BBB Accredited Business since

Oregon Anesthesiology Group PC

Phone: (503) 299-9906 Fax: (503) 295-2232 View Additional Phone Numbers 707 SW Washington St Ste 700, Portland, OR 97205 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.oagpc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers anesthesiology services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oregon Anesthesiology Group PC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oregon Anesthesiology Group PC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oregon Anesthesiology Group PC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 2004 Business started: 10/01/1989 Business started locally: 10/01/1989 Business incorporated 10/05/1989 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Medical Board
1500 SW 1st Ave Ste 620, Portland OR 97201
http://www.oregon.gov/omb
Phone Number: (971) 673-2700
bme.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Phillip Arzt, CFO Dr. Elizabeth Billerbeck, Secretary Mr. Jonathan Shorter, Business Services Director Dr. Kevin Tarrant, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phillip Arzt, CFO
Customer Contact: Mr. Jonathan Shorter, Business Services Director
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Anesthesiologists Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Alternate Business Names
Oregon Anesthesiology Group

Additional Locations

  • 707 SW Washington St Ste 700

    Portland, OR 97205 (800) 282-6864 (503) 299-9906

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re acct ************. This was paid online after a bill was sent because they failed to bill my fathers secondary insurance. It was paid within their 30 day window. I called to ask for a refund and was treated with the utmost disrespect when I told them that no, they cannot talk to my father since he passed away. I was told that they couldn't help me since he was not available to talk to. I ended up speaking with a supervisor who finally agreed to bill **** ***** and would issue a refund of the overpayment. It's been over 30 days and I called today to ask about refund and was told it would be another 4-6 weeks for them to mail the processed refund check. They were paid promptly and I would expect them to do the same. Again, when I called, I was treated with unexpected rudeness. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told there was no one to be found. If I hadn't followed up with them, it is my contention that they would have kept the extra payment. I am surprised that monies owed to consumers can be held for such a length of time without consequence.

Desired Settlement: Just send the refund in an appropriate amount of time.

Business Response: We are investigating the complaint and will respond once our investigation is complete.

Jonathan S******
Business Services Director, OAG

6/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have 2 insurances, and the medical office, Oregon Anesthesiology Group is trying to collect the difference from my primary insurance, and secondary insurance allowable charges. Primary's plan allowance is 1355.00 and **** ****** (my secondary insurance)is 1261.80 leaving a difference of 93.20. Since I am enrolled in a Federal plan, Oregon Anesthesiology is supposed to write off that difference, because Federal laws trump state laws. Now I am threatened with collections if I do not pay this amount, which I do not owe. ********* **** ****** **** has contacted this doctor's office twice, and they still refuse to adjust the bill as they agreed to when they, (Oregon Anesthesiology) agreed to be a participating provider. All too many times, these doctor offices try to double dip, and it has got to stop. It is not fair!

Desired Settlement: an adjustment of charges as required for participating on the ********* ********** Federal Employee Plan (FEP) and a statement showing a zero balance.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ********:

I am responding to your recent correspondence regarding a complaint you received about our organization.  Due to the protections of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), I am unable to provide a substantive response regarding these concerns.  However, we will be responding directly to the individual who raised the concern and are confident we can resolve it promptly.

Should you have any questions or comments, please feel free to call me at*************

12/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oregon Anesthesiology performed my epidural on March 16, 2014 at *****************************. My insurance was billed and paid in part on March 30, 2014. Oregon Anesthesiology sent bills to an incorrect address (no idea where they obtained this address, never lived there)- despite the hospital and my insurance company having the correct address. No phone calls or attempts to locate my correct address after these bills obviously being returned in the mail. They sent the bill to collections (they managed to then find the correct address) in September 2014 and my husband and I now have a collection listed our my excellent credit rating.

Desired Settlement: -Letter from Oregon Anesthesiology Group saying the account is paid in full. -Restitution for the negative credit rating.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/12/08) */ Thank you for affording Oregon Anesthesiology Group additional time to respond to Case number XXXXXXXX. As a matter of procedure, we do not report delinquent accounts to credit agencies, nor do we authorize any collection agencies working on our behalf to do so. More specifically, please be advised that we have already been in contact with Ms. ***** regarding her concerns and are pleased to have brought them to resolution. Sincerely, ******** ******* Business Services Director OAG


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Oregon Anesthesiology Group PC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)