This business is not BBB accredited.

Cycle Specialties

Phone: (503) 445-4411 Fax: (503) 445-4412 5663 NE 105th Ave # B, Portland, OR 97220 http://www.cycle-specialties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cycle Specialties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cycle Specialties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2012 Business started: 03/01/2011 Business started locally: 03/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Cole, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Cole, President
Business Category

Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Powersports Adventures, Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5663 NE 105th Ave # B

    Portland, OR 97220 (503) 445-4411

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have written a complete accounting of the dealings with this shop, in detail, and would like to send it as an attachment, but, primarily, the problem is that when they first took my motorcycle apart and gave me an estimate that included new seats and windshield, I was given an estimate of 3-4 thousand dollars and every time I have gone back they keep adding more thousands of dollars. Right now, we are up to over 6,ooo dollars and they say, now, that we are far from the end of the costs to me. This has been going on for two years after I delivered the original 4,000 dollars

Desired Settlement: I want them to finish the job and provide repairs and additional accessories I asked for at the price originally promised and other funds returned to me. I have given these people enough money.

Business Response: Mr. ******* ***** Commissioned Me (Cycle Specialties) on 02/01/2013
to as he stated in the complaint (Repair, to showroom condition) his
1998 Honda Valkyrie. I hired a professional motorcycle towing company to
pick up his Motorcycle from his residence. When the tow company got to
the motorcycle they found the bike sitting in his yard sunk into the
lawn, covered with a tarp that had rotted off the bike due to
deterioration. The seats were rotted, the tires were flat and rotted,
and the bike that was a Yellow and Cream two tone paint was green with
moss and algae. All of the chrome pieces were Severely Rusted and Pitted
beyond salvage. Please note this Motorcycle has many chrome and
finished Aluminum pieces.
  I then had a conversation with Mr. *****
about the condition of his motorcycle and gave him an "Estimate" of 3-4
thousand dollars. I also discussed with him the value of the motorcycle
at that time and the fact that restoring it would exceed it's value. He
again stated to me that he wanted the motorcycle to be like the day he
bought it!  On 03/10/2013 (Documented) I received a $2000.00 deposit to
start work on his motorcycle. As we started peeling away the layers the
layers of damage it became very apparent that the damage would cost more
than i estimated.
   I then spent the next year ( 03/20/2013 to
02/20/2014) trying to get contact Mr. *****. During this time period I
had exhausted his $2000.00 in parts alone and needed to discuss with him
everything that yet needed to be purchased.  After getting a hold of
Mr. ***** in 2014 he apologized for not being able to get in touch with
him as he had been in and out of the hospital. We then discussed the
parts that still needed to be purchased (Over $2000.00 worth) he agreed
and came down and gave me another $1000.00 deposit (Documented) on
02/25/2014 with the promise within a week or two of bringing more. I
repeatedly attempted to get a hold of him It wasn't until 07/14/2014
that i received another $800.00. deposit (Documented). I again began
work on his motorcycle until I exhausted the $1800.00 in parts and
labor. 
   I currently have $4185.00 in parts and $2400.00 in labor
totaling $6585.00 invested in the restoration of this motorcycle. For
the year of 2015 I have received 3 more payments all documented as
follows. 01/15/2015 $400.00, 04/10/2015 $300.00 and 09/12/2015 $1000.00.
This totals $5500.00 leaving $1085.00 owed to Cycle Specialties. There
currently has been no Storage Fee's attached to this job For the Month's
that the motorcycle sat while waiting to contact Mr. *****. At this
point I will not complete any repairs until current bill is paid in full
and sufficient funds are supplied to purchase the remainder of parts
and labor needed to complete repairs.