This business is not BBB accredited.

Palms Motor Hotel

Phone: (503) 287-5788 Fax: (503) 249-0751 3801 N Interstate Ave, Portland, OR 97227 http://www.palmsmotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers motel accommodations.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Palms Motor Hotel include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Palms Motor Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Palms Motor Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2001 Business started: 02/01/1997 Business started locally: 02/01/1997
Business Management
Ms. Bhanu Patel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Bhanu Patel, Owner
Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Palms Motel

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Palms Motor Hotel has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3801 N Interstate Ave

    Portland, OR 97227 (503) 287-5788

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I reserved a room online for 3 nights at the Palms Motel, August 19, 20 and 21, 2015. Upon our arrival Aug. 19th, we were shown to a room that reeked of urine and smoke. We asked for a different room, it was worse. There was BLACK MOLD in several places in the bathroom, unfinished construction where the bathroom window had been replaced, missing and broken wall tiles, rust stains on the shower curtain rod and unknown stains on the bed sheets. The entire room was filthy. We were afraid to sleep on the sheets and wore our clothes to bed. We did not have time to book a room somewhere else and had no recourse but to stay the night. We asked the desk clerk to cancel the following 2 nights. He assured us that he would but never did. We had to return to the motel twice trying to get a new updated bill but never received one. The clerk said their computer was down. A refund of only one night's fee has since been posted to the credit card used, promises of email & phone call were never fulfilled. We had to take time from our vacation to return there and also to find a motel for the following 2 nights. We took pictures to document the conditions. We are also notifying the Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division.

Desired Settlement: To receive a full refund from the Palms Motel. To have the Oregon Health Authority investigate the unsanitary conditions of the room (#54) and the entire motel.

Business Response:

We ask full report from frontdesk person

after report receive i will reply to your department.

thanks for patnient .

bhanu p****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

it does nothing to resolve the issue.

Sincerely,

******* ***

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to bring to your attention several complaints about my stay at The Palms Motel recently, My family and I stayed at the establishment this past week 11th thru the 14th , which upon arrival to check my wife discovered that the original reservation that was made a month ago was incorrect and so because we were already in town instead of leaving we paid for standard rooms because we were already pressed for time, upon entering the rooms I discovered spiders in the bath area, ants crawling along the walls and when brought to house keeping they acted as if I was making this up, Then when it was time to rest My wife started getting bit by some kind of bugs from the bed, when brought to the Manager: ******* ***** attention I was told this could not be true and my wife ****** explained that she had also found a previous occupants contact Medicine in the Bathroom in the medicine cabinet.Also once we made it home I ****** ******** tried getting the information on the ownership of the motel and was denied by one ****** *****, I quote " I don't have to give you any information concerning ownership and I refuse to give it to you" this was from the Mgt. So all in all this experience was a disaster from the beginning but because my wife was graduating from collage we decided to deal with our circumstances that we were in. No one should be treated the way we were and I am seeking a full refund from the establishment.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund from our stay

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@palmsmotel.com they made reservation for one room with one bed for two people.when they check inn has more then two people. we rent that room every day. if they find something wrong they should check out immigate we could give them money back. after staying two night why they paid for 3rd night if not comfortable.in room has more people stayed. sorry can"t give u penny back.after staying in motel for three days. when they check in they said about money shortage. if they have no money they should not stay at motel. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not except this response do to lack of a very unprofessional customer service on behalf of the motel. The initial reservation that was made was booked for 3 days for my wife ****** ******** graduation , about a week later ****** called an booked a 2nd room for a family member. Upon booking the 2nd room ****** confirmed the initial reservation . The attendant that booked the rooms reasured ****** that the special room with hottub that ****** asked for specificlly was indeed available and that she would lock in the discounted room price available via internet travling website. I ****** ******** spoke with a male attendant at the motel just hrs before our arrival and confirmed our reservations but was informed that the room we thought we booked was indeed just a basic standard room. upon arrival I asked why the mix up and was informed that we would have pay full price 179.99 a night for the room we had already committed at 79.99 a night for. This trip was a special trip to my wife ****** for her college gradution and because of the issues that I previously stated in the above complaint it turned out to be a disaster. As you can see from the counter response above there response to this complaint was very negitive. This experience impacted ****** very deeply, There were no apologies given from motel personal upon these complaints,This matter can be resolved internally by mutual agreements from both sides but if not I will be obtaining legal representation....


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Palms Motor Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart