This business is not BBB accredited.

Ocean Front Motel

Phone: (503) 738-5661 50 First Ave, Seaside, OR 97138

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ocean Front Motel include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ocean Front Motel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Business Management
Ms. Judy Greendale, Manager Ms. Robin Orris, Manager Terraglio, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Judy Greendale, Manager
Business Category


Additional Locations


    50 First Ave

    Seaside, OR 97138 (503) 738-5661


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged for a 2 night stay $307.38 on 3/17/2015 for the stay on 8/28 and 8/29/2015. When I went to check in it was insisted that I had not paid in full and I would lose the room if I didn't pay another $153.69. There were 3 of us from out of town that would have been stranded if we didn't pay again as required. We had nowhere else to stay I didn't have the choice but to pay again. On 8/31/2015 I emailed and called Ocean Front Motel with my proof of payment in full on 3/17/2015. I contacted them again on 9/8/2015 and still have not heard back or received a credit for $153.69. I have disputed this charge with my credit card company so I do not have to pay interest. Ocean Front has claimed that someone else must not have paid in full. REALLY!

Desired Settlement: Refund of $153.69

Business Response:

October 6, 2015

Better Business Bureau
Attn* ********* *****
PO Box 1000
DuPont, WA 98327

RE: Ocean Front Motel

****** ***** * ********
Dear Ms. *****;

This is in response to the Complaint of Ms. ***** *****; a guest of the motel this past summer.

Ms. ***** had been concerned that she presented a different credit card than the card used at time
of check-in. Ms. ***** also filed his Complaint with her credit card company and it was settled
through the credit card company. It was my understanding that the information presented to our
credit card processor and her credit card company satisfied the complaint and that all parties
involved were in the loop as well.

We have the copy of her signed credit card slip that is of the credit card used on check-in at her

We hope this assists you in your file regarding the Complaint from Ms. *****. Should you
require any further information, lease let us know.


Judy G********

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled hotel with *********** within the timeframe allowed for no fee. Ocean Front still charged me for 3 rooms, August 12, and refuse to refund the money. *********** says they sent the cancellation, Ocean Front says they didn't. I have a receipt showing the cancellation.

Desired Settlement: $392.40

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a reservation for two nights over 4th of July only to be laid off from work. The reservation was well within the free cancelation time frame so I cancelled it on May 25th and was immediately e-mailed a refund confirmation. The e-mail clearly states that my credit card would be refunded but after 10 I still hadn't received the refund. Upon calling the motel I was told that I would in fact be receiving a check from the owner and that it should be arriving any day. After two weeks I called again and was told that I would be called back when they found out what was holding up the check. I called back two days later as I still hadn't heard back from them and was given a story about mail only being delivered to the owners once a week and that they were elderly. It's now been over a month since I received the cancellation confirmation e-mail and still no refund of any kind.

Desired Settlement: I pre paid for the first nights lodging and taxes, $163.50 and want it returned.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ocean Front Motel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)