This business is not BBB accredited.

Bridge City Cycles Ltd

Phone: (503) 284-1503 Fax: (503) 284-1505 2119 N Kerby Ave Ste B23, Portland, OR 97227 http://www.bridgecitycycles.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bridge City Cycles Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bridge City Cycles Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 2012 Business started: 11/01/2010 Business started locally: 11/01/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. "Anthony" Michel Mautemps, Member Mrs. Megan Mautemps, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. "Anthony" Michel Mautemps, Member
Business Category

Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Motorcycles - Customizing Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts Cylinder Heads - Auto & Motorcycle


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bridge City Cycles Ltd has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2119 N Kerby Ave Ste B23

    Portland, OR 97227 (503) 284-1503

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my motorcycle to this shop and described a starting issue that I wanted fixed. I described the issue in detail to shop owner Anthony. He experienced the issue when he tried to move the bike into his shop. He coached me to write, "Troubleshoot and repair charging system," on the work order. They replaced the entire charging system for approx $800. The bike still has the same starting problem. It now leaks a dinner plate size pool of oil onto the ground every time I park it. Heaven knows how much oil it leaks as I'm driving. They overfilled the oil by a half a quart. at least. That is a big deal because the spinning crankshaft whips the overfilled oil into a froth which then does not properly lubricate the engine.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should properly troubleshoot my starting issue and repair it at no additional charge. That is, after all, the problem I presented them with initially. They need to repair the oil leak at no additional charge. They should perform the above in no more than a week's time.

Business Response: Customer came in with his own electrical diagnosis that he wanted one of our techs to confirm. We confirmed that both his charging stator and regulator was bad, thus killing his battery...which needed to be replaced.  We were the  fourth shop he approached for repairs, because he was having this paid through "Transission Projects", a homeless outreach non-profit. No other shop wanted to deal with a third party check. In order to make the repair of the charging system, we need a parts deposit in order to have his parts ordered. (Company policy as we have had people abandon bikes after repair leaving us with the cost of parts) in order to get a parts deposit, which he wouldn't leave, we had to estimate the time of the repair plus parts and have "********** ********" pay us with a Cashiers Check, which took almost 2 weeks to recieve. We went ahead and replaced the parts (totaling, $442) and 4 hours labor to replace the parts ($442 at $85 an hour, cheapest in town, and it actually took longer than estimated, but couldn't do anything about it because the customer could only get 1 check from the non profit). We even made arrangements for the customer to pick up his bike after hours, with one of our neighbors. Customers bike has over 125,000 miles on it, which is very very high for this model of bike and is expected to leak. Extra oil was not added to his bike, and the bike was taken on a lengthy test ride with no problems. We did not coach him to write anyhing on the service order.  We asked him to write exactly what he wants done as we would any other customer. (We have the customer write  this in the "services requested" area of our intake sheets, so there is no comfusion, or disputes to the work performed.) He came in with his own electrical measurements off his charging stator, that he wanted us to "check", again against his findings. His findings and tests that he provided us with (yes, we still have all his notes) were directly tied to the charging system and nothing else. Per customers request we performed the exact task he asked for and remedied it. Customer also complained about how long it took for parts to come in several times, even though this was directly tied to the fact that he was not timely with getting us a parts deposit (had to come through "********** ********", and obviously we had to wait to make sure the check wasn't fraudulant) In no way, shape or form is the customer entitled to a free $400 starter plus the labor to install it. That would be additional parts and service in any case. It's pretty obvious that, that's how how life works. The amusing thing is that he rode the bike home and was able to return a few days later, and then ride away again on the bike when we informed him that we wouldn't be buying and installing a starter for him at our cost. From the beginning, we knew this customer was going to be an issue, but we tried to help out the best we could anyway, because he was trying to get back on his feet (yes, he told us a long personal story) But, there's a limit. We believe the customer is a crook and is trying to get free parts and services because he cannot pay for them himself. We have informed the other motorcycle shops in the area to the incident, as well as "********** ********". 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This response is deceptive from the very first sentence. I did not ask them to confirm my diagnosis; I told them the bike was having starting issues and I did not trust my troubleshooting skills, and I was turning it over to them to troubleshoot and repair.  I described the starting issue and then Anthony experienced the issue himself as he tried to start the bike to take it back to his shop area. 

I had contacted one other shop (********* ***********) Who told me they didn't work on motorcycles built before the year 2000. They were the ones who told me about Bridge City Cycles. Bridge City Cycles is making up the part about "no other shop being willing the accept third party pay" for the repair. I approached no other shop about the repair. 
 
The bike only has 101,000 miles and is not expected to leak oil at that mileage. It is generally understood that overfilling with oil the way BCC did will cause the seal in question to fail and leak the oil it is now leaking. Anthony himself said he would fix the leak as warranty work before things got so heated between us and I couldn't trust him to do the repair.

I am left with the original starting issue and an oil leak that has me topping of the oil at the rate of a half quart a week.

$800 and still have the starting issues + the oil leak. I wish I had looked at the google and Yelp reviews before I took the bike there.
 

Sincerely,

*** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Bridge City Cycles Ltd
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart