This business is not BBB accredited.

CertaPro Painters of Portland

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 636-1809 Fax: (503) 334-4321 View Additional Phone Numbers 3 Monroe Pkwy Ste P # 130, Lake Oswego, OR 97035 http://portland.certapro.com

! There is an alert on CertaPro Painters of Portland !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers painting contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CertaPro Painters of Portland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 2012 Business started: 02/01/2012 Business started locally: 02/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dan Molyneux, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Molyneux, Member
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painters - Commercial or Residential

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 5:00pm Monday - Friday
8:00am - 12:00pm Saturday
Closed Sunday
Alternate Business Names
M Cross Painting LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16420 SE McGillivray Blvd Ste 103 Pmb 153

    Vancouver, WA 98683

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3 Monroe Pkwy Ste P # 130

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035 (503) 860-7129

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 2nd, 2013 we had CertaPro Painters of Vancouver, Washington paint our house in Vancouver. Initially we had three problems with the work that was done. The first problem was that the paint blistered in numerous places around the house. The second problem was that they did not paint the basement windows as was in the contract. Thirdly, they reset nails that had popped up over the years using a framing hammer rather than a hammer and a nail-set. Now we have the cross-hatched impression of the head of the framing hammer all over our house. Regarding the blisters, *** ********, the owner of CertaPro in Vancouver, said the work is guaranteed for one year and that they would come out to make the repairs. *** contacted a paint representative from ******* ******** ***** to look at the blisters and recommend the best way to fix the problem. The advice from the representative was to scrape off the blisters, sand the area to a feathered edge, prime and repaint. They scraped the blisters but did not sand the area nor did they prime the area before painting. This left unsightly divots in the paint. In numerous places where they scraped the blisters off they used so much force that they gouged the wood damaging the siding. When they came out to repair the divots and gouges they did sand to a feathered edge, prime and repaint but because they applied the top coat of paint before the primer was dry the top coat pulled away from the house when it dried. During this visit they caused further damage to the siding by banging their ladders into the house. Also during this visit they tested some paint on some trim to see if it matched; it didn't. They said they would get the correct paint and return the next day to repaint that area of trim; they didn't. When they came back to fix the areas that had pulled away from the house they simply applied more paint without sanding or scraping. They also scraped some more blisters but, as before, they didn't sand the area before repainting. Regarding the basement windows, the painters came out and argued that it wasn't in the contract to paint those windows. When they finally realized this work was in the contract they did paint the windows and in the process broke a leaded glass window. *** ******** agreed to pay for the repair but because of current building codes the glass company would not repair the window to original condition. So now the windows don't match and the character of our house is changed. My last email to *** ******** was on the 6th of October; to which he has not responded. There are still blisters on my house and areas that were supposed to be repainted that haven't been. Quite frankly I am so disappointed with the poor service and lack of quality that I don't want them back. I have tried to work with *** ******** to have these problems corrected but it seems that every time they leave I have more problems than when they arrived.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a reimbursement of $1,610.00 that includes 24 hours of my time to properly do the repairs plus one gallon paint and one gallon of primer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/04) */ In correspondence, the customer is seeking redress for 2 days when my painters didn't show up (16 hrs total) and for 8 hrs of labor to do the repairs himself along with one gallon of paint and one gallon of primer. He values his time at $65.00 because that is his charge rate as a consultant. Here is an excerpt from an email he sent me: My time is money too and I have spent two days away from work waiting for your painters to show up. My consulting fee is $65/hr. At a minimum you owe me 16 hours of my time back that was wasted waiting for the painters to show up plus 8 hours to do the work that your painter would do plus the cost of a gallon of paint and a gallon of primer. That comes to: 24hrs @ $65/hr =$1,560.00 1 gallon paint @ 30.00 1 gallon primer @ 22.00 Total $1,610.00 I have countered (in writing) with the following refund: I appreciate that we wasted your time, however, at no time did we ever stipulate that you needed to be home when we were painting. This is a decision you made, so it is not one that I feel we should bear 100% of the burden for. Also, when it comes to the repairs, I appreciate that you bill your time as a consultant at $65.00/hr, however, in this instance you are not being paid as a consultant but as a painter, so the hourly value of your time is different. I will agree, though, that we did cause you some frustration by missing those appointments and I am interested in trying to redress that, but I honestly don't think that 16 hrs is appropriate. That being said, I have already offered to refund you $572.00 based on what you felt it would take for you to do the repairs (8 hrs @ $65/hr and 2 gal of paint). I am also willing to compensate you some for the two days my guys didn't show, just not at the same rate you are asking for. I think it is more than reasonable to offer $100 for each day they didn't show. Therefore, I offer a credit in the amount of $772.00. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on CertaPro Painters of Portland
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)