BBB Accredited Business since

Lake Oswego Psychiatric Associates

Phone: (503) 635-9336 Fax: (503) 635-5414 340 Oswego Pointe Dr Ste 205, Lake Oswego, OR 97034

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers psychiatric services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lake Oswego Psychiatric Associates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lake Oswego Psychiatric Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lake Oswego Psychiatric Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2010 Business started: 03/01/2005 Business started locally: 03/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Medical Board
1500 SW 1st Ave Ste 620, Portland OR 97201
Phone Number: (971) 673-2700

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. Allen Stark, Owner Mrs. Carol Stark, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Allen Stark, Owner
Business Category

Psychiatrists & Psychiatric Services Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Hospitals (NAICS: 622210)

Hours of Operation

Additional Locations

  • 340 Oswego Pointe Dr Ste 205

    Lake Oswego, OR 97034 (503) 635-9336


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw Dr. ***** at Lake Oswego Psychiatric Associates on 2/4 at 6:15 pm. I originally had scheduled an appointment in the end January, but called ahead of time (at least 24 hours in advance) to reschedule to 2/4, when I would be back in Oregon. I confirmed with the front desk associate that I was rescheduling within the time allotted so that I would not be charged this fee. I received a bill for a missed/cancelled appointment dated for 2/3 and they are trying to charge me $100. This is not the first time this has happened. Additionally, when I saw Dr. ***** on 2/4, he not only collected my $50 co pay, but he insisted that I pay an additional $26, totaling $76. I have a receipt to show this much as well. He did not explain the additional charge, and I never received the proper statement showing that they ran it all through my insurance.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel that it is right for me to pay $100 for a missed or cancelled appointment when I did not miss or cancel any appointments. I would like this charge to be removed, and I would also like the BBB to investigate further into the ethical billing and insurance practices for this business. again, I was told to pay an additional $26 to my copay of $50, with no explanation, and no summary from either the doctor or the insurance company showing the visit.

Business Response: Our records are not consistent with the complaint(see attachment from office manager.) If Ms. ***** feels our billing policy is unfair I would be glad to discuss it with her and wish to be reasonable.This is the first I heard of her complaint as she did not discuss her concerns with either my staff or myself.

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a seven year absence from seeing this doctor, his secretary stated I was now eligible to return as a patient for psychiatric services. Upon paying $315 cash at my initial consultation on April 2, 2013 this doctor immediately mailed to my home a letter stating he "could not be my doctor". Perhaps the actual letter below will help...April 3, 2013To ****** ****** I am no longer able to be your physician. I will be available for emergencies for the next 30 days so that you can find another doctor.Sincerely,***** *****, MDOR LIC MDXXXXX (1988)My complaint to the BBB is regarding the loss, or better, theft of $315 for 15 minutes of this doctors time just to be told he would NOT be my doctor. If I had been looking for an apartment and paid a landlord $35 perhaps for the application fee, I would understand. However, I receive Social Security as my only income, and $315 is just under 50% of my monthly income. This doctor knows very well my situation and I called his office today for a refund. My roommate is writing this letter at my request. He is familiar with the details and this is a true accounting of the incident. DH ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A check should be mailed to my home address. $315 ASAP.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 6, 2013/04/15) */ A check for $315 was received on 4-11-2013. The problem is solved... thanks