BBB Accredited Business since

Better Apartments

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 573-3040 Fax: (360) 574-9836 View Additional Phone Numbers 10013 NE Hazel Dell Ave, Vancouver, WA 98685 http://www.betterapartmentsvancouver.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers rental properties.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Better Apartments meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Better Apartments include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Better Apartments
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 16, 2007 Business started: 02/01/2004 Business started locally: 02/01/2004 Business incorporated 02/25/2004 in WA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Toni Koubourlis, CEO Mr. John Koubourlis, MBA
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Toni Koubourlis, CEO
Business Category

Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals

Alternate Business Names
Better Apartments at Neal's Lane Townhomes LLC Better Apartments at Neals Lane Townhomes, LLC Better Apartments, LLC Evergreen Ridge Neals Lane Townhomes

Additional Locations

  • 10013 NE Hazel Dell Ave

    Vancouver, WA 98685 (360) 574-9835

  • 10013 NE Hazel Dell Ave # 505

    Vancouver, WA 98685 (360) 573-3040

  • 10013 NE Hazel Dell Ave PMB 505

    Vancouver, WA 98685

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it concerns, Thank you for taking the time to read this email and, in advance, for directing it to the proper authority. I am filing a complaint against one of the BBB's rental clients, Better Apartments, LLC. My name is **** ********, a tenant of ***************, **** I believe that the ownership is guilty of unethical practices not only on my behalf, but in the case of many others. Speaking for myself, I shall give a thorough history of the events leading up to date. I rented #10 last May. When my employment (temporary) ended, I could not find local work. I spoke with **** (female), about the situation and what my options were. She was, as always, accommodating in her options and polite. She explained to me that if Ikeep in mind, Ifound a tenant to replace me, then I would not have to pay the early-out fee. OK. I agreed and set to work. I placed an ad on Craigslist sometime around Jan 10. On Jan 27, I moved all my things out and had the utilities cut off (logically). For two weeks I, personally, had shown the property to 15+ people, at least two of those tours led to an application (that I know for sure). **** did not approve any of them. On my ad, I put the preferred requirements for passing *** exam (as stated on the website betterapartmentsvancouver.com), and when I spoke to all the interested parties, that much was clear. After I left, she asked me to take down the ad and "she would handle it from here." She completely removed my ability to advertise an apartment that I am still paying for. I had so many people coming to see the place that I thought surely someone will be approved soon. The requirements were clear and many of my visitors were quite pleased. Since the date of my move-out, another six people paid the application fees and not one has been approved. Possible? Maybe. Here's where the trouble/possible infractions begin to take form. I got a phone call from an anonymous neighbor who is, as am I, good friends with another neighbor in ***** ** (I believe), ******* Last week ****** was evicted after his ten-day notice. According to ******* the place already had a tenant approved. If **** had a tenant approved, and I had been advertising for about a month since his eviction, why did he get tenants and not me? That would mean that whoever moved in to his unit would have to have waited for ********* unit to be cleaned and fixed, yet my unit was cleaned and ready by the beginning of Feb. Two reasons: 1) **** is subjective in her evaluations, regardless of qualifications. I failed her 3x income requirement by a margin, but she let me in because my credit and rental history were good. I am well dressed, educated, a government employee, and white. I have spoken with the people who, knowing the requirements beforehand, met the requirements but were turned downpeople with equal credit and far superior income than mine. 2) Most obvious now, because **** knew that I am an ethical, honest man and that ****** was not someone who paid on time, every timeunlike me. She knew that if she didn't fill ********* place ASAP that she would be losing money. In the meantime, she gets money from me because I am an honest person and I am going to pay the rent until someone moves in. She knows that I don't want to be blacklisted and that I am law-abiding. She knew that, because I moved so far away, it was her field to play on however she deemed it in her best interests. She has no regard for her promise to get someone in my apartment ASAP. She can collect applications fees until the end of time, so as long as her subjectivity goes unsatisfied. In the meantime, all the qualified tenants go to the evictions, not to mine. That is unfair. I reiterate that she removed my right to advertise an apartment that I am still paying for, as was my obligation (and right) in my contract, and now she is being unethical in her treatment of my tenancy. I do not want a tainted rental history because of this, and I certainly don't want to be treated like this. She committed herself to take on my apartment, without my permission, and has dealt with me amorally, for her own gain, at my expense. Please advise. I am not usually in a reception area, so email would probably be best for contacting me. Thank you for your time and considerations in my behalf. Have a great week.

Desired Settlement: I wish to be removed from at least half of February's rent and that I am not blacklisted (or have some manner of rental discretion on my record).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ When a resident discontinues payment of utilities and rent during a lease agreement, without written notice, it is considered abandonment or a breach of contract. The complainant abandoned his former domicile. As indicated in the lease agreement, subleases are not allowed. Better Apartments is acting in accordance with the rental agreement and local landlord tenant laws. This abandonment is no different than any other and it is being treated in the same manner as any other would be. Indeed, Better Apartments is making every reasonable effort to mitigate the former residents' damages. In the meantime, the former resident is encouraged to contact Better Apartments staff for accurate information or to settle the account. Indeed, Better Apartments is solution oriented. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I cancelled my utilities because that's what people do when they move out. I explained to the manager why I was not paying rent (prorating). I had every confidence that she would find me a tenant because, in her own words, she would "take care of it." She revoked my influence on advertising the vacancy and then CHEATED me. I am not a dishonest person. I will gladly pay up until the point when she shadily accepted a tenant and placed them into a unit that she evicted a +MONTH AFTER I told her that I was needing tenants. That would be half the rent. I didn't think checks flying through mail, back and forth, trying to square up the balance between cleaning bills, prorated rent, and security deposits. her syntax and prose are very formal, but it cannot hide the fact that she was dishonest with me. That is why, again, I am willing to pay what is fairly mine to pay--one half of February's rent, and the utilities that I incurred. Shutting them off is a matter of frugality and makes no difference in light of her unethical practices. I will write her and explain what I am giving and why. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/16) */ Better Apartments' staff has read the complainants' most recent rebuttal. Based on the last sentence of the rebuttal, it is the firms' understanding he intends to write the management. Better Apartments eagerly anticipates direct correspondence and ultimate resolution with the former resident. Once again, we urge the applicant to follow through with direct correspondence as we look forward to resolving this issue and finalizing the account. Alternatively, if it is felt outside assistance would be beneficial, Better Apartments' management and staff are more than willing to participate in landlord-tenant mediation. This is a very affordable solution and resource provided by the City of Vancouver that is excellent at addressing misunderstandings about contract law between parties in circumstances such as this. Having a third party intermediary working to find mutually beneficial resolution can be very helpful. As aforementioned, Better Apartments is solution-oriented. It is worth repeating that the protocol for dealing with abandonment or breach of contract is defined in the lease agreement and by local landlord tenant laws. The protocol is being adhered to and the abandonment, repair, capital expenditures and administrative work are amply documented. A final accounting will be provided when the unit is re-rented. However, as indicated in the lease agreement, the resident can invoke the lease escape clause at any moment alleviating any and all contractual obligations.

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a rental through this company and after taking my application fee I was told I am a criminal and was denied for housing. I have worked as a casino employee for 13 years and have held a state gaming licence for said time, which requires an FBI fingerprint and background check. The fact I can hold such a licence and yet be denied housing claiming a criminal history leads me to believe something is not right with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like it to be reported that this company is not offering an equal housing opportunity.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/18) */ Better Apartments has specific rental criteria which all applicants must meet. These rental criteria, as well as a description of the application process, are provided to applicants in writing and published online for potential applicants. Rental criteria or standards exist for all applicants' and co-applicants' criminal, employment, rental, and credit history. All criteria must be met for an application or group of applications to be approved. If an applicant is deficient in one or more of these areas, the application will be denied. A professional third party screening company is contracted to process applications as well as to determine if an application does or does not meet our criteria. Better Apartments, in the interest of resolution, would be willing to provide the BBB with the results of the complainants' screening report for review with the written authorization of both the applicant and the screening company.