up to safety standards and we want the title. We do not trust them to work on the RV since they have worked on it three times already and then shipped us safety lights to fix the RV ourselves. It is obvious from their attitude they do not intend to do the lawful and correct thing. Their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. I have been advised to notify the attorney general about their business practices and will do so. If this is not resolved appropriately and timely, we will take them to court.

Business Response:

I would like to take the time to address each one of the complaints stated.

Northwest RV Sales has been more than willing to work with the buyers. Unfortunately due to threatening and demeaning behavior by the buyer to numerous managers and employees we have asked to please let further communication be done through a third party

Addressing the fireplace and power seats, we include a disclaimer in our entire website advertising that states;

DISCLAIMER: **INFORMATION AND DETAILS MAY VARY AND IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE CUSTOMER TO VERIFY ANY AND ALL INFORMATION ABOUT THE PRODUCT. ** 

With that being said, a full walk through and demonstration of the product is done at the time of purchase with the customer. Any issues at that time are addressed and resolved. There were never any questions as to the features included with this coach or of advertising mistakes and/or errors.

Northwest RV Sales has personally contacted the dealership in which the **** ******* was purchased to confirm it was in fact the buyer’s property. Northwest RV Sales has spoken with the customers on numerous occasions and tried to resolve this issue. We installed the customers dish for them, and we do not carry that dish in stock here at the dealership. The one installed belonged to the buyers, we asked if they could bring in a warranty or something with the serial number to match against the one installed to verify this matter. They have yet to provide us with any information.

At the time of purchase the side view cameras worked fine. They stopped by the weekend after purchase and we once again showed them they worked properly. The fridge also worked properly upon them taking delivery of this coach. Northwest RV Sales is more than willing to work with customers on any complaints to make sure they have a pleasant buying experience.  These are pre-owned units and as such can have mechanical break downs or other issues after the point of purchase. We also offer extended service plans to all coaches who qualify. This was declined by the buyer. We also thoroughly explain our AS/IS buyers clause to customers as well. This was signed and acknowledged by the buyer.

Our Business manager spoke with the buyers on more than one occasion. She politely let the buyers know that their title work had been processed, and a title cannot be issued through Northwest RV Sales, but would be issued through the Department of Motor Vehicles. After numerous complaints from employees and managers of the threats and foul language they had endured from the buyer, our business manager found it in the companies and buyers best interest to route contact through a third party and asked that of the buyer.  

Northwest RV Sales regrets that we have not been able to resolve this issue. We have attempted to resolve this on multiple occasions. At this point we feel we are unable to resolve these customers complaints.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Northwest RV Sales
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart