This business is not BBB accredited.

Shilo Inn Hotel

Phone: (503) 297-2551 View Additional Phone Numbers 9900 SW Canyon Rd, Portland, OR 97225


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shilo Inn Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shilo Inn Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001
Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Shilo Inn

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9900 SW Canyon Rd

    Portland, OR 97225 (503) 620-4320 (503) 297-2551

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As part of our stay at the Shilo Inn from September 6-8, we were promised a free full breakfast each morning at the attached **** *********** When we went the first morning, the line for the breakfast was 5-6 deep, but there were at least six tables open within eyesight of the door no one could figure out why the waitress demanded everyone wait. She came back at one point and asked everyone's name and made a list, which she then proceeded not to use. After half an hour of occasionally taking a party to a table, she seated us. Again, numerous open tables, no reason for a wait. As far as I could tell, the **** was intentionally throttling the seating in the hopes that the hotel guests with the free coupons would just leave without sitting. There were at least five people working on the floor, and maybe 35 people seated, so staffing was not a problem. We ordered food quickly. After 30 minutes (for eggs, mind you, which we fully expected would be premade), we were restless, but then we saw a couple plates come out of the kitchen to a table full of non-hotel guests (i.e. paying with cash). We waited some more. I finally got up and found our waitress. She "checked," and said there had been an error and our order never went in. A couple other groups of guests who had been in line with us also started getting up as we left no one tried to stop any of us. It was not an accident, in my opinion, that the hotel guests were being intentionally held outside the restaurant and then not served food. This was a clear attempt to avoid providing a promised service as part of the room agreement. We complained to the management, but they did nothing.

Desired Settlement: full refund of stay, or partial refund for value of breakfast as part of service contract

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ I apologize for your experience. I also apologize that you believe that we were intentionally trying to not supply the free breakfast. The restaurant was busy and understaffed, and I apologize they could not accommodate you in the time you desired. I can make a $25 adjustment to your credit card. This amount is much higher than the value of your included breakfast. If this meets with your approval, please let me know at your earliest opportunity. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The partial refund and apology is acceptable, assuming that is $25/day of our two day stay (50 total) as there were two of us trying to eat. I would only say that I took careful note (we were sitting there for a while) -- I'm not sure where there was understaffing, because there were at least five people working the floor (tall white girl, short white girl, Asian woman with very long hair, tall young white man, older white man in street clothes). If you need more than that for a restaurant that's only half full.

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arrived on 7/2/14 and checked in at Shilo Inn, upon finding the room unsanitary and trying to find restaurants nearby I found news articles regarding known prostitution issues with this hotel. I immediately spoke the the front desk and requested a refund and explained why. The front desk clerk pulled up my check in information and told me that she issued a refund. When I asked for the a receipt stating that there was a refund she printed another receipt saying that my card was voided out and there was no charge. The front desk said they didn't know of prior criminal issues and that for requesting a refund I would be put on a 'do not rent to' list. I told her that I was fine with that, I had no intention of ever staying there again. At that time we left and found a safer hotel. Upon checked my credit card I found that they charged my card two days later for the room and there was no refund pending. I called the hotel three times with no answer, on the fourth call someone finally answered and told me he wasn't sure what to do and put me on hold for ten minutes. I have filed a complaint with **************** to finally get my refund.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund that I was told I was going to receive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/14) */ Your credit card was credited on $97.90 on July 3, 2014.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Shilo Inn Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)