BBB Accredited Business since

Summit Mortgage Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 223-6166 Fax: (503) 223-6192 View Additional Phone Numbers 5331 SW Macadam Ave Ste 314, Portland, OR 97239 http://www.go-summit.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mortgage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Summit Mortgage Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Summit Mortgage Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Summit Mortgage Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1998 Business started: 10/01/1997 Business started locally: 10/01/1997 Business incorporated 10/22/1997 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Division of Finance & Corporate Securities
350 Winter St NE Rm 410, Salem OR 97301
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs
Phone Number: (503) 378-4140
dcbs.dfcsmail@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Miles Rusth, President Mr. Brian Haveman, Secretary Mr. Jeffrey Jenne, Treasurer Mr. Kevin Schmidt, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Haveman, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Miles Rusth, President
Business Category

Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Mortgage Lender Mortgage and Nonmortgage Loan Brokers (NAICS: 522310)

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
9:00am - 5:00pm

Additional Locations

  • 5331 SW Macadam Ave Ste 314

    Portland, OR 97239 (503) 223-6166

  • 6605 SW Macadam Ave Ste 201

    Portland, OR 97239 (503) 546-1270

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I used ****** ***** with Summit Mortgage to purchase a rental property in Portland, and the loan was eventually sold to ***** ****** Our first loan payment was made to Summit and in their name. They recently sent us a 1098 form for taxes, but sent two copies. The first included all of the current information, including my husbands name, address, social security number and interest amount. The second copy contained my husbands name and address, but an incorrect social security number, interest amount and point amount. I am gravely concerned that this is a breach of privacy and that my our information could have been given to someone else.

Desired Settlement: I am unfamiliar with the options available, but would like credit monitoring for at least one year at the very least.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/02/12) */ **** ***** spoke with the borrower on Febraury 9, 2015 regarding the BBB filing and concerns over a security breach. She agreed that her filing was incorrect in regard to the misreporting of mortgage interest and points paid. She said she tried to amend the filing with the BBB and had reached out to them twice without success of amending the filing. We communicated our disagreement that this was a security breach, but we want to make sure the borrowers feel comfortable that their personal information is secure. We offered them one year of ******** (credit monitoring service.) The borrowers were going to discuss and get back in touch with us. As of February 12, 2015, we have not heard back. Regardless, if and when they do call, we'll gladly offer the service. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/02/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) **** ***** contacted me as soon as they received notice of my BBB filing and offered one year of LifeLock for my husband and I. Due to other factors, I have not yet had a chance to get back in touch with them regarding the ********* but we do consider any release of an erroneous social security number (whether it belongs to us or anyone else) a security breach. **** explained the circumstances that led to the error and assured me that steps would be taken to ensure that it would not occur again. On two separate occasions, I attempted to contact the BBB to amend my complaint as it contained some incorrect information. I have yet to hear back.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Summit Mortgage Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)