BBB Accredited Business since

Muir Painting

Phone: (503) 761-5151 11289 SE 119th Dr, Happy Valley, OR 97086 http://www.muirpainting.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers all phases of interior and exterior painting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Muir Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Muir Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Muir Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 09/12/1990 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Muir, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Muir, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Dan Muir Painting Muir Painting Inc

Additional Locations

  • 11289 SE 119th Dr

    Happy Valley, OR 97086 (503) 761-5151

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do NOT have Muir Painting do any interior work - maybe their exterior work is better, but we paid 5K for all of our interior to be painted - ***, the owner said it would take 2 days. They were to paint cabinets, trim and walls. It took 6 days and the results are very disappointing. The guys didn't do any filling of holes or damages to the walls - they just painted over them - the cabinets have places where you can still see the oak thru the paint - when the 'guys' were finished, we called *** to express our concerns - he came out with one other guy to 'fix' the issues - still so disappointed - the touch up he did to the kitchen cabinet, isn't even the same color as the paint that was used and he must have used flat versus semi-gloss and there is not any clear coat on them, they just look painted. - we walk around and it is so disappointing to have spent so much money for such a crappy job. They say they usually do empty houses - well, probably rental houses, cause that is what this paint job looks like - honestly, when I paid for a professional painter, I really expected a better job than I could do myself -unfortunately, that isn't the case.

Desired Settlement: Not sure what I need from them - really don't want it worked on since *** did that, and didn't even get the paint color right - while my preference would be to have it done right - maybe they should consider refunding money and match the prices of a novice painter, since that is the quality I received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/03) */ I am quite sure I did not tell her we could paint all her ceilings, walls, wood work including cabinets in two days. I did tell her oak cabinets had a heavy grain that was hard to paint. It took 4 coats to get them to look good and this took time. In fact I hardly made anything on the job. What I don't understand is that i went there on the last day and used the same paint that was left on site, we walked every room with her and looked at every wall and then she wrote a check (I never took money down). What I don't get is that if the cabinets were two colors and her walls full of holes, then why would she write a check? Could it be that everything looked fine? I would like to know what the "novice painters" bid came in at. Case # XXXXXXXX *** **** Muir Painting Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I stated originally in my complaint, I don't want them working in my home - if they'd done an adequate job initially, it shouldn't need to be repainted at all - I guess that is the point. I requested reimbursement for the poor work that was done, that has not been accepted, so I'm not accepting the final response to my complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/01/28) */ I would be willing to have one of my employees get a new gallon of paint and re-do the areas on the cabinets she is concerned about. This should not take all day, any remaining time he can walk through the house with her and address any other concerns. P.S. You apply the paint with a small roller and lay it off with a 3" foam pad and this should give a spray finish look P.S. Needs to be done before end of March