This business is not BBB accredited.

Greater Giving

Phone: (503) 597-0378 View Additional Phone Numbers 1920 NW Amberglen PKY Ste 140, Beaverton, OR 97006 http://www.greatergiving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Greater Giving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Greater Giving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 2002 Business started: 01/29/2002 Business started locally: 01/29/2002 Business incorporated 01/01/2002 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Real Estate Agency
1177 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/REA
Phone Number: (503) 378-4170
orea.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Sterba, President Mr. James Balazs, Director of Finance Mr. Jeff Jetton, President/CEO Mr. Steve Sterha, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. James Balazs, Director of Finance
Principal: Mr. Steve Sterba, President
Business Category

Professional Fundraiser Credit Cards & Plans Auctioneers Fund Raising Counselors & Orgs

Alternate Business Names
Golbal Payments Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1920 NW Amberglen PKY Ste 140

    Beaverton, OR 97006 (503) 597-0378

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a charge pending on my debit card from this business which I never placed. I contacted them and was told it was caught by their fraud department and would not process. Two days later on X-XX-XXXX it processed. I called back and was told they had contacted my bank to issue the refund which also was not true. I bank at a very small bank in a very small town and no one there had been contacted. No refund has been processed and the people at Greater Giving wanted to blame it on myself that they processed it. Even went to the lengths to say someone stole my credit card to run transactions thru them. From his own words they have over 200 charges pending. Doesn't make much sense that someone would steal credit cards to give all the money to this organization.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the amount (84.00) plus a letter from the owner of this business assuring me that all my financial information on file has been destroyed.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Greater Giving, founded in Oregon in 2002, provides products and services to support nearly 9,000 non-profit organizations and schools in their fundraising efforts. Whatever the cause, whoever you want to help, Greater Giving can help you raise funds to support that commitment. We have helped nonprofits and schools raise millions of dollars for their cause. Greater Giving adheres to the highest levels of online (internet) security standards, and we have attained the highest degree (Level I) of security certification by the Payment Card Industry (PCI) certification process. One of our products allows non-profits to easily create online fundraising pages, so that online visitors to their website can make "online donations". As such, one of our clients in California "EMQ Families First" created an online donation page to allow their patrons to make contributions. On Monday, July 15th, 2013 we were notified by a gentleman by the name of **** **** that an unfamiliar transaction of $84 was showing on his credit card account. He provided us with specific information that allowed us to look up the charge and verify it was an online donation made on the "EMQ Families First" website the previous day (7/14) and had already settled and debited from his credit card account. We asked Mr **** if he recalled making the online donation. He said that he did not make the online transaction and that someone must have stolen his credit card and perhaps his personal information. We advised Mr **** to immediately notify his credit card issuer and consider cancelling his credit card. We told him that we would immediately submit an electronic notification to his credit card issuing bank to have the $84 transaction refunded. We also advised that he could contact his card company to initiate a "dispute" as well, if he had any additional concerns. Lastly, we told him that it typically takes 5-7 business days for cardholders to see a transaction credited back to their account. We empathized with him that his credit card had been compromised and offered to answer any additional questions or concerns he might have. After speaking to Mr **** on July 15, we submitted the refund request through our parent company, Global Payments. The $84 has been credited back to the issuing credit card company. We would expect that he will see the credit to his account shortly, although the exact date is determined by his credit card company. We have identified the IP address of the computer that submitted the fraudulent $84 transaction and have blocked that address from making any additional online transactions to any of our client accounts. Since initially speaking with Mr ****, he has made several calls into our Client Service Team expressing his frustration over this incident. Although we have explained the situation and explained this was the result of stolen personal information, he seems to feel that we are responsible for the theft and use of his credit card information on a non-profit website. On a related note, we received a visit from the Hillsboro Police on Tuesday, July 16th in response to Mr **** contacting his local Police agency and filing a claim that his credit card had been compromised and that perhaps Greater Giving was responsible for that.. We provided a summary to the responding Officer who said he would relay information to Mr **** that the issue had been appropriately handled and would explain this incident was not initiated or caused by Greater Giving. Credit card and identify theft are crimes that do occassionally occur and it appears that Mr **** is the victim of someone stealing his credit card information. Please feel free to contact me if you should have any additional questions or concerns.