Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Sea Star Guest House

Phone: (541) 347-9632 370 1st St SE, Bandon, OR 97411 http://www.seastarbandon.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sea Star Guest House include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sea Star Guest House
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2001 Business started: 01/22/2001 Business started locally: 01/22/2001
Business Category

Motels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    370 1st St SE

    Bandon, OR 97411 (541) 347-9632

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reservation at Guesthouse 12/27& 28th. After checking in and later retiring for the night the noise was beyond loud and excessive. I called the manager, **** and told him. He said " oh, they will be going to bed soon" This has gone on for over 2 hrs now. I told him we had to leave and find another hotel at 1030 at night. I asked him for a refund and he said no. THe next day he called and asked me for our card number to credit our stay. I gave it to him and when we returned home late Sunday night on the 12/29/13 he left a message on voice mail saying he was only crediting 1 night. My Bank was charged another nights stay not credited. I called him and everytime I went ot say something he just said "Let me talk". I asked for the owners contact number and he refused. SO now I have charges for 3 nights that we didn't use. They had me sign a form stating if we make excessive noise or disturbance we will be fines for the refund they have to give other guest. I reminded him of this and he said no he was not refunding me.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded for the 3 nights that were charged plus the difference of the other hotel we had to find at 11pm at night. Which is $28.89

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/16) */ The guest had registered and paid for two nights. After the manager received her complaint of too much noise, the manager went outside of all surrounding rooms and could not hear any noise. When the guest said they were leaving and wanted a refund, the managers credited her for one night stay. He was "rattled" at the time because we have not had a situation like this in the 7+ years that we've been in business and he failed to realize that she had paid for two nights stay. The next day, he refunded the second night. The guest reports that she was charged for a 3rd night instead of being credited, but we have verified all reports with our credit card company and this is definitely not the case. Her original charge was refunded in full, with two seperate credits on her account. We are sorry that she was unhappy with her stay and ALWAYS do everything that we can to keep our guests happy. I would be happy to provide statements from our credit account showing the charges and credits. If the guest has a credit card statement showing that she was charged for a third night instead of credited, I would be happy to research it further, but all of our numbers and reports show that this is definitely not the case. I also have a detailed statement from the manager about the situation that we can provide if needed. We are very surprised and disappointed that the situation occurred and are very committed to making sure it is resolved and does not reflect unfairly or poorly on our business, which we strive to run in the most courteous and honest way possible.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sea Star Guest House
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)