BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and service of recreational vehicles, including new and used travel trailers, 5th wheels, slide-in truck campers, used motor homes, and accessories. They also provide warranty repairs, accessory installations, service, body and roof repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that George M Sutton Recreational Vehicles meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for George M Sutton Recreational Vehicles include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on George M Sutton Recreational Vehicles
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1996 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 01/17/1996 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George Sutton, President Mr. Tom Locke, Service Director Mr. Ron McGowen, General Manager Ms. Tina Seal, Administration
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ron McGowen, General Manager
Principal: Mr. George Sutton, President
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Rent & Lease Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Trailers - Rent & Lease Van Conversions & Accessories

Products & Services

George M Sutton Recreational Vehicles sells the following brand(s): Adventurer, Airstream, Carriage, Coleman, Columbus, Denali, Eagle Cap, Landmark, Little Guy, Northern Lite, Northstar, R-Pod, Redwood, Rubican, Rushmore, Sandpiper, Surveyor, Tab, Tag, Vengance , Voltage, Wildcat, Wildwood, Winslow by Excel

George M Sutton Recreational Vehicles offers the following product(s): awnings, backup cameras , brake controls, generators, hitches , new 5th wheels, new slide-in truck campers, new tear-drops, new toy haulers, New travel trailers, receivers, RV supplies , solar panels, used 5th wheels, used slide-in truck campers, used tear drops, used toy haulers, used travel trailers, weight distribution systems

Method(s) of Payment
USD currency, Visa, Master Charge, and personal check with prior approval.
Alternate Business Names
George M Sutton RV Sutton Motor Sales & RV Consignments Corp Sutton RV

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

George M Sutton Recreational Vehicles has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 107 Cleveland

    Eugene, OR 97402

  • 2400 W 7th Ave

    Eugene, OR 97402 (541) 686-6296 (541) 342-2993

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last fall, we purchased a brand new XXXX XX' Special Edition Eddie Bauer ********* from ****** ****** RV, online. It had to be paid for before we arrived from BC to pick it up, so we negotiated in good faith and completed the deal. As soon as we left the ****** RV lot with our new *********, we saw the first of three dents on the unit and we turned around and showed the damage. By the time we towed it home, we had itemized two other damaged areas and the dealership promised a full repair when we could bring it back to ******, a month or so later. We kept our (modest)hotel receipts, to submit to ****** RV for compensation. That was because they sold us a damaged unit as new, without revealing it to us, not because we had returned for "warranty" work. So those repairs were done and four weeks later, while in Phoenix during our first rain since we left ****** with the "repaired" unit, the entire front end leaked severely. I videoed those leaks and sent them to ****** RV, who forwarded them to ********* head office in Ohio, so they then got involved. Yet another repair was scheduled for the dealership closest to us in Phoenix. We flew home for Christmas and left our unit there in Phoenix (****** ********) to repair the leaking "repair". Returning on February 27th of 2014, we picked up our "repaired" unit on March 1st, and ****** ******** itemized that no sealant had been applied by the original dealership in it's repair. Unfortunately, that very night, heavy rain came down and our new ********* leaked yet again, in the same area, soaking our bed yet again. We immediately contacted our original dealership AND ********* head office to insist this unit be traded in on the new, undamaged identical model currently on ****** RV's lot in Oregon, when we leave the south and head on our way home to BC in about a week. Head office says this is a dealership issue and ****** ****** refuses and says we should bring it back AGAIN and have it opened up AGAIN. By now, this unit is severely compromised and devalued and we paid top dollar for a VERY expensive brand new *********. Back to our hotel bills incurred when the "fixed" our unit last fall. I have asked for our hotel bills to be paid for all this extra cost, and ***, ****** RV service manager had me send them in, saying that would be reasonable. Now ****** ****** is refusing to pay them, saying this is a "warranty issue". I say it is NOT a warranty issue at all... this is misrepresentation by the dealership for selling us a brand new unit, sight unseen, that has been damaged, and not revealing the damage to us, when we negotiated from afar on it. While *********/****** RV readily offered to try for the third time to open this brand new unit up, and find the leak, it was NOT leaking before they opened it up to fix the damage. Our issues are three-fold: (1) We negotiated online and over the phone, in good faith, to purchase a brand new, undamaged 2013 Eddie Bauer Edition 25' ********* with two upgrades: 600 watt inverter and a larger bedroom TV. We paid for it in full prior to arrival as per their policies. We did notice the first dent just as we pulled out of their lot, which prompted our immediate return to discuss the situation. As far as we knew, there was no other comparable unit on the lot at that time, so we had to set a date the following month to return from BC and have the dent repaired. En route, two other damaged areas were noted. One was a full-length dent behind one of the *********'s plexiglass front window panels, where the panel must have been flung open with a fair force. The third was a dented rear hatch opening door, along the side, and scored pin lines from the door. We were VERY upset. We assume this special edition model must have been taken to a trade show of some sort but no one will answer our inquiries about how it got damaged. So we returned as planned, expecting things to be resolved. (2)We incurred hotel costs for four days while the damage was repaired. Later, we requested compensation for the modest hotel bills, since we had not returned for warranty work, we had returned because we were sold a damaged unit. ***, ****** RV's service manager stated that was reasonable and I should send them in, so I did. ****** ****** since wrote me that they would not cover those bills, since hotel bills are not covered under "warranty work". My repeated request for that compensation is now being ignored. And it gets much worse. Enjoying a full month of good weather, we felt our troubles were over. Then a serious rain fell on us in Phoenix and that first rain revealed a complete failure of the repair, with 6-8 leak areas all down the front windows and walls, at the location where the dented panels were repaired. I videotaped all those leaks and forwarded them to ****** RV, who forwarded them to head office of *********. Since we had storage arranged for just a few days from then, for our return to BC for Christmas, we were advised by ********* head office to get our unit over to the Mesa ********* dealership for a repair of the repair. So we did, and picked it up on February 27th of this year. Our work order states that no sealant was applied in ******'s repair of our unit. That is shocking. That night, it poured rain and the same walls and windows all leaked again. (3) So I requested an exchange of this damaged and devalued unit at ****** RV, who have the exact model/year/options sitting on their lot right now. They have refused, with ****** stating that they have more experience than anyone and can fix it. We now own a compromised and devalued unit with a totally unacceptable leak history, that we paid full price on it as new, when it was damaged prior to the point of sale. Now they want to open it up yet again to try to figure out why it keeps leaking. We leave Palm Springs on March 24th to make our way to ****** to address these severe issues with a leaking trailer.

Desired Settlement: We expect compensation for our hotel bills that ****** RV service manager, ***, requested from us, and that are in their hands. To be told to submit them (as a "reasonable request") by the service manager and then have the owner of the business refuse them is a slap in the face and very unprofessional. We expect to trade this damaged and devalued unit back in on the new 2013 identically-featured model that is on Sutton RV lot right now, as long as it has never been used and is in perfect condition, and is actually a perfect match. We expect transfer of our anti-sway travel hitch onto the new unit and we will transfer all our goods over to the new unit, ourselves. We expect prompt cooperation and provision of all paperwork needed for Canadians returned with an exchanged unit, across the border. We do NOT expect to have to bear the devaluation hit of a compromised unit, nor do we expect to take any further risk by opening this unit back up for a third, fourth, or fifth attempt at repair, when we paid for a brand new, undamaged *********. We do NOT expect to have to incur ANY further expenses as a result of having been sold a damaged unit. We are very short of time before we arrive in ****** and we've spent weeks of our "vacation" trying to argue our case with them, for an exchange. We are respectfully asking for very quick action on this major issue, prior to our departure from the Coachella Valley. While in the US, we can be reached on our pay-as-you go phone at ************, but email is best, as this phone is rather unreliable,and I do not believe there is voicemail on it. Sincerely, **** and ******* ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/09) */ April 9, 2014 Unfortunately my response is somewhat tardy because we were originally contacted by the BBB on 3/17/14 and apparently the email went into spam folders. We did not know of this report until a letter was received this past week. As the owner, I have personally reviewed all correspondence with *** & **** ******. The following is our account. On July 26th, the ******'s negotiated their purchase by telephone. The Airstream they purchased had a list price of $81, 978. We agreed to discount it $16,178, not the "full price" the customer has repeatedly stated. They wanted an immediate delivery, so were required to have their Canadian bank wire transfer the payment. This was nothing out of the ordinary, especially when dealing with out-of-the-country customers. Arriving six days later, on July 30th, they examined their purchase. We also provided orientation. A small dent was noted prior departure. I am attaching two pictures. It was not structural damage, it was cosmetic. When spotted, the customer did a second full visual inspection. Nothing else was detected. An appointment was made for late October when they would be driving through on their way to Arizona. On August 5th, we received an email stating their refrigerator was not properly cooling, their rear hatch would not unlock from the outside, and the locking pins had scored the sides of the rear door frame. **** ****** also said she discovered a crease under the front Plexiglas wrap protector while washing off road dust. Per her own words, "It's close in and not easily seen." Although not noted at delivery and having driven hundreds of miles afterward, Sutton RV agreed to replace that panel, too. These two items cost $1,916.40 to replace on a unit that was basically sold for little profit. We chose to accepted their offer; this is mentioned because **** ****** has stated they paid "full price." On October 21st, our dealership began taking care of the items mentioned along with other routine warranty repairs and adjustments. Once the work was completed, the ******* continued on their way. On November 22nd, we receive an email message saying the ******* were in Arizona and had water leaks. They stated we sold them a "damaged, high-end Airstream." Please note they accepted the condition before originally departing from our dealership back in July. Without going into the details that occurred between November and March 24, let me point out a few items. The customer experienced leaks that soaked their bedding. They also experienced leaks on the rear dinette table at the opposite end of the trailer. The customer quoted another Airstream dealership in Mesa, Arizona as stating we did not use sealant when we replaced the two panels the Bowlers asked us to do. Contrary to this is our repair order, invoice #XXXXXX, dated 10/28/13 lists the supplies used. Factory part #685510 is Black Seam Tape. Also listed is part #13-0006 for 221-Sikaflex sealer. Part #08880 Brake Clean was used to remove the old tape and clean the surface for the new. Our people are the leading factory recommended repair facility in the western portion of the US. It is my belief we correctly installed these two panels. Please note that customer reported immediate leaks after the Mesa dealership worked on their unit. Based on previous water leaks units, we conclude the source is likely elsewhere. I wrote to the ******* saying how sorry we were that they were having problems. We understood how frustrating it must have been. However, until their warranty repairs were completed by us, there wasn't another avenue to pursue. I told them our people are experts when it comes to water leaks, especially on Airstreams. We live in a climate where we get allot of repair experience. Oregon is wet. We have been at this for over a decade. The Mesa dealership has an usually dry climate and they only recently went into business handling Airstreams. We asked the ******** as they returned to Canada, to let us repair their leaks. Again, we do not believe the leaks are a result of the two panels two dealerships repaired. Our experience suggests the source is likely elsewhere. Airstream also asked the ******* to return to us. It was the ******'s decision not to come. Instead, they drove across the border and indicated they would have their hometown dealership handle the issues. Almost from the moment the ******* took delivery, **** ****** demanded we cover lodging. She reasoned we sold them a "damaged" unit and the expense should fall back on us. After repeating this demand for several months, my service manager agreed to review her receipts with me. **** ****** also demanded we repurchase her Airstream and provide another "undamaged" unit. Airstream was not convinced their unit could not be fixed. After all, they had sent much worse problems to us and our people always resolved the issues. All of us at George M Sutton RV have been sympathetic to *** & **** ******. All they needed to do was return to Eugene. We were prepared for their appointment and had hoped to solve their problems at the end of March. Unfortunately, that wasn't to be the case. They went back to Canada. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) reply sent by email...slightly exceeded this text box character limitation, when we attempted to follow the BBB suggestion that we include the response from *** ****** in our reply. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/04/28) */ This alleged conflict just gets old. We tried to help this customer and look at the payback...blame. Folks, there was one small dent and it was cosmetic. Nothing serious, nothing major, nothing out of the ordinary...just a small dent probably caused by a flying pebble off the highway. That stuff happens and will continue to happen. The other so called "damage" is just poppycock! They left our store, went camping, drove hundreds of miles and blamed us for their mistake on the rear hatch and letting the front window get away from them when the **** was washing her trailer. It wasn't us. They checked it all out before they left our store. They signed that they checked it out. They admit they caused the rear hatch to get scratched because they couldn't close it properly. None of this is a dealership's responsibility...none! We're happy to fix things, but at some point a consumer must take ownership Read their signed agreements...this is NOT to be blamed on us. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We looked through this response for some indication that Sutton RV is claiming that the damaged on our unit was revealed to us prior to our negotiation and purchase. THIS is the CORE ISSUE behind our case to the BBB, given that factory seals had to be broken to repair our damaged unit, and we ended up with a badly leaking Airstream, as a result. The damage and probable prior use of our "new" unit was never revealed to us, not in the online advertising, not in the long process of email and telephone negotiation with our salesman *****, not prior to the receipt of our funds, nor in person when we arrived to tow our Airstream home. We find the forwarding of this fine print to be counterproductive to Sutton RV's case, because if Sutton RV believes it absolves them of responsibility for selling us a damaged Airstream, then why did they take responsibility and cover the three damaged areas under warranty? Had WE damaged our new Airstream, Sutton RV is under no obligation to undertake these considerable repairs under warranty (which they did). This has been described in earlier correspondence, but upon pick-up, we were offered a full run-down of systems within the Airstream. We did not particularly need this, given we had already owned an Airstream prior to this purchase. At no time did Sutton RV staff indicate to us that we should go over every inch of the exterior shell to check for dents or damage, and no such inspection took place prior to our hookup. Since we had already owned a used Airstream that did not have a mark on it, it never crossed our minds that this "brand new" unit would be damaged on the lot. But as soon as we pulled our unit out of the shaded area where it had been parked, into the direct sunlight, on the Sutton RV access road, we saw the first of the three damaged areas. We turned the Airstream around and took it back, within 30 seconds of clearing their lot. There is no dispute that this took place. Sutton RV staff acknowledged the damage right then and there. So this latest response appears to attempt to blame us for not seeing that damage prior to departure, rather than admit they kept it quiet until we left. Even so, they readily agreed to repair it all, even though we noticed the second problem on our first night of travel home (the bent hatch would not open, and the inside hatch opening had been scored by the malfunctioning locking pins); and we noticed the third problem once we got home two days later (the long thin dent right behind the front window guard). We also have repeatedly requested information as to how our "brand new" unit was used prior to selling it to us, because the three damaged areas either occurred on their lot, or in transit to a trade show. Given the nature of the damage, we assume the latter is the case, (particularly the long dent that was tight behind the window - we would assume from the window guard being blown open with force - and the dented hatch, likely from being opened in some tight space restriction somewhere). But no one from Sutton RV will reveal it's prior use to us. As noted previously, a Detroit Airstream dealership honestly revealed the prior use of their identical 2013 25' Eddie Bauer to us (trade show demo use) and offered a $5000 discount as a result. AND they revealed that there was a small scuff on the fender as a result of such use. We assumed this level of honesty from Sutton RV as well, purchasing such an expensive vehicle, with Airstream's reputation, sight unseen. If Sutton RV's argument has deteriorated to "you signed off, and it's your problem if you didn't see the damaged areas prior to departure", then shame on them for knowingly negotiating and selling a damaged Airstream to us, hiding it's damage history, later having management staff offer to accept our hotel bills for having to come all the way back for that damage repair, then having the dealership owner rescind that offer and refuse to pay for them. And while Sutton RV may have years of repair history, THIS Airstream, OUR "brand new" Airstream leaked in 8 places after they "repaired" the three damaged areas. The second attempt to repair it (in Mesa) reduced the number of leaks to three areas. And all of this is because we were sold a damaged unit, the repair of which necessitated breaking the factory seals. The reasons why we did not return all the way back to Oregon yet again are listed in the previous submission. So we do not accept Sutton RV's invitation to return for further attempts at a repair. This unit is currently undergoing the third attempt at repair, at our local dealership near home. Airstream's National Service manager has been kept abreast of our efforts to have the integrity of this unit restored. Local repair obviously mitigates the high costs we have borne as a result of this situation. We maintain our position from our original request and would ask that our case and all our supportive digital documentation be forwarded to binding arbitration, given that our history has been fully and honestly revealed. Could we please be notified that the Dropbox photos and videos of this leak history, plus the email records, have been received by the appropriate parties at BBB? Sincere thanks, ******* and **** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on George M Sutton Recreational Vehicles
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart