This business is not BBB accredited.

Royal Coachman Motel

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 878-2481 Fax: (541) 878-2433 21906 Highway 62, Shady Cove, OR 97539 http://www.royalcoachmanmotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides a 21 unit motel.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Royal Coachman Motel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Coachman Motel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated 01/19/1995 in OR
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. T Jerry Thompson, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. T Jerry Thompson, President/CEO
Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Royal Coachman Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    21906 Highway 62

    Shady Cove, OR 97539 (541) 878-2481

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 509

    Shady Cove, OR 97539

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I checked in to the Royal Coachman Motel in Shady Cove Oregon the day before Thanksgiving so we could spend the Holiday with my family. We checked in on November 26th in the early afternoon. The lady at the front desk was very polite and friendly. After unloading our things into the room we drove to my brothers house to visit. After visiting we returned to the motel around 9:30 or 10:00 pm. My wife wanted to take a shower and relax so after about 20 seconds she started hollering there was no hot water. She had to take a cold shower with the bottom filling with water because the drain was plugged also. I called to the front desk and told them there was no hot water. At this time the husband answered the phone and when I told him there was no hot water he told me rudely that he would have to refund our money. I walked to the front desk and immediately was treated very bad. He accused me of being drunk, which I had a couple cocktails at my brothers but was not drunk just very tired after traveling from California and it was getting late. He told me he was not going to refund all my money, only the money that I had paid for the next day. I told him that was not right and then he began yelling at me to "GET THE **** OUT OF HIS MOTEL". He continued to yell at me and I stayed as calm as possible while he yelled again and again to "GET THE **** OUT OF HIS MOTEL". I went back to the room and told my wife we were going to a different motel and we had to pack stuff up. She walked to the front office still in her pajamas and hair in a towel. She talke to the lady and she told my wife she would refund the entire amount. The next day my wife noticed there was still a pending amount in the bank account so she called the motel, the man answered the phone and my wife asked about the pending amount and he started yelling at her that supposedly we left the room dirty with candy wrappers thrown around the room and continued to tell her that we were ******* lyers, And continued cursing at her.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a full refund and I want this posted. Also the motel that we ended up checking into ********* *** had told us that they have lots of complaining people come from that motel about how dirty the rooms are with mold growing around the base boards and other complaints. I would like to have this motel inspected for violations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/10) */ Every accusation this person has made is false. On November 26, 2014 at 9:45 pm the guest, **** ****** called the front office and stated to the manager that there was no hot water, and that the shower was flooded. The manager told the guest that he would send someone over right away to look at it. The guest told the manager "No, my wife is in her pajamas, and she is not presentable for anyone to come into the room". The phone conversation ended. There was no discussion, or mention of a refund. At 9:55 pm the guest came into the office. It was obvious to the manager that the guest was intoxicated; the manager could clearly smell alcohol on **** ******'s breath. The guest tossed two room keys on the counter, and stated that he wanted a full refund. The manager explained to the guest that someone could go look at the problem in the room, and try to fix it, and if not, move them to another room. The guest stated that he was going to leave, and that he wanted a refund. The manager told the guest that it is policy to refund them for the next night that he had already paid for, but not for the present night. The guest then stated to the manager "You give me a full refund right now, or else". The manager then told the guest to get out of the office, or he was going to call the sheriff's department. The manager explained again, that he would refund for the following night, but there would not be a refund for that night. The guest presented his credit card (this was necessary for the refund), the guest received a refund for the night of November 27, 2014 in the amount of $63.13 the guest signed the refund print out, and left the office. The reason the manager would not give a refund the night of November 26 is as follows: 1-) The guest was intoxicated, aggressive, and rude 2-) The guest threatened the manager: "or else" 3-) The guest refused the manager access to the room, to verify, and fix the problem 4-) The guest refused the offer to move to another room 5-) The guest reserved the room, and had occupancy of the room for the entire day. The guests did not have to leave the night of November 26. However, moments after they drove away, the manager went into the room, and found that there was plenty of hot water, there was no indication that the shower was flooded, or that the drain was clogged. The room that **** ****** and his wife stayed in was rented on November 27, 2014, and then rented 7 nights after that, with no complaints. The statement concerning the desk clerk at the ********* **** That they have had several complaints about the Royal Coachman. This is not a professional representation of the ********* **** This accusation is also false. The Royal Coachman Motel has passed every health and safety inspection, and is posted in the office. Propose resolution: Refund to **** ****** amount of $63.13. This complaint is not posted, and the matter is consired closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do believe I deserve a full refund and when it shows on my bank statement then I will consider this matter dropped.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Coachman Motel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)